Government says it’s open to suggestions and ideas on how to improve state public transport systems

The Transport Ministry is encouraging state governments to suggest ways the public transport system can be improved in their respective states. Transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said the ministry is always open to ideas and providing assistance and support on such matters, Bernama reports.

He said a good example was Johor, where the ministry was working closely with the state government to look into the public transport system for the entire state. This includes a plan to upgrade the existing freight railway line connecting Tanjung Pelepas and Pasir Gudang Port to accommodate a passenger railway line.

“We are looking into the possibility of completing this plan. The existing line now is only one track, if we can convert it into double track to accommodate a passenger railway line, we can actually have the opportunity to develop the land along this double track. The growth of Johor Baru will then be very quick,” he told reporters at an event over the weekend.

He added that the ministry also supported the Johor government’s idea of looking into building other public transport systems such as a monorail and light rail transit system in Johor Bahru.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• We need that in johor, and fast!

• Alex (Member) on Dec 19, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Joker minister… you got high salary and pension as minister and mp… just do ur job! don’t ask for others help? if u need help, get the whole cabinet to ride public transport everyday and make improvement until you’ll never need a limo ever again! you know, like some of british ministers do! b4 election campaign like you are the god… now say open for suggestion… joker!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
  • Hot dog on Dec 19, 2016 at 8:02 pm

SG is just 1 KM away..JB can study thier world class public transportation system.
    But problem is , do we johor hv fund to reach the target , Mr. Liow ???

• tokmoh. on Dec 19, 2016 at 8:25 pm

They should give autonomy to state govt to make decision.

Penang desperately need rail transport, yet federal seems to drag their feet, then blame salahan LGE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
    • LGE shud swallow his pride and work with Fed Gov agencies (like Rapid) to synergise the public transport there.
      As it is now, hes not listening to Gov or even local NGOs and just bulldozing his syiok sendri projeks, just so he can put his name to it (see PTMP).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Dec 19, 2016 at 8:26 pm

Ok, all the government vips, vvips, stop using cars, stop escort by police. All must use plublic transport. This will reduce traffic congestion and set a good example. Dont just talk, talk, talk, talk..eat karipap,minum teh tarik, kentut then end of story.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • How does that improves public transport?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • Wahahahanoha on Dec 20, 2016 at 10:25 am

Then they will know what is lacking?

• waters on Dec 20, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Sebab belum cuba belum tahu. There’s a saying that start with Microsoft “Eat your own dog food”. If you’re selling/offering/promoting something, you better be using that same something. We need people who can make a difference using PT and realizing the problems and issues. They can act on it faster and better than any of us can.

• Sorchai (Member) on Dec 19, 2016 at 9:38 pm

When people advise, you don’t listen.
    When you listen, you don’t do.
    When you do, you do it wrong.
    When wrong, you don’t admit.
    When you admit, you don’t change.
    When you change, you still do it wrong.
    What to say…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Heres how to improve:
    1) Force the state Govs to deal with Fed Gov. Then theres no syiok sendri projeks and no wastage due to overlaps.
    2) More rail transports and more buses to feed the rail lines.
    3) Intergrate MRTs/LRTs into bus hubs (TBS) and eliminate intercity buses from going into city.
    4) Pay bus drivers on par with neighbour countries, and skill them up & hire only those who pass.
    5) Integrate taxis into the system. Limit them to places buses dun reach and make cashless payment the only option.
    5) Make it a must for state Govs to oso study public transport option whenever wanna propose more hiways.
    6) Dun approve projeks that need 300 million just for study only. It will probably cost 300 Billion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Hot dog on Dec 20, 2016 at 1:06 pm

John John John…the ministers in the cabinet smarter than we all…you think they don know all this .. ?

• So smart yeah, then why uols laff Mr 3.85 if think they so smart?

The thing is, LTL is oso human and cannot know everything, especially for state Govs not under Fed control. So hes asking them to cooperate with Gov agencies (and leave the politics at the door).

Take the Free Slgr bus, for example. RapidKL have to gip space and work AROUND that to minimise wastage due to overlapping. It shud be THE OTHER WAY AROUND, but just cuz Slgr Gov dunwan talk to Rapid. If Rapid din redivert, both services wud have low ridership and both doomed to fail cuz of it.

So u see what he means now?

• Mikey on Dec 19, 2016 at 10:44 pm

Ha ha ha. That’s a good one. U said it without fear or favor & call a Spade a spade.

This LTL is only Good at polishing balls & i mean he did it exceptionally well so much so that MO1 asked his cousin to vacate the Minister of Transport post specially 4 him.

Asking all gov VIPs/VVIPs to stop using cars & stop escort by police is akin 2 asking a monk 4 a comb. Shalom & Cheers ….

• If u wanna be politikus here then heres my take.
      Gov shud just remove him and his parti ilk for being enemy in disguise. Only those who truly sapot a unity Gov vision shud be appointed. That satisfy u?

• Hot dog on Dec 20, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Wat an unity Gov vission ????
        2020 ?? Rakyat income USD 10k ??Astronought ?? Car cheaper 30 % ?? World tall building ?? Bullet train ?? 1 malaysia ?? ( problem 1 MBD adalah ) . Affordable house ??…. and many more ? Which one of these are benefit to you John ? … their crony companies are benefited lah ! So , don talk about truely supot, when the time bullet train come, we may not hv money to purchase tat expansive ticket !

• Datuk,
    Step 1: Use public transport. Learn the gaps.
    Step 2: Drive yourself without escort by police.

You will learn :)

• Ah Kow on Dec 20, 2016 at 9:31 am

More bicycle lanes pleaseeeee!!!!
    Really appreciate the bicycle lanes at Brickfields

• Ahmad on Dec 20, 2016 at 9:38 am

No need to ask suggestions, use the public transport by yourself. During peak hours. Try to go to your office using public transport for like a week at least.

If you feel comfortable, then I got nothing to say.
    If not then please make improvements.

• Papa G on Dec 20, 2016 at 10:27 am

May we suggest that an open discussion platform akin to Reddit’s AMA

…PaulTan can be host platform

• Ben Yap on Dec 20, 2016 at 12:14 pm

we should have more parking spaces at LRT & MRT stations.

also, encourage people to cycle to these stations…. better still, have bicycle lanes around the city and town.

P/S: as i type this… i’m thinking of my cervelo road bike at home.

• thomasNOTMYNAME on Dec 20, 2016 at 2:35 pm

FREE FOR LIFE (LOCAL ONLY). ADD MORE BUDGET FROM MY GOVERNMENT. FREE DRINKS (LOCAL ONLY).

• Ariff on Dec 21, 2016 at 8:27 am

It would be a herculean effort to improve public transport at this stage. Seriously. The government should’ve seriously looked into public transport way back in the 80’s or 90s. But instead they were too busy focusing on just buildings. Jalan tak buat nak buat bangunan dulu. Bangunan kena cantik! Thats why our roads are winding around the buildings instead of having a grid pattern. So as a result our MRT and LRT also follow the our winding roads. And since no proper planning was done, MRT/LRT stations are not built in strategic places. Again because there are already buildings there. All the government can do is try to buy off some land from existing owners to build the stations. If you ask me we need to limit amount of cars going into KL city just like London or Singapore. And if we had *funds* we should build underground roads in city centres. Otherwise with the existing conditions (ie area already too developed) , there’s almost no way to improve our public transportation system. Very poor urban planning. And even as we speak there over development in already congested areas. So, sorry cannot help you Mr minister. Fail.