Govt planning embedded microchip for number plates

The government has plans to embed microchips in vehicle registration plates in a bid to put an end to fancy number plates. The chip would contain information about the vehicle owner and driver; as well as vehicle details such as the engine and chassis numbers plus the colour and model, which could also help combat car theft and cloning, Sunday Mail reports.

“The introduction of microchips embedded in registration plates would have a multiple impact. It would put an end to fancy number plates produced by accessory dealers with absolute disregard to guidelines and specifications,” a high-ranking government source told the Sunday edition of Malay Mail, adding that the move could also see a reduction in vehicle thefts and car cloning, and bust errant motorists who fail to pay their summonses.

In such a system, a handheld or dashboard-mounted chip reader would enable enforcement officers to verify details without having to flag down the motorist. A comprehensive plan has been in the pipeline for some time now, and Transport Ministry senior officials are expected to make an announcement in due time.

Road Transport Department (JPJ) enforcement director Datuk V. Valluvan Veloo confirmed that efforts were under way to end the problem of fancy registration plates, but declined to comment on the microchipped registration plates. “We are putting a stop to these non-standard plates, which can be used as a tool for criminal activities, such as snatch theft,” he said.

Between 2013 and 2016, a total of 184,664 motorists were issued summonses for displaying fancy registration plates. Valluvan said among the most popular were variations of the word ‘BOSS’

“The numbers 8055 are the most commonly seen ones. The vehicle owner would typically have this stylised to spell the word ‘BOSS’, usually by rounding off the two 5s. Others we have seen are JAW 5 with the number 5 modified to look like S’, and the plate looking like ‘JAWS’,” he said.

In September 2016, it was reported that the JPJ obtained input and suggestions from stakeholders on a standardised vehicle number plate system, which will be put in place by the third quarter of this year.

“We are looking on how the number plates can be standardised and produced as a standard form across the country. Over the years, the authorities and the public have had to deal with the difficulty of identifying fancy or unclear number plates of vehicles,” deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi said then.

The authorities also have plans to introduce Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tracking on all vehicles via the road tax sticker. JPJ said this will allow for real-time monitoring of traffic conditions and help police track down criminals. It could also integrate the workings of the gateless gantry system for electronic toll payment and electronic road pricing (ERP) in the city centre. It was reported in 2015 that the RFID-in-road-tax tech will be deployed by 2018.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Later the microchip rosak. Must replace every 2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Annoynimouse on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:26 am

And they charge you hundreds for replacement too… haha! Anyways, we have to agree that some fancy plates are downright absurd, you’d wonder why the owners would every bother installing a license plate at all.

• Don’t get me started on those superbike plates behind the rear tyre.

• RavenAii (Member) on Jan 16, 2017 at 10:54 pm

Another way to perah people’s moneys.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2017 at 10:35 am

this is just another way to make money for a crony. Some crony will get this billion ringgit project and he will laugh to the bank.

This is not necessary as it will be passed as higher cost to the consumers. Already we are paying the highest car prices in the world. We don’t need further cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • Well, other countries had done it, and it seems to be effective in a way. Microchips nowadays are design in a way that it can last longer due to modern technologies. Even microchips are cheap anyways. It’s a good move that theft is easily detected.

Please do your research before condemning the proposal. I am not a pro-government, but I would think that this is a good move to stop all these cloning and others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • George on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:21 pm

I support it as long there is a proper tender to ensure we get the best solution. Just afraid another project to enrich certain cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • Agreed with Faiz, should implement the project asap. Beside dont link everything to politic, need to be rational.

• donno on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:31 pm

There is no country anywhere in the world that puts a chip in the number plates. Now there is optical auto detection systems that can automatically read number plates and compare with databases like implemented in singapore. This chip idea is just a way to fleece money from the government (and our hard paid taxes)

• RavenAii (Member) on Jan 16, 2017 at 10:56 pm

Can that so called modern microchip survive Malaysian flood crisis? Later on damaged have to pay hundreds to get a replacement.

• takNakP1 on Jan 16, 2017 at 10:44 am

standard plate number has been a topic since the late 90’s until i DIY fix my broken plate number waiting for the change.

i hope they consider all possible scenario & situation to protect data privacy & security and convenient of replacement if plate number fell off or broken…

praying very hard!!!

• Crony on Jan 16, 2017 at 10:45 am

The next announcement :

And to ensure consistency and high quality , the exclusive 10 year supply & management contract goes to………

here we go again….

• oyeah on Jan 16, 2017 at 10:49 am

wowww.. nak makan duit lettew…. after 1 year need to renew the firmware, more secure and added some hp. puih

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 16, 2017 at 10:59 am

buat salah, tak buat pun salah, only know how to kecoh,

for all your ignorants, this is a good way to track vehicle owners with bad intentions. Even though its is widely know that our crime rate is still low, we need to weed out any possibilities that a fake number plate might be the intention of causing a crime for happening. we are acting actively instead of passively and this can only be a good sign

the gov’s initiative to implement this is for the better good. other countries which have done this are all developed nation, so this can’t be wrong.

i would say give gov a chance as they have successfully implemented many initiatives in the past, like formation of spad and AES.

well done to the government for thinking this out!

Syabas!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • Dumb Faiz roslan CEng on Jan 16, 2017 at 10:07 pm

So I heard you are the new bloke in town replacing Sam Loo, albeit less funny, and more about politics. Listen this is a car news website, you don’t have to go all out and be a Macai calling others out for expressing their opinion. You and your kind disgust me, truly a privileged, entitled bunch. You don’t have to politicise everything. I don’t know how much you’re paid, but if you think this is a good idea, I hope Karma gets to you fast. Malaysia is a free secular country after all, grow up and man up son.

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 17, 2017 at 8:42 am

Why don’t you you use your real name mr internet warrior?

And since when did i politicise the issue, the news itself is politics. It’s an initiative by the government, government business = politics.

I hope you are only 7 years old and below cause no adult would have such lousy apprehension of the situation presented here, my word.

– Faiz Roslan CEng

• The Wyatt Family on Jan 17, 2017 at 2:05 pm

You just running your mouth, boy.

Don’t you get it? You still not understand why you get negative reactions from commentators out there? That’s because you speak rubbish but not a single truth.

Next time, better think wisely on your facts. If you’re a real CEng (I hope that’s not a fake one), then explain it on par with your qualification.

You better follow the buzzards. Run.

-The Wyatt Family

• Dumb Faiz roslan CEng on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:49 pm

“Mr Internet Warrior”
        Takes one to know one :)

“And since when did i politicise the issue”
        Next sentence : It’s an initiative by the government, government business = politics.

“I hope you are only 7 years old”
        Yea, that means you’re a cheeky pedo.

– The Bill Gates Foundation

• Shaekey on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:02 am

“We are putting a stop to these non-standard plates, which can be used as a tool for criminal activities, such as snatch theft,”

…How? How can snatch thieves use non-standard plates as a tool for criminal activities? I’m all for standard plates but please, you don’t need to provide silly excuses for it.

• Heisenberg on Jan 16, 2017 at 7:11 pm

It means they could use a fake number plate. The new one ahould eradicate or minimize the possibilities. Aisehhh think abit shaekey

• A bit more thinking required on Jan 16, 2017 at 8:53 pm

What it meant is this: snatch thieves typically fix clone number plates of cars or legit motorcycles onto their motorcycles before conducting the crime.
      A microchipped number plate increases the chance of them being detected by patrolling police, which may help deter the crime.

The article did not mean to say that these thieves go to accessory shop and get a custom plate number and fix onto their bikes.

A bit more brain power is needed here before u start bashing senselessly (I would understand if u were simply asking a question, but all u wanted was to bash – so I’m simply returning the favor).

• SPRMa on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:08 am

Inb4 ini mesti dah deadak nie. Ohwaiiii

• 12yrsold on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:14 am

Since JPJ has already identified the “BOSS” & “JAWS”, make sure U make them pay like a BOSS too.

• Annoynimouse on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:28 am

If they really what to do it, at least make the plates and the letters look good.

• Ex VGM staff on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:35 am

Why not make a card like touch n go. Simpler without any chip.

• Even Paultan alone has reported this for n times. This plate number thingy has very good potential in making quick big bucks isn’t it? I first heard about it more than a decade ago. They probably talked about it much earlier than that. Tak habis-habis.

• sammy on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:45 am

we have high fatality problem, we have high congestion problems. and yet our JPJ still stuck at number plate issues for donkey years.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:45 am

I don’t quite understand how this will stop fancy plates? Can’t the owner just change the fonts/letters but keep the original plate (where I presume the chip will be embedded inside)?

• Aero (Member) on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:55 am

We don’t need fancy microchip plates, it will only be a huge waste of taxpayer resources. Why can’t our government/JPJ just follow through with the metal number plates like they promised last year ? Many countries use metal plates in conjunction with ANPR.

Metal plates can last for many decades, and are quite cheap to mass produce. Microchips on the other hand are fragile and sometimes expensive. Also, it is VERY likely that hackers will eventually ‘crack’ the chip… creating another unwanted problem.

Sometimes, it is best to keep things simple and realistic.

• Mig29 on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:00 pm

Brilliant for the way to do the business. Road tax increase due to the new system installed. Chips to be changed every years like road tax. Good income for government plus with additional GST.

Why not road tax embedded with microchip or bar code?

• JayPeeJay on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:01 pm

why JPJ didnt do this from beginning. it’s common in US where only road transport department to issue plate number. Here in Malaysia, we are working backward. Why allow kedai accesories to issue, then JPJ has to summon those driver who do it fancy2. We are not nipping the problem at the bud. Same goes with tinting. Make it simpler, shop can sell more than percentage allowed. Double work for JPJ & Police.

• mr_em on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:34 pm

aiyooo JPJ which one you want to use, pls make up your mind laa…
    either use RFID in road tax or microchips in plates but not both laa….
    why have duplicate in your systems… too much spare time in your hands kaa? not enough projects masyyukk to do this year? Both number plates and road tax issued by you what…
    so either scrapped the road tax & RFIDs etc, and just use the microchipped plates cukup lar…

• tishaban on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:57 pm

Agree with the crony comment. I think the govt has been talking about this for years.

I’d prefer if there was more active enforcement of rules. When someone dies then there’s a bit more activity from the govt, for example enforcing the rules against driving in the emergency lane. Otherwise the roads are starting to be like the wild west out here.

• Lembu Jinni on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:00 pm

RFID license plate, which system will JPJ similar to? Singapore LTA? or Common Euro?

• C. P. MOHAN on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:05 pm

“The government has plans to embed microchips in vehicle registration plates in a bid to put an end to fancy number plates” LOOKS LIKE ‘APRIL FOOLS JOKE’ CAME EARLY.

• CRONY CRONY CRONY CRONY! Find a different solution rather than spending more money. Why not enforce the law or add demerit system which is so much easier and cost effective. I smell CRONY HERE. Giving millions on ringgit to fund a project that will fail. Haven’t we seen this from the pass?

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:10 pm

chip in the plate. I replace the number plate, then no chip, and what?

• Malaysia on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:13 pm

Why need microchip? Just implement padlock seal to the original plate. Example, Singapore Off Peak Car plate number seal. Simple and practical.

• Yeast Lump on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:25 pm

Personalised vehicle registration plate was a unwise move to begin with! How can you regulate vehicle owners from having fancy plate when JPJ encouraging public to tender personalised plate and too many non-compliant plate which doesn’t designate the states but commemorate certain special event! These are all due to greed in the name of so call revenue!

• Eric Tan @ Rose Mah on Jan 16, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Simple solution of getting rid fancy plate/fake plate. Revamp the whole vehicle registration plate system looking at your neighbor Thailand or Indonesia, it’s cost effective too. You don’t need to invest Hugh cost to implement a complicated system. bTW do you notice there displays the expiry date on vehicle plate?

• pondan on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:42 pm

more money making for crony suppliers and service providers

• Surveillance state, here we come!

• 100 Problems but 0 Solutions on Jan 16, 2017 at 7:05 pm

illegal dark window tint at cars until now (after sooooooo many years enforcement) oso not solved…..and these dunggu want to use microchips!!???

Illegal car plate number? not solved
    Illegal car engine mod? not solved
    Illegal mat rempit? Not solved
    Kereta potong problem? Not solved
    Bas accident, terbalik? Not solved
    Heavy vehicles over speeding at highway? Not solved
    Overloaded heavy vehicles? not solved
    Polluting exhaust from vehicles? not solved
    Dangerous highway stretches? not solved
    Kopi-O licence? not solved

Please la…

• Big Brother on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:00 am

The time will come when the Government will monitor everything that we do, our clothes, our food, our wake up time, our sleep time. Wherever you are, whatever you do, they will know it!