VIDEOS: 2017 Honda CR-V gets detailed deep dive

You’ve probably seen plenty of the 2017 Honda CR-V by now, and if you haven’t, here’s our mega gallery post for your perusal. First making its debut in the United States in October, Honda USA has now released several videos so you can get to know the fifth-generation SUV a little better.

With a friendly face as the host, we are first introduced to the CR-V’s new look that is meant to be “tougher-looking and sophisticated” all at the same time. The US-market CR-V is offered in five variants (in ascending order) – LX, EX, EX-L, EX-L Navi and Touring.

Available with either two- or all-wheel drive, the CR-V can also be had with a choice of two petrol engines (depending on variant). The first is the familiar 2.4 litre naturally-aspirated direct injection four-cylinder DOHC i-VTEC petrol engine with 184 hp at 6,400 rpm and 244 Nm of torque at 3,900 rpm.

Alternatively, there’s the 1.5 litre turbocharged direct injection four-cylinder DOHC VTC petrol mill from the Civic that has been uprated to provide 190 hp at 5,600 rpm and 243 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 5,000 rpm. Both engines are paired with a CVT.

The new CR-V also offers improved handling thanks to a revamped steering system and the introduction of Agile Handling Assist, which provides brake torque vectoring, braking individual wheels to help the SUV pivot through turns. The brakes themselves now get an electric brake booster for better feel and performance.

We also get to see the SUV’s Active Shutter Grille System, a Honda first, in action. For better aerodynamic efficiency, the upper and lower grille shutters are closed, and when more cooling is required, they do the opposite.

At the back, the certain variants of the CR-V come with a powered tailgate, the Touring adds on hands-free operation, allowing you to open it by waving your foot under the rear bumper.

Just like the exterior, there are plenty of features on the inside as well, starting with the very handy centre console. It not only has power outlets for front and rear passengers, but can also be reorganised so that a good-sized women’s handbag fits within it.

Other pieces of equipment that are touched upon include the car’s automatic climate control system, powered seats (with four-way lumbar), infotainment system (with smartphone connectivity) and driver information interface. The latter is similar to the one found in the Civic FC, with a digital display in the instrument cluster that shows a variety of vehicle functions.

Interior space also sees an improvement, thanks to the CR-V’s increased wheelbase of 2,659 mm (40 mm more than before). This not only equates to more legroom for rear passengers, but the boot space has been stretched by a further 229 mm, according to Honda. There’s also two storage setups for the boot to ensure any cargo can accommodated to.

Safety-wise, CR-V has already been awarded the 2016 IIHS Top Safety Pick+ award, and is projected to receive a five-star NHTSA safety rating. The full Honda Sensing suite is offered on higher-end variants, so automatic braking, lane departure assist, blind spot monitor and adaptive cruise control (with low-speed follow) are fitted.

However, this is just a mere taste of some of the capabilities the fifth-generation CR-V can offer. There’s a total of ten videos released by Honda for your viewing pleasure to make sure you know as much about the SUV as possible. Happy watching, and let us know what you’re looking forward to most in the all-new CR-V in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• john is otak batu on Dec 22, 2016 at 10:08 am

CRV. .pls take my order in! Sorry CX5…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • JB_KIA on Dec 22, 2016 at 10:13 am

finally no more stupid looking c-pillar/tail-lamps on 3rd and 4th gen…

• The rear light design is bit overdone.

• The rear light design is bit overdone~

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 22, 2016 at 10:33 am

10th gen Civic owners be wondering if they can tune up their engines to get the CRV’s extra 20 hp and extra 20 NM of torque. Anyways, great job by Honda on the design. The new Civic, CRV and NSX look great! In theory, the upcoming new Accord would surely be a looker too. Honda has found their mojo back. If only they can win some races in F1 (with McLaren too, no less) then it’ll be like the good old days in the late 80s to 90s.

• The civic needs to be crazy stock tuned for 80s/90s to return. And wheres Integra & Prelude?

• janice on Dec 26, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Switch to Civic Type R FK2 immediately, HP deficit problems solved. LOL
      or Drive to Sunway Ah Beng ‘Motorsports’ Shops and tune up the Civic VTEC turbo until the turbocharger and Engine Explodes.
      VTEC kaboom. LOL.

• Don't panic, Ringgit will bounce back on Dec 22, 2016 at 10:38 am

Honda sahkan harga kereta akan naik bermula Januari

• Auto wiper ?new tech? Camon my previous 2005 starvic got this feature man.it’s not new. You should add “new tech for cheap segment suv”

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 23, 2016 at 1:17 am

And how much is the Stavic worth after 1 year?

Less than RM50k.

And being a 2005 model, its now scrap metal

• She’s adorable

• musclemuseum on Dec 22, 2016 at 1:42 pm

only interested if sold in 7 seater variant here. if same 5 seater config, i’m gonna have to pass again.

• CRV 7 seater on Dec 23, 2016 at 2:41 pm

I think Malaysia might follow what Aussie gonna have. Heard Aussie gonna get this baby with 7 seater soon

• 7 seater on Dec 23, 2016 at 2:43 pm

I think Malaysia might follow what Aussie gonna have. Heard Aussie gonna get this baby with 7 seat soon!!

• how much the price expectd in malaysia?

• About the same as the current CRV here, but the article is US specific specs.

• why i can’t watch the videos? paultan please do something :-(