Volkswagen Golf GTI Clubsport Edition 40 – 265 PS

In conjunction with the 40th anniversary of the Volkswagen Golf GTI, the automaker’s United Kingdom branch has released more images of the Golf GTI Clubsport Edition 40, a special model that was created to mark the occasion.

This isn’t just a normal GTI with some glittery bits attached to it, as Volkswagen has tweaked the EA888 under the hood. In this guise, the 2.0 litre TFSI mill pumps out 265 PS and 350 Nm of torque, which is 45 PS more than the regular GTI. With the overboost function engaged at full throttle, it will produces an additional 25 PS for up to ten seconds.

As a result, the 0-100 km/h time is dispatched in just 6.3 seconds, two tenths faster than the standard car, while the top speed is now at 249 km/h instead of 246 km/h. These performance figures are applicable for both six-speed manual and DSG versions.

Though it may not be as quick as the “FWD King of the ‘Ring,” the Golf GTI Clubsport S, the Edition 40 does come with the full Clubsport styling. This includes a new front bumper, side sills, rear diffuser and roof spoiler that provide real aero performance. Also, 1,000 units of the Edition 40 were available to UK buyers, unlike the Clubsport S, where just 150 of the 400 units came to the UK.

Inside, Alcantara/cloth Recaro seats come as standard, with leather sports seats being an option. Elsewhere, the dashboard and door cards are dressed with ‘Honeycomb 40’ trim strips, plus there is an Alcantara steering wheel with a top position marker and a special plaque.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• valeriy on Dec 30, 2016 at 11:12 am

Dont be ridiculous.
    Better get V40 Drive-E.Same performance. 0-100KM/H also 6.3 Way better features than this GTI.
    Price? only 180K bro after EEV incentive.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 30, 2016 at 11:51 am

that one handling got as sharp?

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:13 pm

horsepower can be hogh and 0 to 60 can be impressive but when you have to spend your 21 days annual leave in the SC, then you will understand why you should always stay away from VW in Malaysia

• The comments of readers here doesn’t fail to amaze me everyday.. figures translates everything it seems. price, power… never fails to find things to complain seems like their myvis is the best…

If its figures you want… a simple trip to the ECU enhancers set a normal mk7 gti to 310ps… easy peesy…

there is an intended groups of buyers for the hot hatch segment… for these people.. i don’t think there is nothing the mk7 can’t provide… but the clubsport version of this one is really not special… got the looks but the power is way of the nuburgring version

• Porschemak on Dec 31, 2016 at 4:23 am

This is very topkek comment. You said never fail to find things to complain yet you say about tuning the ECU

• mx5-nder on Dec 30, 2016 at 2:37 pm

mx5 can tapao this easily, cheaper, sharper. skip.

• Mikey on Dec 31, 2016 at 4:32 pm

I’m surprised that no one comment about the Clubsport Edition 40 good points BUT instead bashing anything VW. The Beetle is one of the most successful car sold(more than 21 millions).

Common guys, is VW that bad & in this case, a GTI. If VW & in particular a GTi(under Golf sold more than 30 millions) is so BAD, U think it will sell so well. In fact, it is a runaway success all over the world.

I’m Not going to compliment on VW today les someone call me a VW salesman/spokesman. Happy New Year.

• lagrunt on Jan 01, 2017 at 11:01 pm

Hey kid, it is popular worldwide doesn’t mean it is good for bolehland pipu.

• Christopher Goh on Jan 07, 2017 at 1:27 am

Come la go against my 991 turbo s.. diu.. all this wannabe ahbeng hatchback drivers..
    come drag or track, i tapau all. Stock aventador stock huracan diu lai2