Toyota C-HR gets tuning options from TRD, Modellista

Alongside the launch of the new Toyota C-HR in Japan, in-house tuners Toyota Racing Development (TRD) and Modellista have also released a range of tuning and customisation options for the B-segment crossover. The list of parts available is comprehensive, with TRD’s also including various under-the-skin upgrades.

We’ll start with TRD – the brand has split its lineup into two separate collections, each with their own distinct look. The Aggressive Style is meant for the road and, as its name suggests, features an aggressive front spoiler (with or without LED daytime running lights), side skirts, rear diffuser and a small tailgate lip spoiler. There’s also a front grille garnish in either black or silver.

Meanwhile, the Extreme Style is designed to give a more rally-ready appearance, with a smaller front spoiler with silver trim, fender extensions, mud flaps and a black tailgate lip spoiler. To go with both looks, there are 18-inch TRD TF6 alloy wheels in either black or diamond-cut silver, and TRD has also recommended 17-inch wheels from other manufacturers such as the Works WIL-02D, Kyoho CDF 1 and Tom’s TH-01.

Inside, TRD offers sports seat covers with a shock-absorbing material called Exgel built into the back and side pads, offering high holding ability and low-friction urethane upholstery. Also available are ignition push buttons, a smart key case, indicator bulb sets and door handle protectors.

Mechanically, there’s a motion control beam (MCB) for the suspension that is claimed to absorb or attenuate slight vibrations and deformation that occur while in motion, increase body rigidity and improve responsiveness, with a decrease of roll speed and an increased ground contact feel of the four wheels to boot. There’s also a tyre pressure monitoring system with its own separate smart key-esque receiver.

Modellista’s suite of appearance upgrades are also split into two. The Elegant Ice Style pack offers a more, ahem, conservative look, gaining a less outlandish front spoiler, side skirts and rear valence, along with chrome accents on the door mirrors, along the doors and on the door handles.

On the other hand, the Boost Impulse Style goes all out with its own aero kit, along with a grille garnish, faux fender vents and a tailgate lip spoiler. Other items include LED lamps on the wing mirrors, antenna and rear number plate recess, along with a muffler cutter; buyers can also choose between 17- and 19-inch Modellista alloy wheels.

That’s not all – Modellista has also spent time on the interior of the car, offering blue monogram or titanium grain trim finishers, an LED cabin lighting set, LED smart puddle lights and luggage LED lighting on the tailgate. There’s also an LED illuminating strip around the base of the gearlever.

So, what do you think of the tuning options for the new Toyota C-HR?

GALLERY: Toyota C-HR with TRD parts

GALLERY: Toyota C-HR with Modellista parts

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• abit_of_too_much on Dec 15, 2016 at 12:23 pm

i admit it look nice but don’t you think is a little too much for only 100++ hp car ? make it 2xx hp with trd tuning for that look to match at least…just stating my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Dong King Kong on Dec 15, 2016 at 1:43 pm

This car already overdone and now they make it more messy? Too much to digest,like ah beng trying to be super cool

• gorilla on Dec 15, 2016 at 12:56 pm

just take all my money already..when i can get it in malaysia

• karam singh on Dec 15, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Well , stay off the speed lane yeah bro
      we wanna pass u , stop lane hogging Ricer

• Megane on Dec 15, 2016 at 7:01 pm

i think because of the excessive body skirting that makes the car slow hence lane hogging haha

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 15, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Wow, got CHR and HRV. Who will even look at the junk Ertiga? Somemore HRV and CHR all got 5 stars. Ertiga got 2 stars for Child Occupancy Protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Donatelli on Dec 15, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Ertiga is MPV budget price.This one SUV with double Ertiga price.Get your priority right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Compleanos on Dec 20, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Kunta bin Kinte is a stupid commenter with a low level of education.

• Jimmy on Dec 15, 2016 at 1:11 pm

There you are, a hothatch with superlow ground clearance.
    A Crossover made into a hatch by the genius TRD.

Genius!

• ToyolPet 2727 on Dec 15, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Car with looked but no go!

• Well done Toyota and TRD, looks like a Cross-over Civic! But civic more horses lah.

• Ah Beng on Dec 15, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Shadap and take my kidney Toyota . i want your TRD Body Kits so badly .

• Bernard on Dec 16, 2016 at 7:04 am

Not suitable for our roads. Too low and lower lip etc will all crack in due time..

• Chinoy on Dec 20, 2016 at 10:46 am

rumours are there will be a turbo version not long after this release. so better just wait ..

• Steve on Sep 15, 2017 at 11:40 pm

I would like to purchase the hole modellisa body kit but can’t seam to find a price for UK