SPYSHOTS: Honda BR-V ahead of Malaysian launch

Courtesy of paultan.org reader Dave, the Honda BR-V has been spotted again, this time atop a transporter truck, following an earlier sighting with its interior revealed. Compared with that earlier sighting, more of the BR-V has been revealed, albeit still with some camouflage remaining on its exterior.

Here, we can see that the 16-inch fan-blade wheels are set to make it to the eventual launch product, and as such this is likely the range-topper we see here. Again, the vehicle’s rear end is concealed, though the door handles have been revealed to be finished in body colour, as seen on the black unit at least.

Under the hood, the 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine from the Jazz and the City with 120 PS and 145 Nm will take residence for powertrain duties, mated to an Earth Dreams CVT to send drive to the front wheels. Inside, the BR-V’s seven seats are laid out across three rows, and can be tilted and folded to allow up to 539 litres of luggage space.

On the safety front, all occupants get three-point seat belts, and ESC-equipped variants have gained a five-star ASEAN NCAP rating. In the meantime as we await the BR-V’s Malaysian launch just after the turn of the new year, read our review of the seven-seater in Thailand, and check out our walkaround video.

GALLERY: Honda BR-V interior spyshots

GALLERY: Honda BR-V preview at at the Mines International Exhibition & Convention Centre

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Wee fook yew on Dec 30, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Ugh!

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Everybody waiting for this car. But how much? Will Malaysians get the 30% car price reduction promised to us 4 years ago by Jib?

Now ringgit is collapsing, we Malaysians got no money. Gomen must reduce car prices as currently Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Tax the rich so no problemo

• Mattdamonfan on Dec 31, 2016 at 3:50 am

Tease tease tease. Just launch je la. Why need to tease we can google the real world on road unit !

• RavenAii (Member) on Jan 02, 2017 at 2:22 am

The real deal was, they(Honda Malaysia) didn’t mean to tease it, most sightings of the vehicle were reported by readers, not and advert by Honda, so the term of ‘teasing’ is not valid. Not Honda’s fault. While Paultan.org is just a media for sharing info so they too also not to be blame.

It’s us, the user, the buyers and the ‘humans’ that always bragging on social medias of big talk want to buy this and that but in the end buying a MyVi instead. Malaysian should learn to stop complaining. Well if problem occurs we have rights to complain but complaining on something we didn’t own? That’s tahi-tahi kerbau if you’re know what I’m saying.

• You must have never been to Singapore yet

• Toyota Avanza and Sienta look much more better than this.Toyota is no 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • idealtech on Dec 30, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Urgh,the more flood we get, the more ugly cars “flood” Bolehland. Is ugly a trend now? You guys need to stop eating roti canai with teh tarik. It clots up your eye capillaries! Go organic and you will see the difference, EAT ULAM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Levin on Jan 04, 2017 at 3:23 pm

Heard from Honda SA that the price will be below RM100k. Launching 7th January 2017.