AES fine reduction to be done without law amendment – RM150 rate for past, present and future summonses

AES_Camera

The reduction of Automated Enforcement System (AES) fines from RM300 to RM150 will be done without having to amend the existing Road Transport Act 1987, clarified transport minister, Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai. The new rate is merely a limited-time discount rate over the full RM300 compound, which will still stand.

“The power to offer compound for certain offences under the Act, including AES, is under the jurisdiction of the Road Transport Department (JPJ) director-general. We have decided that RM150 is the compound offer for offenders to settle AES summonses received in the past, at present and from this point forward,” he told The Sun Daily.

Meanwhile, the RM300 fine under Section 79 (2) of the Act will remain unchanged. The fee reduction is introduced as a move to call upon traffic offenders to settle the 2.5 million outstanding AES summonses. There will be a time frame of six months for them to do so.

“We will announce soon when we will start this time frame (of six months) to pay the compound,” Liow said, who also added that a special court order will not be required to clear the backlog of AES summonses since 2012. Earlier, deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi had said that the “RM150 must be paid within six months. If they fail to do so, the amount would be increased. You delay, you pay more.”

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• The Saint on Dec 01, 2016 at 11:26 am

“you delay, you pay more”??????

What a load of BS……I used to pay promptly and ended up paying 300. Then I stopped paying a few summons and the G waived them all.

I still have a few outstanding AES and I won’t be surprised the G waive them again. lol

Welcome to Malaysia, where law-abiding citizens and whistle blowers are penalised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • rip off gomen on Dec 01, 2016 at 11:21 pm

same like ptptn la…those who pay diligently or fully settled earlier felt cheated coz now gomen giving discounts to defaulters. gomen no money la…scrapping the barrel for every single dime…

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 01, 2016 at 11:48 am

Why fine the rakyat when your menteri and polis are also breaking the law. Half the time they are rushing with the sirens on. You follow them on bike, then finally, instead of going official function, they go gerai to makan nasi lemak.

Rakyat is fine with AES fines if it applies to everybody. But big shots and datuks and tan sris all are given exemptions in the balai polis when they go to settle.

• Jeffrey Read on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Based on my limited understanding to begin with, I understand that Automated Enforcement System (AES) was ILLEGAL to begin with. So whether it is RM300 or RM150 or any other figure, it is also illegal.

• Faiz Roslan on Dec 01, 2016 at 2:37 pm

please lah, u break the law u pay, in malay we always say ‘berani buat, berani tanggung’ .. u break law, pay fine and dont expect discount.. the government now is helping u all bad citizens to ease burden by paying less fine, what more u want? dont bite the finger that feeds u !

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Jeffrey Read on Dec 01, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Betul cakap Faiz Roslan dan saya setuju, ‘berani buat, berani tanggung’. Syarikat individu yang berani menaikkan kamera A.E.S. demi mengutip dana dari semua orang ramai, patut tanggung kos sepenuhnya kerana ianya adalah SALAH dari segi undang-undang.

• The OLD AES is illegal coz the process then involve private operators who have no enforcement power. Therefore, the RM300 or discounted RM150 fine is illegal.

• kemosabe on Dec 01, 2016 at 4:54 pm

This system may be good to reduce accidents on the road. But at the same time its business.
    What happens to the fines that’s being collected?
    Pay for the costs of the system – yes and no coz the initial operators were compensated by the Gov, which means tax payers’ money. And when its being paid for, there should be more money left over.
    Pay for the costs to run and maintain the systems – yes.
    Make safer roads – maybe.
    Patch up potholes – maybe.
    Extra left over money – dunno.
    Install more cameras – yes coz its money making.

The system is a noble idea but the true purpose of it is somewhat dodgy coz the money is never declared publicly on how is being utilized.

Responsible road usage starts with education. All the AES cameras in the world won’t reduce accidents as long as the people who use the roads drive like maniacs. Its the road users that gets into an accident, not the camera.

• Jeffrey Read on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:23 pm

kemosabe are you saying that the government HAD TO PAY the private company for installing something that is illegal in the first place?

• It’s illegal. That’s why they cannot amend the so call law. Pandai menteri pusing fakta.

• Nasi Lemak Proton on Dec 02, 2016 at 7:54 pm

wait samor la. Later, the traffic offenders will get free hamper and lucky draw when settling their fine with jpj……