VIDEO: Mitsubishi Triton 2.4L MIVEC pulls 31 tonnes

In its continuous pursuit to demonstrate just how capable the new Mitsubishi Triton 2.4L MIVEC is, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has released a video where the pick-up attempts to pull a 31-tonne CAT 769D dump truck.

This test of brute force will put the Triton’s new 2.4 litre MIVEC VGT turbodiesel engine to the test, where it will need to call upon all of its 181 PS and 430 Nm of torque. The new mill now features an aluminium alloy block – a first in the segment – saving up to 30 kg compared to a cast iron block.

It also provides 3 PS and 30 Nm of torque more than the 2.5 litre VGT unit (178 PS/400 Nm) and is up to 15% more fuel efficient, all for less road tax. Transmission options include a five-speed automatic transmission with sports mode, or a new six-speed manual (replaces the 5MT).

Behind the wheel of the Triton is none other than Leona Chin, MMM’s brand ambassador and Malaysian motorsport athlete, who will also have the convenience of the Triton’s Easy Select 4WD at her disposal as she attempts the stunt.

When the Triton is not busy attempting to move a gigantic truck, it is busy participating in one of the world’s toughest 4×4 expeditions. Recently, we joined a convoy of four modified Tritons (made up of MIVEC and non-MIVEC versions) as it conquered this year’s Borneo Safari.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Horizon Sailor on Dec 16, 2016 at 3:08 pm

offcoz la Triton can towed CAT truck. Because that truck had wheel to ease the movement…Even our local hero can pull a boeing with his hair/teeth some years ago.. How about pull that CAT Truck without its wheel + very high surface resistance..? hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • We want Langkawi car prices on Dec 16, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Oh yeah? Try and take a corner on a wet road, and see what the Triton can do without VSC traction control. All Tritons in Malaysia does not have a traction control!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • TokGuru on Dec 16, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Yes , big BIG minus point

• wayang on Dec 16, 2016 at 5:25 pm

You mean driven by Leona?
      She’ll most probably drift around the corner like a boss
      Unlike pondans like you who complains no VSC no EBD no BA no Airbags so cannot take corner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 28
      • We want Langkawi car prices on Dec 16, 2016 at 6:53 pm

I think your statement is very stupid. Don’t you want safer cars in our roads that save lives? It is obvious your car do not have VSC

• wayang on Dec 17, 2016 at 9:08 pm

The best safety device is the one given by God or your parents (if you’re an atheist) which is your brain
          Sadly the best safety device gets neglected and your kind keeps promoting artificial devices to replace the best system which is your own brain

Cant park properly, begs for auto parking system
          Dont check side mirror or rear mirror, begs for BLIS to be safe
          Dont check your distance, begs for Anti Collision/ Auto braking to be safe
          Dont check your own headlamps, begs for auto headlights to be safe
          Cant control your car properly, begs for VSC to be safe
          Cant control your car from banging into something, begs for airbags to be safe
          Cant keep in your own lane while driving, begs for Lane Monitoring/Departure systems to be safe

I do want a safer road, but I know for all the safety devices that you can cram into a car wont beat the one who is behind the wheels period

I’m advocating for disqualification of stupid people from driving, if they are not fit to drive, take them off the road, then you’ll have a safer road for everyone
          Stop relying on systems upon systems to save stupidity, it wont

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • 4G63T DSM on Dec 19, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Lets just say you are pottering around a curve in the wet sensibly and within the speed limit and a child runs across the road forcing you to brake hard.

You will wish your car has some sort of VSC.

These systems are safety nets. Get them like you would buy insurance.

No one is forcing you to buy insurance either. It is your responsibility not to get sick or hurt anyway.

Your post is plain ignorant and condescending.

My race car doesn’t have any form of electronic aids …hell it doesn’t even have power steering. And obviously I can drive well. That doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate VSC.

• Ben Yap on Dec 16, 2016 at 3:49 pm

my Civic 1.5T also can pull 2 of that trucks at one go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • UMW TOYOTA on Dec 16, 2016 at 3:58 pm

MMM use MIVEC to ads his new triton…ntg else..unlike navara
    7speed
    multilink
    zero gravity seat
    ESC

revo
    new 2.8 2.4
    TRC ESC
    6speed

dmax
    ESC

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Dec 16, 2016 at 5:29 pm

My Cayenne can pull four hot chicks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • albag on Dec 16, 2016 at 6:49 pm

LEL losers like u ppl never own a pick up diam je la… u think drive pick up like drive f1 car ka… VSC VSC VSC palak otak ko!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • 4wheeler on Dec 16, 2016 at 9:44 pm

I hope ur not saying that ur against any kind of ‘Vehicle Stability Control’.The first car that i drove was my dads pick-up & years later I still drive mine (with Stability Control) daily.No doubt,it has save me numerous time from going side ways & most importantly the lives of my passenger/me.I dont drive like lunatic & but the rear end of a pick-up tends to slide due to its high torque/lite rear bed.

• wayang on Dec 17, 2016 at 9:14 pm

If the car’s tail slide, its due to the driver not the system period
        Its like driving a 4×4 and complaining its not stable at 180kmh
        Not designed to be driven in that manner and same goes with sliding
        If it slides it means you have pushed it way beyond what it’s design/intended usage
        Youre a lousy driver that needs to rely on VSC to drive properly/safely

Its like a pilot complaining about a plane’s autopilot system for landing in a different country/destination

• Rashdan71 on Dec 17, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Betul 3x…tak habis2 vsc when any article out about triton…at least ada hybrid lsd…

• You are just digging a hole that you can’t come out of. Even D-Max, which by no means any less capable than the Triton on- or off-road, is equipped with VSC across the range now. That is what buyers are demanding now and Isuzu just follows the trend or risk being left out.

The omission of VSC across the range of the Triton despite price increase only give us the impression MMM is being greedy and doesn’t care about owners’ safety. Just look at the down-trending sales of Triton for 2016 and tell me VSC plays no role in that.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 18, 2016 at 8:38 am

Thats beside the point. People ARE buying these pickups as normal daily driven cars without knowing Pick ups dont drive like normal cars. Especially with an unladen bed in the wet. (fyi. I used to drive one for work)

Since you also drive one, you dont need me to tell you how easy it is to get it pointing in the wrong direction…or into a tree or lamp post.

I drive pass that nice S curve in front of BMW glenmarie everyday and everytime it rains…. I have a good chance of seeing a pickup facing the wrong way or up a tree on the median….

And incidentally… The last one I saw was a Triton.

• Abedhen on Dec 16, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Long time ago, an Indian woman pulled a truck with her hair….

• Wangsa Semai on Dec 16, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Still loose to our cameron highlands Land Rover!

• Rashdan71 on Dec 17, 2016 at 12:25 am

I just owned a pick up truck. ..it’s a triton mivec. ..no vsc tak pa…ada hybrid lsd. ..engine power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Rashdan71 on Dec 18, 2016 at 5:32 pm

those dislike aware ka about mitsubishi triton hybrid lsd…even better than vsc….mechanical reliability vs electronic…

• 4wheeler on Dec 18, 2016 at 10:46 pm

Hopefully you won’t experiance anything worst when you rear end slide uncontrolable on any slippery road since this is ur first pick-up.Yes,hybrid lsd is a bonus if it is engage all the time but it can’t replace a properly modulated VSC/VSA/ESC.Full Stop!!

• Ah bob on Dec 19, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Yeah true you need Electronic traction control for any light pickup truck as it is freaking light at the rear side, especially with such torque coming at low Revs. Anyway, if you don’t know how to regulate your throttle to stop the wheel spin or you keep turning or sliding your truck when it rains, it simple means that you don’t know how to drive a pick up truck. Stick to cars with lower centre of gravity pls.

• Even Rani Kulup can pull a Fire Engine by him self.

• Durian on Dec 17, 2016 at 12:45 pm

What’s rationale behind such colossal weight pulling? Does average Triton owner need to pull such heavy object everyday? No, no, no, all you need is a descent comfort, safety and handling truck.. not to show off.. MMC Triton not selling in MYS, marketing gimmic I guess.. new Navara still best buy. Wildtrak well too costly.

• Car love on Dec 17, 2016 at 6:30 pm

No need for the trash talk. We can argue all day about Ute’s. Let your money do the talking. Toyota has been in the market for a long time, I won’t deny it’s durability but handling wise, it’s a joke. Not to infuriate anyone, buy what u can, drive it, maintain it accordingly and don’t be an arse while driving as if driving a supercar. Easy.

• Looking for truck on Dec 17, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Navara better or Dmax? Please comment

• Bernard on Dec 17, 2016 at 7:51 pm

I am sure all the sissy pick up trucks sold in Bolehland can do the same. No big deal…

• crankyshotgun on Dec 19, 2016 at 10:48 am

When it comes to 4WD pick up truck, nothing can beat Ford Ranger. In terms of design, power output, safety and durability, Ford Ranger beats Hilux and Triton.