Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia announces goodwill of additional two-year warranty on DSG

volkswagen-service-centre

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has announced “VPCM Customer Care Goodwill,” which will provide an additional two-year warranty for Direct Shift Gearbox (DSG) transmissions on VW cars produced up until December 2013 and with a mileage of up to 200,000 km. It will come into effect after the expiration of the five-year warranty period on these vehicles.

The two-year “VPCM Customer Care Goodwill” programme on DSG will see owners receiving an extended two-year parts warranty on the goodwill repair (should it be required), with the application of minimal labour charges. The additional two-year parts warranty, starting from the time of parts replacement, covers 100% parts and labour.

Additionally, the goodwill is also being extended to other selected components (including the older 1.4 litre twin charged engine) for Volkswagen cars that have passed their five-year warranty period expiration date, but on a case-by-case basis. The company says that this will be clarified at the respective authorised VW service centres using a car’s VIN number on VPCM’s online system. Also note, that this part of the goodwill programme may involve cost sharing for both parts and labour.

As per Volkswagen standard parts warranty, parts that are replaced and paid for at an authorised VW service centre receive a two-year warranty, excluding wear and tear. The company adds that in order to qualify for the “VPCM Customer Care Goodwill” on DSG and other components, customers must have a full service history at an authorised VW service centre.

The company added that a parts exchange programme on selected items is also available for customers, and that Economy Packages on specific VW models older than five years is also in the midst of being implemented at Volkswagen authorised dealer partners, and will be announced in due time.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Black Sheep on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:19 pm

Wah not bad wo. At least VW making improvement *-* with ‘free parts and labour’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
    • Ahock on Dec 07, 2016 at 1:06 am

Too little too late. Nobody buys VW anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 38
      • Missing Kunta again on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:28 am

Are u the VW owner? Why concern so much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Very good move VW! That’s customer satisfaction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • Passat Owner on Dec 07, 2016 at 11:10 am

My 2013 Passat I advertise in Mudah for 6 months, nobody called me.

I try to trade my Passat to buy another car, no dealer want to trade. I feel cheated. Is this German quality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
        • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 07, 2016 at 11:06 am

When you go to a village and you are about to cross a river, some villagers tell you there are many crocodiles. Infact few months ago a boy was killed in the river eaten by a crocodiles(s) (DSG issue still there).

But some villagers on the other hand tell you, that was the past, now the river is free from crocodiles. No more crocodiles (DSG has been cured with mineral oil)

Would you dare to cross the river now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • james on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:09 am

Finally they do something that addressing the few VW owner’s fear…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • Passat Owner on Dec 07, 2016 at 11:13 am

Why don’t they offer a buyback of our VW?

• Ex VGM staff on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:27 pm

R u kidding me? That’s the reason they keep offering this and that. And also the reason why VGM disappeared from Malaysia, replaced by an all new company – VPCM

• james on Dec 07, 2016 at 1:53 pm

No point tantrum like a baby. Let see how deep VW willing to own-up this mess they created. We just use our car until the point of changing only consider whether we should go back with VW.

• lao yee on Dec 07, 2016 at 11:45 am

And you seeing ghost everywhere driving on the road.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:56 am

This could only mean one thing. That they said mineral oil had solved the DSG breakdowns are just but pure lies. Again, another lie from the VW group. Lie after lie. Last time DSG also, they lied for 8 years denying there was any problem with DSG

If VW Malaysia was sincere, they will give 10 year warranty like China VW has done. In China, since the gomen there got no stake in VW (unlike here DRB got stake in VW Malaysia), the China gomen was neutral and told VW China that they were fed up with the DSG scandals and that minimum 10 year warranty was a must. VW China complied.

Anyway, there is still no cure to the losses suffered by VW owners in Malaysia, Besides the constant breakdowns and spending half your life in the SC for repairs and breakdowns, VW RV in Malaysia is condemn case.

No used car dealer wants to accept a VW anymore. Two reasons for this. Firstly, no more RV. Because of diselgate and DSG Gate, VW cars have dropped in value so much. 2014 Passat now selling for RM60k from brand new RM180k.

To make matters worse for the RV, VW Malaysia themselves have firesales and throw prices. They recently sold their Jetta and Passat 2016 models brand new for HALF PRICE. Yup, like lelong sale.

So, the 2nd hand market also dropped accordingly. Imagine the poor owner who buys his Passat for RM180k….how would he feel when few months later, VW Malaysia themselves sell for RM120k brand new.

This is why no used car dealer wants to touch VW in Malaysia at all. Buyer beware. You will cry if you buy a VW. Remember in 2014, VW AG in Germany already confirmed in black and white that DSG CANNOT be used in hot countries and countries with jams ie like Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 20
      • Vincent on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:42 am

VW is showing that car 2014.. after converting to mineral gear oil, DSG problem solved.

My 2 cents.

This extended warranty is a good move!

In the past, VW price RV drop till no used car dealer dare to take the car was due to the high cost expected to repair DSG. With his extended warranty, I believe the RV will jump up for 2012, 13 used Passat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
        • tkhengong on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:13 pm

I owned a Jetta 2014. Had noises coming from engine compartment and undercarriage. Loss of power occasionally when going up the car park ramp at my condo. The car would hesitate to move even when stepping hard on the accelerator. On a trip to Singapore, midway from c Penang, the engine warning lights came on and off but luckily no major problem. Much to my dismay, workshop unable to trace fault when I sent for check. Sold at a great loss after VW Drop Everything Sale. I wanted to trade in for VW Golf 2016 model, VW salesperson don’t even care to contact me. Beginning, gave excuses second hand dealer overseas. But I guess that guy never returned to Malaysia as I received no further communication from salesperson until today. Now, I drive a 2016 Subaru XV and I AMB totally happy with the car.

• abc123 on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:19 am

yes VW China provided 10 years warranty but limtied to mileage of 160,000km. whereas here is unlimited mileage, so which one u prefer?

and pls check ur source again DRB has no stake in VW Malaysia.

could you pls show us ur prove of VW AG confirmed DSG cannot be used in hot countries?

• Kinte bin Kunta on Dec 07, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Hats up to VW. I own a Jetta, the car is running just fine, no issues. I’m am enjoying the performance of its twincharged tsi engine and lightning fast dual clutch gearbox. It’s a performance car and gives you all the excitement anyone could ask for. If you are still not happy, just stick to your boring Toyota. VW cars are reliable, and I’m an owner myself as a proof. The car will serve you well, unless you get itchy or poisoned and mod the car by remapping and putting aftermarket parts. That’s the problem with many people, they tend to mod their turbocharged car because it can be easily done just by a software remap. Keep your car stock and original, service it properly at authorised centres, don’t abuse it and I can assure you the car will be very reliable as I speak honestly being an owner myself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • VW Salesman on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:40 pm

Then u ask VW to buy back your car for R&D so they can improve their product from ur perfect VW and u can own another brand new VW after selling it…lol
          Come dude…don’t hard sell here…I owns a GTI and I know what I’m goin thru

• Strowman on Dec 08, 2016 at 6:45 pm

You did a stage 2 remap? Probably that’s the reason, I know many gti owners who really soup up their cars. For once kinte speaking facts.

• lolol on Dec 07, 2016 at 1:08 pm

May want to re-read the article closely and count the number of caveats in it….. minimum charge? Who decides this? VW… no customer will ever know what the minimum charge it….

…. older cars needs to have cost sharing?

and this one takes the cake… they now that there are sooo many older cars who got screwed so badly by official VW that they went to seek outside help to resolve the issues they faced by DSG. Guess what owners… u aint covered! Too bad. I suspect that the true “Full service” record cars are by the single digits.

VW marketing BS strikes again!

• Jimmy on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:29 pm

The 3rd to 5th years are nightmares; that’s why I am reluctant to sign up for insurances; I have no life insurances and I have no medical cards.

Once you are way better than them and don’t need them, you will realise that they are a bunch of clowns.

I hope one day, you can reach that state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:59 am

Vw cars only got 2 years warranty. The additional 3 years is insurance warranty. And it is discretionary. Many people have complained that VGM before have declined their claims.

I hope this additional 2 years also not insurance warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • tokmoh. on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:45 pm

After all these years?

Too late la. See VW, sure think DSG rosak, like proton and power window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 27
    • timbuktu on Dec 07, 2016 at 1:03 am

when people don’t give, u complain. when people give, u also complain. might as well u go fly kite and build ur own car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 14
      • Passat Owner on Dec 07, 2016 at 11:12 am

I remember you in our SC always. Can you sell your Golf? My Passat nobody want to buy

• Tiger88 on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Dsg is failure in this part of the world mainly bez of 2much humid n hot weather thus make Dsg sensors failure .it’s nothing wrong with Dsg only thing is vw introduce another type of gear box which could bear the heat n humidity but it’s not easy to implement but only easy to say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 07, 2016 at 1:48 am

oni 1 variant of dsg (7 speed, dry clutch) has the problem…consider failure for the rest?

• Ex VGM staff on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Polo TSI and GTI using DSG. Golf TSI using DSG7. Scirocco 1.4 using DSG7. Passat 1.8 using DSG7. The bulk VW cars sold are using dry clutch DSG.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:54 pm

Wow this nightmare still plagues VW until today and they still doing damage control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Acronym on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Good move by VW Malaysia but their reputation is already tarnished. VW design is old compared to its predecessors. Also no RV(Very important for Paultan commentators)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
  • Will the warranty be transferable to the new owner?

• Vincent on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Good move VW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • they start listen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:00 am

they start to listen or they got ZERO sales and have no choice but listen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • If i understand correctly – say the dsg fails when the car is 3-1/2yrs old and is replaced, and doesn’t fail again by the time the 5yr warranty is over, the dsg replacement is warrantied up to when the car is 5-1/2yrs old- but if the dsg fails again after that, then it will not be covered. Not a true 7 year warranty on the dsg – am i correct in my interpretation?

• VW owner on Dec 06, 2016 at 11:29 pm

No use if the Service Center’s quality is still shit, takes forever to do anything and is unreliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Tricky on Dec 06, 2016 at 11:34 pm

They just want to come often to their SC

• Dee Arse Gee on Dec 06, 2016 at 11:53 pm

Are they still people buying Volkwagen cars? Still not learning the lessons ? They think our time lost is not valuable ? Screw them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • Now now where are all the fanboys? Still in SC waiting for parts to arrive and still best brothers with tow truck kakis and SA? Clowns who protek protek cuz still stuck with 9 years loans and no dealer wants to buy over that JUNK. LOL!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
  • VW URE NVR SINCERE ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • VW ure nvr sincere ..i hd enought

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Shawn on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:59 am

I just spent rm20k to repair my Golf 1.4 engine which is due to poorly performed service / failure to change the parts properly as per due at each milleage intervals. And I have always serviced my car at VW authorised service centres. At each service, I informed the service team about a rattling noise coming from the engine and each time they mentioned that they could not detect any noise nor the source. What pissed me off is that this could have been avoided had the service team do a proper job. And this happened immediately after my 5-year warranty expired. I would strongly caution against buying a VW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
  • We have owned the Passat since 2012 and have always serviced it at Wearnes on time. Usually a little ahed of time noting that we may be busy. Never had a major problem. We love the service centre, excellent service. Other premium brands also have problems. Follow manufacturer’s guidelines and services times and you’ll have trouble free use of the product. Use unauthorised services centres and pay the price. I’d buy another VW without a doubt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • vincent on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:19 am

My experienced is good too, 2013 Golf, so far so good and I have to say it is a great car to own compare to Jap car, I serviced my car around 7-7500km before going to workshop, no harm having fresh oil change.

• I'm a victim too on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Trying to save the car value?…lol too late to let go bro

• Henry on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:15 am

Too little too late. It won’t be enough especially in difficult times like now. And options are plentiful. Good luck.

• azrai on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:30 am

They should instead offer a buyback scheme for all the rosak DSG’s VW la.

• lolpanda on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:43 am

2 years eh? Ford (albeit silently through letters to owners only) extended the transmission warranty by 10 years…now THAT is commitment.

• passion on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:08 am

WE ARE DONE WITH THIS BRAND! NUFF SAID.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • gonggok on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:25 am

Enough is enough. Just give us a torque converter ‘normal’ automatic gearbox. If a normal gearbox is good enough for BMW and Mercedes, why do you insist on doing something else?!! Yes it more more efficient but BMW and Mesrcedes seem to do fine.

• clooney on Dec 07, 2016 at 4:54 pm

A torque covertor auto doesn’t come close to a DSG. Drive a DSG and you will know the thrill and fuel efficiency of it. With DSG you do not need to trade performance for fuel efficiency, you can have them both. it’s a technology marvel and even fords dual clutch cannot match VWs DSG.

• Gaviny on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:28 am

Judging from their facebook , seems a lot of Malaysians have forgotten about the problems . Just overwhelming support again . Malaysia will be Asian tiger of Volkswagen sales

• meejawa on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:51 am

“…an extended two-year parts warranty on the goodwill repair (should it be required), with the application of minimal labour charges. The additional two-year parts warranty, starting from the time of parts replacement, covers 100% parts and labour.”

So is the labour free or not???

• wke002 on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:53 am

When young we spent hours at workshop with our cars and bikes. now with other committment, we want cars that just pump and drive. any car company could give even 10 years warranty but if breakdown occassionally, not to mention the days/weeks taken without car, it serve no purpose on owning that car, no matter how well it perform/drive.

• Mikey on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:05 am

Bravo for doing something to your existing customers. That is a GOOD starting point. In order to improve your image/reputation, you should continue to offer & improve your services/warranties for your customers.

Please remember that your existing customers are your BEST advertisement $$$ cannot buy. A word of mouth by your existing customers are better than any advertisement you pay. That is a Goodwill worth Cheering. Cheers …

• oldbell on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:16 am

At year 2012. I feel so pain to sell my 10 months old Golf TSI, and I also loss big % of $$ from the new car price.

After I have visited the SG Besi SC, the service is so poor. I still insists to sell it.

Till today with all the comment at here.
    I have no regret to sell it.
    although my current car not as powerful.
    At least, it is not so much of problem.

• Well done vw! We …the long suffering owners welcome this….i do admit, the new mgmt are making good progress…well done

• Hanye Tan on Dec 07, 2016 at 11:06 am

Volkswagen has quietly fix their Dsg. This boosts their confidence to offer 2-year warranty?

• camtakpro on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Good move but not good enough. Still vague.

Does this warranty extends on top the VW manufacturer 2yrs warranty and end up 4 yrs warranty just for the DSG from manufacturer? While the 3yrs useless insurance warranty starts counting on at the end of 2 year warranty?

Be bold and just give 10 yrs unlimited warranty on your DSG. And the rest of the car 5 yrs unlimited warranty. Not those useless scheme 2+3 or 2+3+2 or whatever.

• VW owner on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Its a positive move from VW and yet people still arguing. Its better than nothing thou. For me VW is a good car and at different level compare to the Japs.

• Gaviny on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Nobody pointed out that it also means you MUST pay for overpriced servicing with them ?

LOL all the happy duped customers

• Really like to see the faces of those ppl whom 5 yrs ago condemning Japanese cars like Toyota and Honda and claimed VW will tapau all in sales. Topkek

• chiakc on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:45 pm

dsg, that’s the route where vw chose, instead of using auto gearbox from other manufacturers, its reliability still a great concern to most of us.

of course dsg also evolve and constantly updated to resolve design flaws like in dq250 model, but nevertheless i still dun believe vw

• Levin on Dec 07, 2016 at 3:39 pm

“…with the application of minimal labour charges.”

Saw the fine print folks? LOL!

• Vincent on Dec 07, 2016 at 4:00 pm

A lot of negative people just care to hamtam.. they got 100 way to find negative point but total disable in giving good words for improvement….

Pls be fair to VW, 200K KM warranty for gearbox or 7 years is consider fair life spend for a car. It is a night mare for VW owner to get their DSG gear box failed at 50K KM…

Now, we just hope that VW SC don’t screw up the brand name by telling customer… you have stop sending youor car to service center since past one year! Warranty gone.. you are no longer entitle to the 2 years extended warranty. If this do happen, VW will back to branding crisis !

• Napolean on Dec 07, 2016 at 4:48 pm

What is wrong with these people. Very unhealthy criticism. Credit is due when it is due..even if it’s a proton or a chery or a Great Wall or a tata. I praise VW for their effort. Why bash everything? Aren’t you ever satisfied with anything given? What satisfies you? Probably nothing ever.

• Vincent on Dec 07, 2016 at 7:23 pm

Have you owned a VW before? If not shut up! If yes, prove it.

• I'm a victim too since 2012 on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Coz u never OWNS a VW before

• Bobby on Oct 10, 2018 at 3:12 pm

If u are not the owner of a VW, u will never feel the pain like us. Own one and pls let us know your “GOOD” experience with them!!!

• Mr Sim on Dec 07, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Volkswagen kuching sarawak service sucks

• mikkck3 on Dec 07, 2016 at 6:59 pm

VW total failure in quality and SAFETY. Family X Touran lost total acceleration when “ESC Not Working” sign came on. Had no acceleration to steer my family to safety, only could use the brakes to come to a stop. Service Centre confirmed Mechatronics failure. Called VPGM on 28.11.16 n spoke to Kelvin @ customer service which was totally useless. Told me his manager will call back next day cause he is on sick leave n everyone at VPGM was at a Singapore conference and won’t know when will be back. After 3 days no call. VPGM totally useless as previous calls met with no reply. Will be asking JPJ & MAI for a product recall due to safety issue of their Mechatronics as it has happened before to many VW users.

• Its bye bye warranty then for those who bought a used VW from a used car lot assuming it ha missed its periodic service under the warranty period.

• gti owner on Dec 08, 2016 at 3:10 pm

I owned a 2012 golf gti (2nd hand), thanks VW by given a first experience to me parking at roadside waiting for a road assistance on my 17 years driving experience. But cant denied is a great car for driving.

• nak bagi free on Dec 09, 2016 at 10:59 am

to the basher that always comment negative, please get a test drive first. Dont have vw car to drive go to showroom.

• Strowman on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Good move by Volkswagen. I enjoy driving your cars, it’s a thrilling and fun experience, miles away from Japanese cars.

• White Swan on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:28 pm

I own both the Golf TSI 2012 & Harrier 2015. Hands down, Gold TSI is a good ride (minus the gearbox issue). But after so many years of bad service + terrible resale value, never again will I ever buy a VW. After complaining for 4.5 years, finally the service ppl agree the mechatronic has problem and will replace. Its been 2 weeks, so far no problem. lets see how long it will last.

• Ask VW to stop the bullshit. Pls don’t fall for their trap of buying VW. My Golf tsi is giving hell lot of problems during my ownership and recently I have to force sell it with a low price when it is diagnosed with a Turbo internal oil leak that will cost close to 10k to fix! The warranty does not cover for wear and tear parts like turbochargers and superchargers. These items still required a lot of money to repair. I will never fall into their trap again, no more VW for me!!!

• Stop the bullshit VW! I will never touch your brand ever again!!!