VIDEO: Volkswagen Golf GTI Clubsport S beats its own Nurburgring record – 7 minutes and 47.19 seconds

Volkswagen clearly wants to make sure its Golf GTI Clubsport S continues to remain the “FWD King of the ‘Ring,” which is why the company sent the hot hatch back to the famous track to beat its own record time.

The end result is a time of 7 minutes and 47.19 seconds, more than two seconds faster than its previous attempt of 7 minutes and 49:21 seconds. Compared to its closest rival, the current Honda Civic Type R (7 minutes 50.63 seconds), the Volkswagen is more than three seconds quicker.

Looking at the vehicles further down the lap times list, the Golf GTI Clubsport S is also quicker than a BMW M2 (7 minutes 58 seconds), the Renault Megane RS 275 Trophy-R (7 minutes 54.36 seconds) and Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren (7 minutes 52 seconds).

The Clubsport S is a significant step up from a regular Golf GTI, beginning with a tweaked 2.0 litre TSI mill that provides 310 PS and 380 Nm of torque that is paired with a six-speed manual transmission.

The car also benefits from an improved chassis that provides better stability, as well as minimising understeer. Grippy tyres (Michelin Sport Cup 2), retuned brakes and a rear seat delete kit help to improve the car’s performance further.

According to Volkswagen, the eight degree Celsius conditions were perfect for keeping the car’s engine and tires working at their best to set the time. However, if you want one, there’s some bad news as only 400 units of the model will be made.

Volkswagen Golf GTI Clubsport S

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• passion on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:03 am

NOPE!!!!

• Kunta a/l Kinte on Dec 08, 2016 at 11:11 am

Of course can cause Nurburgring is very cold. DSG like cold weather.

Bring the car to Sepang, it will jerk, halt and judder. Cause DSG cannot tahan hot weather

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Malaysian Driver on Dec 08, 2016 at 4:46 pm

This Golf GTI Clubsport which broke the green hell record is a MANUAL, not DSG.

This shows you are an empty bottle, bash without reading, bash without using your brain, bash without substance. Empty basher.

• Vincent on Dec 08, 2016 at 11:07 pm

Kunta got lemon from VW…hantam what ever shown as VW…the hate has blind his eye…his brain stop working when see “VW”.

My 2 cent to Kunta, get a lawyer, gather all dsg lemon owners….officially sue VW!

• Facts on Dec 08, 2016 at 4:54 pm

If you watched the video it’s actually a manual golf not a DSG

• Bob_B78 on Dec 09, 2016 at 8:20 am

Occasionally, there are track days for VW owners to have fun in Sepang just like few weeks back. I don’t see any so called DSG breakdowns during that time. Please justify your your statement.

• oh mak lu cina on Dec 09, 2016 at 10:50 am

VW/Audi drivers always see lose to CRV driven by uncle in bents!

• Mikey on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:42 am

Records are ment to be broken & for that, I want 2 congratulate U. Every record broken can only mean Progress. The question how soon will it trickle down into your VW cars ?!!

• Mikey on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:49 am

You mention Grippy tires (Michelin Sport Cup 2). Meaning if U stick a full soft compound slick tires, U will be able 2 shave a few more seconds isit ?

• lolol on Dec 08, 2016 at 11:44 am

#VWNurburgringRecordGate!

• Ernest Garcia on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:49 am

Occasionally, there are track days for VW owners to have fun in Sepang just like few weeks back. I don’t see any so called DSG breakdowns during that time. Please justify your your statement.