Proton targets min 10k monthly sales next year, hopes to complete search for foreign partner in Q1 2017

It has been an incredibly busy 2016 for Proton, which rolled out four new models this year. It all started with the Perdana in June, followed by the Persona in August and the Saga in September. The last of the quartet was the Ertiga MPV, unveiled a month ago. Whatever you think of the cars, that’s an amazing feat.

But despite the blitz, total sales for 2016, which Proton expects to be around 90,000 units, will be below target. This is because the buying momentum for the new models is still picking up, Proton CEO Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali explained to Bernama. The company expects sales to improve next year.

“The delay in the launching of some of the models has affected the sales target for 2016. But with all the four products, we believe next year we should be able to achieve at least 10,000 sales per month, or 120,000 units for the whole of 2017,” he told the national news agency.

The Proton boss says that his company will now focus on the customer. “The whole effort within Proton is now focusing on customers first. We try to make sure the trust of the customers will come back to Proton and by giving them good products, our sales Inshallah (God willing) would be better next year,” said Ahmad Fuaad.

Proton points to seven-day operations at selected service centres as an example of improved customer service. As of December, 27 outlets are open throughout the week.

On the search for a foreign strategic partner, which is part of the conditions set by the Malaysian government in its RM1.5 billion soft loan to Proton, the DRB-Hicom owned company has shortlisted the final three potential partners. According to Ahmad Fuaad, the three automakers had the criteria that can propel Proton to greater heights. He expects to receive a complete proposal in February 2017 and will make an announcement in the first quarter of 2017 once the partner is selected.

“There could be further negotiations prior to the conclusion but hopefully a signing can be done by May 2017,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Dec 21, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Sales from Jan to Nov 2016, Protong only sold 65,000 cars
    HAHAHAHA
    I don’t even see Ertiga on our roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 17
    • Target 20K per month straight la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Nabill Babill on Dec 21, 2016 at 5:31 pm

How can you expect sales to improve next year? Everybody says next year economy so bad. All economist predict that.

So how can you lie saying next year will be better than this year? This is what you said when the CEO launched the Perdana. He said this year will be higher than last year. But see, sales only 65,000 cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
        • Pinky on Dec 21, 2016 at 7:02 pm

I’m thinking of getting a Preve manual since 2015 but still waiting for Proton to give massive discount on it.. Current RM5k discount is still too little.. Drop the price to sub-50k, then I sure place my booking.. Hehehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
          • I wanted to pay my summons but even after discount, I don’t have that kinda money.

• katakKutukKinte on Dec 21, 2016 at 9:54 pm

Can see improvement, keep it up

• Sasuke Ikinaru on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:02 pm

U don’t read? One of the reason was delayed launching the new models.Most of new model just 2-3 months launched.No surprise p1 sales effected most of the months of 2016 coz people waiting the new models.Your argument regarding a bad 2017 economy expectation by all economists not that accurate.Yes,if economy so bad,people will turn to cheaper and affordable car.So p1 and p2 will be the better choice instead of paying for expensive ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • Bash Basher on Dec 22, 2016 at 9:08 am

That may be your point of view. But there are also people who are willing to spend on a more expensive car which have a HIGHER QUALITY, more DURABLE and RELIABLE instead of getting a cheap car that MAY have multiple problems in long term which could end up spending more on repairing and maintaining it.

• hamboldt on Dec 23, 2016 at 12:24 am

When the economy is bad, not everyone will turn into cheaper vehicle. But I’m sure many of them will focus on durability and lower maintenance vehicle.

If there are lots of non conformance and defects, it consume time to take the car to claim warranty and time is precious. Cheap but sub-par quality will never be the mainstream nowadays.

• Ahock on Dec 22, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Power window can use or not?

• They want to sell 10,000 cars a month? Proton management all high on ganja ke? Or is it ketum? I cannot see that happening even if they cut all prices by 50%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
      • camtakpro on Dec 22, 2016 at 8:33 am

It will happen if cut price by 50%. 35k top spec Suprima damn wet! 20k top spec Saga with VSC. 1.6MT Premium Iriz <30k?

They can only achieve 10k per month if they cut price by 50%. So just do it!

• Same L0rr on Dec 22, 2016 at 9:52 am

Discount until RM30K also cannot achieved your target 10K sale per month. Because of what? Your old CamPro VVT engine plus the worst CVT clutch gearbox from Punch Powertrain. Every Proton fan are waiting your new GDI engine and new Jatco CVT gearbox!

• takNakP1 on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:01 pm

good luck…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Nabill Babill on Dec 21, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Proton should give up being a car manufacturer and be 100% rebadger of all Suzuki cars. I see Suzuki UK website got like 20 models. So nice the cars. Sure it will sell well in Malaysia cause jepunis quality rebadged Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 21, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Proton posted a net loss of RM646.3 million for 2015, which was 39.9%higher than the RM462.03 million it lost a year earlier

How is Proton going to pay back the RM1.5 billion loan like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • seman on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:04 pm

10k per month? Sure can…saga RM18k, persona rm25k, ertiga rm30k, perdana rm50k, preve/ suprima rm40k, exora 45k…even proton stockyard will be deserted because order was very high…small profit but can sell every month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
    • seman on Dec 21, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Iriz 22k…max price 50k on whole segment offered, just suit annual income for middle people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Nabill Babill on Dec 21, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Every comment I read here is negative on Proton. that is the impression people have on Proton and about Proton.

It is clear Malaysians don’t trust the company at all. 30 years of cheating rakyat. Rakyat cannot trust also. Now big boss also tipu say sales very good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
        • dtctr on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Since when p1 basher represents whole pipu?
          That’s childish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
          • john is otak batu on Dec 22, 2016 at 9:33 am

Then u represent who ?… …. Everybody can talk!

• I didnt see it represents anyone. Why you ask?

• Mikey on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:09 pm

I’m surprise that P1 lost to P2 in terms of sales when P1 have better value for $$$, have better/more products & 100% Gov support(finance wise).

Hopefully, with better support in terms of improve services, P1 will overtake P2 in 2017. I’m talking of P1 & P2 here & please don’t introduce other brands into this comment please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • basherlogic on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Waiting for Japunis overlord supporters telling p1 to close shop

• The whole of Malaysia surprised that you think P1 have better value and have better product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
      • p2macai on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:16 pm

P2 is no.1 bcoz it has cheapest car, not bcoz it is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • 12yrsold on Dec 22, 2016 at 10:23 am

You are over exaggerating bro. NOT “The whole of Malaysia” la. If you say “many”, that is still acceptable.

If you compare the top spec Persona with top spec Bezza, you will agree with mikey why he said P1 is better value/product.

• No wonder P2 can sell well even with crap no value for money product. So many customer like this. Understand what he mean by “better value and have better product”, compare for example the Persona/Saga with Bezza vs their price. Be a smart customer.

• Bezza got VSC in all variants? Price wise persona has better value for money

• camtakpro on Dec 22, 2016 at 8:35 am

P1 lost to P2 because P1 cars tend to have way more nuisances.

• hamboldt on Dec 23, 2016 at 12:35 am

Yes, the P1 looks a little bit better value for money comparing P2 (quite like of Preve but when I sit inside, it just feels dated). Have you own both brand of vehicle? If yes you’ll be able to tell the different on the quality and after sales service of both manufacturer.

That’s contribute what people thought on the brand image. If P1 really want to overtake P2, it will take years or maybe decades. When P1 are improving, don’t you think P2 is improving as well.

• applegreen on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:28 pm

By looking at current sales figure it is almost impossible for proton to achieve 120k sales target next year. They should target around 90k, and it is including cars from ‘suzuki’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • frossonice on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Impossible yes but doable.

Refresh Preve and Exora to new Proton design. If they can do it with Perdana, they surely can do with their own original products.

New GDI engine will be introduce next year. Hopefully can bury Campro once and for all.

Collaboration with Suzuki for new high potential model like rebadging Vitara and smaller A segment compact car (Alto/Celerio).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Dec 21, 2016 at 6:07 pm

They can’t refresh anything because NO SALES means LONGER PAYBACK means CAN’T REPAY vendors means NOT A SINGLE cosmetic change can be done. Maybe in the “FACELIFT” can change head unit from Blaupunkt to Pensonic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • But they have refresh the Persona and Saga. Totally “refresh” not just changing the bumper and sport rim since the beginning of their existence unlike you know who.

• lilytan on Dec 22, 2016 at 9:33 am

Next year will be a huge challenge. Preve and suprima can do with a face lift. Put in the GDI and it will be as good as new. But be sure it is not a half cooked engine like the preve itself or u wl repeat the campro disaster. When the GDI and active safety pack (LG ADAS) are available, plonk it in iriz as well and together with updated preve and suprima, launch a mega export plan ASAP. Hopefully it will reverse ur fortune. Good luck

• Low Budget on Dec 21, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Next year the economy will be worst than this year, may be USD $1=RM5, want to sell 120K units next year?
      Its nice for Proton to dream on….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • 1. What happened to 30% car price reduction PROMISE?

2. Can paultan find out know how many Accordana’s sold to non-govt every month?

3. Do they still provide life-time power window guarantee for newer vehicles? Or no more already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 21, 2016 at 6:02 pm

that not p1 promise that govt promise. p1 is not govt.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Dec 21, 2016 at 6:12 pm

People power. You voted Brexit and Trump. That’s what people want. Malaysians want expensive cars.

• Mikey on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:32 pm

There is a saying – A picture tells a thousand words But i can only tell one word that is on Proton CEO Ahmad Fuaad mind/face, “When la will P1 replace P2 as the leader” in car sales in M’sia ?? He must be the most stressed CEO in P1 history.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • nabill (Member) on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:36 pm

the word u r looking for is incompetent…not stressed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Mikey on Dec 21, 2016 at 5:46 pm

U may be right here but incompetent is too harsh a word to use & that’s why i say stress.

• Dam stress, because he is just there to steer a sinking ship. The rats on the ship have been feeding very well and weighing the ship down, but the govt doesn’t care. Even foreign companies run away from taking over when the see the rats.

• tokmoh. on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Geely > all

Then can access Volvo CMA platform and Drive-E powertrain. Win.

If rebadge, conlanfirm safe, unlike rebadge Jepunis not allow install ESC.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:47 pm

I really gave Proton a chance by delaying my purchase until Persona & Saga was launched as I personally still prefer Proton for its handling. However I found the 2 cars small & tight. Difficult to seat 3 adults at the rear bench unlike its competitor which can even fit 2 whole cows. So the choice was obvious as my objective was just for town use favouring low fc. I’m still hoping for a Preve C segment replacement for my next purchase. Until then other brands will have to fill the gap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • LoL3000 on Dec 21, 2016 at 4:49 pm

one day the perodua & proton are not disappear ,there’s no chance for the other excellent brands car to come in cheap,fcking gov protect their own garbage carmaker by raising other car price.And talk about a reduction of car price, they didnt even say which car brand price they gonna reduce, believe it’s definitely only applied to certain car brand

• RavenAii (Member) on Dec 21, 2016 at 5:02 pm

To be honest, I have never seen even 1(one) Perdana on the road since its launch back in June. The only common Protons are Exora, Saga and Iriz. Persona is starting to getting in the market now with its sightings every now and then, and there comes the rare Preve and very rare Suprima S and Satria Neo.

Mind you that I live in a typical industrial city in Sarawak, with overcrowded traffic, and most of the time I see Hondas, Nissans, Toyotas and surprisingly Peroduas, lots and lots of Peroduas. It’s not money and pricetag that affect buyer’s choice nowadays, it’s quality and durability. If the car is cheap but didn’t have those two criterias, people will even opt for a pricier car to get a less-problem vehicles. I hope 2017 will be a turning point for Proton. I remember back in the early 2000 where my dad drives a Saga Aeroback. Literally, it never break down. It was such a joy that current Proton doesn’t have…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Nabill Babill on Dec 21, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Even in KL you cannot see the new Perdana. Only in Putrajaya. Goes to show, it is the Government themselves who bought all the new Perdanas. Otherwise, it cannot be a coincidence so many new Perdanas in Putrajaya. I am not talking about the old Honda rebadge Perdana but the new Perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • TokGuru on Dec 21, 2016 at 7:42 pm

I’ve seen 2 all new perdana’s now on the road, I did not count the ones I saw in the showroom. I wish proton could be as great like in the old days. Tough to compete with with Perodua I guess.

• Bintulu, Sarawak on Dec 21, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Only 1 black Perdana 2.4 found in Bintulu, Sarawak

• RavenAii (Member) on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Hey I lived in Bintulu! but I never saw any New Perdanas. Yes I saw the Black Accordana 2.4 once at the airport, but not the in-house version designed by Proton.

• jerard on Dec 22, 2016 at 4:10 am

You count cars based on your eyes? RIP intelligence and logic!

• RavenAii (Member) on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:52 pm

Yup, it’s hard to believe but Perodua is more reliable compare to Proton, even though Proton vehicles are better equip with safety and gadgets, most people choose P2. Tough selling competition.

• RavenAii (Member) on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:50 pm

I went to Puchong once visiting my sister, went to Putrajaya, Cyberjaya, across the highway to Seri Kembangan and other areas and yes I can confirm your statement. Hahaha but pity Proton, it’s a good concept, but sell on the wrong market size.

• john is otak batu on Dec 22, 2016 at 9:55 am

Pitty to hear all the Pandana head count like this. A bit here & there…sigh! Can know what Potong CEO wanna say next time. … prepare to hear another low sales excuse coming soon

• observer on Dec 22, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Ive seen 2 perdanas in kota bharu. One black another one white in color

• Jeffrey Read on Dec 22, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Hmm turning point you say, my view is point of no return!

• Wah so intelligent these pipu make statistics by eyes only. Lol

• Mark Cheng on Dec 21, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Once you experienced Proton after sales service then you will realize why the they are struggling in sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Dec 21, 2016 at 6:10 pm

Been there. Will never go there again swear to God. Taubat nasuha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • The ONLY good Proton service center I know is Senaxis in Tmn Mayang. Small little place though. The manager there is very thorough, fix what is needed to be fixed.

Even then, they are subject to delays from Proton (getting parts etc)

• a compliment to all those new cars that introduced to market this 2016,great effort for improving the car that provide great value for money for malaysia.
    however, most of the proton service center is not professional at all and very low in quality. if this can be improve as much as the new persona, i believe confident to proton will from the people will return.

• Gabanator on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:19 pm

Pls refer to the comment above yours. You can believe all you want, but the damage has already been done.

• jin mak gails on Dec 21, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Ofcourse Proton can sell 10,000 units/months or even more IF ONLY IF they are genuinely sincere in improving its brand perception which includes its efficiency in management top to bottom, product quality, and after sales service. Even though Proton says that they are improving its brand perception, still many people complain about the late deliveries of the its cars, build quality been overlook and yet again the same old service quality. So tell me again how can you sell 120,000 units for year 2017?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • The fact is proton is the only choice for those really poor. Like choosing between a motorbike or proton. Or only poor one will buy proton.Slightly affordable will go to perodua at least. Proton less sale indicate that our nation is indeed richer compare to 10 years ago. The worse sale of proton,the wheathier our society. Until a point no one consider proton, we are developed country. Just put proton in uk or us, you will get zero sale. So it is a good sign that proton get less and less sale year by year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Axia is cheapest car, why go for p1 first?
      You contradict your own opinion.

Go back study kid

• Yong Tau Fu on Dec 22, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Less people buying proton, it mean more malaysian becoming richer? Then why the hell so many people complained about thing have becoming so expensive. I do buy proton but I don’t think I am poor. I am from middle class salaryman, I bought proton becos its worth for the value. My coworkers buying vios, but always complained not enough money la and become part time insurance agent and bothering me to buy from him.. Conclusion, I don’t think the car that you used should be used to define your financial ability…

• You are not rich enough,work harder like your friend, cab afford a better car.

• Pity, NKH you work hard lor
          Then buy your jepunis overlord car

If buy now you can show off only, in real life you are broken person

• I think you should reread his comment again

• Guess why proton worker tak apa attitude towards their customer in service center? Simply because they look down on the owner of proton: you are low class,poor, only can afford proton, you deserve the poor service. Biasalah, ini proton. The next sentence they didnt say is: want better go for honda toyota, get a merc if you can, if not afford, shut up and bear with proton. Pity coz only can afford proton. Those afford other brand will never go back to proton. For sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • workhard on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:47 pm

So NKH you think what you have?
      Your dad’s 30 years old jepunis car will be looked down by most pipu

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Dec 22, 2016 at 2:19 am

Biasala bang, dah kata Proton

• Brendon on Dec 22, 2016 at 11:54 am

The irony being, many if not most of the people working in the service centres and sales galleries are ‘poor’ or ‘low class’ or could only afford similar priced cars themselves (and when i say afford i mean being able to fully pay for the car or the lona tenure, not just for show and tarik balik later on). Let’s be honest, this is the truth in reality unless you’re in top management.

• just close shop , don’t waste any more tax payer money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • Proton have very low quality make and unreasonable pricing. If they want to increase sales volume, they better improve in these two aspects.

• Tun Lanang on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Current proton line up is OK…just improve the quality + refinement and introduce more friendly user price…if people still can remember the hype of rm26999 saga LMST…most of people just want cheap and reliable car

• wtfcuk on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:40 pm

This so called national Shitbox carmaker and Pukidua should shut down forever and Rest in Pieces next year.
    Its time to move on with Pure Japanese, European and American cars only on Malaysian motorways and no more shitbox, hideous and outdated Protons and PeroPukiDua cars forever like the rest of the world people:)
    Thailand, Singapore and even Indonesia never even had a national carmaker like these 2 scrapmetal brands in Malaysia:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • Yong Tau Fu on Dec 22, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Wow… I wonder how your friends can keep up with you.. not really interesting personality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • therevs on Dec 22, 2016 at 2:40 pm

Betul la bro, all the ‘besi buruk’ from every single Proton and Pukidua vehicles should be melted immediately and be used as drain covers or security gates around housing estates instead.
      The engines should be used to power vacuum cleaners instead of cars potential of killing many innocent Malaysians who cant even afford a EX5 kapcai and a house:)
      F**k Pukiton and Pukidua. Kereta Sampah-sarap Masyarakat Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Ahmadjr on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:52 pm

First, give massive discount for suprima, preve and iriz like nissan is doing now. Those car models are failure.

• crash on Dec 22, 2016 at 12:21 am

Just sell off everything to Renault and let Carlos Ghosn become the CEO. Then Proton can become profitable again in a year or 2. It was proven in the late 90’s when Renault help resurrected an almost bankrupt Nissan . If not for him , we wont even see the R35 GTR today.
    Proton will get to use Nissan’s ,Renault’s or Mitsubishi’s platform. Proton badged Mitsubishi Outlander anyone ???

• Ben Yap on Dec 22, 2016 at 9:31 am

proton cars are now breaching over RM60K for high lines.

forget about it, it’s getting more expensive and consumer has wider choices if they willing to pay RM70K for a car.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 22, 2016 at 11:01 am

hangat hangat tahi ayam