VIDEO: Proton Ertiga – top five questions answered

The Proton Ertiga was recently launched in Malaysia not too long ago, completing the national carmaker’s four-model introduction this year. If you are one of the buyers of the Suzuki-based MPV, you will no doubt be posed with a myriad of questions from your friends, family and curious onlookers. Therefore, the national carmaker has prepared this short video that answers the five most commonly-asked questions about the Ertiga.

The first focuses on its MPV credentials or put simply, how many people can sit in it? As you’ll see, there’s enough space for up to six adults, with access to the third row achieved by pulling a lever to tilt the second-row backrest and sliding the whole seat forward.

With a fully-loaded car, the follow-up question is the most obvious: Is the air-conditioning system any good? Can it keep everyone cool inside? Well, Proton points out that the Ertiga comes with a manually-adjustable blower in the ceiling of the second-row, so passengers should be kept comfortable throughout the journey (would you doubt Suzuki/Proton’s air-conditioning strength anyway?).

Another common question is one of efficiency, which is referring to how thirsty the car is. The Ertiga is powered by a 1.4 litre naturally-aspirated VVT petrol engine paired with a four-speed automatic, and the company says will consume just 6.0 l/100 km on the NEDC cycle.

VIDEO: Proton Ertiga – top five questions answered

Said mill provides 92 PS and 130 Nm of torque, which is enough to answer the question, “is there enough power to make the drive up to Genting Highlands?” Of course, you’ll have to keep your expectations in check as the Ertiga is more of a family car and less of a Pikes Peak-climbing machine.

As for the question of safety, the Ertiga is equipped with two airbags (dual front), ABS with EBD and Isofix child seat anchors with top tether. This allows it to receive a four-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating.

Of course, there are many more aspects to the Ertiga, which we have covered in our review of the MPV, here. Alternatively, you can also check out our comprehensive launch report or walk-around video tour for more information about the Ertiga.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tokmoh. on Dec 16, 2016 at 4:04 pm

(would you doubt Proton’s air-conditioning strength anyway?)

Except this is actually Suzuki’s a/c, but whatever. Janji got rear blower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Where is Driven Web Series on Dec 16, 2016 at 5:45 pm

This year Paultan.org crew did not posted any Driven Web Series videos.

• Albert on Dec 16, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Proton…..THE ROGUE ONE( CANNOT BE COMPARED TO MOVIE).
      Just waking up from coma…then jatuh back into ICU.
      Insaf lah…..Protong…..bleeding taxpayers’s sweat dollar profusely.
      tak malukah? Purely shambolic existence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 22
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 16, 2016 at 8:28 pm

This is the biggest conjob ever. Last month, the Government of Malaysia said VSC was so important. They said VSC can prevent 45% of all accidents and deaths in a given year. That is shocking cause if that is true, we can save tens of thousands of lives and prevent about few hundred thousand accidents in a year or more.

Then, Gomen sells a car that has no VSC. OMG OMG. What contradiction!!!

I hope Proton puts VSC in this car cause NCAP has rateed this car 2 stars for Child Occupancy Protection. In Europe this would be ultra dangerous and be banned on the road.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 109 Thumb down 206
      • kzm (Member) on Dec 16, 2016 at 11:26 pm

I beg u to read this
        “In the Child Occupant Protection (COP), the B-segment MPV achieved a rating of 2-Star by meeting 33% compliance due to seatbelt as child restraint system method in the tested variant. Nevertheless, ISOFIX and top tether are available in all variants. Similar to its predecessor, the Ertiga is equipped with standard dual airbag for its frontal occupants.” – http://www.aseancap.org/proton-ertiga-2/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 63
        • Mohd Saiful on Dec 17, 2016 at 11:00 am

I don’t really like Kunta but didn’t he just say the same thing? Memang 2 stars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
          • kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2016 at 2:18 pm

read: “compliance due to seatbelt as child restraint system method in the tested variant”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
          • kzm (Member) on Dec 17, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Look at the tested variant. that variant don have ISOFIX n tested with seatbelt P1 Er3 do have ISOFIX for all variant.

• KuntaExProtonOperator on Dec 17, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Just don’t bother the paid basher from ex proton operator.

• @KZM bro. The problem with MY pipu is that they dun read finish b4 they bash…

• Anwar on Dec 19, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Asalkan bukan enjin CamPro VVT dan gearbox CVT jenis clutch dpd Punch Powertrain!

• an MPV with less than 150Nm is just laughable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 20
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 16, 2016 at 8:30 pm

90 ps is too underpowered….it will makan minyak like crazy and wear and tear will be super high cause the engine strains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
      • loler on Dec 17, 2016 at 9:59 am

Then you must be laugh more on Datsun Go+ with smaller torque

LOL

• karam singh on Dec 17, 2016 at 1:39 pm

So…. MPV,
        how many times a year we carry full loaded in the MPV ?
        -only during school season for holiday.
        Average no of family in Malaysia
        3-4kids

• donno on Dec 18, 2016 at 9:35 pm

The issue is not about the power of the ertiga or anything. The issue here is the ertiga is selling at the same price of low end exora models. Why should anyone buy a smaller proton mpv when they could get the bigger one for the same price? Sorry, the ertiga is just not enticing enough.

• Silthice on Dec 16, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Seat tu nampak empuk sangat. Kalau Scallop kat belakang mungkin akan rasa lebih luas. Tapi kalau lutut kena kerusi empuk mungkin x menjadi masalah kot. Baru tengah hari tadi nampak warna merah sebijik orang pakai. Nampak cam lebih kecil daripada Alza especially dari keleberan kot.

• Lebar lebih kurang alza je. Cuma ertiga jauh lebih tinggi sebab tu nampak xcukup lebar. Boleh tgk size comparison dlm paultan ni.

• maggie on Dec 17, 2016 at 10:02 am

Belambak orang pakai Swift Dzire dan Ertiga ni kat India, ok je

• Os Mah An Sur on Dec 16, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Already test drive the car yesterday,,the power delivery is quite sufficient for such small engine,,and it is quiet and very comfortable ,,the built quality is decent just like the others japanese car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Liberation on Dec 16, 2016 at 5:09 pm

A bit claustrophobic at the last row

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • ex-VGM staff on Dec 17, 2016 at 9:40 am

the reason why the car is using bright interior. using black will make it even worse.

same reason why first gen avanza using cream / beige seats.

grand livina? also same reason

• keveo on Feb 14, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Just wondering if you have any suggestion on how to maintain the full beige interior? I just went to have a look of this car at the showroom and the stains on the door plastic interior and also the plastic foot step thing at the door (sorry don’t know the correct term) doesn’t look easy to clean…

Any idea how to clean these plastic beige interiors?

Beige colour is definitely dirt magnet especially if you have kids.

• Mikey on Dec 16, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Question 6. Is the price Reasonable or compatible to class leader Alza. Am sure this question will open up a lot of debates after me & i will enjoy reading each & every comments here. Cheers … & Happy commenting folks.

• Urs din make the grade.

• Mikey on Dec 18, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Thanks 4 reminding me that mine is of higher grade. In other words, I should be happy with my Jepunis car. I hope you are happy with yours

• This is no EEV on Dec 16, 2016 at 5:19 pm

6.0l/km boleh panggil EEV ke? Or is just about every crap out there an EEV nowadays?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 19
    • Ollie on Dec 16, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Yes nonsense designation

• kzm (Member) on Dec 16, 2016 at 5:38 pm

B-segment that has kerb weight 1001-1250kg with 6L/100km qualify for EEV.. p1 Er3 kerb weight is 1185kg. you can read full article bout EEV here: http://paultan.org/2014/01/20/nap-2014-energy-efficient-vehicles-eev-detailed/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 24
    • mesinrumput on Dec 16, 2016 at 5:54 pm

proton/suzuki claimed 6.0l/100km @ 90km/h. my b17 sylphy achieved better, 4.8l/100km @ 110km/hr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Bro EEV tax exemption only apply for CKD and not for CBU. Either the car is fuel efficient (axia, civic, er3) or hybrid engine (ioniq).

example like Mitsu Attrage and Mirage which not EEV tax exempted even tho have thesame consumption like axia

• mesinrumput on Dec 16, 2016 at 6:56 pm

I know. Im just mention about the consumption, not tax.

• ex-VGM staff on Dec 17, 2016 at 9:45 am

sylphy is double the price.

and you cannot carry driver + 6 passengers. your sylphy will struggle to carry 7 people.

• ex-VGM staff on Dec 17, 2016 at 9:56 am

for A segment, the requirement include car weighing less than 800kg and capable of achieving 4.5L/100km.
      if car is weighing 800-1000kg must be able to do 5.0L/100km

For B segment, the car must weight between 1,001-1,250 kg and able to do 6.0L/100km

C segment – 1,251-1,400kg, able to do 6.5L/100km.

For D segment – 1,401-1,550kg and 7.0L/100km

since you do not know much about this, can i suggest something to you? read a lot.

• that ‘ada blower khas untuk orang belakang’ picture… smh.
    choose lah better picture, not a girl with a duck face and then inapproriate “blower khas” caption some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • UMW TOYOTA on Dec 16, 2016 at 7:31 pm

VSC ada?
    potong x mau pasang VSC sudah..
    next saga persona exora tidak akan ada VSC..

• Lalato on Dec 17, 2016 at 3:55 am

Bang… ESC ada tak?

• Lalato on Dec 17, 2016 at 4:48 am

To be honest, I’m not all that interested to know about this Ertiga. It’s just old thing. Nothing new. The thing about Proton is, they actually has great potential to succeed. But they did not.

I wonder what happen to those Exora EV and Iriz EV that they introduced many years ago. You can always check Paultan archives to read about those.

Why Proton has to just compete with Perodua. Perodua got Alza, then Proton got Ertiga. Perodua got Axia, Proton wants to rebadge Suzuki Celerio. Then Perodua MyVi versus Iriz. If Proton is committed to succeed and back in black, they should explore new territory like Electric Vehicle. They actually have the prototypes but it just didnt materialize. It’s just for show and perhaps syok sendiri. The usual suspect will be cost. Proton got no money. But still those EV prototypes are ahead of time. It could be Proton tunnel to goldmine if done right.

and also where is the SUV? Bring alive the Iriz/Suprima Active and rebadge Suzuki Vitara alright! This segment is growing and you should take advantage of it. What are these Proton people thinking? Taking too long to initiate things, by the time it’s out, it’s already outdated.

I really hope latest Proton models will improve the company’s finance. Lots of Iriz, Persona and Saga in my area now. Even in Kampung area, I can see more persona and Saga than Bezza. Those Kampung folks are usually Perodua main targets. No wonder Perodua seems to offer lots of discounts even for its popular Bezza. The Iriz population is kind of highly concentrated in one place. At times, I could hardly find any. But, comes another time, it was like a flock of Iriz flooding the road. The Perdana is hard to find. I saw only 3 in my area so far. But of course the ‘venerated’ Axia trumps them all. But the business has been seemingly good for Proton now.

I’m kind of excited about Proton new engines, the TDI/TGDI things. Hopefully they will make it happen by next year, 2017. Hopefully, they wont have any major issues. But Proton, if your new engines still can’t help much the company, my advice will be… CLOSE SHOP! It’s just perhaps automative industry is not meant for you. Use your talent for something else. Perhaps air-conditioning industry? “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. Then quit. No use being a damn fool about it.” – W.C. Fields

The Lotus is already making profit. It’s your turn now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
    • basherlogic on Dec 17, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Close shop is best advice a basher can give
      Malu betul with that type of brain

• camtakpro on Dec 17, 2016 at 2:00 pm

The questions are so old and outdated. Should ask got VSC or not? How many airbags? Got bluetooth or USB charging? Reverse camera?

• BIG NONO to PROTONs on Dec 17, 2016 at 2:17 pm

Ertiga sounds like “Ertikah?”

• old horse on Dec 17, 2016 at 10:12 pm

more great wall and china SUV on the road..

still do mpv? ..speechless.

• Don’t u guys feel the sticky steering? It’s the deal breaker for me

• Ben yap on Dec 18, 2016 at 11:38 am

Kalau full load masih boleh dapat 6.0 liter per 100km? Proton jawab honestly.

• crankyshotgun on Dec 19, 2016 at 10:43 am

Just add in turbo for the engine and 7 inch LCD infotainment than the car will be considered perfect.

Or lagi best if they bring in Diesel turbo engine…lagi perfect!

• passion on Dec 19, 2016 at 10:45 am

at the end of the day a new family will get this if it is within their budget.its the cost factor and space that counts.