Proton Ertiga – watch the launch live from 11.15 am onwards, exclusively on paultan.org

The great Proton model roll-out continues, and closing out the year’s activity will be the premiere of the Proton Ertiga. You’ll be able to watch the MPV’s official launch ceremony live, streamed exclusively on paultan.org. Join us here from 11.15 am onwards to catch our live feed from the launch event as well as the walk around of the vehicle.

We’ve detailed the specifications of the Ertiga and offered an initial view of the MPV via a first impressions report, but here’s a recap in case you missed it. The MPV is a rebadged Suzuki Ertiga facelift, with knock-down kits coming from Suzuki in Indonesia.

The three-row MPV for emerging markets made its debut in 2012, with India the launch market, before eventually going on sale in Indonesia, with the facelift arriving last year. It’s capable of seating seven, but it’s classified as a six-seater here due to the fact that the lap belt for the middle seat in the middle row doesn’t meet Malaysian regulations. Hence, a six-seater three-row MPV, offering a 2-2-2 configuration.

The Ertiga is powered by a familiar Suzuki mill, the K14B 1.4 litre with DOHC, VVT, timing chain and drive-by-wire throttle. Offering 92 PS at 6,000 rpm and 130 Nm at 4,000 rpm, the unit is paired with either a five-speed manual transmission or an Aisin-sourced, four-speed torque converter automatic.

Three variants will be available (Executive MT, Executive AT and a range-topping Executive Plus AT), and equipment includes an integrated CD/USB player with four speakers (six on the Plus AT), ceiling-mounted rear air-con (with cooling coil and blower control) and 12V power sockets (one in front, one for the middle row). Safety-wise, the Ertiga is equipped with two front airbags, side impact beams, ABS with EBD and two Isofix anchors.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hisham on Nov 23, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Buckle up. Proton top sales again!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
    • Operation Manager on Nov 23, 2016 at 9:27 pm

How much…? 40k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Kunta Follower on Nov 24, 2016 at 10:34 am

So shameful. After 30 over years, Proton cannot even develop their own Ertiga type of vehicle. And this is despite Proton taking berpuluh puluh billions of ringgit of our money.

I wonder what the engineers in Proton do? They are all so highly paid. And Proton engineering department is one of the largest pool of engineers of any car company. What do they do in office? 30 over years also cannot develop your own design.

Don’t forget, Japanese don’t give anything free. Proton has to still pay Suzuki hundreds of million in royalty. This money goes out of Malaysia. Out of our economy. And into Japan.

Come on Proton engineers, make Malaysia proud. Instead of goyang kaki, design our own suv and make Malaysia proud.

• Cash is king on Nov 24, 2016 at 11:01 am

Will be a good buy for new families instead of alza or avanza

• Missing KuntaKatak on Nov 23, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Lets see how much they price it. Sure top sales if sell cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Raja Celup on Nov 24, 2016 at 9:37 am

At least change the name lah like ‘Juara’ again.

If using Ertiga better use original Suzuki logo.

What a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Putar Jilat Celup! on Nov 24, 2016 at 10:40 am

Depends on the deal with Suzuki la brother…. if they allow to change the name, sure Proton will change it..

• Ex VGM staff on Nov 24, 2016 at 11:19 am

Suzuki only allow proton to change 2 things. First is the logo emblem. Second is the colour. Nothing else. Even sport rim.

• Pak atan on Nov 24, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Klu u pon dah celup.. diam dah le

• Keichii on Nov 23, 2016 at 7:53 pm

We’ll make tonnes of money on this model. xSMA dont forget to watch haaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Pak atan on Nov 24, 2016 at 7:37 am

P2 aalesman spotted.. shuuu..shuuu… go guard ur office. Lots of people will come to cancel tonggek booking.

• Sam Poo@Loo on Nov 24, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Also, lots of people come to cancel Axial (aka @Sial) booking (double whammy), people already boycott poo car manufacturer since the ‘steering auto-lock’ went viral and the way Poo ‘taik’ MD handle those ‘allegations’.

• Fat Albert on Nov 24, 2016 at 8:30 am

Timing Chain ahhh? haiyoooo…..backdated already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • even the proton engineer told my colleagues that this car is just want to kacau the alza market. they direct copy 100% from suzuki. even the car also under powered and small

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
  • Salam sejahtera on Nov 23, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Suzuki pengecut , tak nak benarkan proton tambah safety dekat ni kereta , takut ertiga yg original tak laku hahhahahha…klau ikut kan hati proton, memang dorang nak tambah safety kat ertiga ni, tapi adakah suzuki benarkan? TIDAK..menyedihkan..proton niat baik, tpi suzuki larang, lepastu ada org menghina pula , cakap proton ni memang sengaka tak bagi ..hina je lah proton tu , proton tak kesah pun , dapat pahala lagi adelah..yg memfitnah tu yg tanggung dosa kah kah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 19
    • Pak atan on Nov 24, 2016 at 7:38 am

Apq yg kou merapu ni

• Tok Atan on Nov 24, 2016 at 8:46 am

Bila dh rebadge orang lain punya macam tu lah bang. Suka hati tuan dia ler nk bagi approval macam mana pun. Tengok P2 pun tau.

• Sejahtera Salam on Nov 24, 2016 at 9:07 am

kalau nak tambah safety kat kereta ni. baik je research buat sendiri. tapi nak rebadge kenal nak ikut Suzuki agreement.

• orang biasa on Nov 23, 2016 at 8:10 pm

Enjin performance macam grand livina 1.6. under power , better get exora bold if price near.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Albert on Nov 23, 2016 at 8:29 pm

At 1500 units monthly targeted sales,The Ertiqa is unlikely to be able to salvage Proton from MELTDOWN 2016.
    Proton will most likely hit less than 75,000 units in sales by Dec 31.
    Even the NEW Pondana,Saga,Persona stocks are building up,with lots of freebees thrown in to attract sales in a SLOWING GST LADEN market.
    If proton is banking on EUPHORIA SALES….forget it.It dies down after 2 months,when competitors offer more attractive REBATES.
    Look at UMW Toyota, Sienta….after 2 months,a hefty RM7500 rebate is given to attract buyers.
    REMEMBER,gomen gives BRIM,but it does not teach you how to SWIM AWAY from a tsunami river,called HIRE PURCHASE…which overwhelms you when the economy is no more rosy.
    THINK…THINK….THINK…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
    • Malaysia hari ini on Nov 23, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Rebate sebab tak laku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Pak atan on Nov 24, 2016 at 7:41 am

So pity to allz of P2 salesman Just condemming with no brain. Compete at same level loo.. see who can do more for Malaysian people .. Toyota slave or Local OEM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • transformer on Nov 23, 2016 at 10:40 pm

for Suzuki 1.4L engine and Aisin-sourced 4 speed AT Box…

even in the small swift, this 1.4L suffers, couldn’t imagine whats will happen in this ER3……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • Pak atan on Nov 24, 2016 at 7:44 am

Your perception is wrong. Try the car. Its will counter your words

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Jeffrey Chew on Nov 23, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Can’t the management team of Proton do something that meaningful to the rakyat? I don’t see the point to stir-up the MPV demand and bear it in mind it going to hit the sales of Exora as well, that is your baby!

Look forward Proton, be like Hyundai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Salam sejahtera on Nov 24, 2016 at 3:49 am

What?starex? That super duper ugly big grille alfat wanna be? What’s wrong with hyundai can’t find their own identity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Pak atan on Nov 24, 2016 at 7:43 am

See it in big and broader picture. Dont just seat in your room and be keyboard warrior with no brain…each OEM have their strategic plan.

• alldisc on Nov 24, 2016 at 9:38 am

Proton did its research and realised that exora sales was hit by alza for the past 5 yrs which offers a smaller size MPV for small families. Not every one wants big and fast MPV.

• Its actually to widen the range of models. Alza is practically dead in water, eaten by Exora. Er3 is for those pipu who diedie wanna jepunis kerandas, so why not make some money at it…

• Pak atan on Nov 24, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Not every family wants small size Alza . Most of them regret .. going to picnic have to leave all the belonging at home…so SIZE FOES MATTER

• Kichi on Nov 24, 2016 at 2:47 am

I drove Suzuki Ertiga during a trip in Jakarta. Small MPV, under power. Nothing to expect other than cheap price (maybe). The thing I hate most is the interior colour. Beige colour. Be prepared if you have kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Isn’t Jakarta a crowded place and congested with traffic jams? How on earth can you claim ertiga is underpowered when you can hardly do 20kmh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Still vvt only? People already using dual vvti! Comonlah boss, help the people to help you.

• Ex VGM staff on Nov 24, 2016 at 9:40 am

Dual vvti does not add power and giving a stronger mid range band. The second one is more towards better exhaust emission

• p2 salesman on Nov 24, 2016 at 9:09 am

banyak nyer potong salesman. lama tak makan ke… masih bising bising ni.

baik tukar kem la. dah nampak banyak kedai potong tutup kedai.

kalau tak insaf, tenggelam besama macam titanic sambil mendengar lagu celini Dion, my hearts will go on…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Mikey on Nov 24, 2016 at 9:27 am

I was a P1 customer B4 i sold my very dependable Wira HB(M). It is the cheapest car to maintain where parts are available everywhere due to P1 using the trusted & bullet proof engine by MMC.

A car is a basic necessity to a family especially in Kampongs bcos our transportation system is not conducive to the Pakcik/Uncle Chong & Muthu living there.

It is better for our Pakcik/Chong/Muthu to buy a tested car from P1/P2 preferably a 2/3 years old vehicle rather than an “Old Wine in New Bottle”(Ertiga) where U have to commit into a long term loans.

Lastly, use your $$$ WISELY & not waste your $$$ on unnecessary commitment in this difficult times.

• Ben Yap on Nov 24, 2016 at 10:11 am

the fate of Ertiga will end up like Juara.

Trust me on this… i bet my balls on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • passion on Nov 24, 2016 at 10:26 am

we read the article and move on. nuff said.

• justsomepissedoffdude on Nov 24, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Wow! Those guys at proton must be REALLY good at making product decisions, 1.4L engine pumping out 92PS for an MPV! The alza they’re competing against has a 1.5L 104PS engine and it still feels under powered.

• bukapintubayartol on Nov 24, 2016 at 11:48 pm

does Paultan.org use Periscope?