GALLERY: New Toyota Innova 2.0G on display – 8-seat MPV, Dual VVT-i, 6-spd auto, 7 airbags, VSC, RM126k

toyota_innova_mop_ext-1

Just ahead of its Malaysian launch real soon, the new Toyota Innova MPV is now on display at the Toyota Concept Store in Mitsui Outlet Park. Here we have a full detailed gallery of the top-spec 2.0G model, which is priced at RM126,000 on-the-road with insurance (RM122,323.35 without insurance).

Under the skin, the new MPV is again related to the latest Hilux pick-up truck, with a ladder frame, rear-wheel drive platform. The smaller, front-wheel drive Sienta, meanwhile, has a passenger car base.

Compared to the outgoing model, the new Innova is 150 mm longer (4,735 mm), 55 mm wider (1,830 mm) and 35 mm taller (1,795 mm). Wheelbase, however, goes unchanged at 2,750 mm. Spec-by-spec, it’s between 105 to 125 kg heavier than before.

The 1TR-FE 2.0 litre petrol engine now gains Dual VVT-i technology, and is rated at 139 PS at 5,600 rpm and 183 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm – three PS and one Nm more than before. Also new is the six-speed automatic transmission, in place of the old four-speeder. It has EEV certification too.

As is obvious here, the second-generation Innova has gone for a much more premium look, especially on the inside. The range-topping 2.0G here has halogen reflector headlights, 16-inch wheels, front and rear foglamps and chrome door handles. Keyless entry and an Easy Closer back door are also fitted.

Inside, the eight-seater (2-3-3 layout, 60:40 split-folding second row and 50:50 third row) has fabric seats with a stripes motif and leather-wrapped steering wheel and gear knob. Plenty of wood trim, Optitron meters, LED roof ambient lighting are also present, along with front and rear automatic air-con.

Seen here is the optional eight-inch touchscreen head unit (RM 2,109 for DVD-AVX, or RM3,169 for DVD-AVN with navigation), which also adds on smartphone connectivity, HDMI input and a reverse camera. Standard fitment is an integrated head unit with USB input and six speakers. A DVR dash-cam is also available for RM636.

As for safety, the Innova 2.0G gets seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver knee), Brake Assist (BA), Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) with traction control, hill-start assist, Emergency Stop Signal and two Isofix anchors as standard. It has a full five-star ASEAN NCAP crash safety rating.

More affordable Innova 2.0E models will also go on sale, at RM109k with a five-speed manual, or RM117k with a six-speed auto. These get a silver grille, body-coloured door handles, back-lit meters, less wood trim, manual front and rear air-con and poly-urethane steering wheel and gear knob.

They also come without front foglamps, keyless entry, ambient lighting and Easy Closer boot. Airbag count is down to just three (dual front and driver’s knee), and without BA and VSC, they receive a four-star ASEAN NCAP rating. A five-year, unlimited mileage manufacturer warranty applies to all variants.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Why it still use the old platform? Rear wheel drive for a mpv is really a bad idea. It make the car cramp, the ride is lot harder at the back, and overall heavier than the front wheel drive car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 37
    • nazee on Dec 03, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Oh god. when halogen relflector on a 120k car is considered high spec. And why is it not priced cheaper than before if it has gained EEV status???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 3
      • Not only the headlight is halogen reflector, even the common day running lights using the bulbs type. So bloody cheap looks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
        • kadajawi (Member) on Dec 04, 2016 at 6:49 am

Day time running lights using halogen bulbs is common though on many cars. On the Golf, low spec cars come with halogen bulbs (reflector too). The top spec (Highline) comes with HID, however the DRL is halogen. On Trendline and Comfortline cars you can get those HIDs with halogen DRLs for around RM 5000. If you want HID with LED DRL, you’ll have to spend around RM 5000 extra on the Highline or RM 10000 extra on lower spec cars. You do get more than just LEDs of course, these super expensive headlights are wonderful, with curve light and high beam that can be on all the time, because it blocks the light in places where other cars are.

VW is using LED DRLs to make people spend more, of course, because they look cool, and if you want them, you need to spend more.

I guess with the Innova, it’s because creating different headlights for a relatively small number of cars is excessively expensive. And LEDs can die, and if they do, they are impossible to replace. You need to replace the entire headlight. With halogen bulbs, just replace the cheap bulb. Much cheaper to run, which matters with a car like the Innova.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
          • Lazada on Dec 04, 2016 at 11:58 am

Pls lah… led headlig bulbs now a days are cheap… from Rm 200 to Rm 500 better quality led bulbs. Charging Rm 5000 to Rm I0k is too over!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 04, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Oh My, Rm126k. That is a lot of money. Infact, when the majority of Malaysians can only afford cars like Bezza, Axia, Myvi and Saga, RM126k is like a dream come true.

Where is Jib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%? 90% of the rakyat in Malaysia susah, hidup susah and we pay most of our salary for car and house.

Infact, most Malaysians, 80% of their salary already go for car payment and house payment. The 20% we use to buy food, groceries and try to survive.

I hope Jib honour’s his promise to reduce car prices. RM126k reduce 30% as promised by Jib will be RM90k.

It is a pity, majority of Malaysians can only afford a Saga or an Axia which not only does not have VSC but also ABS!

Globally, no car is sold without ABS cause it is super dangerous. But in Malaysia, our Gomen thinks it is normal to sell cars that have no VSC and ABS.

It will be nice if Jib honours his promise to reduce car prices by 30% so that most Malaysian can afford cars like this Innova with 7 airbags and VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
          • kadajawi (Member) on Dec 05, 2016 at 4:04 am

There is a big difference between those cheap LED bulbs and what VW is offering though. Static LED headlights which tend to cost around RM 5k aren’t that great… the light distribution is fine usually (better than with aftermarket solutions!), but if a few LEDs stop working you’ll be looking at spending another 5k on another complete headlight assembly.

However, my Golf has those 10k headlights, and they are wonderful. There is proper cornering light, that turns into the corners (useful). It could turn in more, but it’s an improvement. The light changes shape depending on speed/where you’re driving. On the highway you need the light to reach further, on B roads you need more light next to the road to see if there’s anything that may chose to cross the road surprisingly (think animals). And the pièce de résistance is the high beam. Using a camera it sees where other cars are, and adjusts the light accordingly. That way you can drive with high beam on all the time (in towns it will turn it down, but on dark roads it is on all the time), if another car drives in front of you or comes the other way it will darken the area where the other car is. I drive a lot at night, and it makes a big difference.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Dec 03, 2016 at 9:09 pm

Wow.. really value for money…more importantly the third row is really spacious.. will steal sale from odyssey which is sold at a ridiculous price…but honda fanboys never complain one because to them honda is premium…even freed sold at 120k also cheap. ..premium maa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 73
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 04, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Malaysians kena con again big time. Now this car got EEV certification. So, why isn’t UMW Toyota passing the savings to Malaysians? The price seems higher than previous Innova despite EEV certification.

As we can see from the Mercedes C200 and BMW 320i, with EEV certification, the cars are now about RM50k less.

We can assume that with the EEV certification, UMW will be able to sell ths car for about RM80k to RM90k. But UMW, being the sneaky company they are, has decided to sapu all the savings.

They then kelentong to the rakyat and say now they are giving 7 airbags and VSC. If you do the maths, 7 airbags and VSC hardly cost RM3k or RM4k. So, what happened to the RM30k to RM40k savings from the EEV certification?

This alone shows how dishonest UMW is. A company that lies to the rakyat. Do you dare to buy from a company that lies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
        • Krist on Dec 05, 2016 at 9:26 am

Looking at the amount of time you spend here, its funny how little you know about automotive

• Earnest Lam Soo Meng on Dec 05, 2016 at 11:59 am

So tell us what you know about “automotive”, don’t just stop at making snide remarks then … silence. As far most people are thinking the new Innova is uglier than the previous model with very little change in driving dynamics, equipment and technology. People are supposed to pay RM126k for basically a Kijang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • karam singh on Dec 04, 2016 at 12:32 am

You want front wheel drive? Toyota also sells wish, estima, alphard, sienta, vellfire, ipsum, Gaia – you choose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • john is otak batu on Dec 05, 2016 at 9:45 am

he complaining only. where got money to buy wish or estima. hahaha

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 04, 2016 at 6:33 am

RWD doesn’t have to mean uncomfortable ride though. Just look at Mercedes, BMW, Rolls Royce, …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • RWD Merc and BMW has independent rear suspension, thus the comfortable ride and good handling. The Innova has pick-up based leaf spring rear suspension and heavy ladder frame chassis, which is good for bad road conditions but not for comfort or handling. Those that have seated at the back of the current Innova can tell you the bumpiness of the ride. Enough to induce motion sickness in some people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Thus the price diff

• Agreed. The acceleration is a problem because of the low power engine. They should bring in 2.4 Diesel engine.

• Dono todo on Dec 04, 2016 at 1:23 pm

You insulting the Indonesian….careful….innova considered as national car over there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • For peasants who wish to have a Toyota at budget price.only for third word market and mentality.even exora rides better.

• YC1974 on Dec 03, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Powered boot! Hmmmm very good

• Dono todo on Dec 04, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Actually not power boot in reality…just vaccum sucker if rear door is not properly shut….. Not a push button to automatically lower itself

• Ideal vehicle for large families. Great safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • Great safety features only if you get the more expensive G. If you can only afford the E, I am sorry, UMW says the lives of your families are less worthy than those that can afford the G.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Ex VGM staff on Dec 04, 2016 at 2:50 pm

You pay less, of course you get less. Safety is not about the manufacturer alone. Its about your driving behaviour. Next time u take the road I suggest u look around and take note of hundred of thousands of proton waja and wira without airbags, or hundred of thousands of vios and city without VSC/VSA. The drivers drive sensibly.

That is the concept of business.

It is different in Europe which is suffering from slippery ice and snow in 4 season countries. They really need ESC.

For Malaysia I do admit ESC does play a factor on slippery wet road surface but not when the tyre float due to aquaplaning.

Many new sagas and personas with ESC were involved in accident recently. Search their FB group Saga VVT / persona VVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • No need to go so far. I saw one at Toyota showroom near Kayu in Sunway Damansara.

• Really ah? I want to take a look tomoro. Crazy want to go to mitsui

• Saw the car earlier today. Honestly speaking the interior has improved leaps and bounds compared to the old van like interior.definitely feels premium inside. Still need a test drive though to see how it behaves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • maXref (Member) on Dec 03, 2016 at 7:47 pm

UMW, you never learn do u? Sales is already so bad coz of their poor specs. Keep this up, can bungkus very soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
    • Poor spec?

• Dono todo on Dec 04, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Yes absence of LED headlights, foglights at g spec,no diesel options….yeah malaysians are low class people to umw Toyota…much hypocritical to put rear foglight as standard, cannibalizing rear reverse light mounting on right side….if only left bulb suddenly broke…. The right side is useless…. Potential to be crash hazard for future owners

• Sam Poo@Loo on Dec 03, 2016 at 9:35 pm

125kg heavier but increase in torque only 1 Nm, even manual which usually with shorter gearing ratio than auto will be struggle to move around. If auto, even with 6 speeder also need to move around with all windows open (cannot turn on a/c else driver will swear ‘damn it’ every time he/she accelerate, same like Biza 1.0 with brandished ‘crap’ 4AT)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • The projector headlamps available in thailand would have completed the looks with the DRL. Still i agree with the comment above that the interior looks so much better than the old one. The zebra motive on the seats might split views but i kinda like it ! :D

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 04, 2016 at 6:50 am

The interior is also better looking than the local Camry…

• TokGuru on Dec 04, 2016 at 10:33 am

I’m really surprised they omitted the projector headlights on the top spec. UMW sometimes omits certain specifications from its top spec models. Like the hilux 2.8 looses its electronic climate control here in Malaysia. Anyone knows why?

• TanKL on Dec 03, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Eh btw any test drive reviews yet?curious to know if the driverbility has improved as much as the looks and interior

• Azmuri on Dec 03, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Seems like toyota has properly differentiated the hilux innova and fortuner despite the common platform. Previous innova made me feel like i was driving a truck or commercial vehicle. Looks like goodjob toyota for now. 6 airbags on the top variant is a good start

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Price seems ok for the specs and competitors offering. Wonder if they will come with a subtle body kit to complete the look. Interior got that mini alphard feel with the blue ambient lights

• Interesting mini MPV, my only concern is the 2.0lit dual vvt-i engine suffice to pull this heavy car into action. Noted in oversea, most of 2017 Innovas are equiped with 2.4lit or even 2.8lit. Must test drive to find out.

• camtakpro on Dec 04, 2016 at 9:34 am

Going premium but no leather seats? WTF. Must be waiting for Honda to eat their market share.

• fariz01 on Dec 04, 2016 at 10:58 am

Still looks like a 7 seater to me… Cant ne serious about putting 3 people in the last row. There’s no headrest and i dont see a 3point belt… A lap belt?

• fariz01 on Dec 04, 2016 at 10:59 am

Cant be* serious

• Actually there are 3 headrests in last row. Not yet install in the picture but U still can see holes to put headrest. There are also 3 point belt for all passenger.

• oh mak lu cina on Dec 04, 2016 at 12:04 pm

This looks like hire low salary worker to do cheap design work.

• Ben yap on Dec 04, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Underpowered. Tried the innova to drag with a civic 1.5T. Lost out so badly.

• DPCraft on Dec 05, 2016 at 10:36 am

1.5T civic is so much more powerful. Maybe you should try to drag this against the 2.0 CR-V. Which is also a heavy vehicle with a 2.0l

• wawasan2020 on Dec 04, 2016 at 1:18 pm

definately not recommended for people who have motion sickness..this car is like sampan on the road..

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 04, 2016 at 2:56 pm

New Innova has obtained EEV certification? The EEV status is overly abused and everyone can simply get it from government. Since this underpowered innova got EEV, UMW surely entitled EEV incentive and how come it sell at 126k? UMW is such a blood sucking vampire and good luck to your so called new innova. Ops, is it new or “facelift”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Sohhai on Dec 04, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Exactly. How can this heavier version obtain EEV and yet cost more than the previous gen? Unbelievable

• So its means in malaysia diesel mod3l still not available?? I saw it in thailand diesel model is 2.8 .
    I dont understand why malaysia still don’t import the diesel model

• AMBIGA on Dec 04, 2016 at 5:11 pm

buruk dan mahal

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 04, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Consider a used Starex. Great value for money

• Too overpriced junk. For 3k more, u can get 38% janji ditepati kau-kau Forester for Rm129k. Imported somemore.

• john is otak batu on Dec 05, 2016 at 9:47 am

12 subaru service centres versus 98 Toyota SC. ppl will not go for subaru.

• If car dun breakdown so often, why u need so many servis centers?

• Rocketman on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:06 am

98 vs 12 is about 8 to 1. Do you think the ratio of Toyota cars vs Subaru is 8 to 1, no, its more like 20 to 1. So practically it is easier to get your Subaru serviced in any of its 12 service centres compared to Toyota with its 98 service centres.

• Tiger88 on Dec 05, 2016 at 6:52 am

Rear looks alike China wala chooha

• orang biasa on Dec 05, 2016 at 8:19 am

Better get Nissan Serena.

• passion on Dec 05, 2016 at 9:10 am

the dashboard is definitely prettier than the one on the Estima. i am surprised!
    the exterior not so.

• Guest on Dec 05, 2016 at 10:39 am

UMW should bring NAV1. Better than this.

• Kok chin Chee on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:17 pm

2011 years estima Aeras g how much?