Haval M4 now known as H1 – AMT only, from RM62k

Go Automobile Manufacturing (Go Auto) has launched the Haval H1 in Malaysia – unlike in other markets, it’s not a Honda HR-V-rivalling B-segment SUV, but is instead a rebadged version of the M4, in an effort to streamline the brand’s local offerings (the only other Haval currently sold here is the larger H2).

Aside from the name change, the car is pretty much unchanged, so the tall-riding hatchback styling has been carried over wholesale, as has the interior. Even the prices have been left alone, and start at RM61,950 for the base Comfort variant, rising up to RM67,950 for the Premium variant and RM74,950 for the Elite. All prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a seven-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Those prices are for models equipped with the six-speed automated manual transmission (AMT), the sole gearbox offering from now on; the five-speed manual has been dropped for 2017. The AMT is mated to a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated VVT MPI four-cylinder petrol engine producing 105 hp at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, all sent to the front wheels.

Standard kit on the Comfort variant includes reflector halogen headlights, fog lights, roof rails, 16-inch alloy wheels, a leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel, a digital speedometer and trip computer, fabric seats, reverse sensors and a touchscreen DVD infotainment system. Safety-wise, all models come with ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control and hill start assist.

The Premium model adds leather seats, navigation, a reverse camera, a Battery Alert Sensor (BAS) and a rear-view mirror with integrated SmartTAG reader. Meanwhile, the Elite tacks on projector halogen headlights with LED positioning lights, LED daytime running lights, a centre front armrest, a digital video recorder (i.e. a dash cam) and window tint.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 17, 2017 at 3:09 pm

Man… why does GoAuto have to change names every year ? First it was Great Wall M4… then it became Haval M4… now Haval H1 ?

As it is, most Malaysians aren’t familiar with Haval/ GWM cars, and constantly changing names will only complicate things.

GoAuto should bring in the newer GWM models, especially the Steed pickup truck (HiLux rival). Chinese commercial vehicles have far, FAR better market share in Malaysia. If GoAuto can locally assemble the new Steed and sell it for RM70k or so, it will be an instant hit in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 17, 2017 at 3:54 pm

I do see that too.. they should stick with one name. Changing name just make pipu confuse bout the model. Too bad that this SUV not sell that much when it is well equip.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • China brand selling ‘4’ to u-know-who market, mana bouleh laku! Shud have just call it M18 or H18.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Suprimah on Jan 17, 2017 at 8:52 pm

A car with adult diapers name lagilah tak laku poor sales.

• I agree as not much publicity. They should advertise on tv & in the papers to get msian aware of this car.

• 12yrsold on Jan 18, 2017 at 9:25 am

The writer Jonathan have said the “rebadged version of the M4, is an effort to streamline the brand’s local offerings (the only other Haval currently sold here is the larger H2).” Meaning they are STREAMLINING Haval to H1 & H2 just like BMW X1/X3/X5.

• Unknown on Jan 17, 2017 at 3:11 pm

I’m guessing BMW lawyers have been contacting them causing the name change?

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 17, 2017 at 3:13 pm

See China car, can sell so cheap and so high spec. I wonder why Proton and Perodua give us lousy spec.

How to be loyal to our local brands when China brands are so much better and got so many safety features?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 20
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 17, 2017 at 3:46 pm

u should tell that to Jap car maker not p1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • I kinda disagree if you said this car is so cheap and high spec ,compare to the proton at this prices ,it is a basic car with expensive price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Kunta Kinte on Jan 17, 2017 at 3:26 pm

Better we sell our Proton to Haval. At least, let a China company transform Proton into being successful.

This Haval looks so good. I wonder why Proton engineers cannot design a car looking this good. So far, they design Tiara, Savvy and Juara and they think it is top design of the world and syiok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
    • Nimee on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:14 pm

Tiara and Juara is not P1 designed, they were rebadged. You’re statement mere a propaganda to make P1 looks bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 17, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Stupid comments from bahlol person…gampang and bangang…never do any research…simply open his mouth…

• leonardo on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:46 pm

As your name implies, your examples are so yesterday. Car development have moved on to better and newer models.

IMO, Geeley would be a better partner than this company.

• Noorashikin on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Proton shud rebadge the Suzuki Vitara to compete against HRV and other B segment SUV. And rebadge other models for other segment but sell at very affordable pricing. If not Proton can continue to sell cars at below 30k units a year and go bankrupt very very soon. Proton is technically already bankrupt with the 1.5 billion loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Ahmadjr on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:20 pm

I agree. We have enough sedan and hatchback in the market. If p1 can produce suv/compact suv below 70k people will surely buy. As I see it, there’s no way p1 can make suv on their own so rebadge it is. If can generate profit then why not? Our economy is bad already so we need to suck it up the pride at the moment

• Vitara not compete against HRV. It has real 4WD.

• matt farrel on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:21 pm

It seems that Jeremy Clarkson was correct, cause he said many years ago that we would be buying cars made in the People’s Republic,

but still..I am not too confident about buying a Chinese built car…because China compared to Malaysia, Korea and Japan, are a pretty newcomer to the car building industry…if i was offered this or a P1 and/or P2, i would still take a P1/P2 cause they have been making cars longer than China has..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • 12yrsold on Jan 18, 2017 at 9:04 am

Bro, the Chinese have been improving by leaps & bounce. That is the Main difference between a sleeping economy & a constantly progressing economy. Just look at their High Speed train. They are currently competing with the world Best.

• Mikey on Jan 17, 2017 at 4:41 pm

Have anyone here own one of this M4 ? Maybe he/she should share their experience on the qualities & after sales services. I don’r want 2 whack this car as I’ve not own/driven one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 17, 2017 at 7:40 pm

Never regretted buying this SUV. It’s now passed 2 yrs old & service by Go Auto is good. Club members have direct access to Go Auto & Haval dealers around the country in case of emergencies even after office hours via WhatsApp group. I’ve got other cars from reputable brands and never had such direct access before.

• Do not pay for premium…touch screen..gps..and rear camera not working after 6 months. Claim warranty 6 months also no parts…no stocks..dont get impressed by 7 year warranty. Buy also no stocks…wat is this…6 months new stocks also cannot arrived in this internet world? Talk to customer service also no use

• sub_zero on Jan 17, 2017 at 5:08 pm

i give china 3 more years before i even think about their car

they are now basically at current proton stage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • 12yrsold on Jan 18, 2017 at 8:54 am

At least they are NOT Financially.

• Substandard on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:18 am

Greatwall Haval annual total sales = 700,000 units

vs.

Proton annual total sales = 75,000 units

• So, from BMW’s M4 to Hummer’s H1..?
    Are we running out of alphabets and numbers to give to cars and resort to using other known brands’?

• Y U Fuk on Jan 17, 2017 at 10:04 pm

Don’t change names as it confuses and muddys the waters ! Generally a good looking car, but looking at the rear light clusters, you get to see the Chinese DNA ! Looks like a VFM SUV, question is, seeing sales volumes are low, will the dealer still be around for 7 years ? How well is it put together ? Will there be any rattles & squeaks ? Many Chinese auto brands do not design their engines, transmissions and electrical systems in house, they are generally ‘from’ a foreign brand either by reverse engineering of by way of license build. If licence built, to gain credibility, they should market the fact that the transmission & engine was designed by xxxxxxxxxx. Nowadays people don’t really mind, as long as they know the car comes from reputable/pedigree parentage. I wonder who buys these HAVALS in Malaysia ? From a price point of view, it sits above the Proton/Perodua, but bizarrely, Proton/Perodua are yet to launch an SUV ??!!?? Is this an opportunity to rebadge ???

• kccheongkk on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:07 am

Twice I walk into this Haval showroom. If not mistaken the car launching few yrs ago was about from sub RM40k. Everytime I walked in the salesman will tell the samething, “Well, now china can make anything including satellite, they are very good now. You should support china made products”… And everytime I heard this I will walk away. Personally think that, for temporary usage, china things is good but for long term reliability, avoid china made. I am the person looking for reliability. I have tried many china made things which is not reliable n poor quality built.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Hauwei on Jan 18, 2017 at 5:08 pm

Apple Iphone made in China.

• throwaway on Jan 19, 2017 at 4:59 pm

please throw away whatever you are using now to type the comment, because it’s a GUARANTEED MADE IN CHINA

• tommy on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:56 pm

your comments on temporary usage and long term reliability is a past already. Nowadays china is becoming more and more advanced by leaps and bounds. Their taxi are electric cars running long hours daily. Their public bus are also all electric. Motorbike are mostly electric. Their public transport is very convenient and cheap. In shenzhen their MRT is very convenient and their highest MRT fare is only 7 yuan and can even go to the airport with that price too. Stop staying in your caccoon and see other countries what they had achieved.

• haval_fan on Mar 01, 2017 at 2:51 pm

y u not confident in china-made products? yr ancestor also made in china, remember?

• haval_fan on Mar 01, 2017 at 2:54 pm

y u not confident in china-made products? yr ancestor also made in china, remember?

• Can anyone name me any car that can give you seven-year, unlimited-mileage warranty. With this selling prices.

• Putri17 on Jul 15, 2017 at 6:49 pm

May I know this Haval H1 is it have fuel save? Compare to Saga 2017 or axia which is better fuel save? Please give some opinion. Thank you.

• curious_haval on Jul 27, 2017 at 8:18 am

any driver that have experience with haval h1/h2 ? what is your comment on these cars?

• Sandy leong on Jul 09, 2019 at 12:25 am

Do not pay for premium…touch screen..gps..and rear camera not working after 6 months. Claim warranty 6 months also no parts…no stocks..dont get impressed by 7 year warranty. Buy also no stocks…wat is this…6 months new stocks also cannot arrived in this internet world? Talk to customer service also no use

• Raja Hilmy on Sep 25, 2017 at 3:49 pm

Let’s not worry too much on the name changes. What matters the most Haval has produced a very good car in GWM4/HM4/HH1. About 2 weeks ago whilst travelling on open road my M4 was hit with a steel ball bearing (God knows where it came from) right at the front right-side corner at a speed of 138km! I slammed the brakes out of shock but the car did an excellent job in braking – no rolling, no skidding and no locking. Once I parked the car, I checked the damage and saw that I was so lucky that the car’s internal side-panel had actually stopped and trapped almost all the glass debris which otherwise would have blinded me instantly. Thank God for that!

So keep up your good work Haval; you are truly appreciated!

• Sandy leong on Jul 09, 2019 at 12:21 am

Do not pay for premium…touch screen..gps..and rear camera not working after 6 months. Claim warranty 6 months also no parts…no stocks..dont get impressed by 7 year warranty. Buy also no stocks…wat is this…6 months new stocks also cannot arrived in this internet world? Talk to customer service also no use