Updated Toyota Camry on sale in M’sia, from RM153k – two new variants, 7 airbags and VSC across the range

Print

Detailed and open for booking last month, the updated Toyota Camry range in Malaysia is now officially on sale. The range has been expanded to include four variants (up from three): 2.0E, 2.0G X, Hybrid Premium and Hybrid Luxury. In essence, the 2.0G X replaces the 2.0G, while the Hybrid version now comes in two versions.

Prices, as announced previously are as such: the base 2.0E goes for RM152,900 (RM2k lower than the outgoing base model), the 2.0 G X for RM159,900 (RM5k down from the previous 2.0G), 2.5 Hybrid Premium for RM164,900, while the 2.5 Hybrid Luxury is priced at RM174,900 (unchanged from before). All prices are on-the-road, including insurance.

No mechanical changes here, so the 2.0 litre models carry on with the 6AR-FSE 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with VVT-iW and D-4S direct and port injection, making 167 PS at 6,500 rpm and 199 Nm at 4,600 rpm. With a six-speed Super ECT automatic transmission, it gets to 100 km/h in 10.8 seconds, and it’s rated to use 7.2 litres of fuel per 100 km.

Likewise, the Camry Hybrid models continue with the 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre VVT-i four-cylinder petrol engine (160 PS at 5,700 rpm and 213 Nm at 4,500 rpm), working together with a 143 PS/270 Nm electric with a nickel-metal hydride battery, good for a total system output of 205 PS. With drive provided via an e-CVT transmission, 0-100 km/h is done in 7.8 seconds, while using 5.2 l/100 km.

camry-gx-cut-car-2016_clear-sky

The biggest update comes on the safety front. Like on the new Corolla Altis range, all Camry models now come standard with seven airbags (including a driver’s knee bag), VSC, traction control and hill start assist – features missing in the outgoing base 2.0E model. The old 2.0G also only had two airbags, so this is a major bump for the range.

The Hybrid Luxury (basically the same as the outgoing Hybrid model) adds on a Blind Spot Monitor with Rear Cross Traffic Alert, though the more affordable Hybrid Premium goes without the extra safety features.

As before, the whole range comes with automatic dual-zone climate control with rear air vents, keyless entry/start, rear-seat Isofix anchors and body-coloured front and rear parking sensors, among other things. As part of the update, all models now get a gear lever leather boot for a more “premium image.”

04-gx-key-dashboard_client

The new 2.0G X brings about a few new additions. The 16-inch alloys seen on the 2.0G have been replaced with 17-inch units, and the model now features a seven-inch touchscreen head unit. Unlike the seven-inch system on the Hybrid, there’s no navigation as standard, but the feature can be added on as an option. Dark brown leather upholstery, Mughal Teak wood trim and Qi wireless charging (previously only on the Hybrid) have been added too.

As for the 2.5 Hybrid, the Premium is essentially a scaled-down version of the Luxury, priced RM10,000 cheaper. It rides on 16-inch alloys (17s on the Luxury) and comes equipped with a standard tuner/CD player audio system (a seven-inch touchscreen is available as optional kit) and a basic day/night rear-view mirror (electro-chromic on Luxury). It also loses the wireless charging and nanoe ioniser seen in the Luxury.

The top-spec Camry Hybrid Luxury is almost identical to the previous range-topper, but with a few changes. The 17-inch wheels get a more toned-down silver finish instead of the outgoing model’s more overtly sporty black-and-silver look, while the front foglamps are now LED units. Inside, the JBL sound system gains two extra speakers for a total of 12, and a Driving Video Recorder (also on the Hybrid Premium) is now standard.

Check out CarBase.my for full specifications of all four variants of the new Toyota Camry range.

GALLERY: Toyota Camry 2.0G X
GALLERY: Toyota Camry Hybrid Luxury

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 02, 2016 at 5:51 pm

UMW had to update because their Camry sales were ZERO. Because of online awareness, even uncles and aunties in the pasar jual ikan tenggiri also knew UMW was ripping Malaysians selling cars at RM160k with VSC and 2 airbags.

Eventually, Camry sales became ZERO. It is amazing UMW only became aware in 2016. For 20 years selling us low specced and unsafe cars.

By the way, Camry Hybrid is still overpriced. The 10 airbag CBU Camry Hybrid in Australia is AUD29k and in US it is USD27k. Rougly RM100k if you take the Australian Camry.

Our Camry Hybrid, supposed to be tax free and cheaper CKD parts is sold for RM165k to RM175k

Can UMW aka gomen GLC stop ripping Malaysians please?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 88
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 02, 2016 at 6:13 pm

“The best overall car, the Nissan Teana, scored a perfect score for AOP, with 88% compliance for COP – highest ever recorded by ASEAN NCAP”

Why buy a junk Camry? Why buy from a company that for 20 years refused to give VSC in their Altis and Camry and thought Malaysian lives were meaningless and small?

Go and buy a Nissan Teana. Just spoke to Nissan SA, he can give me brand new Teana 2.0 for RM118k OTR.

Better I buy from a company that gives 6 airbags and VSC as standard for many years now. At least I know they care for my life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 40
      • Toyota quickly give us the next generation 2.0 turbo that model la… Before Honda Accord updates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 02, 2016 at 6:34 pm

In Australia, Camry Hybrid is so cheap that it has become the official teksi there.

I stop a Camry Hybrid and inside the car I asked the driver why he bought such an expensive car. He said, “Mate, are you joking? This Camry Hybrid is dirt cheap”

I was shocked. Camry Hybrid in Malaysia is luxurious car. Only orang kaya can afford it.

Makes me wonder….why our gomen don’t sell a safe D segment car affordable to majority Malaysians?

I thought gomen prihatin and care for rakyat safety. They expect us to use Axia with no ABS, No VSC etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 46
      • bodohsing on Dec 03, 2016 at 1:44 pm

if Australia so good why you are still here and complain? migrate lah!

I cannot stand stupid people that keep quoting oversea car price. the whole economics is just different. Do you know what’s the income tax like in Australia?! do you prefer high income tax with cheap car or lower income tax with expensive car? and how much they pay for petrol? how much they pay for taxi?

only malaysia semua nak murah. everything complain but never work for it. want maid somemore. you go see Australia people got maid like us or not?! here salary not even 10k also want maid.

go migrate lah you. malaysia don’t owe you a bmw.
        just open your eyes. despite our car price, they whole road is full of merc and bmw. go and check out the waiting list in merc. who is complaining? you cannot afford diam diam lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 57
        • Vincent Ang on Dec 04, 2016 at 10:59 am

What’s wrong with wanting a better carat a lower price? It is people like you who makes it easy for the government and their GLCs to rip off Malaysians. Sometimes I wish this country will go to hell sooner from all the kleptocracy so as to prove people like you wrong. However, I would never want that wish to come true for I think the people who do all the work paying taxes deserve a shot at a better life. Are you just too bigoted to understand the plight those who have to slog for a living?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
          • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 04, 2016 at 5:40 pm

All the dedak takers don’t know how 90% of the rakyat are suffering. If you demand lower car prices, they are so stupid to understand that you are fighting for the rights of every Malaysian to get cheaper cars.

• theScrutineer on Dec 06, 2016 at 7:10 am

I think you might need to explain the meaning of bigoted to recalcitrant fool. That said, I would not bother – his mommy dropped him on his head when he was a baby.

• Why ikan tenggiri? Jenahak and ikan. Merah also mahal wat

• Therealmaserati on Dec 02, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Can u dont talk rubbish? Camry Hybrid at 175k sold more than those Korean crapshit like K5 and Sonata.Go figure. Until now i can count the number of new Sonata i saw on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • Yokohama24 on Dec 03, 2016 at 12:10 pm

I’m not sure who is ripping us of but because our country is small unlike Aussie, we have no good road infrastructure, it is pretty damn okay for govt. to hike the car prices to reduce traffic congestion and CO2 emissions.

As you see in our neighbour Merlion country, they too, hike the car prices, but look at their public transport system, see how efficient they are compared to Bolehland. That’s where all the money channeled to.

Unlike in Bolehland, our money that we got ripped from, disappeared into thin air.. ahem ahem…..

• We want Langkawi car prices on Dec 02, 2016 at 6:00 pm

POWER OF COMPETITION and PEOPLE POWER!

Finally. Happy to hear that 7 airbags, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and Traction Control (TC) are now fitted as standard on all Camrys with 5 year warranty.

MEANING ALL THESE WHILE THEY WANT TO SAVE COST AND SUCK THEIR CUSTOMERS? Current Camry owners, do you feel cheated?

CAMRY 2.0E CKD
    RM152,900 Peninsula price.
    RM105,720 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM47,180 or 44.63% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

CAMRY 2.0GX CKD
    RM159,900 Peninsula price.
    RM110,720 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM49,880 or 45.34% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

CAMRY 2.5 HYBRID CKD
    RM164,900 Peninsula price.
    RM156,219 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM8,681 or 5.56% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

CAMRY 2.5 HYBRID CKD
    RM174,900 Peninsula price.
    RM165,668 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM9,232 or 5.57% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

I HIGHLY doubt that they MARKUP the price on its hybrid Camry. How could the Camry Hybrid be RM50,000 more than the Camry 2.0? Meaning they’re still making FAT profit margins!

Anyway you pay less tax for Honda Accord 2.0 base VTi is cheaper by RM8,100 which also have VSC and TC.

HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi CKD
    RM144,800 Peninsula price.
    RM109,610 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM35,190 or 32.10% more to the government, to Honda Malaysia and its dealers.

HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi-L CKD
    RM153,800 Peninsula price.
    RM117,650 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM36,150 or 30.73% more to the government, to Honda Malaysia and its dealers.

HONDA ACCORD 2.4 VTi-L CKD
    RM172,800 Peninsula price.
    RM129,390 Langkawi price.

You are paying RM43,410 or 33.55% more to the government, to Honda Malaysia and its dealers.
    QUESTION… Why is that the base Camry is RM3,890 cheaper than the base Accord in Langkawi?

CAMRY 2.0E CKD – RM105,720
    HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi CKD – RM109,610

But in Peninsula the base Camry is RM8,100 more expensive than the base Accord
    CAMRY 2.0E CKD – RM152,900
    HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi CKD – RM144,800

So UMW Toyota is caught OVERCHARGING its customers again?

Are we being OVERCHARGED by car manufacturers?
    STOP BUYING NEW CARS!
    The fact that they’re slowly reducing their car prices meaning they’re on panic mode.
    Good! This is working.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta Mact-chai on Dec 02, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Nice fact bro.
      But do you have figure of localization content of Camry & Accord? So far what I know is Honda CKD all their engine & Toyota some CBU thier engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • kangkong on Dec 02, 2016 at 9:15 pm

All cars in Bolehland are overpriced. I can’ t find which one is priced reasonable.

• bodohsing on Dec 03, 2016 at 1:54 pm

aiyoh… you waste so much time crunching all the numbers as if buying car is an investment. if like that you might as well factor in resale value and speculate potential policy changes. don’t you get tired?
      may I suggest you channel your energy into see how you could earn more. rather than finding ways to save the pennies you have.

don’t go compare like langkawi price, Australia price, US price. your effort will be more useful if you compare vege price in giant vs wet market vs tesco etc. is kangkung is langkawi cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Vincent Ang on Dec 04, 2016 at 11:02 am

Can’t understand the facts and figures. Studied Math and Science in Bahasa Melayu right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • New model coming soon.. Apa lagi Lelong2!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • walao last time 2009 the base Camry was only 129k

• Holofanboi on Dec 02, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Finally, all these years UMW have totally disregarded customer safety just so they can save cost.

Then again, perhaps Malaysians are to blame since just to wear seatbelt is a hassle for most…

• MY pipu r to blame for continue buy their unsafe junks after all these years.

• Vincent on Dec 03, 2016 at 1:35 am

Skimming those safety features is not on saving cost, but to earn more. Why give u so much features since so many idiots rush to buy Camry though I charge them higher price with less safety feature?

• Noticed lately UMWT improved their safety specs across all their cars?

Thank you, people! We won! The consumers won! This is the consumers’ power we are talking about. I hope all car makers to continue emphasise on safety.

Thanks to Proton also for upping the benchmark. As much as you hate the brand, you CANNOT DENY this fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • DPCraft on Dec 02, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Clearing Stocks for New model

• Camrysai on Dec 02, 2016 at 7:58 pm

Dislike Toyota brand, i prefer Mazda 6

• applegreen on Dec 02, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Why buy now? Just wait until january and u can get additional rm5k-rm10k discount

• carlover on Dec 02, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Old junk in a new make up!

• Gone by the wind on Dec 02, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Better get a Passat. It has far better technology and much more enjoyable to drive than this Camry. Anyway how many Camrys do we see on the road these days? The numbers have dropped significantly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • bro 1.5 on Dec 03, 2016 at 12:30 am

Still want a Passat? Get the Highline spec and you’re good enough to go. But IMO, if I want a large continental D-segment, I’ll wait for the CKD S90.

• The edge on Dec 04, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Still no turbo? I’m sorry I would rather get a Passat. Even Japanese Honda is using turbo for its civic. We are talking about downsizing and having more power. I’m sorry Toyota, your sales are declining and Honda , Mazda, Nissan, VW produces better cars.

• Clean Slate on Dec 02, 2016 at 11:14 pm

When will UMW introduce the real Camry sold all over the world and not the Aurion re-named as Camry here which happens to be ugly in its latest iteration.

• Everyday Driver on Dec 02, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Should thank Kim Chee KIA who bought in good safety equiped car like k3 and k5 and also proton that force this funny conyota car to finally do something to remain competitive.

• therevs on Dec 03, 2016 at 12:03 am

It is definitely possible that the UMW CEO, his management team and sales departments finally woke up from deep sleep after all these many years for cheating us poor rakyat who are forced to buy unsafe Peroduas and Protons.
    Some of them must have been following this popular blog and accessing their pathetic mistakes.
    Now only they add the PRECIOUS VSC and 7 airbags for us Malaysians! No harm putting 10 airbags later on exactly like the American Camry aka NYC yellow cabs.
    Its true. Peace fellow Malaysian drivers:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • andrw on Dec 03, 2016 at 8:51 am

when the hyundai ioniq gives advance safety features at only 114k ..

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 03, 2016 at 10:07 am

Hell just froze over…

The interior is still very ugly though. I mean, come on. The HU looks like an aftermarket unit, badly fitted into a standard 2 DIN slot. While that is practical (easy to replace with a better HU…), it just doesn’t look class at all.

The stuff under the mirror looks aftermarket too… The clock looks very cheap and outdated, aircon controls are not that clear/easy to use (look at VW to see how it is done), everything looks like it’s a bunch of old spare parts thrown together, without any care about design. I wouldn’t even be surprised to see different fonts.

Adding wood doesn’t help. If it were non-glossy wood, it might be a different story, but this glossy stuff… meeh.

Heck, most C segment contis, even B segment ones look better than this.

• Better Cars out there on Dec 03, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Toyota Camry used to be attractive to old towkay ….

Now, towkey will buy Honda, Mazda cars for better value, better look, and better safety feature……cheaper too.

• Ben yap on Dec 04, 2016 at 12:04 pm

10.8 secs from 0-100 is too slow

• passion on Dec 05, 2016 at 9:23 am

NOPE. will pass.