GALLERY: New Toyota Camry 2.0G X shown at Mitsui

toyota-camry-2-0g-x-2

Earlier in the month, UMW Toyota announced that it has opened the order books for the updated Toyota Camry, which comes with added kit and two new variants. Now, one of those variants, the 2.0G X, has appeared at the brand store at Mitsui Outlet Park Sepang, and we’ve provided a full gallery here.

The new model replaces the previous 2.0G, and comes with an extra helping of equipment. On the outside, the wheels now measure 17 inches instead of 16, and come in the same two-tone design as the Hybrid. Xenon headlights, fog lights and twin exhaust exits have been retained, while the bodykit seen here is an RM3,169 option, as before.

Inside, the 2.0G X receives a new DVD infotainment system with a seven-inch capacitive touchscreen, WiFi, an internet browser, Bluetooth connectivity and a reverse camera, along with the Hybrid’s Qi wireless smartphone charger. Also included is a new dark brown leather upholstery.

toyota-camry-2-0g-x-4

These items go on top of other standard features already incorporated in the old 2.0G, including keyless entry, push-button start, cruise control, dual-zone automatic climate control, eight-way power-adjustable front seats, a multi-function steering wheel, a 4.2-inch TFT LCD multi-info display and retractable sunshades for the rear side windows (manual) and rear windscreen (powered).

Power comes from an unchanged 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine with D-4S direct injection and VVT-iW. The mill develops 167 PS at 6,500 rpm and 199 Nm at 4,600 rpm, sent to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission.

Safety-wise, all Camry models now get seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knee) and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), a big step up from the two airbags (and no VSC on the base 2.0E) that were previously offered on all but the top Hybrid variant. A portable tyre pump is also now standard-fit.

toyota-camry-2-0g-x-26

Elsewhere in the updated lineup, there’s a new, cheaper Hybrid Premium model, which dispenses with a few of the features from the regular Hybrid (now renamed Hybrid Luxury). These include 17-inch wheels (replaced with 16’s), auto lights and wipers, blind spot monitor and auto-dimming rear-view mirror.

Other items omitted include steering wheel wood trim, nanoe air ioniser, Qi wireless charging and the seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Bluetooth and reverse camera. In its place sits a basic head unit from the 2.0E, and the 10-speaker JBL GreenEdge sound system has also been replaced with six speakers.

All these drop the price of the Hybrid Premium to RM164,900 on-the-road with insurance, the same price as the outgoing 2.0G. Meanwhile, the 2.0E is now RM2,000 cheaper at RM152,900, while the 2.0G X here sees a RM5,000 price drop from the old 2.0G, retailing at RM159,900. The Hybrid Luxury retains the current Hybrid’s RM174,900 pricing.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Thoo Chin Wee on Nov 28, 2016 at 10:39 am

Pfff…good luck UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Does the front passenger side has the function keyless entry?
    Considering camry is the flagship model they should include both front doors with keyless entry function

• theanswer on Nov 28, 2016 at 12:39 pm

the driver have to unlock first..then the passenger can go in.

• paparadzi (Member) on Nov 28, 2016 at 1:38 pm

The part that I really really really hate about the Camry Hybrid is the deletion of necessary accessories by UMW.

• Mikey on Nov 28, 2016 at 10:54 am

In other words, Toyota is telling the people to buy either the Hybrid Premium @ RM164,900 OTR with insurance or the Hybrid Luxury @ RM174,900. The other 2 E & G models are a waste of time. Hybrid & EV is the way 2 go.

• theanswer on Nov 28, 2016 at 12:40 pm

given that the 2.0 already have 7 airbags..still a good choice. hybrid is good..but with the expense of boot space.

• Mikey on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:28 am

Ha ha ha, good response. If U want boot space, U should buy a Space Wagon.

• sohhai on Nov 28, 2016 at 11:02 am

Toyota have to introduce the Camry GX when the Gen 9 Honda Accord was introduced due to their inferior kit count and expensive price. Now, they have to do this again as the facelifted Accord offers even better value for money with more equipment and better safety features. Toyota…all about following Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • theanswer on Nov 28, 2016 at 12:43 pm

it’s a good competition. hate it or love it..in the end consumer will get a better bargain. nway..city s/s+ still no esc as standard compared to vios j.

• We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 28, 2016 at 11:34 am

POWER OF COMPETITION and PEOPLE POWER!
    Finally. Happy to hear that 7 airbags, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and Traction Control (TC) are now fitted as standard on all Camrys with 5 year warranty.
    MEANING ALL THESE WHILE THEY WANT TO SAVE COST AND SUCK THEIR CUSTOMERS? Current Camry owners, do you feel cheated?
    CAMRY 2.0E CKD
    RM152,900 Peninsula price.
    RM105,720 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM47,180 or 44.63% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.
    CAMRY 2.0GX CKD
    RM159,900 Peninsula price.
    RM110,720 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM49,880 or 45.34% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.
    CAMRY 2.5 HYBRID CKD
    RM164,900 Peninsula price.
    RM156,219 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM8,681 or 5.56% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.
    CAMRY 2.5 HYBRID CKD
    RM174,900 Peninsula price.
    RM165,668 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM9,232 or 5.57% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.
    I HIGHLY doubt that they MARKUP the price on its hybrid Camry. How could the Camry Hybrid be RM50,000 more than the Camry 2.0? Meaning they’re still making FAT profit margins!
    Anyway you pay less tax for Honda Accord 2.0 base VTi is cheaper by RM8,100 which also have VSC and TC.
    HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi CKD
    RM144,800 Peninsula price.
    RM109,610 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM35,190 or 32.10% more to the government, to Honda Malaysia and its dealers.
    HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi-L CKD
    RM153,800 Peninsula price.
    RM117,650 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM36,150 or 30.73% more to the government, to Honda Malaysia and its dealers.
    HONDA ACCORD 2.4 VTi-L CKD
    RM172,800 Peninsula price.
    RM129,390 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM43,410 or 33.55% more to the government, to Honda Malaysia and its dealers.
    QUESTION… Why is that the base Camry is RM3,890 cheaper than the base Accord in Langkawi?
    CAMRY 2.0E CKD – RM105,720
    HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi CKD – RM109,610
    But in Peninsula the base Camry is RM8,100 more expensive than the base Accord
    CAMRY 2.0E CKD – RM152,900
    HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi CKD – RM144,800
    So UMW Toyota is caught OVERCHARGING its customers again?
    Are we being OVERCHARGED by car manufacturers? STOP BUYING NEW CARS! The fact that they’re slowly reducing their car prices meaning they’re on panic mode.
    Good! This is working.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 8
    • Wow..such a detail comment. Are you one of those Camry owner that have been cheated?

• Not only this tax, we pay road tax and GST for a car. 3 taxes per new car.

• Sporty stickers outside, but “uncle” interior inside.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 28, 2016 at 12:22 pm

knowing UMW , they are probably gonna charge extra for that missing gear knob in the third pic !
    to be fair , u like it or not , it actually represents a good value now , full spec base model makes sence…the 2.0 is more than sufficient , and its very refined actually…it does have a better drivetrain than the accord 2.0…and its everywhere even though it was sold with only 2 airbags and w/o VSC…

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 28, 2016 at 12:30 pm

BMW ada M Power. Toyota ada I’m Power.

• halimy on Nov 28, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Even their display car is missing the gear knob….hahaha

• Roohinia-desh on Nov 28, 2016 at 1:21 pm

“I’M POWER” a such arrogant statements! Owners of this car will attracts lots of key scratched lines on both side doors at public car parks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Thoo Chin Wee on Nov 28, 2016 at 2:24 pm

c’mon be civilized – there’s no need to ‘key’ anyone’s car.

• Better save up more and buy a brand new or cheaper used BMW M3 with the original M power engine and not this piece of junk Camry Apek Ah Beng junk!!

• Bernard on Nov 28, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Whatever people may say about Toyota’s or specifically Camry’s, its always a good buy. Keep it for twenty years and sell, still got value. Highly reliable, comfortable, quiet etc.

In Malaysia, i dont see any other option.

Anyone buying anything else is taking a risk…

Note: I drive a 1990’s Perodua Kancil manual with black bumper in case you are wondering. Also have a bicycle.

• We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 28, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Real enthusiast drives a manual!

• If i am 2nd hand car dealer; i dun want collect this rubbish; no value to stock pile at my place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • TokGuru on Nov 28, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Yes . I agree… fren has a hybrid. Really smooth and quiet ride

• Trends on Nov 28, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Toyota Camry Is such a boring drive. Better get a Honda or a continental. Hardly see any Camry on the road these days. The trend is changing. My vote goes for the Passat this time.

• paparadzi (Member) on Nov 28, 2016 at 1:54 pm

“Elsewhere in the updated lineup, there’s a new, cheaper Hybrid Premium model, which dispenses with a few of the features from the regular Hybrid (now renamed Hybrid Luxury). These include 17-inch wheels (replaced with 16’s), auto lights and wipers, blind spot monitor and auto-dimming rear-view mirror.

Other items omitted include steering wheel wood trim, nanoe air ioniser, Qi wireless charging and the seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Bluetooth and reverse camera. In its place sits a basic head unit from the 2.0E, and the 10-speaker JBL GreenEdge sound system has also been replaced with six speakers.”

Will you guys buy one in this condition?

• Mirror boy on Nov 28, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Good that got normal head unit. Means can change to one that actually has mirrorlink

• My Honda Accord (latest/current model) was broken down, need to call for towing service to Honda 3S centre. The car still new, milieage less than 25000KM. Also, just done the service maintenance.

If the service given is not satisfied and problem unresolved, I think will switch to another brand of car. Really disappointed of the Honda car quality !!

• chowhai on Nov 28, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Strange, my Toyota Camry 2.0G (facelift model) had gearbox failure after only 5 hr drive. Just goes to show Toyota cars are not immune to quality issues

• Mikey on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:31 am

I think both Alex & chowhai should exchange their car for a month & then tell us here which is the Better or worst car after that. Agree !!

• Still is a rubbish

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Nov 28, 2016 at 5:39 pm

very outdated design in and out…hopeless…

• Ben Yap on Nov 28, 2016 at 5:55 pm

too expensive to consider even the price is lower. i’ll pass for this.

• Frustrated on Nov 28, 2016 at 6:00 pm

My Camry 6 speed box is loosing gear while driving. Happened twice in a month. Got short changed by umw by being an early adopter and now with this gearbox problem. Maybe they are just not ready to make the switch from the 4 speeder.

• Klinsmann on Nov 28, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Rather get a Passat than buying this Camry junk

• I would like using this channel to seek your assistance.
    Anyone can share with me Honda management team email address? I would like to complaint the poor service given by Honda 3S centre. I had tried Honda Website to send out my concern.

My Honda Accord (current new model) was broken down. Unable to start the engine. was towed back to Honda 3S centre. The car mileage less than 25000KM and just done service less than 2 months.

The car was parked at near to guard house parking space. The car was not sent to workshop for inspection. Also, today 28.11.2016 heavy raining in klang valley, the car was just left there without proper action for whole day.

• Today, as informed by Honda technician, the problem due to oil pump. Wah so crazy like this….when the car running in high speed in highway, suddenly when you press the pedal, cannot go further….I have no idea whether Honda Accord car qualitiy problem or the technician incompetent when doing the service / part changed, end up with such problem !

• Mee kuning on Nov 28, 2016 at 7:17 pm

wah, the red sticker can easily add 45hp…..

• M power on Nov 28, 2016 at 7:22 pm

So sporty, so fast, no need to change that stock engine , because this all ahbeng stickers will surely add another 707hp to this ca! with this stickers, this car can tapau the dodge challenger hellcat!!! toyota engineer are so brilliant to find a formula on how to make this car so fast on the earth, ” I’M POWER “

• Gunting kecik on Nov 28, 2016 at 7:34 pm

this car is like a big clumsy potato……the red sporty sticker ain’t helping at all……

• The woods trims are expensive!