‘Ops Jalan’ – JPJ operation to nab traffic offenders this festive season to run Dec 24-26 and Dec 30-Jan 2

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has announced it will be conducting Ops Jalan later this month in a bid to reduce road accidents and nab traffic offenders, The Sun reports. The nationwide operation will involve 1,500 enforcement officers and take place on Dec 24-26 and Dec 30-Jan 2 next year.

The department’s enforcement director, Datuk V. Valluvan Velloo said the operation will be the first of many that have been planned for all long holidays during a calendar year. Previously, the department only carried out operations during the Hari Raya Aidilfitri and Chinese New Year festive periods.

He said that JPJ will employ a number of different strategies, including round-the-clock patrolling and random vehicle checks on selected roads as well as disguising as civilians while taking pictures of offenders.

“We will do checks on buses at all main bus terminals including their brakes and tyres, and even do random urine tests on drivers. We will also be disguising as passengers to record any offences until we reach the end destination. However, I would like to stress that there will be no road blocks during this period, to ensure no further traffic congestion,” Valluvan said.

There will also be a crackdown on motorcycles with illegal specifications during Ops Jalan, and any vehicles found not complying with permitted technical specifications – including those for exhausts and window tint – will be seized for a period of not more than 48 hours for examination purposes.

“We have instructed all state JPJ offices that the compound rates will be the maximum for any traffic offences,” he said. He added that no appeals will be entertained, and there would be no discount for summonses.

Valluvan added that the action taken against more than 7,000 emergency lane abusers since May this year, 1,700 examples of which were reported by road users, has resulted in a marked decrease in those driving on the emergency lanes. “When we started, there were hundreds of cases reported each week, but in November, there were only about one or two per day. Summons produced have decreased by about 70%,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• UMW TOYOTA on Dec 22, 2016 at 7:44 pm

i been stopped by jpj because using hilux vigo scab with 2ton of sawit

• Albert on Dec 22, 2016 at 8:23 pm

Enforecemnt should be a SURPRISE.
    Look at the stupity in announcing it.
    “Headmaster coming….so school children behave.”
    Sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • bicycle on Dec 23, 2016 at 12:05 am

I would like to stress that there will be no road blocks during this period, to ensure no further traffic congestion,” Valluvan said.

There will also be a crackdown on motorcycles with illegal specifications during Ops Jalan, and any vehicles found not complying with permitted technical specifications – including those for exhausts and window tint – will be seized for a period of not more than 48 hours for examination purposes.

So how do you perform the examination of the car/mototrcycle if no road block? JPJ will go to any parked car and issue the summoned??

• Saman the offenders, so no problemo

• Ah Kow on Dec 23, 2016 at 8:02 am

I don’t understand. Shouldn’t JPJ operation be on going ALL the time to nab traffic offenders? How come they are only turn out more hard working during festive season?

• Tangkap those motorcycles and cars with straight through exhaust. Really really hate these guys. Complete disregard of the law and public well being. Selfish fellas trying to have some fun with no regards for others.

• Ben Yap on Dec 23, 2016 at 10:02 am

there must be 2 campaigns running concurrently.
    1) JPJ – Ops Jalan
    2) MACC – Ops Kopi

than can measure the effectiveness of it.

• Abam JAY on Dec 23, 2016 at 10:10 am

Tak habis2 lagi tangkap isu tinted…takkan terlebih 10% pun nak saman…adoi musim penguatkuasa cari duit utk BONUS hujung tahun….ni la masalah bila keraJAAN yang ada berpaksikan keuntungan…

• Mikey on Dec 23, 2016 at 10:45 am

We(JPJ) will do checks on buses at all main bus terminals including their brakes, tyres & even do random urine tests on drivers.

We will also be disguising as passengers to record any offences until we reach the end destination.

However, I would like to stress that there will be no road blocks during this period, to ensure no further traffic congestion Valluvan said.

I think we should thank/applaud JPJ 4 doing their job here 2 ensure a smooth traffic flow & nab those culprit who flaunt the law.

• However, I would like to stress that there will be no road blocks during this period, to ensure no further traffic congestion,” Valluvan said.

Hope it is true

• Potato on Dec 23, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Please check teksi drivers too. Make sure they meet all requirements i.e working meter and lesen.

• Jasman on Dec 23, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Also check for non-working headlights, brake lights, signal lights etc. A lot of people drive around without knowing their brake lights are not working and is a danger to other drivers if they suddenly brake.

• Dun forget Sunday mornings and Thursday nites as well.

• gusgusdur on Dec 24, 2016 at 9:47 am

In Mesia, more opps = more kopi marney…..

• Alvin on Dec 24, 2016 at 10:33 pm

“However, I would like to stress that there will be no road blocks during this period, to ensure no further traffic congestion,” Valluvan said.

I just went through a MASSIVE roadblock underneath the Bangsar LRT station. Looks like half the JPJ team was in that one roadblock. Massive jam. Talk cock again..