Mazda to introduce new homogeneous charge compression ignition engine at the end of 2018

Mazda is reportedly set to introduce an engine with new technology, one that will offer a 30% improvement in fuel efficiency. The new engine, which will debut towards the end of next year, will eschew spark plugs and instead utilise pressure to ignite fuel, Nikkei Asian Review reports.

The report says that new mill will be the first practical application of the technology, which is called homogeneous charge compression ignition. No technical details beyond the point that the system apparently ignites the fuel/air mix by subjecting it to pressure, which the automaker says results in more efficient combustion than that found in conventional engines using spark plugs.

Mazda is said to be looking to introduce the new engine – which it is positioning as part of the second-generation of its SkyActiv suite of environmentally friendly technologies – in the new Mazda 3 (or the Axela, as it’s known in its domestic market) next year. The Nikkei report indicates that the unit will eventually be deployed on a wider scale, finding its way on to other models.

As for global markets, the company is looking at US and European markets, but says that it has plans to introduce the new engine – which apparently would give the current Mazda 3 a mileage figure approaching 30 km per litre – into developing markets by around 2030.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• TongHoi on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:05 pm

Whatever lah…if prices still high like BMW…how can sell it at boleh land….maybe you dont bother market here……cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • #truth on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:04 pm

Vs the Toyota/Honda equivalent that costs twice as much to fuel, has a RUBBISH interior and drives like s**t. Typical asian, not appreciating a quality product, just wanting it for the cheapest price llahhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:31 am

Nobody wants to buy from Bermaz anymore so nobody interested in Mazda news anymore. 3 price hikes in 1 year shows a car company that is greedy and cannot see the sufferings of the rakyat of Malaysia

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 11, 2017 at 5:34 pm

You think Vincent Tan want to lose money to currency depreciation meh? Blame “you know who” for the poor state of our currency lah.

• Honda price remain same.
          Toyota price remain same but up spec.
          Mazda pulak wanna sendri up price.

So u still say ini semua salah Gov?

• From east side on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:10 pm

I shud start saving from now on…for the downpayment later on mazda wait for me

• 12yrsold on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:57 pm

Does the 30% improvement in fuel efficiency for the new engine exceed the 40 percent Thermal efficiency of the Hyundai Ioniq & Toyota Prius ?!

It also say the new technology is called homogeneous charge compression ignition meaning using pressure compression like a Diesel engine to create a spark without using spark plug to ignite.

Is that what Nikkei Asian Review is saying Anthony Lim ? Please correct me if I’m wrong. Cheers …

• hulwan on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Yes. Definitely will exceed conventional spark ignition engine efficiency. Also yes, HCCI uses diesel technology to run petrol engine, so higher compression ratio = higher efficiency. The engineering challenges are great (knocking being the main obstacle), so kudos to Mazda for the achievement.

• Andrekua on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:58 pm

Fancy name. Doesn’t it sounds like what they had been doing with diesel engine?

• Exactly what I’ve been thinking too…and I wonder how could this combustion method would increase fuel efficiency be at par or even exceed hybrid engines.

• Sohhai on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:13 pm

30km per liter?? Are you sure Mazda? That is some bold figures considering hybrid engines only deliver up to 20+km per liter

• Lisa Cameron on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:02 am

I have called Mazda Miata 2003 in excellent condition convertible and I’m always looking for parts ideas upgrades and maybe even Ather one(3) email any time that!!

• Lisa Cameron on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:05 am

I have a Mazda Miata 2003 in excellent condition convertible and I’m always looking for parts ideas upgrades and maybe even Ather one(3) email any time that!!

• Gaviny on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:15 am

Wow HCCI , if they pull it off they will be first commercially available, Mazda leading ahead

• lilytan on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:50 am

30 km per liter is very good. Rather choose this than a hybrid which will cause u a fortune to replace the batt later on. But only in developing market by 2030 is not good. Luckily Msia already developed in 2020. So hopefully we will get the tech by that year. Historically Mazda is not that stingy like T n H brand so the new tech usually will get to the rest of the world ASAP.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 11, 2017 at 5:39 pm

Boleh-Land developed by 2020 ….. hahaha hahaha. Good joke, bro

• Jonn Dol on Jan 11, 2017 at 11:30 am

Mazda is apparently the new “Honda”. At the fore front in powertrain technology (minus the hybrid thingy).

• thepolygonal on Jan 11, 2017 at 3:43 pm

It should come with better high compression tolerance fuel injector too. I don’t think normal fuel injectors can withstand up to the pressure needed for ignition without a spark-plug on normal fuel. Wait… and this can be done with 95?