SPIED: New Volkswagen Tiguan spotted in Malaysia

The second-generation Volkswagen Tiguan has been spotted in Malaysia again, this time by paultan.org reader Wan Yoi. As we’ve previously reported, the SUV will be launched here as a locally-assembled (CKD) model sometime this year, rolling out of the Volkswagen Malaysia Automotive Assembly Plant in Pekan, Pahang.

These photos were taken in the aforementioned state, specifically in the Rompin area, and shows a Tiguan with a Pahang trade plate that is only a digit shy from the C115A-registered car we saw previously, as well as a different-coloured body. As before, the VW badges have been taped off to help “mask” its identity.

A frontal view of the Tiguan does give us some idea of what kit to expect when the model finally debuts, which appears to include LED headlamps (with DRLs) and front fog lamps. The SUV is available in three trim levels in other markets – Trendline, Comfortline and Highline – but we’ll have to wait and see just exactly what Malaysians will receive.

In any case, the new Tiguan is a radical departure from the outgoing model, being significantly larger – 60 mm longer, 30 mm wider and having a 77 mm longer wheelbase. The increased dimensions also help in the practicality department, with boot space up by 145 litres to 615 litres, or 1,655 litres with the rear seats folded.

This enhancements are a result of the Tiguan’s new skeleton, the VW Group’s modular MQB platform, which also sees a reduction in weight of up to 50 kg. For those who weren’t fans of the previous model’s styling, the new SUV certainly looks a lot more “handsome” than the Typ 5N (first-gen).

The Tiguan can be had with a range of turbocharged TSI and TDI engines, while transmission options include a six-speed manual, six-speed DSG and seven-speed DSG. If we had to guess, the Malaysian-spec Tiguan will likely be petrol-powered and come with an automatic gearbox.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan GTE and R-Line at the 2015 IAA Frankfurt Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Believe it or not, we rather buy a proton, despite how loathsome its cars are, would definitely be more reliable than any garbage sold by VW Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • Believe it or not, you can only afford to buy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • LOL, thanks for the joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Harambe on Jan 19, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Actually i would prefer proton if you ask me, why? because proton already have lotus engineering and although engine need to be improved but still its outr national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
        • Keith on Jan 20, 2017 at 1:10 am

Such company should not exist , it only bring up the prices of import cars .
          National cars , who care ?
          All we want is affordable , reliable & quality cars & lots of import cars capable to deliver .

• Neutron on Feb 24, 2017 at 4:57 pm

A car is a car. Pay for what you want.

Patriotic is charity. To be patriotic is to pay for something not worth the money but for the sake of “loyalty”.

Donate to Proton and collect a souvenir.

Just like you eat at your brother’s restaurant not because the food is good but just to support your brother’s business because he is family.

Better to help him improve instead of giving him false hope.

As for Lotus engineering, make sure the engine doesn’t fall of the body!!

• PhotoRec on Jan 20, 2017 at 4:04 am

I only see Proton Iriz in the photo, Tiguan where?

• Kunta Katak on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:05 pm

Believe it or not people like DK will be enjoying his Preve with a ‘turbo’ engine without realising the engine output is similar to a NA engine and the ‘advanced’ CVT thinking it’s the best out there. They have not tasted the thrill of driving performance VW cars. Once they have tasted the high performance turbo tsi engines and lightning fast gear changes and sophisticated multilink suspensions, then they will know what they have missed all this while. Sorry mate your Preve is no match. Better compare it to say, an Altis?

• You haven’t read enough of my posts to realize I’m not a P1 fan? You are barking up the wrong tree. Go kacau john instead man.

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 19, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Price it close to the Japanese if you want sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Kunta Katak on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:21 pm

The Japanese especially Toyota is a high priced “tin kosong” .if you really want Japanese, it’s a Honda. But nothing beats the high performance, extremely solid and safe feeling of a German. Japanese cars feel “light” . Hence you always hear people saying driving a continental is a different (better) feeling compared to a Japanese.

• Das Auto on Jan 19, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Wet DSG.

• Mikey on Jan 19, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Ha ha ha. The last para reads as “Tiguan will likely be petrol-powered & come with an automatic gearbox”.

Gerard, you sure VW will offer Normal auto for this new car ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Read the whole final paragraph before commenting.

• Mikey on Jan 20, 2017 at 9:19 am

Reed, only the original writer know what he is writing. I’m just asking a question. I can/will accept if he tell me so unless GL is using ‘Reed’ to reply to me.

M’sian Polo 1.6 do come in 6-speed auto box. Maybe this new Tiguan uses the same auto as written by GL. That is exactly my point/question.

• intermilan on Jan 20, 2017 at 2:49 pm

Its a fair question as technically DSG is a semi-automatic gearbox. Perhaps the writer was being a little lazy.

• James Bond on Jan 19, 2017 at 4:57 pm

All VW models look the SAME…YAWN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • dsg lagi never learn la, people dont want your dsg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • fredo on Jan 20, 2017 at 8:08 am

Malaysians are not the only “people” in the world. The rest of the world still prefer DSG, because it is the most linear and progressive gear system anywhere. As a result, VW still sells more cars than Toyota to take global no 1 position in 2016

• Kunta Katak on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:11 pm

I agree with fredo. VW sells more than Toyota worldwide. It’s the most advanced and thrilling gearbox. People who talk about so called reliability is still living in their caves and complaining about stale news and worse still fabricating stories without basis. Move on and get the latest news and get your facts right.

• bro 2.0 on Jan 20, 2017 at 9:11 am

As long it comes with a WET DSG it should be alright.

• whether its wet or dry clutch dsg will depends on the torque figures, any VAG’s product producing more than 250nm of torque will be using the wet dsg….engine producing less than 250nm can use the dry clutch dsg….hence, all VAG’s diesels & above 2.0 litre TSI are using wet clutch. Eg VW CC 1.8TSI is using dry clutch while VW GTI 2.0TSI is using wet clutch ( due to the different torque figures eventhough price are abt the same)

• Kunta Katak on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:17 pm

Wet or dry is determined by the torque figures. Lower torque is dry, higher torque is wet. you guys need not worry, VW being probabaly the largest automobile manufacturer in the world with their engineers know which model needs a dry and which needs a wet. Latest cars are all reliable, all ckd model in Malaysia. Anyone who says otherwise are people who spread lies and blow up things, and there many keyboard warriors on the net. Better get the facts from the right sources with actual prove. Not hearsay, I.e. My Aussie friend, friend’s friend’s, and fabricated tales.