Malaysia could implement daily VEP fee if Singapore continues with higher road charge – Liow Tiong Lai

Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said Malaysia may be forced to begin charging a daily Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) fee of SGD35 (RM109) on foreign vehicles entering the country. This comes following Singapore’s plan to increase its reciprocal road charge (RRC) on foreign-registered cars entering the republic to SGD6.40 (RM20) on February 15, mirroring Malaysia’s newly-implemented road charge.

Currently, foreign-registered vehicles entering Singapore are required to pay a road charge, daily VEP fees, toll charges and fixed Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) fees upon departure at either the Tuas or Woodlands Checkpoints. Those who evade or fail to do so can be slapped with a fine or face jail time.

Liow told Oriental News Daily that Malaysia’s decision to impose the RM20 road charge on foreign-registered vehicles entering Malaysia in November last year was reasonable as Malaysia did not respond to Singapore’s implementation of the VEP fee in 1973.

“If they (Singapore) insist on it (imposing the RRC) and do not reconsider their decision, we may be forced to implement the VEP policy practised by Singapore,” Liow was quoted as saying. He added that the higher RRC will burden Malaysians but acknowledged that the move could be a method of controlling the number of foreign-registered cars driving into the republic.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Temasek on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:52 am

Malaysia should also implement the same name RRC. Revenge Road Charge (RRC)!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • All these childish acts between 2 countries are taking its toll on the Rakyat. Can you please find an amicable solution instead of charging this and that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Faiz Roslan on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:57 pm

As a chartered engineer with cost engineering skills, I support the gov for this. It will diversify the gov’s revenue streams and make us more prosperous than Singapore. Syabas gov! – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
      • 12yrsold on Jan 18, 2017 at 9:17 pm

Now I understand why SG is more prosperous than us. Because we have a CEng who failed in calculating the cost efficiently hence we have cost Overrun most if not all the time.

• Low Budget on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:49 pm

As long as the pricing is equal to what S’pore is charging the Malaysian motorists.

• There are two groups of malaysians here.

1. The malaysians who work in malaysia. They earn in RM and spend domestically. They shouldn’t give a damn about the increasing idiocy of the two governments with regards to charging fees for cars. The higher the charges the better. Eventually, it will be SG that suffers more with higher costs of food and services passed down to the singaporeans. they will still cross the border because the small island is too small for them to live 365days a year.

2. the malaysians who work in singapore. They earn in SGD, convert to RM but spend in malaysia. I have less respect for these people because they earn better currency in SGD and enjoy lower cost of living in Johor. So these people should just stop complaining and live with it. The rest of us real malaysians earn in RM you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 118
    • Tax whichever is richer, so no problemo

• hohoboy on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:22 pm

for your 2nd group opinion, they trade in their personal time and pay a higher risk to commute, earn SGD is not easy than u think of.. do some research boy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • LatukBandar on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:23 pm

Your logic is flaw. There are 2 groups of Malaysian, normal and stupid. I think you belong to the stupid group.

1. Singapore has one of the world’s busiest and biggest shipping port, they don’t import everything from Malaysia. If it becomes cheaper to buy vegetable from China/Indonesia/Thailand/Vietnam, they will ship is via those countries, won’t die one. Basic economics 101.

2. These Malaysian help Malaysia to earn foreign currency, they contributed more to the Malaysian economy than you. All countries need foreign currencies to exchange for other stuff, this is called Trading. Even communist North Korea trys very hard to earn foreign exchange, via many illegal methods, like sending workers to Sarawak for mining (go google read star news). Basic economics 101.

So, group 2 contributed to Malaysia’s economy by brining back foreign currency, what’s your contribution apart from being a keyboard warrior?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 40
    • The people who work in SGD but live in Malaysia are those I would call the smart who knows how to challenging times. Given an option, I am sure you would consider too. It is only your fault when you know the cost of living in Malaysia is going up but you choose to live with it. You know the frog and water story? You throw a frog into a boiling water, it will jump out immediately. But if you out a frog into cold water and slowly heat up the water….it will remain there until it is boiled to death. My friend…you are in that situation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Can’t work in Singapore so the grapes from Singapore taste sour?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • musclemuseum on Jan 18, 2017 at 2:25 pm

dk, please increase ur respect to malaysian working in sg. they travel thru a heavy jam everyday to put food on the table. eventhough they earn sgd & spent in myr, there’s a lot of sacrifices they made to get thru the day. pls learn to respect others better in future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Hot dog on Jan 18, 2017 at 3:14 pm

If you smart enough , everybody i welcome..masuk free !! Welcome here spend spend as much you can until saticfied baru kasih you balik !!!
      Don make things too complicated , DK ?

• Hi DK, with no prejudice:

Just for your info, 80% of Malaysians working in Singapore are technical or labour intensive workers. They come from rural areas like kampungs from Ipoh mainly. Most are from poor families. What choices do they have left? Even a mechanic pay at Selangor or KL will not be enough to feed his whole family. They pay lesser if they ride a bike, but the fact that almost a few died on the road every week says alot of the risk they are taking.

For the 20%, maybe they are better educated and paid. But all these individuals (including the 80%) have to wake up as early as 430am to earn that kind of money. Car drivers are paying RM2400 on tolls and fuel before car installment, repairs, road tax and insurance.

Furthermore, its 350,000 malaysians (not counting the 186000 PRs) working at singapore. That means if everyone is earning average SGD$2000, they are bringing back nearly RM2.2 billion monthly back to Malaysia. Which gov wouldnt want their citizens to bring back money to spend?

Just to let you understand more besides the monetary stress, here comes the trip plan:

Singapore ROAD —> SG custom —> Msia Custom —> Johor ROAD —-> Home sweet Home.

Many of my CEO friends said that these people, including me are crazy, they can tahan KL jam, but this is a whole new level.

Lastly, if we have a choice, dont we want a more relaxed life?

“Few cents of thought from a SG-JB traveller for past 16 years.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • That shows Sg need My more. So collect more from Sg.

• Ozzie on Jan 19, 2017 at 9:33 am

Than you are wrong, Singapore slowly employ workers from China, India, Indonesia. Don’t blame people go Singapore earn SGD, we only can blame why Malaysian cannot work harder to build our country better…

• Dear Ozzie,

Where will the China, India, Indonesia workers gonna live? You think they’ll live in Singapore is it? Can they survive that? Or will they commute daily to China, India, Indonesia?

• Dear butthurt commentators. Dont bother asking us to respect those who cross the borders daily. You want to earn SGD and get SG education, you make the sacrifice and deal woth all the repercussions yourself. Dont go cry about your issues to the rest of us Malaysians who dont give a damn.

No pain, no gain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • Dedak in the house on Jan 18, 2017 at 6:32 pm

Who cry leh? They charged us, we pay.. what more can we say.. we bear all the consequences and risk on our own.. never ask u or even msia g to support.. so y bother???

• DK .. You are spot on.

• sohhai on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:58 am

That’s right. Charge those Singaporeans a daily VEP. They can afford it. An eye for an eye….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • JB_KIA on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:50 pm

Malaysian drivers will be slapped with re-reciprocal charge then. You have gotten yourself a right nick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • lilytan on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:02 am

Tit for tat. Love it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Anonymous on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:07 am

The problem is M’sia shouldn’t implement a fee for vehicles entering IF it is just for the two entryways at Johor… a trial has been done… thus M’sia must have a specific timeline for its national rollout implemented at all entryways nationwide… While we could understand the Minister’s reaction it truly needs deeper observation to find an implementation and solution that covers all entryways and on all foreign vehicles… to prove that the move is not discriminatory in
    nature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:51 pm

He already explained the same charges apply to Thai and Brunei vehicles.

• Anonymous on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Yes… I know it applies to Thai n Brunei vehicles too, in fact all foreign vehicles… but when will it be implemented at the M’sia-Thai-Brunei-Indonesia borders?… If M’sia implements it at both entryways in Johor but will only deploy it at other entryways, say the next year… then it is still unfair. I’m emphasizing the timeline to implement the policy at other entryways for it to be seen not being discriminatory.

• Davester on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:12 am

Yes thats how you roll bro..agree on this. match it like-to-like !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Mikey on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:19 am

LTL said M’sia may be “forced” 2 begin charging a daily Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) fee of SGD35 (RM109) on foreign vehicles entering the country.

Ha ha ha. Since when can anyone force BN Gov to charge may i ask ??! Did U sit down with your counterpart 2 discuss about your plan ??

U & that SG minister are like small boys arguing on WHO should start punching first B4 retaliating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • Stupid transport minister LTI no brains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
  • Faiz Roslan on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:30 am

well done minister! this shows that malaysians are not afraid to retaliate if we are being bullied. singaporeans come to malaysia with no respect for our traffic laws knowign that they will get away with it, blatant abuse of their free entry and now they take malaysian for granted. with a strong leader, competant minister, no longer we are a small country but a big country, with big ambitions and with the smartest brain working behind the gov. the additional income will help with the gov coffers in promoting more infrastructure for the people. syabas to our gov!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 58
  • Susukotak on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:51 am

apa yg sibuk bising2 ni. negera sendiri.. buat jer la. lagi pun ada pilihan nak/tak masuk dan laluan mana nak guna. yang kerja sana nak buat macamana.. tp gaji dapat SGD kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Orang Malaysia tak bising. The one who make noise now is Sg who frequently enter My.

• Hot dog on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:54 am

LTL…. . You make a phone call to SG…
    Pls hv a seat teh tarik togeter…come out a solution which rakyat are not burden….I don care SG started or MY side stated this road charge increament.. You orang dewasa macam tak faham !! Jangan main politic , jadi rakyat suffer !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • J Tan on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:54 am

I say good and implement it immediately. This will teach the arrogant Singapore government a lesson and stop the cheapskate people from coming in to buy our low priced fuel!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
  • Just shaddup and do it, LTL! Them kiasus need us more than we need them, now with their recession economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Malaysia did not response to Singapore’s bla bla bla…

Yes please match $35 VEP, and then match 7% GST too. Don’t forget to impose COE for all Malaysian cars $55k. And when you are doing that please work on reversing the exchange rate. We all want to see 1 MYR: 3 SGD.

LTL ask yourself: Singapore VEP and COE is to curb the increasing vehicles on the road. What is the benefit of this RC RM20 you had introduced? Nothing more than just an additional revenue stream without upsetting us locals!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 27
    • Benefit is to take them kiasus down a notch, so that they will think twice b4 raising their VEP with impunity!
      They keep upping w/o response from MY, and enuff is enuff!

• Low Budget on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Love your suggestion RM1=SGD3, Ha,ha,ha……
      The day will never come.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:06 pm

If Malaysia implement VEP say RM10 daily, will Singapore reduces their VEP from Sgd30?
    Singapore has policy of matching Malaysia charges

• Your mother's best friend on Jan 18, 2017 at 8:49 pm

“If you’re not afford”

Don’t make me laugh.

Regards,
      Malaysian.

• The irony is the one who frequently cross border every weekend is from Sg.

• Mikey on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:19 pm

TBO, I know you are being Sarcastic here. Without M’sia, SG will be Bored like Hell. They won’t be able to drive faster, buy cheaper foodstuff & enjoy the miles & miles of Highways besides the Best foods/beaches on East coast on Most occasion.

It’s a win win for both. One can flash their SG dollars & M’sian get to earn some decent profits from the Goods & Services provided. Without SG, M’sian especially Johorian will not be able to earn their $$$ & without M’sia, SG will not get cheap water & labours.

• 12yrsold on Jan 18, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Tan beng Ong if that is your name. Now I know you are Actually a low life trouble maker who have nothing but an agenda to spread hatred towards S’porean.

I have many friends & relatives who live in SG & they sure do Not speak or act as arrogant like you. Sure there are some Kiasu people in SG like you said but isn’t it the same everywhere you go.

You are doing an excellent job of spreading hatred & lies among us. You will receive your just “reward” when the time come.

• bownett on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:38 pm

more superior my ass. can you live in SG without working? #silaberkerjasampaimati.

• Airliner on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:20 pm

Singapura Transport minister was once a Malaysian, from Penang.

• The irony of using MY to pusing MY. Oh wait, that tactic sounds familiar…

• Good. Don’t be a cry baby. Just pay.

• If you are from high society, why would you even go Malaysia (a low society)? Think so highly about yourself, just another keyboard warrior. People like you, make what is the society in Singapore is today. Terrible!!

• err… the one who make noise now is from Sg side.. funny.

• rosdi on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Why Malaysia so afraid ah?… just implement any charges Singapore enforced on us… if the cost to work in Singapore becomes prohibitive then the locals will find work in Johor or KL lah… Singapore will lose because they lost cheap blue collar workers. For those Johoreans who complains the cost of sending kids to school in Singapore, I have no sympathy… they are rich to be able to send to Singapore… so why complain.

If Malaysia bow to Singapore on this one, I will lose respect to Liow and Najib for being a pondan…

• Rinnegan on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:27 pm

@Tan Beng Ong;
    Good, I hope your beloved Singaporean Minister shares the same sentiment as yours. This way, he will totally agree to the daily VEP charges on Singaporeans as suggested by Liow Tiong Lai.

• Tiger88 on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:42 pm

Malaysia is miskeen country thanks to corruption,incompetent bureaucracy,rm depreciation vs USD so how come entry fee put at first place bez if Singapore national come here sure he Spend so no point to show ur yellow teeth to Singapore as this country needs desperately foreigners to invests n boosts FDI.

• thepolygonal on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Gajah sama gajah berjuang, pelanduk mati di tengah-tengah. All these will increase both government revenue while their citizen pays more. That’s all I can see.

• Retro Council on Jan 18, 2017 at 2:45 pm

This is way overdue. Mr.Minister, u have been given the go-ahead thumbs up from the average Singsters just like some Singsters who commented here that they are rich enough to pay our Malaysian proposed VEP. Funny enough these Kiasu Singsters don’t even have mega highways like ours but yet brag about being rich and all…ha!

• bownett on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:42 pm

true that! act like taikun in here but in real life still go to jb to buy maggi and etc. puii

• Both countries should work on new means of public transport for people travelling everyday. Ferry service should have been a good option but don’t know why it is not exist.

• Naik banyak, Turun sikit on Jan 18, 2017 at 3:17 pm

hahahah, both govt trying to outdo each other!!!
    The ministers should have a competition to find out who could pee furthers….

• Asrul on Jan 18, 2017 at 3:27 pm

If the minister really wants to help rakyat, just impose the same amount of charges to any SG vehicles that cross to Johor. Then take that money to the next road heading to SG, distribute the money to MY registered vehicles. So that they can use the money to pay VEP to SG. So nothing to lose by the government and Malaysian citizen, in fact for those who work in SG they can take that money that they earned & spent in Johor to stimulate the local economy.

• Ben Yap on Jan 18, 2017 at 3:55 pm

Kasi charge itu singaporeans… Malaysia Airports also should charge Singapore Airlines for landing in Malaysia.

Singaporeans that marry malaysians also need to charge them yearly taxes for robbing malaysian eligibility market.

• paparadzi (Member) on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Maybe they should just close the border to private vehicles altogether. With that nobody can complain about road charges anymore. Anybody who wants to cross the border must use buses or trains. Or planes.

• MY pipu majority alredi travel to SG by bus & kapcais for workings, meanwhile SG pipu need to bring car to fill cheap petrol & fill to brim with subsidised foodstuff. In this game of russian roulette, SG wud lose more than MY. Let the games begin!

• Facebook on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:30 pm

Increase pls… don’t hesitate… the more the merrier…

• Objectively on Jan 18, 2017 at 5:10 pm

My read of this, not being biased or anything is if you consider why Singapore is charging the RRC is mainly because it is well reported that Singapore feels that Malaysia is discriminant with these charges as it only applies to Singaporean cars and not any other borders (Thailand, Brunei). Singapore’s VEP applies to all foreign cars entering into Singapore and does not discriminate. So happens 99% of foreign cars are Malaysian cars.

• Ronald L on Jan 18, 2017 at 7:23 pm

No wonder singapore needs malaysians to work in your country. While your country needs skilled labour your sitting in front of your computer being a mighty keyboard warrior.

Explains it all to be honest.

• U seems din read that it applies to all land border crossing even in East MY. Read more b4 comment so mucho.

• saladin on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:27 pm

Dont talk cock la. Singapore wealth 45% owned by indonesion, 22% china mainland, 17 % malaysian. U local singapore so miskin one less than 10% own the country. U 4 mill people so sedih one is like every 10 house in singapore u only own 1. All those bungalow, hotel, office towers, owned by foreigner. U all makam gaji mcm butler serve this rich people. Is like singaporean are bangla in their own country. We malaysian more kaya than u . Now u peeing inside trauses already, jokowi want to pull sgd225 bill indon money from sing to indon. Now already pull sgd20bill. By end 2017 pull everything. Die la u. Dulu no money now no work. After this from butler become beggar. U know why this happen bcos u stupid. Stupid becos u drink ur own pee n shit water.

• the truth on Jan 18, 2017 at 8:47 pm

The truth is, M government is doing its 200% best effort to increase the inflation to sky high limits, and also try the same to disturb Sg inflation figures. M govt is also creating extra 2000 issues so that the main issue MO1 is no more an issue.