BMW engines to be used in next-gen Toyota Corolla?

BMW diesel engines could make its way into the next-generation Toyota Corolla, according to an article by Indianautosblog, citing various Japanese reports. This is likely a continuation of the partnership between the two companies, which was first signed back in 2011.

Even so, the new Corolla won’t be the first to use BMW-supplied diesel engines, as the Verso is the model to claim that honour. More recently, the Avensis facelift also gained the BMW-derived oil burners, available in 1.6 litre D4-D and 2.0 litre D4-D guises.

Details about what will be fitted on the all-new Corolla remain a mystery for now, including the type of diesel engine(s), but it is suggested that only higher-spec variants will benefit from them. Likely engines include the B37 1.5 litre three-cylinder and B47 2.0 litre four-cylinder.

The Corolla will most likely ride on the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), first used on the fourth-generation Prius, allowing it access to the 8NR-FTS 1.2 litre turbo four-cylinder, 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder and 1.8 litre VVT-i Atkinson cycle four-cylinder engines, all featured on the C-HR crossover.

The BMW-Toyota partnership is not limited to just engine sharing, but also the joint development of sports cars and lithium-air batteries, where the former involves a new Supra and Z5.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• nabill (Member) on Dec 27, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Deep down, we all want that v8 twin turbo M5 engine in the Altis!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
    • No, it’s just you I suppose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Kunta Kinte on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:19 pm

See, BMW got confidence in Toyota to even let it use its engines.

You think BMW will ever do that for Proton? You think they will allow Proton use their engines?

Proton only syiok sendiri thinking it is a happening company but no car manufacturer dare to share platform with Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 46
    • Gargantia on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Ok this’s the real Asia BWM car… not the self-proclaim Proton VolvoBMW !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
    • Only in India

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Onanodus on Dec 27, 2016 at 12:28 pm

I believe the Corolla will continue to use the engines as found in the Verso and the Avensis, which is the 1WW (N47D16) and the 2WW (N47D20). Even the current Auris (Corolla hatchback in AUS and NZ) already uses the BMW diesels.

• alldisc on Dec 27, 2016 at 12:59 pm

last corolla altis engines are using ZZ series engine (same one in some variations of Lotus Elise), current one using ZR series (dual vvti)

where got WW bro.

• Onanodus on Dec 27, 2016 at 8:59 pm

WW is the engine code Toyota gave the BMW diesel engines. It’s available in Europe.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 27, 2016 at 12:30 pm

wow just wow….vrioom vroom

• Jepunis “safety” & “quality” with BMW “reliability” & “cheap serviceability”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Dec 27, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Sam Loo will be so confused he’ll probably commit suicide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:33 pm

i tot other way around..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • Bro. Its BMW engine inside a junk toyota body. U get the worst of both worlds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • camtakpro on Dec 28, 2016 at 7:40 am

This is what I thought as well -> continental reliability + Toyota empty spec.

• karam singh on Dec 27, 2016 at 9:27 pm

LOL, BMW safety & quality ?
      Toyota using its engine not chasis
      Cheap service? BMW engine ? really ?
      BMW engine not reliable, trust me.

BMW car + Toyota engine , YES. Best of both world.
      Safety+Reliablity+Cheap Service+Quality , but other parts gonna be expensive ;D

• Is this a joke? Reliability and serviceability doesn’t belong in the same sentence as BMW engines.

• kiasu on Dec 28, 2016 at 8:03 am

BMW engine reliable ? since when ?

• applegreen on Dec 27, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Just take 318 engine and put into next gen corolla altis!

• Munchen SS on Dec 27, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Not Certified to run B10 blend.

• azrai on Dec 27, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Wait for engine inside new Bezza.

• Jimmy on Dec 27, 2016 at 1:52 pm

If you can afford, you sure want a Rolex, not a Selko.

• freedom on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:20 pm

What I see here is Toyota engine end and dead. I not saying BMW engine not good. I wish Toyota can make their own engine for the future. Not using other people brand sausage repackaged with Toyota branded sausage for sell. In car world engine die mean car die.

• donkey on Dec 27, 2016 at 5:00 pm

Its all about business here.. Myvi is very good example, dominating all over the roads..I would say BMW owner would be happy too, who knows parts sharing is compatible with much lower cost..

• ben yap on Dec 27, 2016 at 3:21 pm

new engine can smoke civic 1.5 turbo?

• JAVfans on Dec 27, 2016 at 6:03 pm

no need new engine laa… toyota old engine you found in lotus elise can also smoke civic 1.5 turbo already.

• karam singh on Dec 27, 2016 at 9:22 pm

LOL, u forgot Honda’s Old NA Vtec engine haa bro ?
        its legendary
        Lotus Elise ? mehhh
        Let me introduce – Rezvani Beast X
        Honda own 2.4litre K24 engine 700+hp
        291bhp/litre , beat that now
        0-100kmh 2.5s

• netflix on Dec 28, 2016 at 4:54 pm

lotus using 1.5 n/a, compare apple with apple not with coconut

• F one on Dec 28, 2016 at 4:59 pm

piupil talking about car that can be use everyday and for track on weekends, not car that change engine every 500km,haiyo siow

• Last change to sell you the internal combustion engine on Dec 27, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Last resort.. EV is happening way too fast and ahead of all the expert’s prediction. Toyota and the others finally realize it’s now or never. Better use the resources to concentrate more on battery technology breakthrough. If the new EV price is lower than your average Civic or Collora, then all the ICE can kiss goodbye. Use your old car till Tesla or other become available here to avoid sudden depreciation of your ICE.

• Mikey on Dec 27, 2016 at 5:14 pm

1) The headline read # BMW engines to be used in next-gen Toyota Corolla ? # – Here the writer is just asking a QUESTION & we have many comments/bashing Toyota/BMW.

2) 3rd paragraph read # Details about what will be fitted on the all-new Corolla remain a “MYSTERY” for now # – Here, the writer is NOT even sure what engine will be fitted & we have many comments already bashing Toyota/BMW.

3) 4th Paragraph read # Corolla will MOST likely ride on the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), first used on the fourth-generation Prius, allowing it access to the 8NR-FTS 1.2 litre turbo 4-cylinder, 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i 4-cylinder & 1.8 litre VVT-i Atkinson cycle 4-cylinder engines # – The writer is saying the Corolla is MOST likely to use the Atkinson cycle 4-cylinders engine.

The writer/PT.org surely know how 2 get comments from readers & readers have a field day bashing & many of us definitely like to read these comments. Happy reading & commenting folks.

• halim on Dec 27, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Hope Paultan will post this message as it is critical to the perceived view that you are neutral in your moderation:

1) First of all, all my posts that are critical about the notorious Kunta Kinte has been blocked by Paultan

2) Either Kunta Kinte is a staff of Paultan or Paultan is too chicken to post anything critical of him (not sure why?)

3) Lets be fair Paultan.org
      Please allow all forms of comments, even those critical of yourself to be posted to reflect your maturity as a respected site

4) Thank you for posting this

– Halim

• superbird #43 on Dec 27, 2016 at 9:27 pm

make sure its a rear wheel driven, just like the 80s Corolla… :D

• Just as important as the engine, will the next Altis have the dimensions and looks to challenge the all. Ew mighty Civic?

It’s really an easy thing to do, just make the next Altis a four-door coupe version of the Camry. Terus ramai pergi beli.

• camry for uncle to drive, uncle got money, if make coupe oni piupil talkork about car onni talkork not buy one, how many camry compare to honda civic on the road, mazda 6 more steady than civic

• Francis Lim on Dec 28, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Bmw have great diesel engines but most petrol stations sell Euro 2 diesel. Even Mercedes dare not bring in their diesel saloon cars. Only a handful stations have Euro 5 diesel.