2017 Maserati Ghibli now in Malaysia, from RM619k

The 2017 Maserati Ghibli and Ghibli S are now available in Malaysia, officially by Naza Italia. The revised saloon made its debut at this year’s Paris Motor Show with unchanged looks but additional features.

Inside, the 2017 Ghibli’s dashboard has been redesigned to accommodate a high-res 8.4-inch screen with multi touch technology. The latest infotainment system is compatible with both Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, and features a rotary knob on the centre console to control the main functions.

The Italian sedan is now available with the Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS) package, which includes Adaptive Cruise Control with Stop & Go, Blind Spot Alert, Lane Departure Warning, Forward Collision Warning with Advanced Brake Assist, and Automated Emergency Braking. An additional Surround View Camera is available in combination with ADAS.

Maserati says that the baby Quattroporte has improved aero-acoustic comfort and noise insulation, and an Air Quality Sensor is now standard fit. Luxury and Sport packages are available for the Ghibli.

Luxury comes with Zegna Edition Silk and Premium Leather upholstery while Sport brings new sports seats and a sports steering wheel with aluminium shift paddles. Two Carbon packages, one with exterior and the other with interior elements, are now available as a further customisation, if you chose Sport in the first place.

The subtle improvements are joined by more power under the hood. The Ghibli and Ghibli S are powered by a 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 engine with start-stop, mated to an eight-speed ZF automatic transmission. The base car now pushes out 350 hp and 500 Nm, 20 hp more than the previous model year. 0-100 km/h is done in just 5.5 seconds on to a higher top speed of 267 km/h. That’s should be enough for most; if not, the 410 hp/550 Nm Ghibli S does 5.0 seconds and 285 km/h.

The 2017 Maserati Ghibli starts from RM618,800 while the Ghibli S is yours from RM708,800, including Malaysian duties and applicable taxes. Prices also include a three-year, 60,000 km service package.

GALLERY: 2017 Maserati Ghibli

GALLERY: 2017 Maserati Ghibli S

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 09, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Prices have gone up quite a bit compared to the original price when it went on sale here in 2014. Still looks good despite appearing as though no exterior design changes were made. Sadly, not many sold here. Have seen as many Bentaygas as I’ve seen the Ghibli, which is saying a lot as the big Bentley is way more expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Kumar on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:17 pm

I have seen a number of Ghiblis and only 1 Benteyga. Maserati has sold 200 units of the Ghibli. Could just be becasue you are staying in an atas area thats why see more bentaygas than ghiblis. XD

• RMvsUSD=4.5:1 on Dec 09, 2016 at 1:41 pm

With so few dealerships and after sales service in the country, dont expect such cars to sell well in this country.

• Pre-facelift or pre-improved Ghibli was selling under 600k… why suddenly break 600k barrier? Correct me if I’m wrong

• Extra profit. What is 20k more or less to those who can afford 600k?

• Geoff on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Have you seen what’s happened to the RM exchange rate in the past 12 months?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 09, 2016 at 3:04 pm

honestly, this maserati isnt sleek at all…isnt as fast as other rivals and doesnt really sound that good. spec list from the base price is a joke. all in all, this is an overpriced car you buy for the brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • ex-VGM staff on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:26 pm

at 600k, 200k will go the government. unless u register in langkawi.

• Jonn Dol on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:09 pm

One thing for sure , Maserati wants to keep this car more exclusive than the sea of E-Class, 5 series and A6, as shown by the base car spec. Unless Maserati would consider a sub-300bhp N.A version of the V6 engine for this car..

• Mikey on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:18 pm

The older Maserati Quattroporte(2011) which uses the NA engine sound much better. This car is made for performance. Get on the road and hear the engine roar & you will know what i mean.

• Bini4Best on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Better buy Proton Perdana…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Jimmy on Dec 09, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Alang-alang punya kereta.

The only selling point is exclusivity; if you shiok sendiri and want something exclusive. I repeat, syiok sendiri.

Do you know how your friends think about you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • mcMac on Dec 09, 2016 at 7:54 pm

this car has excellent sounding v6.

• Like the interior especially. Looks clean and cool. Well as it should be at even half the price asked I guess.

• eeeriz on Dec 21, 2016 at 8:48 am

Agreed with mcMac. The engine & exhaust sound were so intoxicating. Just look at the movies Furious 7, during the chasing scenes between Vin Diesel and Jason Statham.