Ministry of education working closely with police and JPJ to instil motorcycle safety in school students

As part of ongoing efforts to instil road safety awareness in secondary school students, the Malaysian Ministry of Education is working in conjunction with the police and Road Transport department (JPJ). Ministry deputy director-general Datuk Ahmad Tajudin Jab said this during Hong Leong Yamaha’s (HLYM) sponsorship of the Yamaha Literacy classroom at the Rahman Putra secondary school in Sungai Buloh, Selangor.

“We are aware that students riding with no licence and without proper safety equipment is a perennial problem,” said Tajudin, “and we at the ministry are working closely with the police and JPJ to educate them on the importance of road safety.” “At school level there is co-operation with the relevant authorities to create safety awareness amongst the youngsters,” he continued.

Tajudin also said that the police and JPJ regularly visit schools in rural areas to educate students about the importance of obeying the law. In addition, JPJ has also run programs where students who reach the required age can obtain riding or driving licences easily, with a minimum of red tape.

As part of its corporate social responsibility, the sponsorship of the Yamaha Literacy classroom as part of the school’s Special Education Integrated Programme – where students can learn the basic of motorcycle mechanics, care and maintenance – is the latest collaboration between HLYM and the school, the first being the Yamaha Safety Riding Science campaign.

The classroom is equipped with a complete set of education tools and materials, including a motorcycle and lift. HLYM is working together with the school to develop a series of programmes to teach students motorcycle maintenance skills that will enable them to later enter the job market as certified motorcycle mechanics.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 19, 2017 at 5:35 pm

All this waste of money. The real problem is no license. Official statistics show there are 3 million road users with NO licence. That is a shocking figure, considering road users are only about 10 million road users.

These are official statistics.

Why it has balloned up to 3 million is very simple. Pour heroes from PDRM and JPJ catch these no lesen riders, but let them go when ang pau or duit kopi is given.

It was a small problem before. But every year it grew bigger and bigger until the figure is 3 million.

Imagine 1 in every 3 road users is ILLEGAL. No wonder why so many deaths and accidents per year.

Time to clean JPJ and PDRM. That is more important. They need the education to clean themselves up

• Gov is doing something to plotek children. What have ur glorious leaders being doing except putting children in harm’s way?

• 12yrsold on Jan 19, 2017 at 5:38 pm

It is a Good move but I suggest that it should be done during school holidays as it will not disrupt their studies

• matt farrel on Jan 19, 2017 at 7:41 pm

for me this is nothing new…cuz we also have the same problem in Indonesia…but however i do know that some kids in Jakarta take driving unlicensed to a whole new level…i know a friend in Jakarta who is unlicensed..but was a given a V8 Mustang for cryin out loud!

• No clue on Jan 19, 2017 at 10:44 pm

“police and JPJ regularly visit schools in rural areas to educate students”….educate students or teachers ?
    I live opposite a secondary school and everyday is like no law land during school start and end hour. Student ride motorbike without helmet, go against traffic, not follow traffic light, etc…not a single sign of teacher or police…so that is education.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:07 am

Haha… Wats da point, wen students see how lunatic their parents drive on da bike weaving through n jumping traffic light, Giving space to no one on the road…

• Hot dog on Jan 20, 2017 at 7:29 am

The problem oso from the parents ! How can allowing thier children riding moto witout helmet and licence !!! If this happen to my kid , i will taekwondo kick to ….(joke )

• kereta_lembu on Jan 20, 2017 at 10:40 am

I totally agree! This is a joint effort. Schools should teach children about this but what’s the use if parents are encouraging them to do the opposite? Parents hold a bigger responsibility because they are the ones providing them with bikes and cars. I do not want to be labelled a racist, so I will keep race out of this topic…but I’ve seen many kids riding bikes, without helmets and for sure are not eligible for licence yet. The entire neighborhood is filled with these kids on bikes. Where are the parents? Who provided them with the bikes? Don’t tell me a 9 year old kid can afford his own bike. Yes, sometimes we can depend on authorities to catch them but seriously, if parents care for their own kids, why should the police or teachers care?

• Sub_zero on Jan 20, 2017 at 7:10 pm

Is what we call NATO

no action talk nothing

You think they will listen to lecture? Topkek

The more effective and efficient is enforcement

And some public shaming to boot

• humusjumus on Jan 22, 2017 at 10:27 am

hahahahah, ministries themselves are the biggers joker……