GALLERY: Peugeot 208 and 2008 facelifts on display

Earlier this month, Nasim previewed both the Peugeot 208 and 2008 facelifts in Penang, and announced that bookings for the B-segment models were now open. An official launch (with prices) will take place next year, but before that, here’s a detailed gallery of the updated Pugs.

Visual enhancements on the 208 include a fresh bumper design with an “Equaliser” grille and new fog lamp enclosures. The headlamps also gain a bit more flair with dual-tone black and chrome bezels, while the rear lighting units are now full-LED clusters with a with a prominent “lion claw” motif.

Elsewhere, there are chrome side mirror covers (part of the Allure trim pack) and the five-door model seen here is fitted with new 16-inch wheels (wrapped with 195/55 Michelin Energy Saver tyres). There are changes on the inside too, with the most prominent being the new faux carbon soft-touch trim on the dashboard, as well as a new steering wheel and seat design, the former losing its “dimples.”

Under the hood, the 208 also replaces the previous 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated engine (122 PS and 160 Nm) and four-speed auto combo with Peugeot’s new 1.2 litre turbocharged three-cylinder PureTech engine (112 PS and 205 Nm), together with an Aisin six-speed automatic transmission.

The performance gains are pretty significant, with the 0-100 km/h sprint now dispatched in just 9.8 seconds compared to 10.7 seconds before. Fuel economy also sees an improvement, with the 208 now consuming just 4.5 l/100 km on the combined cycles versus 6.7 l/100 km previously. The top speed however, remains unchanged at 190 km/h.

As for the 2008, the crossover’s visual upgrades include a new vertical front grille, slightly revised headlamps, black mouldings on the wheelarches, 17-inch wheels (with 205/50 Goodyear EfficientGrip tyres) and new skid plates. The 208’s new powertrain also makes its way into the 2008, so the century sprint is now done in 9.9 seconds (from 11.2 seconds) and the fuel consumption is rated at 4.8 l/100 km under the combined cycle (from 6.5l/100 km).

Safety-wise, both models retain their six airbags, electronic stability programme, ABS with EBD and brake assist. As mentioned earlier, prices for both updated models have yet to be revealed, but they should remain close to the existing pre-facelift figures: RM85,888 for the 208 five-door hatchback, and RM119,888 for the 2008 crossover.

Peugeot 208 PureTech

Peugeot 2008 PureTech

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Looking forward to test drive it. All the reviews say it’s a brilliant engine

• Sama L00 on Dec 14, 2016 at 11:42 pm

Europe get Peugeot Malaysia get Proton. Same junk quality. Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • How many time proton has won or even nominated for European car of the year?

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 15, 2016 at 12:59 pm

In Europe, Peugeot is considered a low class and problematic car.

Infact, Top Gear dedicated one whole episode just on Peugeot. It said, in the 60s it was one of the highest quality companies. Sadly from 90s onwards, it became the lowest quality car ever. Literally junk status.

Don’t believe me, go and search that Top Gear episode in torrents and download it.
          Peugeot is now the No 1 Problematic car in Europe. Even the French people laugh at it.

I think owning a Proton is better than a Peugeot.

But in Malaysia, kononnya it becomes a “luxury” car.

• now is 2016.. not 90’s

so KIA and hyundai compare to 90’s?

• B. Carvalio on Dec 15, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Peugeot is definitely better alot of other cars in the market… In terms of Safety, Handling, Comfort Ability and its Performance…
            By comparing a continental brand to a local brand, it makes the person who is comparing it looks and sounds “doesnt know anything about car, and wont appreciate cars”…. Trying to make Proton sounds like a Luxury car ? Hahahahaha !! Keep dreaming !!

• Faiz Roslan on Dec 14, 2016 at 8:24 pm

well done Nasim, well priced and well structured launched
    heard many good reviews on the after sales service, they are willign to go the extra length to treat customer right after pricing the car right, not often you see this in the automobile market in the world, let alone in malaysia..

well done to the self made entrepeuner, making an examplary of how a business should be run

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
    • seancorr (Member) on Dec 15, 2016 at 3:38 am

Sure boh the after sales service is good??? The only thing I can praise Nasim for is their price. As for the after sales, the quality of their service is as good as KIA which means unanswered calls, slow poke service and technicians who don’t know what they are doing.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 15, 2016 at 10:07 am

Same type who said our Education is world class but had to cheat on the PISA scores as we were not even in the ranking. Syiok sendiri syndrome.

• dorea on Dec 15, 2016 at 8:16 am

<<>>

You serious? Good reviews? LOL.

• sutheshkumar on Dec 14, 2016 at 9:28 pm

No more 3 door?

• oh mak lu cina on Dec 15, 2016 at 12:13 am

Every Peugeot owner all sudah pijak tahi. They tell everyone la. No one will buy this car but yes a sucker is born everyday!

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 15, 2016 at 10:12 am

Please stay away from brands like Peugeot and Citroen and VW. You will cry and regret.

Their RV becomes HALF in one year. HALF!

I repeat, HALF!

In 2 years time, your PEUGEOT will be worth 80% less.

You have to jual buntot to top up your loan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Guys wait for the new 3008. It looks really good

• Andrekua on Dec 15, 2016 at 6:50 am

Nice if they would make the wheelbase slightly longer to accommodate a bit more space for rear passengers. I would be surprised if this doesn’t goes over 90k, given that ecoboost is also >90k.

• any1here on Dec 15, 2016 at 8:33 am

peugeot makes cars? I thought they made bicycles only……

• Arvin Ross on Dec 15, 2016 at 10:03 am

The worst car to ever buy. I have 1 highly problematic 208 rotting at home (with non existant resale value). A few friends with other models like the 308 and 5008 have the same to say about the problems. A true waste of money.

• Honestly, please stay away from Peugeot due to:

1. Poor after sales service
    2. Even though the car is still under warranty, they will try to put the blame on customer and get us pay for the repair
    3. Customers have to pay for the labour even though under warranty
    4. The customer service hardly pick-up the phone and even they pick-up they will end up transferring the calls and make us wait till we hang up if they are unable to answer to our query
    5. Incompetent service technicians, due to the desperate situation of lack of technical person, they simply hire some youngsters or insufficient experienced individual by sending them a week training in Shah Alam HQ and send them to various service centre nation wide by claiming Peugeot France trained
    6. Peugeot France is hopeless and never responds to any queries and complains from Malaysia where else they do respond complains from Singapore. Why this double standard persist?
    7. The warranty department just will find fault and transfer the blame to the customers by any means
    8. Brought and seen a few cases to Tribunal and end up the case being dragged and also being pushed to civil court to the amount exceeding 25k and 50k cost. Nasim Sdn Bhd uses their lawyers to drag the case until the customer have to sell the car for a lost. Many unreported case due to Peugeot’s Poor Service (Nasim Sdn Bhd). The distributor use the loop holes in our judiciary system to cheat customers like us.

Think twice before purchasing Peugeot, VW and Renault, even Honda City with too many gearbox issues, and poor transmission problems and many intermittent issues with Nissan Almera.

Nowadays, all throwing in discounts to grab sales and no one bothers about after sales service. Toyota don’t even bother at even the initial stage by providing crap equipped car. Too egoistic as they are GLC linked.

• Faiz Rolsan on Dec 15, 2016 at 1:40 pm

3. Customers have to pay for the labour even though under warranty

What is wrong with this? They provide free service, but labor fee need to be paid of course. How can a company operate with zero revenue?? You guys are making an issue out of nothing, come on! I’ve heard that many other owners having very good experience with Peugoet after sales service, being treated like a king, served with good food during service and have their own lounge when boarding their flights in Subang..

one of the best distributors out there in Asia and Malaysia.

– Faiz Roslan CEng

• Faiz, when a parts is problematic due to the negligence of their service technicians, and when the car is brought to another service centre and confirmed by Peugeot Appointed Service Centre that it is their fault, why should we pay for labour of their failure?

I hope I have clarified.

• Providing mere lounge for rest and some food is isn’t after sales service.

Nasim Sdn Bhd got to learn from their mistakes but unfortunately all this car distributors and manufacturers taking Malaysian for granted.

• Hot dog on Dec 15, 2016 at 3:48 pm

You are right NK…. !!

• In Malaysia a lot of people buying continental car but treat the car like japanese. They expect the car will jaga themself with zero problem…how can it be?

• Jason on Dec 15, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Continental car:
    Focus on SAFETY, PERFORMANCE, FEATURE

Japanese car:
    Focus on low maintenance, good RV

If you buy Japanese, SAFETY will be less than continental, can’t enjoy much as continental.

If you buy Continental car, dun expect cheap in maintenance cost. Dun expect good in RV.

Both is targeted different market share.

U can’t buy Japanese car with better SAFETY & PERFORMANCE than continental. That’s for sure without argument.

So choose carefully what actually u want before buying. Dun blame the car manufacturer when ur car have problem. Ask yourself have u really look into ur car carefully?

I choose Peugeot because I know Peugeot is 1 of the SAFETY car in the world. I feel SAVE when I drive Peugeot on the road. I feel HAPPY when Peugeot can protect my family on the road. i treated SAFETY as 1st priority when choose a car. That’s my choice! SAFETY is above all! Resales value?? Hahaha…who can predict 5yrs later story? Cheap maintenence? Use bicycle or take bus then…

I heard a lot of Peugeot owner accident story, I also heard a lot of japanese car owner acccident sad story. Those Peugeot owner will continue to buy Peugeot after their car meet accident (if dun believe u can ask any Peugeot owner who meet accident before).

• Ruslan Bahari on Jan 02, 2017 at 5:39 pm

My July 2015 208 3-doors is a dream. Conti driving experience. Solid. Have had no abnormal problems with my Pug, despite reading up on some nasty comments in forums and FB groups. I guess all cars have their lemons lah.