Puspakom urges public to report suspected corruption

Following a reader’s letter to Utusan Malaysia claiming the presence of third parties or runners who are not Puspakom staff acting as middlemen to ensure that a given vehicle passes the inspection, Puspakom has released its written response.

In the statement, Puspakom said it hopes that the author of said letter could forward relevant information or proof of such occurrences to Puspakom itself or to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC). The computerised vehicle inspection centre stressed that it has never endorsed the services of these third party personnel or runners, nor has it compromised the inspection of vehicles to set standards.

Puspakom also urged the public not to be duped into the ways of the runners, who claim to be able to guarantee that a vehicle passes the inspection for a fee. The inspections are carried out in accordance with the Road Transport Act 1987 and with the orders of the government enforcement agencies.

The inspection centre also stressed that a vehicle will fail its inspection if it is unsafe to drive or if it does not comply with set standards. In 2016, a total of 72,225 buses were inspected at Puspakom; out of those, 23,092 buses failed the inspection for not adhering to standards.

Meanwhile, in the routine inspection category, a total of 45,419 bus inspections were carried out and from that sum, 16,850 buses failed the inspection, and were required to undergo re-testing.

The statement adds that the inspections prove that Puspakom doesn’t just give approval to all vehicles which come through their doors for thorough inspection, and it is the responsibility of vehicle owners or drivers to ensure that the vehicle is serviced and maintained in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations.

The organisation also advised the public to report any suspicious activity, or if they have been offered a guaranteed inspection pass for a fee, to Puspakom at 03-20528989 or via email at [email protected].

The matter has caught the attention of transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, who has asked the MACC to investigate the allegation of corrupt practices at Puspakom.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• I suggest MACC to undercover bring in vehicle for inspection and see what happens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Reporter on Jan 05, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Let probe 1MDB and Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • Been there, done that. No problemo found by anywhere.
        While I gave suggestion, u pulak accusation. Basher xde idea lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • Repot repot..
          Wang tunai lebih RM3 juta dan mata wang asing serta jongkong emas.
          150 tas tangan dan jam tangan jenama Prada, Louis Vuitton dan Chanel Swarovski. dipercayai menerima sejumlah wang suapan

• What kind of disgusted malaysian are you?. We are talking about car and it’s related organisation and you bring up about najib which still have no proof

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • What? Throw the ball back to public? The problem is public itself giving corruption. Example, many lorry operator deal with insider to have their lorry passes to avoid maintenance cost. U should send your people to monitor your own team.

• Andrekua on Jan 05, 2017 at 5:39 pm

Wayang Kulit again… typical response.

Let’s see if there is any scape goats. I won’t be surprised if runners fees increase after this fiasco.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • Cepat sorok.. Prefects datang buat Spotcheck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Faiz Roslan on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:50 pm

Nothing to hide because since day 1 Puspakom in operation, MACC did it’s job as the best graft busting authority in the world. The government has world class institutions and practices but Malaysians always not thankful. – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
      • Hot dog on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:36 pm

Other peoples saying tat you are world class, you memang world class . You said yourself world class… then, you memang shiok sendiri !!!

• Mikey on Jan 05, 2017 at 5:46 pm

Yes, we should cooperate with Puspakom. Having said that, Puspakon itself should send their people for undercover job. They are getting too cozy in their office. About time to sweat it out.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:32 pm

U know how BBC or Aljazeera do those undercover reportings, ya, i wish they do a 1hr show regarding JPJ in general… Individuals cant complain to them, no point, they will put it under the rug or probably sue u for defamation… Old trick this… Not gonna work… We need under cover investigators, bt even then, the whole freakin tree is rotten, u guys think some good things will come out of it??

• KayaKaya1 Malaysia on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:51 pm

After many incident of whistle-blowers being sent to jail for reporting *ahem*…while the corruption criminals walk-free in the streets in Malaysia…

Exactly who in Malaysia is gonna report such, esp about corruption??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Mikey on Jan 05, 2017 at 10:25 pm

U are absolutely right on this except there is ONLY one man who is still walking around after reporting the Mega Corruption. His name start with a M & have a Dr title.

• That person is most corrupted hypocrite of all. If pipu had sapot Gov, he be in jail with his protege long time ago.

• I know this person.
        Dr Mohd Puad. ohwaiiii

• UMW TOYOTA on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:57 pm

haiya..shit la u… all runner in my area got money chge to new car ady.. ford wildtrak..navara np300..revo 2.8..civic 1.5..even runner machai ride superbike..

• Avocado on Jan 05, 2017 at 7:04 pm

So over 20 thousand did not go thru runner and failed?

• Tiger on Jan 05, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Today statememt and action but every1 will forget tomoro as corrupt practise is from so call top to bottom,where to report then,total disgrace

• Prihatin on Jan 05, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Abang2 kat office tolong turn padang pergi siasat tak payah dok tunggu public to complaint..

• Yes. Indeed, their officer have to turun padang. But, citizen also need to take part, report if notice any wrong doing.

• Wee fook yew on Jan 05, 2017 at 10:22 pm

If those in top management claim to be unaware of what is happening on the ground whereas it’s an open secret to all Malaysians, then they are not fit for the job. Getting whistle blowers to report is tantamount to dereliction of their job.

• Oliver Queen on Jan 05, 2017 at 10:44 pm

Wayang…wayang…& wayang…

• Francis Lim on Jan 06, 2017 at 12:05 am

I was in puspakom waiting for my car to be verified and during the two hours wait, i saw a lot of funny things happening. It take a blind man not to see these incidents there.

• Really? on Jan 06, 2017 at 2:12 am

HAHAHAHA! asking public to report corruption

in malaysia, you repot, you yang kena

• Vemal on Jan 06, 2017 at 7:44 am

After report, whistle-blower will be charge under OSA ……

• Ben Yap on Jan 06, 2017 at 10:06 am

are you sure u dare to walk the talk?

if really a big gun got caught, don’t try to cover up.

• MA see see on Jan 06, 2017 at 12:43 pm

No need to provide proof, just go to road and see how many truck, and factory bus with black smoke even can cover your car and face…sometimes some joker there think all people are blind and stupid.. sad!!

• JPJ Supporter on Jan 06, 2017 at 1:22 pm

The main culprit is JPJ. Check all the agents and they can tell you how the JPJ officers never hesitate to ask for “sedekah”. Normally, the sedekah will be in the form of oversea holiday trip or new car,bike under somebody elsa nama

• Sohai on Jan 06, 2017 at 4:30 pm

People tell you already you go investigate yourself first lah… Need the public to catch the culprit for you issit? Tak tau malu kah puspakom. It will not be that hard to catch if it is so rampant like the claims.
    Simply do some undercover yourself and you would know lah.