Volkswagen Golf R facelift – new looks, more power

With the new Volkswagen Golf (we’ll call it the Mk7.5 for now) now out in the open, the German automaker’s next step is to introduce the potent Golf R models (hatch and Variant body styles), which did not make it in time for the November reveal.

As expected, the R acquires the same styling tweaks as the rest of the line-up, so the new bumpers and headlamps similar to those on the R-Line are all here. However, there are a few design cues that are unique to the “sportier-than-the-GTI” model.

The upper grille at the front for instance, gets the true “R” emblem, while the lower intake abandons the honeycomb pattern, opting instead for rows of rectangles. In other areas, the side mirrors are now get a silver paintjob, and there four exhaust tips versus the GTI’s two. The latter is accompanied by a four-slat diffuser and a solitary “R” emblem on the tailgate.

Inside, the company’s new Composition Colour infotainment system comes as standard, with higher trim levels receiving the Discover Pro system and 9.2-inch touchscreen display, as well as a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster.

VW also coaxed more power from the 2.0 litre TSI engine, which now provides 310 PS and 400 Nm of torque, which is 10 PS and 20 Nm more than before. Power is transmitted to all four wheels via a six-speed manual (or DSG) and the company’s 4Motion all-wheel drive system. Performance-wise, the new Golf R will make the 0-100 km/h sprint in 4.6 seconds (-0.4 seconds).

For customers who require something a little frugal, VW has also introduced a new entry-level Golf that comes with an 85 PS 1.0 litre TSI that is claimed to consume just 4.8 l/100 km. There’s also diesel-powered Golf 2.0 TDI 4Motion with 150 PS.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Same L0rr on Dec 23, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Oh my.. No DSG gearbox please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
    • Das Auto on Dec 23, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Stick to your Toyota CVT please!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • karam singh on Dec 23, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Toyota should stick to dinosaur 4 speeder ;p
        Toyota just change to CVT LOL
        so slow , so slow update

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • viosfan on Dec 24, 2016 at 12:09 am

Toyota CVT is much better than any Audi gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
        • Kunta Kinte on Dec 26, 2016 at 3:03 pm

VW is a dead brand in Malaysia now.
          it has met same fate as Citroen, Fiat, Alfa and Saab.

This what happens when Principal has super bad service and sell faulty cars for years denying and lying to customers there is an inherent problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • Kunta Kinte on Dec 26, 2016 at 3:13 pm

It is so funny, when I or many others attack VW, all the VW fanboys and pondans attack Toyota in return.

Can I remind everybody that Same Lorrr and myself have nothing to do with Toyota. Infact I always hantam Toyota because it is a junk. Low class junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • Red herring. We all knows u sell recon toyotas. MY pipu smart dun sapot ur kroni business

• ahmadjohnson97 on Dec 24, 2016 at 11:41 am

Don’t like DSG? They got 6 speed manual too you know.

• Adrenaline Rush on Dec 24, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Stick to your ‘state of the art’ 4 speed super ECT transmission or CVT. WOW! We love our DSG and we love Volkswagen. No cars come close to the driving pleasure from VW and direct shift gearbox, it’s the best experience.

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 26, 2016 at 3:20 pm

You can love also speding your entire 21 days annual leave in the SC. Pleasure also waiting for the tow truck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Mikey on Dec 23, 2016 at 4:57 pm

What makes a Golf GTi special ?! To me, It’s bcos it is well built & have that German feeling i call it “Precision Engineer”.

It is Not showy, does not brag & Not Ah Beng in any way. In fact, some call it too conservative 4 a Hot Hatch that have more than 200 horses waiting 2 be unleash at the tap of your right foot.

And then the “R”, that is a different Beast altogether where the 4Motion all-wheel drive system give U the feeling of a car sticking like a leach when U take the chicane.

Performance-wise, the new Golf R will make the 0-100 km/h sprint in 4.6 seconds that will shame many performance HB, coupe or some more expensive machine while still look sedate when park beside U. Don’t play play with this “R”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
    • nabill (Member) on Dec 23, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Exactly.. That solid feeling, and the fact the its so refined u can literally use it as everyday….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • samtowtruck on Dec 24, 2016 at 12:10 am

Many owners become my friends, you know why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Nabill Babill on Dec 24, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Can use everyday but also breakdown every 2 weeks also. Why bother buy so expensive when you got to go SC every 2 weeks?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • samtowtruck on Dec 24, 2016 at 11:04 pm

I have got good towing package for golf owners
        Call me while stock lasts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Kunta Kinte on Dec 26, 2016 at 3:24 pm

sad VW owner, worried abt his dropping RV. Come here and tell positive fake news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Wingz on Dec 24, 2016 at 4:03 am

Now the question is – wait for the R or get the 8V FL Audi S3? Decisions decisions decisions.

• Taknak DSG on Dec 24, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Real men drive manual ..sissies drive DSG . Give me Renault Megane RS to play all day long .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • That’s just because Ford Focus RS never made it officially to Malaysia

• JAVfan on Dec 27, 2016 at 9:46 am

what so great about 0-100 km/h in 4.6 seconds???

manual lotus elise sport 220 with only 1.8 litre toyota engine, and only 217 BHP also can do the same.

• 12yrsold on Dec 27, 2016 at 5:48 pm

You miss the point JAV. It’s not about BHP or how fast you go. It’s about the total package. The lotus is marketed as a sports car while the “R” is a Hot Hatch that can seat 4 comfortably.

• Adam Gordon on Jul 09, 2017 at 8:51 am

My supersport bike can do it in half the time with only a 600cc Honda engine and 125hp.

Not relevant, neither my bike nor the Lotus are in any way comparable.

• Kenny on Dec 23, 2016 at 5:00 pm

This mk7.5 Golf R is using the new 7-speed DSG (dq380) if I’m not mistaken

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 24, 2016 at 5:27 am

I’m surprised how everyone ignores the 85 hp version. How would the power obsessed Malaysia react to that?

• Hot dog on Dec 24, 2016 at 9:53 am

Price set above 300k , forget it ..!

• gti owner on Dec 24, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Now can tailgate the A45, hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • tail gate your head. a45 has 380 hp. this slow poke golf can only smell the tail pipe smoke of the merc