January 2017 fuel prices – petrol, diesel all up 20 sen!

Fuel prices in Malaysia have seen quite the change in recent months. In September 2016, RON 95 was priced at RM1.70, with increases of 10 sen and 15 sen imposed in October and November respectively. It was then reduced by 5 sen for December, ending the year at RM1.90.

For the new year, fuel prices have gone up again, as explained in detail by finance ministry strategic communications director Datuk Lokman Noor Adam in an earlier report. This time, though, the increase is a significant one – 20 sen hike for RON 95 and diesel, and 15 sen for RON 97.

For the month of January 2017, RON 95 will be priced at RM2.10 per litre (up 20 sen compared to December 2016), RON 97 at RM2.40 per litre (up 15 sen), diesel at RM2.05 per litre (up 20 sen) and Euro 5 diesel at RM2.15 per litre (up 20 sen).

You can blame the increasing price of crude oil and weak ringgit forex against the US dollar for this latest hike, according to Lokman. Don’t expect fuel subsidies to be reintroduced any time soon either, as that is said to have benefitted the rich more than the poor.

Well anyway, happy new year, dear readers!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Shahrul on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Why don’t we use our IC as a method to claim subsidy on petrol? We are using chip-based credit card, and our IC already has chip in it. You want subsidy, insert your IC… if you qualify for subsidy, the price at the pump will change accordingly. If you are not qualified for any subsidy, the price stays the same. Then the subsidy will go to the correct target group or as per value qualified for a certain group. Obviously, people who has more cars/houses might receive less/no subsidies even though you pay nore taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 61
    • Kunta Kinte on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:36 pm

One question we must ask ourselves, for about the past 20 years, Malaysia has been enjoying super high oil prices. Why did not Malaysia save the money?

Dapat duit only enjoy and jolly. Malaysia should have saved every year. There were years even Petronas earned like RM120b a year. Billion. Not million. The good days were going on for about 20 years. Why did not Malaysia save? So that, a rainy day like this, we will have money?

Where is all the oil money going to?

Do you know in Norway or Sweden, every one of their rakyat is a multimillionaire (in USD). They have created a sovereign oil fund which belongs to every single rakyat.

This means that, every single of their rakyat own the sovereign oil fund, now worth US$900 billion making every single citizen a millionaire.

Where is our oil money going to?

2017 will see all food prices rocket up. Remember, according to EPF statistics, 73% of ALL EPF contributors are earning RM1500 or below. These are official statistics.

How are they going to survive?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 275 Thumb down 9
      • Kunta Kinte on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:49 pm

Fair Roslan C Eng, you said falling ringgit is good for Malaysia. Can you explain why minyak has gone up?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 1
        • Kunta Kinte on Dec 31, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Malaysia already has the HIGHEST car prices in the world. Which means we have already prepaid petrol prices at RM2.70 for the next 20 years.

Pity we Malaysians. Already got the highest car prices in the world, now, double whammy, we have to pay high oil prices.

To the bodohs who say Singapore has the highest car prices, well, compare lah GDP Per Capita of Singapore. Singaporeans earn 10X more than Malaysians. So, when they pay RM5 per litre or SGD200k for a BMW 528i, it is FAR FAR cheaper than what we pay even with COE included.

Remember, Singaporeans earn 10X what Malaysians earn.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 12
          • they will tell u… if u like singapore so much… go there lahh
            btw those who stay are mostly stucked for many reasons. so….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Hot dog on Dec 31, 2016 at 9:05 pm

Falling Ringgit will never good for Malaysia…if its good , why don kasih fall 1 USD to 6 MY?… Let me tell you En.Roslan, nomatter how cheap you can sale, there maybe someone cheapest than yours…oversea buyer not only you, they got others choices !….some buyer don mind the price higher , as long the products quality good. Very good example here, our Proton can export well to oversea with falling Ringgit ? No….oversea still buying jepun brand from Thailand !!! Understand ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Present for year 2017 on Dec 31, 2016 at 11:56 pm

Well done out beloved Gov. first day of yeat 2017 present to the rakyat

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 02, 2017 at 12:28 pm

May I remind people here that all our oil is sold in USD and not RM. Ask any banker. Oil is traded in USD.

So, the Government is making big big bucks actually selling oil at 4.6 USD Exchange rate.

So, why lie to the Malaysian people about ringgit falling? Clear and obvious lie here.

Oil is traded globally in USD. Crude oil is treaded in USD. Brent is traded in USD.

Our Gomen is making more now that RM has fallen! Yet they increase 20 sen for 2017.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 31, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Work harder in year 2017 in order to afford a kimchi kunta. I will take it at 40% of car price after one year when you cant afford to pay monthly installment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • OMG…well said. This should apply to Proton also.

• Sammy Loo on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:39 pm

unless somebody would like to pay the cost for the changes in the system for all petrol stations to integrate to JPN

• Mohd Zaini Abdul Khalib on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:39 pm

People will always find a way around whatever system the gov introduces. Welcome to bolehland fellow driver :-)

• Anak najip on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Happy new year 20cent17

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Jom naik MRT saya

• Wahai Jib on Jan 03, 2017 at 10:32 am

Tidak ada MRT dekat Sarawak & Sabah Jib!!! Lu punya Borneo high way hanya original, existing road add on another lane saja…. belum pakai sudah lobang sana sini…

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:33 pm

OMG OMG. 20 sen means all food prices will shoot up!!!

They have started their lies again. What subsidy? Firstly, let me remind you, for 30 years, the Gomen has been lying to its people that our petrol is subsidised.

Hello, we produce our own oil. What you produce, you don’t buy. So, how can you subsidise something that you do not buy? There is no such thing as subsidy at all. If you grow vegetables at the back of your garden for your own usage, you cannot go around telling people that vegetables that you grow is “subsidized”.

Ask any oil man in the industry and they will tell you, Malaysia has ample oil for the next 100 years and we produce more than enough for local consumption. The problem in Malaysia is that we sell all our high grade oil (known as the sweetest oil in the world) to the rich Arabs. In return, we buy cheap dirty filthy full of sulphur oil from the same Arabs at global prices.

Malaysian high quality oil should be sold at cheap prices for Malaysians. Nearly every single oil producing nation sells their oil at super cheap prices to their rakyat (except UK and Norway). The Sultan of Brunei is a good example. He sells oil at super cheap prices to his rakyat, and the remainder, he sells it globally at global prices.

It is high time that we Malaysians realise that we are being conned for the past 30 years. The oil under our tanah air belongs to each and every one in Malaysia. It is our right to use the oil our own country produces.

Second bull is our ringgit collapsing and gomen says that this is because all other currencies are collapsing at all. Can I remind the bodohs running the country that we Malaysians have Internet. We can check. See the SGD Singapore dollar compared to the USD for the past one year. Past one year data shows the SGD drops slightly only to the USD compared to the RM Banana Ringgit. The same with other Asian currecies. RM Ringgit Banana currency statistically is proven to be the worst performing currency.

Third lie is that currency collapsing because of economic issues. This is not true. Ringgit collapsing is because Mat Salleh and Jepun have pulled out all their money from Malaysia. So, in return, Ringgit has collapsed. Why Mat Salleh and Jepun has pulled their money? It is because of Corruption. Nothing else. Western countries have labelled us renegade country and categorized us same as Congo and Nigeria.

Oil prices are globally very low, I have no idea why it is going up tomorrow.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 391 Thumb down 196
    • nabill (Member) on Dec 31, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 208
      • Kunta Kinte on Dec 31, 2016 at 8:23 pm

I got no med bro but only a retard is happy with high fuel prices which in turn will result in high food prices that will make the poor suffer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 4
        • Mikey on Dec 31, 2016 at 9:48 pm

I usually do Not agree with most of your comment BUT U really hit the nail on this. Happy New Year folks & braise yourself to a more expensive Goods & Services year ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
      • Hot dog on Dec 31, 2016 at 9:15 pm

He is truely rakyat Malaysian..we, Malay Indian or Chinese.. sometime ( sorry , is all the time ) tak boleh tahan our minister talking.. we love this land …but pls ( minister ) don spoil ours childs future..
        Don think build MRT .. discount this and tat can make us happy ( these are normal in others country long times ago )..and we know we gonna pay back everythings right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
        • bodobolo on Jan 03, 2017 at 2:36 am

Who cares whether he is truely malaysian or not, he is still a stir creator here

• Average Joe on Dec 31, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Mat salleh and jepun pull out their money? Lol ya why today I go aeon and try fill tank shell is closed.. (sarcasm)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 66
    • Nabill Babill on Dec 31, 2016 at 8:15 pm

susah hidup di Malaysia ni….naik lagi 20 sen!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • Zafran on Dec 31, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 163
    • Well.. They sell Wat they got and buy from other ppl

• Kancil Hybrid on Dec 31, 2016 at 10:59 pm

Correct. From early 2015 to end 2016 SGD only lost 7% of its value against USD. RM on the other hand lost 22%. Every literate rakyat knows this happened just because of 1MDB, nothing else. But the billionaire told dedak eaters this happened because of low oil prices and Trump effects. And some dedak ministers even say low RM is good for country. Next PRU undi BN lagi ok..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • TokGuru on Jan 01, 2017 at 1:12 am

Good read kunte, very sensible… Happy new year everyone…

• Anonymous on Dec 31, 2016 at 8:21 pm

I remembered last few days reading a certain minister telling people not to worry about the weak ringgit forex, and yet this is the same reason they used to justify the price increase.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
  • Kunta bin Lipas on Dec 31, 2016 at 8:25 pm

So much burden for the people, everything going up! Only the rich politicians survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • Andrekua on Dec 31, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Nah, just fix it like ringgit at RM2.70 loh… I’m really tired reading petrol price every month. Also extremely frustrated when minister came up and said we are subsidizing 10c or 5c. You want to subsidize, then subsidize kao kao. I don’t mind wasting RM20-50 a month so that I don’t have to listen to your bullshit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • Sashimi on Dec 31, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Ei halo poor people pay income tax rich people also pay income tax what apa subsidy is benefited to rich people

• Faiz Roslan on Dec 31, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 134
    • Gomorrah on Dec 31, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Ask yourself in the cost per litre how much of it is tax on the fuel itself? I’m not talking about GST. There is a separate government tax within that RM1.90/RM2.10. The govt giving or not giving subsidy never eats in to this tax. The government collection of that revenue continues unabated. This used to be displayed on Petronas stations in the early days of the sharp price increases about 10 years ago. Now you won’t see that government circular being displayed.
      Another thing for all of you to observe : – drive on Federal Highway after Batu Tiga toll on the way to KL and glance at the new Petronas station there. It has an electronic display of fuel price just like in Singapore/Australia etc where the oil price is on a free float. What does that tell you about the governments plan??

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 01, 2017 at 11:39 am

First of all Malaysia is an oil import country. We export our sweet oil and import lower quality ones which is more than enough for vehicle consumption.

Our Ron 95 and 97 is priced much cheaper than Singapore. Ask ur self why???

Answer is obvious gov is helping rakyat by pricing lower. Pricing lower = less profit = subsidy

It’s funny u all always criticize kampung ppl but kampung ppl is teaching u facts about economy!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 60
        • Gomorrah on Jan 01, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Why you perasaan about kampung people? Touched a nerve? Read the post – no mention of kampung people, who happen to be very nice. You on the other hand have a chip on your shoulder. “We export our sweet oil and import lower quality oil” – so Malaysians don’t deserve high quality fuel and a cleaner environment? Must give to the mat salleh everything and live unhealthily? I thought we were done with the penjajah 60 years ago?
          Pricing lower? Another excuse for no value in our currency, so hide the fact by supplying poorer quality fuel and compare with Singapore and say our fuel cheaper? Euro 4M same as Euro 5/6 ah? We can’t even implement standard Euro 4 here because then the fuel companies will start complaining. Get real man. Malaysians need to demand that the elected representatives do their jobs. They are public servants not demigods.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
          • facto on Jan 03, 2017 at 2:42 am

Elected reps are not public servants, get your facts right

• Jeffrey Read on Jan 01, 2017 at 1:03 am

If 20 cents increase is actually much lower as claimed ONLY by you, would you be kind enough to INFORM everyone, how much was it suppose to increase for the new year?

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 01, 2017 at 11:41 am

Read gov website. It’s the most reliable source. If not refer to our neighbor down south which u all like to worship see how much they are paying. We are definitely being helped and subsidized by our government. Why can’t you all accept fakta and thank government for once!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 55
    • Interesting on Jan 01, 2017 at 2:16 am

Hi Faiz Roslan,
      Do you know the reason why our currency depreciating ? hidden subsidy ? Do share your facts to change our view.

Maybe I’m stupid or not aware of the changes. With the so called “saving” from subsidies, where all these saving goes to ? Is every single cent was used to help the Rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Faiz Roslan on Jan 01, 2017 at 11:44 am

Coz more investor pouring money in to boost our export. Weaker ringgit will help that. Did u read statement from our minister? I don’t want repeat it and out of topic juga ya.

Savings are given all to rakyat in BR1M and many cheap houses. Where else can u find such good government?

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 58
    • Anonymous on Jan 01, 2017 at 7:46 am

You can’t sanely expect people to appreciate when things are getting worse. I understand that you might be a gov supporter, and I myself was a supporter. However, people have their reasonable reasons not to appreciate, to bash, and to be worried with all the current events that have been unfolded in these past few years.

In these past few years, it would be stupid and utter ignorant to argue that these increases have actually caused a certain chain reactions towards the prices of other comodities and goods, and they stayed there even when the fuel price decreases.

It would be equally stupid to tell people that everything is OK, when things are never close to being OK.

There are no such things as hidden subsidies not reported by the mass media. Knowing the gov, how they work, how they publicize every cheap acts they were doing, how desperately they are in need of having good perceptions from the mass, there is no way they will ever keep these so-called-hidden subsidies stay hidden from the knowledge of the people. If there are indeed hidden subsidies, we can logically suspect that these hidden subsidies will get withdrawn secretly sooner and later, and it will be so much easy for them to do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Mikey on Dec 31, 2016 at 10:40 pm

Janji Di Tepati & Rakyat Di Dahulukan says our PM. This is how he repay those 43% who voted/supported him 2 be PM.

Our esteem CEng(Faiz Roslan) says # 20 cent increase is actually much lower than what it was suppose to increase #. He must be the “Smartest” commentators here 2 justify the increase.

• Someone needs to pay for the jet fuel of you know who who flew to Australia.

• with this increase, this year CNY is going to be expensive.

• The year of public transport. Lets use more LRTs, MRT, BRT, KTMs, monorel, ERL, and more buses. Lets rely less on cars/motors and save environment, save money, save congestion. Lets make PM vision a great success!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Which vavi say currency drop wont affect malaysians much?!

• MakeMalaysiaGreatAgain on Jan 01, 2017 at 10:59 am

I know who to vote. Already decided.

• Mark my words…when the election is near they will reduce the price just to show how caring the Gov is…ni cerita lama la brader orang sudah kenal la…cittt!!!!

• Najib 2.B Razak on Jan 01, 2017 at 11:18 am

Dont worry guys, Other countries jealous of Malaysia’s economy one.

• putang inang on Jan 01, 2017 at 12:48 pm

Gomen blaim weak ringgit but it’s their duty to strengthen ringgit n ensure global wages. But Gomen follow slavery tactics. Low RM value, super low wages and working slave hours. So Rakyat jadi kerbau. Or get foreign workers to work so that they can Use, abuse n discard.

• AhmadZ on Jan 01, 2017 at 12:54 pm

Removing subsidies to avoid benefitting the rich is just an excuse. The rakyat is being squeezed left and right, top and bottom. Sooner or later its gonna burst.

• MakeMalaysiaGreatAgain on Jan 01, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Just do what you need to do & laksanakan tanggungjawab masing-masing for the sake of our next generation………. if u continue to act tidak apa, buta, pekak & bisu, then you are not a responsible would-be forefather of future generation of anak Malaysia.

• I like to eat Kangkong on Jan 01, 2017 at 7:03 pm

dont know what to say.

I still remember last time Najib went to OPEC meeting. there, they talk about reducing oil production. this will increase the oil price.

Malaysia is strange place. if oil price go up, gomen will untung. but when it goes down, rakyat will untung. it’s two opposite direction. it’s hard to please everyone.

our gomen really depends on oil for income.

• drstrange on Jan 03, 2017 at 2:50 am

What strange there? Of course gomen will untung coz we sell oil. But if its prices go down, rakyat will untung but less untung on gomen side

• Leafable on Jan 01, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Renault Zoe now look more promising now. If they can bring in the Ioniq EV would be perfect.

• no need report already la every month…we know their pattern already…drop sikit naik banyak…

let me guess…just b4 next GE they will drop alot ^^
    so now the price will be trending up til then…

• petrol no more on Jan 02, 2017 at 11:42 am

I want konvert my car engine to use water than petrol….

• Bernard on Jan 03, 2017 at 6:01 pm

I guess I will have to sell my 20 year old kancil manual and buy a bicycle…

• What about Ron100 from petron?

• din.audi on Jan 04, 2017 at 3:03 pm

Today the price for ron95 is rm2.10/l @ world’s crude oil price below usd60/barrel.

Please expect the local ron 95 price to reach rm5 – rm10 per litre once the world oil price get above usd100/barrel with weakening ringgit keep sliding.

• Willi on Feb 01, 2017 at 9:28 pm

I there any one who can explain to me why the petrol price went up?
    When I check US$ to Ringgit Dec 31 2016 it was RM 4,49
    Jan 31 2017 it was 4,43
    That is a difference of RM 0,06
    The crude oil price dec 30 2016 was $ 56,87
    Crude oil price Jan 31 2017 was $ 56,12
    How can the petrol go up by RM 0,20
    check US$ to Ringgit
    http://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=USD&to=MYR&view=1Y
    check crude oil
    https://www.dailyfx.com/crude-oil