Proton, Yes offer enhanced 4G LTE in select models

Connectivity on the go is a prerequisite nowadays, and Proton has collaborated with YTL Communications to offer in-car Internet connectivity with the Yes 4G Huddle mobile hotspot device since 2011. Today, Proton in conjunction with YTL Communications has introduced the enhanced Yes Altitude 4G wireless broadband internet package to its customers.

This in-car connectivity package is offered exclusively to Proton customers who purchase a Proton of an Executive variant or higher specificaion. These apply to the Persona, Saga, Ertiga, Perdana and the Iriz 1.3L. Offers for these models are valid until February 28, 2017. For the Suprima S, Preve, Iriz 1.6L, and the Exora, the offer is valid while vehicle stocks last.

The in-car Internet package comes courtesy of the Yes 4G LTE smartphone, which is an upgrade from the previous 4G mobile hotspot. This provides users with up to 16 GB of 4G LTE data per month for a period of 12 months from date of registration.

“We see this as enhancing our customer experience with the Proton Yes Altitude Plan, which allows connectivity for all passengers through the mobile hotspot with a high-speed Internet connection,” said Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali, chief executive officer of Proton.

The package comprises one Yes Altitude 4G LTE smartphone, the aforementioned 16 GB data package for 12 months, a battery pack, USB cable, wall charger, car charger, device holder, Yes ID, an MSISDN number (mobile number), SIM pack and unlimited, free of charge calls and SMS messages within the Yes network.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Very bad and inconsistent coverage, I’m using WI-FI to send this due to almost no connection these two days in the same locations which has good coverage previously

• belangR on Jan 15, 2017 at 4:57 am

u should complain to YES bro, that our right

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 15, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Perdana cost Rm118k yet got no VSC. But Proton got time to put wifi crap into this car.

hello Proton, to install VSC only cost RM300. You rather pasang wifi kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
      • Proton, I always support you in every post but this time….this is too dumb! oh wai!

• This is about YES, not P1. Try better next time, my lousy clone.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2017 at 9:53 am

ha ha. write yourself then next morning forgot what you wrote and pretend it is not you

• Pipu who hijack nick has very low self esteem. Reflect on this.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 15, 2017 at 10:08 am

What nonsense is this? Hello Proton, now everybody got smartphone and everybody got big fat data plan. Some people even got 15GB per month. And all smart phones can be hotspot also and wifi the whole car.

Why waste money with this? And after the contract period of 12 months, YES charges a bomb for their data plan. Do you know this? Most people complain YES is crazy expensive!

This is how Proton wste money. Something unnecessary. How much this signing event cost Proton? I bet a few million ringgit cause need crony caterers and crony tent and crony tables and chairs as well as venue. So important sampai CEO also must go.

Proton should concentrate on giving VSC in all their cars than this wifi crap. Malaysian Government already said, having VSC in cars can PREVENT 45% of all accidents and deaths in a given year.

So, if there are 10,000 deaths in 2016, VSC could have saved 4500 lives. Isn’t tht more important Proton?

Please give VSC in all your cars, especially the Saga an Ertiga. Wifi in the car does not save lives but VSC will save lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 42
      • inb4 only 1 P2 model have VSC… oh wai

• Kutak katak Junk on Jan 15, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Pakcik kunta, kalau u sakit, pergilah hospital. Jgn lupa makan ubat ya

• kzm (Member) on Jan 15, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Don’t lie la.. I do have fren that get YES Hurdle for free when he buy exora 2 years ago. After the free period end u need to topup urself if u want to continue use the service. I have YES prepaid that i use for testing n compare n with my Maxis postpaid. The result is actually pretty good.. many pipu complaint maxis crazy expensive not YES. YES is more like not that expensive not that cheap either.

• Even I am pro government, I have to agree, this is a dumb idea.

I risk being sacked as a pro government cybertrooper for saying this but it is absurd to have this in a car….oh wai!

• android on Jan 15, 2017 at 9:18 pm

Using wifi can save battery life more than cellular data

• Looks like the ProTuns reverse psychology troopers r getting active after hearing GE14 coming.
          DEI! Do better lah! And bring back ur Faiz dupe, we missed him!

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2017 at 9:55 am

ha ha ha again try to say you did not post the above.

• Well I guess we can say the partnership of yes and proton is a marriage of equals. LOL.

• 12yrsold on Jan 17, 2017 at 9:10 am

OMG, God is using Wi-Fi to sent messages. That is a good one God.

• Silthice on Jan 14, 2017 at 11:11 pm

“For the Suprima S, Preve, Iriz 1.6L, and the Exora, the offer is valid while vehicle stocks last.” That’s mean Proton is phasing out these models. Thanks for the heads up ⬆.

• Halimah on Jan 14, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Garbage junk cars partner with the lousiest internet service provider

• Yeast Lump on Jan 15, 2017 at 12:42 am

useless Prepaid plan plus poor 4G coverage

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 15, 2017 at 1:57 am

lol….so u want everyone to be lifeless and play internet in the car

• Abg ajis on Jan 15, 2017 at 7:37 am

To Proton management & engineer , pls improve design & quality of proton car , customer no need wifi on their car , customer only want good design & quality car , tolong jangan syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Good. Incentive for drivers to play phone while driving.

• more reason for people to text & drive

• Susukotak on Jan 15, 2017 at 10:18 am

owh.. ingatkan proton upgrade firmware ota.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 15, 2017 at 10:51 am

Proton is actually being irresponsible here. Although one hopes the driver will stop his car to surf the Interne with this wifi in the car, we all know what happens in Malaysia.

you will see drivers driving with their ipads and surfing the Internet whilst still holding the steering wheel and driving.

This is the reality of it. It is reality of Malaysia. you can blame the drivers for being irresponsible but you should also blame car companies for putting wifi in their cars to promote such negligence.

So irresponsible of our national car company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
    • No different with turning on the mobile data, can surf oso, your point?

• chick on Jan 15, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Everyone already has a smartphone with internet connectivity. Why need yet another extra device? ey, YTL go back bikin cement la, you know nothing about technology!

• Tiger88 on Jan 15, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Both r failed in their fields.once in auto sector and another in trying to go for 4G connectivity.totally failed

• Angry ex proton user on Jan 15, 2017 at 5:47 pm

Stupid move from a desperate car company. Soon proton will give a girlfriend to anyone who buy one of their cars. Cars that have been stored for years in their yards ? They are so desperate they do anything. I hope gov give them a spank to start pay back their loan soon.

• notakata on Jan 15, 2017 at 9:15 pm

You like to go early afterlife you can buy jepunis cars, no worries.

• Mister ho on Jan 15, 2017 at 10:57 pm

I think you have a serious problem friend. Japanese cars are the most reliable most advanced and fuel efficient in the world since 1970’s. Even Europeans and Americans are learning from them so what are you talking about? How can you compare proton to Japanese or even Korean cars. Grow up bro!!! Remember even proton was built by Japanese at Mitsubishi which is supposed to be the worst Japanese car brand

• Yes, EU pipu r learning how to cheat from them. Dieselgate follows Airbaggate. We shud aim to be like them.

• Halimah on Jan 16, 2017 at 7:38 am

Notakata is driving his junk crap Potong Saga . the lousiest shit garbage in the world

• YES coverage is getting worse by the day, had it for 4 years and got got worse and worse..best get a 4g package from mainstream network providers.

• Just not too long ago, they admit having YES in proton was a bad decision and blamed it in previous management. Now they are having it back. And they get angry when people dont believe their bulls that they have changed.

• ha ha ha some salespersons snatch Yes package from unsuspecting customers.