December 2016 fuel prices – petrol, diesel down 5 sen

RON_95_vs_RON_97_Fuel_Test_Malaysia_ 017

Blink and you’ll miss it – we’re already coming up to the last month of the year. For motorists, there’s a small positive, as fuel prices for December 2016 has been announced, with a slight reduction across the board.

For the month of December 2016, RON 95 will be priced at RM1.90 per litre (down 5 sen compared to November 2016), RON 97 at RM2.25 per litre (down 5 sen), diesel at RM1.85 per litre (down 5 sen) and Euro 5 diesel at RM1.95 per litre (down 5 sen).

Coming after last month’s steep 15 sen hike for both petrol and diesel, this is good news indeed, even if it’s just a matter of 5 sen per litre.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• I just refilled!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Huh? Only 5 sen? Past few months, increased so much. Now, reduce only 5 sen? According to world prices, by right, petrol prices should be RM1.20. So, we are overpaying 90 sen per litre.

A full tank of 50 litres, we will be paying the government extra RM45 ringgit per car. Calculate that with the hundreds of thousands of vehicles in Malaysia.

The government of Malaysia makes a good clean profit of a few billion ringgit extra from what we overpay.

Come on Government, Malaysians are suffering so much. Cost of living is so high. We have to pay heavy tolls. We have to pay heavy GST. By right, we should not be paying GST if MACC does their work and sorts out corruption. Now, each dedak taker is taking billions. Per year, tens of billions go into few people’s pocket. If there ws no dedak takers, all these money can compensate and replace GST.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 209 Thumb down 31
      • Razali on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Syukur…ada gahmen prihatin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Jimmy on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:43 pm

When you are rich, you can have 2 or more wives and 2 or more luxurious homes, but if the economy is not good and you are now in money deficit, please don’t be boros and wasting money buying 70 biji 7-series and buy 70 luxurious houses; you have a huge ultraman house already.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Malu betul. For 20 years, Gomen was bluffing to the rakyat that our petrol was subsidized and that we should be grateful for the subsidy give.

Hello gomen, we produce our own oil. What we produce, we cannot subsidise. It comes from our Tanah air. We are not buying petrol from another country.

What we produce, there is nothing to subsidise. And there is ample for the whole of Malaysia to use in a given year. No need to import fuel. Like the Sultan of Brunei, he gives cheap petrol to the rakyat, the remainder, he exports at world prices.

Malaysia should do the same. Give the oil that is in our Tanah air first for local consumption, then the balance, you can export.

The problem now is, gomen sells our high grade oil to the Arabs. Malaysia produces the highest grade oil in the world. It is known as the “sweetest”. This oil, we sell to the Arabs who then enjoy one of the best and cleanest fuels.

Then our bodoh gomen buys filthy low grade dirty oil from the Arabs for our local Ron 95 consumption.

By right, we should benefit from the high grade oil in our own Tanah air. After all, it belongs to every Malaysian.

Anyway, now there is no subsidy, why aren’t we following global oil prices?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 16
      • net oil importer. plus we dont refine enough oil. Reason for having pengerang is to reduce dependency of importing refined oil as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
        • Jimmy on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:47 pm

Why is it so?
          Must it be so?
          If it were under Lee Kuan Yew, what might have happened?
          When your brain is focusing on your pockets, you don’t think of other things anymore?

• Nabill Babill on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:12 am

Sekarang harga barang akan turun! Yahoo!

• kzm (Member) on Dec 01, 2016 at 1:16 pm

we are still net exporter but barely net exporter.

• Up compliant down complaint. We produce less then we use. Haih..

• kzm (Member) on Dec 01, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Do u actually know how much we produce, export, import n subsidize? Then compare with those Arabs. i know i will get thumb down by u..

• 5clean on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:15 pm

haiya same here, that day rally told me petrol sure up next month chibai

• Jonathan on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:44 pm

U wasted 5 cents

• Ahmad on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Thank you government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 38
    • Hot dog on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Why thanks to gomen?
      You buy car , pay so much tax , gomen thank you!
      You work hard , make more money and you pay tax ! Gomen thank you !
      Oil memang ikut globa rates bro !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
      • Don’t thank gov for price down, and don’t curse gov for price up

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Wtf it’s supposed to be at least 10 cents with the big drop in crude oil price compared to October.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • Fabian on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Up 15 cent. And down 5 cent. Still got 10 cent. Is this a good news? Only stupid and brainless people will say it is a good new.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 12
  • next year (i mean january) price will up 10 cent!

• andrew khoo on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:57 pm

we are grateful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • Well done on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:05 pm

Last month up 15 cents this month down 5 cents then next month up 10-15 cents again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Smartass on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:07 pm

So smart, this month down 5 cents. Next month increase 25 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Mr Palui on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Nov increase 15cents because Oct’s price was above 50 per barrel.Dec decrease 5cents only despite Nov’s performance was lower than Sept. Are we paying for the bad performance of RM too????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Errr crude price is quite high, our RM is falling down the stairs like crazy, suddendly our new petrol price reduced by 5cent….sure aahh? Boleh meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Normal Guy on Nov 30, 2016 at 8:39 pm

No one thought about December is school holiday period and more people will travel and use more petrol? 5 cents down but increased consumption sama la. Gomen is smart.

• I know the formula already, up 10 down 5, up 10 down 5, up 10 down 5, up 10 down 5, govt menang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • inb4 bashers demand for Rm1.00 Euro1 black smoke petrol, dun care about environment as long as cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • butt head, care about living circumstance and survive then bring up your mercy talk about environment.

• Useless 5 cents on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:39 pm

***throw back 5 cents to the govt***

• I see long queue in Starbucks tonight? Got special promo drinks?

What’s going on? Minyak turun, so people go celebrate ah?

• Frappocino rm10 between 5-8pm

• there’s a RM10 (RM9 if you pay with starbucks card) offer for all tall size frappuccino from 5pm to 8pm today!

• Starbucks gip promo. Nobody complaint about drinking RM10++ a cup of coffee but most people become gila when petrol price down 5 sen a LITRE. Ya.. most MY people are poor. Irony.

• Demang Lebor Daun on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Mmg tu la trend harga minyak msia bila dah diapungkan, naik banyak turun ciput, turun byk sikit tu tanda prk atau pru

• Faiz Roslan on Dec 01, 2016 at 7:57 am

time and time again the government has shown that they are a caring administration, reducing reliance on sugar, oil by removing the subsidies so the people could consume less of these junks, and now by reducing the price of the absolute necessity in our lives – petrol. our wellbeingg is gguaranteed with this gov in charge, giving us so many benefits always.. learn to syukur tolonglah

What more do the rakyat want?? free money to everyone? the government is helping you dengan i, tolonglah jangan komplen lagi… please learn to thank government for once as they help us repeatedly..

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • Deadpool on Dec 01, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Are you nuts? or eat too many nuts? please learn to read more international news for once as they help you understand current situation instead of being brain wash by RTM local news.

• Chmoke on Dec 01, 2016 at 8:59 am

I have been using 95 my whole life. Then notices that, if i fill full to my 1.5 swift, which is around 33 litre, i can finish the whole tank at 309km.

Then, just discovered that, when filling 97, full tank, ofcourse more expensive ( RM11 more ) , i can get max 461km before the light of fuel turn on. this is a combination of highway drive 50% and city 50% with dashing on and off…

RM11 extra can give me extra 161km.

Does the above explanation make u feel that the 95 is a crap fuel that this whole time u all should have fill it with 97 fuel instead?

man i feel cheated already

• Nigga on Dec 01, 2016 at 11:59 am

I feel u man and I still believe our fuel are basically ‘doctored’ fuel. But of course, we don’t have the proofs as it’s not like we can see and test the supplied fuel for ourselves which makes this a pretty grey area.

MAA should somehow implement mandatory periodic tests on the fuel or perform RdON tests and publicly announce the test results for consumers.

There are a few variants of Ron95 fuel globally and I believe our’s do not possess any more certifications other than RON. Mind you, be sensitive of the words used in ads like ‘Super’ and ‘Fuel Save’. I never thought it was real but it is and there are differences.

I wish to continue further but I had better stop here.

• well, by now i am sure everyone see the pattern already

up 15 sen last month, down 5 sen…Jan2017 predict will up again(10 sen or 15sen)…then feb2017 down little bit 5 sen maybe

generally the drop is less than the increase ^^

• Pak Dolah on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:13 am

Imagine, in the month of November, fuel price was increased by 15 cents with an excuse that October’s crude oil price was doing above US$50 per barrel.
    This month, despite November’s performance that was relatively on par with September’s, Ali G decreased a measely 5 cents when it should have been at least 15 cents. Don’t get me started with the actual fuel price that we should be paying right now based on their formula that they announced last year end.
    Now, today according to Brent’s price per barrel, we are seeing a sharp increase of at least US$51 per barrel. If this trend maintain, I shudder to think the new price hike for the month of Jan 2017. Mind you all my friends, despite the 5 cents drop, we are still paying 10 cents more compared to the fuel price that we paid in the month of October! Since the last drop in fuel price which occured in the month of September, Ali G have increased 25 cents in total. What’s a 5 cents decrease to them?

• Kasi float betul betul lah!

Cakap kasi subsidi adalah untuk manfaat buat semua dan kawal harga. Tapi kitorang tau siapa betul betul manfaat punya la…cuma takda bukti mah.

• Perlisian on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:30 am

Sebenarnya minyak turun 20 sen. Tapi saya tak sampai hati saya turunkan 5 sen sahaja.

• Mikey on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:38 am

I remember our esteem minister mention last month that our gov uses the 1 month behind mechanism.

Hello minister in charge, where is the reduction as mention. Going by your logic, our Ron 95 should be RM 1.80 per liter now.

Looks like we have been duped again. john, U always have a reason/logic to defend our Gov, please share/comment.

• When the government wanted to build the Pengerang oil refinery plant, people protest. Having it here would mean Malaysia doesn’t have to import oil anymore, if not just a little.

Yet when oil price increases, people go amok.

Like what do you people really want?

• C. P. MOHAN on Dec 01, 2016 at 11:00 am

Although the OPEC/non-OPEC cut in oil production is mainly to boost oil prices it will nevertheless spur technology advances in lower fuel or no fuel usage. My view is that oil prices is going south.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 01, 2016 at 11:21 am

lol now opec new deal…next month naik 35 sen

• Peter on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Over the night, world crude increase 7.xx % … guest how much the fuel cost next month!?

• Bersyukur on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Syukur lah petrol turun 5 sen.

• Faiz Roslan on Dec 01, 2016 at 2:36 pm

happy to see citizen that support government latest move!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • jangan turun,naik banyak sikit…next month kasi naik per litre RM2.00,make RON95 per litre RM3.90…baru boleh untung

• Das Auto on Dec 02, 2016 at 10:19 pm

Crude oil price today up USD60 per barrel. What does it mean? The price of fuel for Jan or Feb will go up. The price of fuel in the stations is based on oil prices of the previous month.