Proton CNY promo – up to RM12k rebate until Jan 31

Once again, the festivities aren’t too far away, and Chinese New Year seems as good a time as any to welcome a new car into the household. To that end, Proton Edar is running a Chinese New Year promotion, with rebates on each model ranging from RM500 to RM12,000.

Starting with the Saga and Persona, which start from RM36,800 and RM46,350 respectively, a rebate of up to RM500 is offered. Meanwhile, the Exora people-mover starts from RM69,840, and now comes with a rebate of up to RM4,000. Next up are the Preve and the Perdana, starting from RM59,710 and RM113,438 respectively, with a rebate of up to RM5,000 each.

Proton’s B-segment hatchback, the Iriz, comes with a rebate of up to RM9,300, from a starting price of RM41,520. Last but not least is the Proton Suprima S, the sole model here to come into the CNY promotion with a five-figure rebate – up to RM12,000 to be exact. Prices for the turbocharged hatchback start from RM69,840.

Valid until January 31, 2017, prices as stated on this Chinese New Year promotion are applicable to Peninsular Malaysia only.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• From the rebate,we know that the suprima is the most unwanted model, follow by iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 21
    • Honda can give 8k rebate for 2016 model, so not selling well perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
      • Nay. CRV rebate is 11k deadak. It must be so unwanted according to basher logic, right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
        • Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:29 am

One thing I cannot understand. If Proton can give RM12k discount now, why can’t they give it in the first place?

After all, Proton was created to give cheap cars to the rakyat. And it is SOLELY because of Proton that ALL Japanese cars went up super high in price in the 90s. Yes, it is 100% because of Proton. In 1985, Mahathir said, Proton was created to give the rakyat cheap car prices. And then, they raised Jap car prices few fold.

So, why Proton cannot give the RM12k in the first place? Why wait for CNY promo? It should be given the whole year round.

After all remember, any car company giving discounts in not losing a single SEN. They will never sell a car below cost. No car manufacturer will sell below cost.

So, is Proton really making over RM12k in untung for their cars when Proton was created in the spirit of helping Malaysians own cheap cars?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 9
          • Zahid on Jan 11, 2017 at 11:53 am

This is the best comment ever. Very very logical. Makes sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
          • akujanji on Jan 11, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Sapott 200%!! Hope Gomen remove GST, AP, Cukai Eksais, Import duti & Sales tax!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
          • Casisking on Jan 11, 2017 at 2:20 pm

Your company gives discount the whole year? Where comes the “good deal” feeling when there is a deal?
            And your assumption of company not losing money when giving discount is not technically true if you go by per unit cost. Just to give you some history lesson, the first proton sold back in 1985, was selling at aprox. Rm18k… At a lost per unit…at least in accounting sense.

Profit is not the only thing important when it comes to big company and accounting. There are simply too many indirect costs to a product. Cash flow, is what keeps the company going year after year. And this is what proton is trying to do… Generate cash… Not necessary create profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
        • camtakpro on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:46 am

CRV really so unwanted compare to HRV.

Hardly saw any ‘new’ CRV.

• According to bashers, its must be more rarer compared to Perdana2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 11:43 am

Ex CEO said for each Proton Saga they sold, company only makes RM500 profit per car. Journalists were shocked but ex Proton CEO said it was the truth.

This is in the archives of PT. We all can go and check.

So I am wondering, if now can give RM500 discount on the Saga, does that mean Proton is losing money selling the car?

Or did the CEO lie again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
          • Raja muttu on Jan 11, 2017 at 12:46 pm

Ex proton operator keep bashing P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:30 am

If 12k across the board also won’t move sales figures much. Not that they have to increase sales to whet the appetite of the “potential” partner. As we all know, the G2G deal is done. Ini semua wayang.

• Operation Manager on Jan 11, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Well done! Bookings reach 9500 units.

• Prabanathan King on Jan 11, 2017 at 2:29 am

Honda showrooms nationwide very quiet coz people start to realised many people got con the sushi quality in fact Honda and proton is the same quality.Poor 92k 2016 buyers.Come let’s confess Toyota is always the real king.Buy Toyota you’all never regrets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
      • hazzif on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:28 am

he is talking about Proton, and u idiot is commenting Honda…really stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • No difference with those idiots talking about Proton in every article including BMW

• Why can’t? H&T news out, P1 unnecessary get involve can what.

• No. Last year stock clearance. That’s all

• palehotak on Jan 11, 2017 at 2:23 pm

Xde rebate, korang Bash. bagi Rebate pon Bash.

• Speaking of Honda, im going to nitpick on the worst-value car on this list; the pondana. Why give rebate, RM5k at that, for a supposedly “prestiguous” car as stupidly described by Fuaad Kenali? He thought we all forgot what he said last year? Not about volume kan Mr. CEO??? http://paultan.org/2016/06/17/video-proton-ceo-speaks-on-what-is-ahead-for-proton/

• Kunta316recondBMW on Jan 10, 2017 at 11:44 pm

Sales is sos so, if not why need to give so much the rebate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:33 am

Shocked that Iriz got so much rebate. Shows sales are super bad. But ex CEO of Proton announced to the press conference that Iriz sales are super good and they got 1 year back orders and they cannot keep with the super hot demand.

Same modus operandi they are using for Ertiga and Persona now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • worry on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:04 am

Dunno wor, jepunis overlord brands oso got rebates wor

• Prefer gip diskaun rather than Ah beng bodykit.

• Shahrol on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:38 am

It’s time to change JPJ, PDRM, Kastam, Blue Taxi fleet again

• Same L0rr on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:50 am

As usual, the that fir the CamPro VVT engine & CVT Punch gearbox have a huge discount. See the Iriz, Preve & Suprima S!
      Proton want to clear stock and sale junk to replace the new engine GDI & CVT Jatco this year!

• Remember last year got one fella commented if you drive a korean car attending family reunion dinner, got to park far far away plus pretending stomach ache to leave earlier, worry people see his car. Does this apply to proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 33
    • Azli M on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:50 am

Betul tu. many frenz rather buy second hand Jepunis cars than brand new local cars…

Reason bcoz used Toyota Altiz & Vios lebih reliable & murah maintain…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • loler on Jan 11, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Lol good luck with the expensive spare parts!

• john is otak batu on Jan 11, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Ppl like loler better start walking! Hey don’t bother about bicycle either cause they need to change part also!

• liner on Jan 12, 2017 at 12:13 am

But with bicycle you’are not gonna have big hole in pocket!

• How to park far away when you are not even invited when driving a Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Raja Ahmad Abu Bakar on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:43 am

Why feel shame ? Better than those buying a BMW 316 with 95% 9 years loan. At least they can afford and not pretend to be able to afford.

• Typical My maa.. For My, Owner of BMW 316 ‘barely a BMW’ with 95% 9 years loan is orang kaya compare to owner who pay cash for their Iriz.

• Nobody with the capability to fork out 50k will buy iriz. Iriz buyers are mostly low income earners.

• You see, proton worked hard all these decades to earn a bad rep and poor brand image. If they sold good quality cars with good ownership experience no one would tibai them. But they decided to make it hard for them. They had it coming and same goes to their buyers.

• Tun Razak on Jan 10, 2017 at 7:16 pm

Hahaha… This better than BRIM offers of 4k discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Jan 10, 2017 at 7:18 pm

Guys, we learnt something from 2016. Never pay full price of a car. With discounts they still make money.

Why Iriz discount $9,000 and Persona only $500?
    Why Preve only $5,000 and Suprima $12,000?

Good that they are suffering. Times are bad, don’t get yourself into long term loans. Sacrifice new car smell for Uber or Grabcar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
    • worry on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:07 am

Waiting for Honda, Toyota, Nissan, etc for discounts

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:12 am

Imagine the Iriz and Suprima buyers who bought at full price?

All crying now. Their RV masuk tong sampah now. Their loyal customers of Proton now kena throw taik on their faces.

Now even 2nd hand Iriz will drop to RM30k. Loyal Proton fans who bought the Iriz sell now also must top up their loan big time.

Good for you loyal Proton fans. Thsi is how Proton has rewarded you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Coz persona n saga you discount or not people still buy. Suprima iriz you give big discount people also dont wan to buy. Thats the simple logic behind this discount thingy. Just wanna sell the car at max profit possible.

• rajes on Jan 10, 2017 at 7:32 pm

damn this toyota only havent release CNY rebate….

• Prabanathan King on Jan 11, 2017 at 2:10 am

Toyota very high demand.All showrooms limited stock.First come first serve.Don’t wait,hurry get your car.Remember Toyota is number 1 in the world.You don’t want people to look at you drive a Honda or proton this CNY holiday or else park your car far far away..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • swoosh3553 on Jan 11, 2017 at 11:40 am

Bro Praba… typical Toyota salesman kah? Toyota also on CNY rebate scheme ler. Go to Toyota website and see for your self. Stock is NOT that high demand as you think it is. If demand, then still do CNY Offer meh? Anyway, these are all marketing strategy to rake in more sale volumes. It has nothing to do with non moving stock, or high demand or low demand. Every industry does some kind of promotion to meet organizational KPIs. Offers and Sales like these always benefits the end-customer.

• He just joined UMWT a week ago. I dont blame him, he is trying to stir up some market demand here so readers can google his name and buy some toyotas from him.

• Ahmadjr on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Clear all the suprima and iriz. Focus on the 4 models only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Albert on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Ahmadjr
      How to concentrate on 4 models?The suppliers will come and bang tables,as this will suffocate their income.
      Remember,only 6 months earlier they were crying,not being pAid,and then the mus stepped in and arrange the SOFT LOAN.
      p1 NEEDS TO CLOSE SHOP,transfer staff to other auto companies or just give them a fat golden handshake.
      It is a sad story on REPEAT AUTO MODE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
      • Ahmadjr on Jan 11, 2017 at 2:42 am

So your solution is just give up? After billions of money invested that’s all? Many car brands had been much worse than p1 yet still doing ok like mazda, renault and datsun. If you think by closing shops will make foreign cars become cheaper then you’re wrong. It’s not gonna happen. We’ll be losing billions of tax income plus the p1, it’s suppliers and vendors will close too. The result, catastrophic. Don’t compare our situation with volvo or jaguar, we’re not in eu. Protectionism is banned there, compare us with detroit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
        • Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 12:14 pm

So, it is better to pour billions into Proton forever? Already RM16.5 billion given to Proton FREE of charge.

That is official figure from Mustapa. Unofficial figures are probably double or triple cause when Mahathir was PM, he loved his baby Proton so much and he took billions with one hand from Petronas and gave it to Proton with another hand.

All unaccounted and all unaudited.

Don’t you think all this money can be used to build more government hospitals and government schools for the rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:03 am

This is so true. Until today, 30 years later, Proton is still using their same crony suppliers and vendors who got lopsided and one sided contracts.

They supply Proton super cheap and super low quality parts and then, pity Proton, Proton gets the bad name.

These crony contracts are super long too. Like 15 yrs long. Have you wondered why they sold the Wira for 15 yrs?

Yes, the answer is that, Proton had no choice but to extend the lifespan of the car cause all the crony vendors and suppliers had super long contracts to supply Proton with super low quality parts.

The same practice here. Even Iriz and Preve is a failure, Proton still have to make these cars and sell it for the next 10 years to make the crony vendors and suppliers happy.

Wake up Proton. Wake up. Rescind and nullify all these contracts so that you can streamline your operations and just sell the Saga and Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • nabill (Member) on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:07 pm

Ya… Makes sence… They have to streamline their model lineup, to make it look more attractive to whoever is gonna takeover p1… I wd add the Perdana to that list…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Terms and condition apply… Only 2014, 2015 model..

• I wanna buy 2013 model, perhaps some still lying at garage. Half price?

• 12yrsold on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:40 pm

*** Means Terms & conditions apply. Chances are those with high rebate are 2016 model.

• Albert on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:56 pm

Rm12,000 discount……Protong is at this again.omg.
    The rakyat has been footing the rm1.5 Billion bailout package and yet Protong’s sales keep dipping.
    This is the problem with EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN concept.
    There isnt any light and will NEVER BE at the end of the tunnel for P1.
    It is an EXPERIMENTAL FAILURE that cost taxdollars running into multiple billions of rm,and yet this pathethic affair is allowed to go on and on…
    If Protong sells less than 50,000 units this 2017,might as well tutup kilang ,get a giant AP and bring in AP cars.
    No stupid white knight will come in without a string of conditions.
    Proton…u r pushing the Suprimas,Iriz with a token downpayment of rm0-170 to clear stocks with 9year h/p loans.These r the loan defaulters /bankrupt candidates after a while.
    It is a vicious cycle….just insaf….BUNGKUS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
  • Silthice on Jan 10, 2017 at 8:59 pm

All new 8-seaters exora 1.5 TGDi, preve FL 1.5 TGDi, Suprima crossover with higher ☝ ground clearance 1.5 TGDi, iriz 1.2 GDi with smaller engine bay to give roomier cabin & 1.0 TGDi iriz activ for 2017.
    2018, new Proton Arena, Proton pick up ⬆, Proton A segment compact Car 1.0 GDi, Proton Perdana 2.0 V6 TGDi, saga 1.2 GDi & persona 1.3 GDi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
  • Jasper on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:50 pm

But which model of the iriz will be getting the RM9300 rebate?

• Saga3 & Persona2 gip 500 deadak, meanwhile Biza gip 5000 deadak… oh wai

• Don’t BS here. Your beloved Biza 1.3l max angpow rebate is RM2,188

• Thats only official. I gip more cuz include special price for special package.

• Err… RM2188 is more then RM500.. Meaning Biza lagi tak laku lor..

• Kunta bin Katak on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:04 pm

Preve not selling well. The car is not designed properly. Look at the Preve headlamps, it’s not wide enough, and looks very flat. Proton should have made the headlamps slightly wider, and a little sculpted, including the front grill,which looks very flat and plain. Take some cues from the previous gen Honda city, and you will know what I mean. The back looks too chunky and high due to the car sloping upward more than the usual. Low pressure turbo not generating enough power and the cvt tranny is just a disaster. A replacement model is of top priority and proton needs to redesign the Preve from scratch. On the other hand praises to proton for the new saga, which looks really very good indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
    • hazzif on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:32 am

just make the car reliable and it will sell

• taknaktoyota on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:09 am

Century sprinting in 9 secs you said not enoughpower?
      Go back to your pathetic old gen Vios

• Kunta bin Katak on Jan 11, 2017 at 5:20 pm

Hmm I guess you are comparing it to a vios or an Altis which are backward anyway. I compare to real Segment C contenders such as the Jetta and Civic turbo where the Preve doesn’t come even close.

• taknaktoyota on Jan 12, 2017 at 12:23 am

And where your overlord fav car Altis?
          Gone into drain ady?
          Haha! And dun forget preve is 5 years ady, comparing it with new models is absolutely stupid

• Bro, the low pressure turbo KP39 is strong enough to cause the Punch CVT to breakdown due to overtorque. The CVT is the only culprit. And oil cooler hose design too of course.

• lemau on Jan 11, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Those oil cooler hoses have been recalled, and there is torque limitation to prevent overheat. Apa lagi lu mau?

• Those old models that proton will come out with new much improved face-lift in 2017 will need to be cleared.

• Johirian on Jan 10, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Everything above 50k can’t sell for protong, period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Preve & Exora seems to sell very well indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • kanazai2001 on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:49 am

if SUPRAma comes with MT…
        straight go for booking!!!

**prodoh has been promised 1.6 turbo + 6sp MT for suprema decade ago & yet… juz another noisy empty can… :-(

• Wat to do? too little sapot for MT to justify this spec. Just like MT for Iriz. Most MY pipu r too lazy to row gears.

• Nazri on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:38 am

Desperately trying very hard to clear their aging stocks from their junk yard. Good luck to the owners of the junk cars.

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:46 am

good initiative by our government linked company to help malaysians own a car. despite much funds being poured in to develop these state of the art cars, they still manage to help the rakyat by selling at very affordable rates.

well done!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Khai b on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:12 am

Why labuan proton dont have this promo

• I pity those who has bought the new car without any discount.

The 2nd hand value of the car will be a junk.

Yes, Support the Proton and you will be rewarded with big discount. haha.

• Ben Yap on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:19 am

suprima is an overpriced car. that’s why proton can give discount. last time i read that proton only makes RM500 per each Saga SV sold.

If a basic saga only makes RM500, how the hell can proton give any rebate for the other cars? the disparity in profit for models to models is so huge?

• isengard12 on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:46 am

Why so little rebate for the Saga? It is sitting on the same platform from the older Saga, just some facelift & improvement.
    The improvement is a job well done, but the rebate seems to tell people that this is a new model, hence the little rebate?

• Henry on Jan 11, 2017 at 3:12 pm

The sales have to be pushed up to impress the prospective buyers of Proton. If you are the Management you would do it too. Whether buyers will bite or not is another story.

• Retro School on Jan 11, 2017 at 5:33 pm

It’s a free world. What’s so wrong with ppl choosing to drive a Proton? It’s their money n perogative. I fondly remember my first car 23 years ago, the Iswara, reliable and easy to maintain ride.

• If you still driving a proton now, meaning you never progress in life or in your taste. Yes, is your money, is your preference, people will tag you as poor miserable never get promoted blue collar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • nosushi on Jan 12, 2017 at 12:25 am

But but but my p1 gives me no probs than my previous jepunis cars

• If ur buy preference is to please someone else, I am so sorry 4 u.

• My Proton iswara last time using mitsubishi 4g13/15 engine which proven very reliable and still using since 1997. But now the new engine is not reliable. New proton car interest is much higher than Japanese car. At the end japan’s car is only little higher than proton but reliable is much more than proton. How to support proton ?

• Passerby on Jan 12, 2017 at 7:50 pm

Is Iriz really bad?