Toyota Innova – diesel engine considered for M’sia

toyota_innova_colours-5

During a press conference at the launch of the all-new Toyota Innova, UMW Toyota was posed a question on whether Malaysians will be able to order the MPV with a diesel engine in the future. Currently, the Innova is only offered with the 2.0 litre 1TR-FE naturally-aspirated Dual VVT-i four-cylinder petrol engine.

According to UMW Toyota marketing director Justin Kwan, diesel engines are currently being considered for the Innova here, although there is no exact timing when it will be introduced. The Indonesian-spec Innova by comparison, is available with the aforementioned petrol mill, as well as a 2.4 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel from the recent Hilux.

The oil burner outputs 149 PS at 3,400 rpm and 359 Nm of torque from 1,200 to 2,600 rpm, and is paired with either a five-speed manual or six-speed automatic, driving the rear wheels. This is considerably more than the petrol’s output of 139 PS at 5,600 rpm and 183 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

Of course, introducing diesel engines requires a fair bit of research, especially with the suggested introduction of B10 biodiesel in the country. While most customers can opt to pump Euro 5 diesel, which will remain a B7 blend, fleet operators might not follow in the same footsteps. In any case, would you be interested in a diesel-powered Innova here?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• karam singh on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Better buy than the Petrol engine, more torque, better FC
    rattling sound a bit disturbing for a family car
    but need regular service for the diesel filter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • TheScrutineer on Dec 06, 2016 at 6:32 am

The petrol engine has less torque and has higher consumption. The diesel is far more superior. On both fronts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • thepolygonal on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:12 am

I personally owned a diesel SUV… believe me… don’t… unless you use it for work or taxi.

• diesel on Dec 23, 2017 at 11:10 am

can i know the downside of diesel?

• Alan Tan on May 25, 2018 at 2:31 pm

I have used both diesel and petrol engines. Generally speaking, diesels lead the pack with torque. This shows in town, taking off from standstill and going up hills. It lacks the acceleration but it will get there THe newer diesels are nothing to scoff at.

In congested areas, you will find the diesels excel at fuel consumption, full load, with the air conditioner on. And diesel engines tend to have a longer lifespan, if cared for. In the words of my mechanic, use the right coolant and watch your oil. THats basically it.

If your diesel mill comes with a lifetime timing chain, that means you dont have to change timing belts. Nor do you have to change spark plugs. Remember bus stands? Busses idling with the engine on and no one dying from carbon monoxide poisoning? Thats diesels. Diesels tend to be speed dependant rather than load dependant. So, if you are not the type to try to drive the fastest you possibly can, a diesel is for you.

Lets put it this way. I once was part of a company road show. KL, Penang, JB, Kota Bahru, Singapore, Kuantan, Ipoh. Yes, in that order. I drove a fully loaded diesel Toyota 4×4. Boss and the rest took BMWs. In btween we had to take trips to replenish booklets, phamplets, corporate gifts, etc. So basically most cars were running 24 hours a day. Well, the BM 5 and 7 series were faster, untill I passed them down the road with blown engines. There is a reason trucks use diesels. They are tough.

The downside is that the diesel filter is costlier. The fuel smells because of the aromatics put in there so people can distinguish the fuel. Our diesel is the lowest grade so I recommend putting in Euro 5. That… and service your fuel pump. A diesel fuel pump is many times more complex than a petrol fuel pump. It basically features a pump for each cylinder. YOu also have to watch your injectors. They cost a bit to replace. On the home side, all diesels appreciate being warmed up first. YOu drive it moderately…. and wait for the engine temperature to reach normal before any hard driving. If you do this, you might match my Pajero engine which took me 1.6 million km, at which point I put in another diesel engine. The car is about 37 years old. All in all, diesels are far more economical. They require about the same maintenance. I would not drive anything else. And yes one more thing, this engine that is driving this unit is a tested, proven unit. You see them in Toyota Vans, in Toyota Pickup trucks and in Toyota Avanzas. They are about as bombproof as they come.

• Gaviny on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Euro 5 to Euro 2 is not that far off in pricing , but the inherent saving of a diesel engine easily justifies using it for tourist vans with long distance and drivers sleeping while waiting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Diesel engines don’t make sense if u use it in idle speed. Only highway travelling due to the that fat torque delivery it can do 100kph at something around 1,500rpm

• Should Done This Long Ago on Dec 05, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Now we talk….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Smartass on Dec 05, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Stop considering, bloody bring it in!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • kanazai2001 on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:14 pm

YEA!!! stop talking… ACTION NOW!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Jobless on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:12 am

Yes, bring it in so that I can become a GrabCar driver.

• Alan Tan on May 25, 2018 at 2:42 pm

You are better off with a diesel pickup truck. For one its tax free. Make sure its a toyota or a isuzu. Stay away from other brands. Especially the FORD.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 05, 2016 at 4:34 pm

No point bringing diesel Innova here. You want us to save money? Just reduce the price of your petrol car.

Even CX5 diesel is a failure. Cause the CX5 diesel car too expensive. Diesels cannot work in Malaysia. Firstly, you have to pay like RM30k more for a diesel unit. 2ndly when sell time, diesel cars are always about RM20k to RM30k less than their petrol counterparts.

So, that alone is about RM60k. Do you drive that much that you can save RM60k? Also, don’t forget Diesel Euro 5 is more expensive than Ron 95. Even if you drive 100,000KM per year also, you WILL NEVER make up your initial RM60k losses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 25
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Don’t forget Diesel cars got higher servicing cost also. The filter needs to be changed regularly. Each service is a few hundred ringgit more than the petrol counterpart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • Gaviny on Dec 05, 2016 at 8:26 pm

Question ,

Im curious , How did you deduce the sale prices of these diesel cars when they only have been launched less than 2 years ago ?

Or are you comparing commercial diesel vehicles with passenger diesels ?

I think you should try looking for a focus tdci or 320d before you lie here.

And by the way , all new passenger diesels are equally covered by the same warranty and service as their petrol counterparts

Please don’t be so frickin ulu and backward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • businessman123 on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:01 am

Hey bro, please do your research properly before you make any comments. For example, the CX5 was only a 6k different compare to its petrol counterparts plus additional features…. Compare apples to apples lah, dont compare watermelon to papaya lah….. Bonus: no after treatment system/ filters (almost same maintenance cost)….
      Ya sure, for now after sales value may not be as good for now, but what about the future? U think u bomo ah, use bamboo to see ah??? Y not look at the next TOTO number…
      If u think diesel is a failure, why are Kia and Toyota heading this direction??

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 06, 2016 at 12:57 pm

dream on bro. CX5 petrol is Rm130k and CX5 Diesel is RM160k. That is 30k. Where u got 6k?

• sutheshkumar on Dec 05, 2016 at 4:57 pm

When Toyota Unser was first introduced here, the diesel version badged GLD with a 2.4 engine was introduced here, manual only. That model was quite a hit too, by private or business consumers. So I think the new Innova diesel will work too but into 2 different versions: one for private buyers (high spec) and one for business users (low or mid spec)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • rashdan rosli on Apr 07, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Yes its true, currently i’m owned the GLD. Good fuel consumption around 9 to 10L/100km. Maintenance cost about similar to ordinary car.

• BOYRACER on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Can be considered if they bring in the diesel.Unless of course the price difference is not that far.The 1TR engine has poor FC.Pick up so-so if fully loaded.Not enough torque.The old Innova was like a bus to drive in the city.Highway is alright though.Hopefully the new one is better to drive.

• Silthice on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Indonesia has been using the B20 blend for quite some time now. Hilux can use our diesel why not Innova which is using the same engine? Still the most important thing is the price. 135k? Almost twice of the unser back then. If not I’m mistaken Thai’s Innova have the 2.8 turbodiesel engine as well.

• Becoz we have clueless pipu here who persoal and bash when Gov wanna implement B10… they got dedaked, of course. Other country just implement saje, and dun gip an F to the brands complaint and their paid sapoters.

• matsalehcelup on Jan 29, 2023 at 10:36 am

cakap melayu jela bang…english is not a sign of intelligence..

• Ben Yap on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:39 pm

will it be another slowpoke with diesel engine?

• Domotomo on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:43 pm

i will start saving for 1

• Diesel engine has better torque for big MPV and more fuel economy. But they must improve the diesel engine noise. Mazda has done it with low compression with produce lower engine noise.

• tkhengong on Dec 05, 2016 at 7:30 pm

The new diesel engine in the Hilux is very refined and do not have the diesel clatter and is quiet. Diesel engines gives better fuel economy. I think Euro 5 diesel will cut down on diesel filter maintenance and replacement.

• Undoubtedly YES!!!!

• space wise just slightly than exora.
    exora is lighter at 205nm. fells stronger.
    for 117k this 1700kg with omly 167NM is a bit lacking.

i love thr look of this new innova looks stylish and go anywhere persona due the ground clearence.

2.4 td might justify its character.

• Alan Tan on Dec 05, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Just bring it Toyota

• Brutus on Dec 05, 2016 at 10:54 pm

359Nm at 1200rpm is a no brainer UMW! Market the diesel model properly and not like those days with Unser (2.4L Diesel with only Manual transmission!).
    Slip in a modified chip….more torque and power and better fuel consumption!

• passion on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:19 am

I WANT ONE!!!

• Meanwhile…european countries are putting in place bans on diesel engine. This Transport Ministry memang boleh.

• camtakpro on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:23 am

Why can’t Innova make use of hybrid?

• No need to research the engine since the Hilux is using it now.

• moiden on Dec 06, 2016 at 1:04 pm

why the decide what version they want and should be deliver it to the customer even though it takes bit longer to deliver it customer will accept. this is what done in neighbouring markets. for instance I woant hilux 2.4×2 auto model since 2.4×2 manual is available. hope the marketing manager take action on this matter.

• Ditra on Dec 06, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Innova 6 A/T transmission have a potential problem on it called “jedug”. Please be aware before buying it because it’s a faulty design and there’s no way to fix it right now. There’s pretty much of innova and fortuner’s users in indonesia suffering from this problem. Regards

• Alan Tan on May 25, 2018 at 2:41 pm

No need to consider.

BRING IT IN. The whole of Europe runs on diesel. THis car can use a diesel donk. This engine powers the toyota hilux, the Hiace, teh Fortuner….etc. HIgh torque long running capability next to none. And … biodiesel capable.

All this noise about diesels being more expensive to maintain is nonsense. If you are going to compare running a Mercedes diesel against a toyota petrol of course it will cost more. But apples to apples, diesels are cheaper to run. Lets see.

1. No spark plugs or performance issues from deterioration thereof.
    2. Most diesels have no timing belt to change. Timing Chains, some of them lifetime.
    3. Diesels are quite happy with regular engine oil. Despite what the dealers tell you. You are not running a high rev Formula 1 car and it has a oil pump to circulate the oil all over the engine.
    4. Diesel engines last longer.
    5. Diesel engines can idle indefinitely.
    6. The main exhaust component is carbon. Not carbon monoxide.
    7. You are helping our oil palm small holders. Yes, there is oil palm in our diesel.
    8. My regular diesel service on an auto truck is about RM270. Dont tell me its expensive since my service interval is 20,000km. Since I love my engine, I halve that. Still cheap.
    9. Whatever noise and smoke and odors they complain about….. you wont detect it inside your car.
    10. NEed to cross water? Better do it in a diesel.

And if cost really bothers you , get a toyota or Isuzu pickup truck, teh latter if you are on road more. It tax free and excise duty is ZERO.

• innova on Sep 27, 2018 at 7:56 am

it has been 2 years since announcement of this news. How long should i wait for?