All PLUS highways to go full cashless (ETC) in 2017

toll plaza plus

All PLUS highways will adopt the cashless Electronic Toll Collection (ETC) system by 2017. This is according to PLUS managing director Datuk Noorizah Abd Hamid, as reported by The Sun Daily.

As of now, 23 out of 94 PLUS toll plazas have been converted to the ETC system, with the rest to follow by next year. Cashless collection has also been started at nine new toll plazas: Hutan Kampung, Alor Star Utara, Alor Star Selatan, Pendang, Gurun, Sungai Petani Utara, Sungai Petani Selatan, Bertam and Sungai Dua.

At a site visit to the Sungai Dua toll plaza yesterday, Noorizah said that around 90% of PLUS highways users have already switched to the electronic payment method (Touch n’ Go and SmartTAG). She also called upon the remaining 10% to make the switch soon.

“We can make between 600 to 1,000 transactions per hour for electronic transactions compared to 180 transactions per hour for cash payments,” she added.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• A gud start. Next is to implement ERP

• Operation Manager on Dec 01, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Why Good move…? Some area already upgrade to BANDAR category with increase population/usage >1000%+++ but PLUS Toll still remain 20yrs back facilities –> 2 lanes (x1-cash, ×1TnG) Don’t even enough transaction Lanes to support & SmartTech NOT available, HOW to MOVE towards ERP …? Even WORST, federal road BOTTLENECK after PLUS not upgraded accordingly to actual usage…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Arrgghh! My eyes! What is this wall of shiet!
        Wheres the structure!
        Its gud move cuz the faster turnover time due to cashless, means less waiting to pay at toll plazas. Geddit?

• Ben Yap on Dec 01, 2016 at 10:51 am

when fully cashless means less manpower, means save more money. there is no reason to increase toll for the next 5 years.

• But Gov is not looking to increase toll for NS hiway….

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Imagine the hundreds of thousands of TnG cards with positive balance that they use and collect interests.

Free money for them wei.

No need to guess why they have been wanting to change all to electronic.

Normally people who use prepaid cards enjoy lower rates. Not so in our very special country…use TnG for parking is even more expensive.

• Err. But tolls and LRTs r cheaper than using cash…

• Jeffrey Read on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Perhaps there is a super secret collection from invalid cards wherein whatever balance including deposit that magically disappears for being “inactive after a specific time frame” for the poor, once in the blue moon traveler, like me.

Then again, PLUS must be the only place where the Ringgit Malaysia is no longer a legal tender, so that PLUS can make extra 820 cashless transactions per hour!

I wonder what happens to all those times when the traffic is low or off peak periods?

On the bright side, I don’t have to face AES cameras and speed demons that likes to live life in the fast lane.

• Faiz Roslan on Dec 01, 2016 at 10:57 am

A good move. This is the sign of a progressive nation. We are stepping closer and closer to become a developed and prosperous country by 2020. Well done government!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • You are right, but we still 20 years behind to our neighbor down south.

• Faiz Roslan on Dec 01, 2016 at 2:34 pm

We are not that far behind come on, stop exaggerate.. u idolise singapore so much for what? we are richer than them, our lives here more guarantee than singapore. singapore all gamble, in malaysia ppl happy and live peaceful, in singapore they will jail u this and that, this never happen in malaysia..

– Faiz Roslan CEng

• Hot dog on Dec 01, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Bro…SG never jail you this and tat lah. Example you speeding they saman you saja same in MY..Only the diffrent are takde ” bicang ” they really strict , so ppl hv wrong mind abt SG. We not idolise SG , but we just don understand why we far behind SG. Tats why last week our menteri besar Johor said want to overtake SG in next 5 year ( we know he is dreaming if the habit never change ) . We Malaysian sad because we hv richest all kind resources then what happen we sampai tak cukup mau pinjam banyak banyak and the other side SG no resources can become so rich!
          Our gomen know , hanya tak mengakui saja they hv been make same mistakes the past 50 years !

• SG? Their green one time use cards r like shiet. I touch 10 times oso cannot detect, unlike our coin token. One time touch can go.

And jail? All of them no less than 10 years due to I.S.A.

And guess what? SG is heading into recession (technically is now) but not MY. Hows that for irony!

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Dec 01, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Don’t alwez compared ourselves to our south neighbour, we are all good with abundant of natural resources, and we will have new ports setup all around us soon. Anyway, we still 200 years behind not 20.

• Once ECRL is setup and linked to Silk Road rail line, SG is finished.

• kenot on Dec 01, 2016 at 11:36 am

I’m also use smart tag. however, I can’t check the touch n go balance. quality of the reader is really bad.

• Sewel on Dec 01, 2016 at 11:52 am

Thats mean more topap toll booth..it will be the same..how about system brakedown?

• Flip flop on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Typical vague statement issued by PLUS without any accountability:
    1. 2017 is anywhere between 30 days time and 395 days from now
    2. not enough notice to inform all PLUS users.

• Levin on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:31 pm

This is good and toll prices have to go down further, in fact they should stop collecting toll once there’s sufficient collection done which is already due long time ago.
    As for the negative side, what’s gonna happen to the toll booth workers? I mean they are humans also and the company has to compensate them or source another job for them. Else these people are gonna be jobless real soon which is gonna be bad for the economy & country.

• Go cashless = less employee = harga turun tak?

• azrai on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Yeah..rakyat also become cashless after 2017 GE.

• We want Langkawi car prices on Dec 01, 2016 at 12:57 pm

TouchNGo is a greedy monopolistic company. It is a disgrace for a company that does not move on still using old RFID technologies. Go to Taiwan Korea and Japan, their Easy money, T money and pasmo suica cards, you can use it to buy stuffs and all. Plus TouchNGo cards are crap. Rosak always, then u have to buy one. You can’t even refund or exchange for a new one like in other countries. In another words you need to buy their cards not rent cards like in other countries. What matter worse they charge 0.50 reloading fees per transaction! Their touch and machines are difficult to be found to buy and reload. Plus they charge us 10% more if we use TouchNGo for parking by being green not taking paper tickets. They now want us to buy more of their cards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • So much misinformation there.
      1) TnG is more versatile than any e-pay card in the world. U can even pay for concerts & movies.
      2) Rosak or expired TnG can exchange for free at TnG hubs. The balance will be transfered to new card.
      3) For free reloads(http://paultan.org/2016/03/22/touch-n-go-more-no-service-charge-reload-locations/). Dun be lazy.
      4) 10% service charge is by parking operators, not TnG.
      5) U can choose not to buy if u want to. Ur Mykad has TnG function, unless ur not Msian lah….

I guess ur thumbs up, never bothered to read or too lazy to search. What a pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • KL Has Fallen (2017) on Dec 01, 2016 at 2:54 pm

if u not satisfied, you just don’t buy their card, fast solution to the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Jibril on Dec 01, 2016 at 2:57 pm

I’m still using my 10 years old touch n go card. Tak rosak. Works like a charm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Why everyone wants to compare Malaysia against Singapore. Honestly we are even not comparable with Thailand. Developed country? Please carry on dreaming. The night is still young. And as for comparison between electronic and manned collection obviously our toll collectors are simply slow.

• PLUS and TnG should do something about the traffic congestion-causing bottlenecks around the toll plazas in the Klang Valley during peak hours. One prominent one would be the Jalan Duta toll plaza going into NKVE during evening peak hours.

Even supposedly AFTER ‘upgrading’ to cashless toll collection at this toll plaza, there is a long delay going into the highway. Ironically, the highway has been upgraded to four lanes but the archaic toll collection system (although cashless) still causes jams.