2018 Toyota Camry – all-new model to debut in Jan

2018-toyota-camry-teaser

Here we have the first official image of the 2018 Toyota Camry, teased ahead of its planned debut at the Detroit Auto Show in January next year. Before you get too excited though, this will be the American-market Camry, with a more conventional version coming our way, as the case always is.

It’s quite a revealing image – as far as teasers go – showing a very stylised LED taillight cluster with a joining air vent. A boot lid spoiler, black shark fin antenna and a rather prominent rear shoulder line can also be seen, making for a surprisingly sporty Camry. The XSE badge suggests this will be the sportier of the two looks available there, as per the current Camry and Corolla.

Previous spyshots and a leaked image of a next-generation NASCAR racer have revealed much of the new Camry. An aggressive front end to go along with the rear shown here is a given – it looks to feature slim headlamps with a very complex floating grille and large open intakes, similar to a Lexus spindle grille, in fact.

The 2018 Toyota Camry is expected to be built on the company’s new modular TNGA platform, and it should feature the 2.0 litre turbocharged engine already in use in the Toyota Crown and various Lexus models, at least to replace the large 3.5 litre V6 engine sold in America, along with smaller 2.5 litre and hybrid versions.

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Camry spyshots (American-market model)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• applegreen on Dec 02, 2016 at 9:33 am

Looks nice but this one could be US version right? Interior for asian version full of wood trim!

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 02, 2016 at 10:02 am

People in US so lucky. Camry 10 airbag CBU only US$22k. Even kerani also can buy with just 3 or 4 months pay outright. No need loan. McDonalds worker also can buy outright with 9 months pay.

In Malaysia, even doctor must take loan to buy Camry

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 11
      • Guanyinmaaa on Dec 02, 2016 at 11:13 am

You should go and try to stay in the states and let me see how you can buy a camry with 9 months pay, without leasing. HAHA. The room rental will choke you to death.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 40
        • Got overheating issue like Civic turbo onot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Dec 02, 2016 at 4:33 pm

That is before UMW uncle-ise it for malaysian use. Need to put some wood trim, beige colour dashboard and seats, throw away stability control, reduce airbags, revise to uglier headlights and PRICE IT CLOSER TO AN E CLASS MERC.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 02, 2016 at 11:56 am

KL also same. You want to live in New York high class room, of course lah mahal. Go outskirts lah live. Same like KL. You live in Shah Alam cheaper bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Hahaha! Let him be, bro. He is katak in a tempurung, under the well.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Dec 02, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Kalau tak pernah tinggal di Amerika, jangan buat bising.

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 03, 2016 at 8:22 pm

a) 22k is entry level Camry. It has 10 airbags, but not much else. It’s the same story with the Golf, which you can buy for 18000 Euro or so in Germany. You’ll only get 85 hp though, and the car doesn’t even have FM radio, so it is rather… empty.

b) You forget taxes and high cost of living. Food cost many times as much as in Malaysia, rent costs significantly more, … in the end, your McDonalds worker can’t afford to buy a Camry in 9 months. Actually he can’t afford to buy it in 9 years. Your McDonalds worker actually struggles to survive, and probably doesn’t have enough money to stay alive. He needs a second job just to have enough to be able to EAT.

Btw., in Germany most people also take loans or hire purchase to buy their cars. Few can afford to buy cash… second hand cars, perhaps, but new ones? I also financed my second hand car.

• Wet Armpits on Dec 02, 2016 at 10:12 am

bluudy hell its clearly stated in the article that this is the American ver.

• This is a Wow WOW.

• Ben Yap on Dec 02, 2016 at 9:51 am

when the new camry comes, price will increase between RM3k-RM5k based on UMW trending.

just like the food stalls, whatever goes up, never comes down even though petrol price is down or ringgit strengthen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 02, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Camry CBU 10 airbags in US$27k. Come here got no tax. UMW CKD it, somemore cheaper. But sell here RM1175k

• Super on Dec 02, 2016 at 10:20 am

Overrated, over hyped, over priced feature poor car. I bought a Camry made in Thailand and never buying another Toyota as a result.
    Good job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • Copy from Hyundai design, hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • will umw bring in this US version of Camry? I doubt If the umw oldies are around

• pengguna proton kecewa on Dec 02, 2016 at 12:17 pm

the word Style and Toyota just cannot sync – same with Proton and Quality

• Oliver Queen on Dec 02, 2016 at 12:48 pm

toyota ASEAN and style hard to sync only.. Proton Lotus can sync quality and tiu NA sync!

• i wonder why toyota design team like the crying face design so much..

• They got their inspiration when seeing Albert & Sammy faces crying cuz no more toyota sales. Deswai the new cars now have face problem.

• immafanbuoi on Dec 02, 2016 at 4:55 pm

perdana 2.4 is better, yup…

• Dattee on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Accord is still better, in every aspect

• Goldberg on Dec 02, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Are you sure it has turbo? Most likely it will be same outdated NA underpowered engine. I will buy the Passat anytime.

• pondan on Dec 03, 2016 at 6:06 am

hardly hear from sam loo. must have quit his toyota sales job to sell backside.