Fine increase for expired license renewal untrue – JPJ

malaysian driving license 001

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has denied claims that it will increase the fines for motorists who renew their licenses that have already expired.

Referring to various social media postings on the matter, the department clarified that motorists found driving or riding their vehicles without a valid or expired license can be fined a maximum of RM300.

However, if they settle the fine within a certain timing, they will benefit from a reduction in the compound imposed on them, following the table posted below:

jpj-license-expire-compound

In a statement released by the department, the public is advised not to believe news posted on social media and messaging platforms, especially those without a valid source. It also viewed the matter seriously as it could potentially create a severe misunderstanding within the public.

Recently, the department had to release a statement denying a claim that that vehicles with an engine capacity of 880 cc and above will be charged a higher road tax (and insurance) of 25% more, beginning January 2017.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ben yap on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:17 pm

no fine increase means good news. most of the time people forget to renew and it’s not because they don’t want to renew.

• Kunta a/l Kinte on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:40 pm

Got 3 million motorist on our roads with no lesen. They cause the bulk of accidents and deaths. This, they got no time to sort. Yes, 3 million. not 3 thousand. Not 30 thousand, not 300,000 but 3 million.

But the bodohs got time to impose fine on lost lesen.

• Kiman on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:29 pm

it seems like social media has failed to enhance thinking but moved us backwards to the point where a kindergarten kid could type some nonsense like this and it goes viral.

• paparadzi (Member) on Dec 07, 2016 at 12:41 pm

I understand that there is a fine for driving with an expired license, but is there a fine for nor renewing the license? Having an expired license doesn’t mean one is driving with it, could be that the person hasn’t been driving at all lately.

• OMG…Tak renew pun kena, now renew but late also kena….tiu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • solenski on Dec 08, 2016 at 12:26 pm

you must be stupid can’t understand simple english on the article.
      No fine if you renew your expired license at the counter.
      If you caught by JPJ driving on the road with expired license, then there is a fine for your action.

• Need to fork out rm300 by providing an expired license when riding motorcycle (2-3months late as totally forgot to renew). I am paying with 2weeks from the ticket date. Been told by the counter that above table applicable only if u failed to show ur license during the roadblock. Speechless.

• joseph cheah on Dec 08, 2016 at 3:30 am

Not too long it was raise jn driving license now raise in late renewal of license.Congratulations remember this is BOLEHLAND anything can happen and at anytime. Those enforcement idiots cant tell the difference.

• Ravindra Kumar Singaram on Dec 08, 2016 at 9:50 am

Gomen kita kekurangan dana so I am not surprised if this is true. Lantik kaki aircon and specialist kulum as senators at our expense

• In the current golden age of fake news… this is no surprise. Hopefully we’ll all become more savvy on info-checking/verifying before something really bad happens due to fake news.

• Eliza on Mar 14, 2018 at 8:40 am

What should I do if my driving license expired 5 years? What should I do to renew my license now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Sm sobuj. on Mar 03, 2019 at 3:39 am

My driving license already EXPIRY almost 9 months .so how much money for renew driving license.please let me know.