Honda City facelift spotted in Malaysia – launch soon?

The 2017 Honda City facelift was recently launched in Thailand not too long ago, and it appears the updated B-segment sedan could soon be introduced here as well, thanks to this photo (taken in Putrajaya) sent in to us by paultan.org reader KC Lee.

Never mind the foliage and the tree, the car seen here is no doubt in the guise of a City, albeit with some wrapping applied. The main giveaway that this is indeed the facelift can be seen at the front, where the Solid Wing Face grille is significantly different in shape. Look even closer, and you’ll realise the Honda logo is positioned further downwards and protrudes outside the chrome bar compared to the current car.

Other clearly visible items include the 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels, which look nearly identical in terms of design to the car launched in Thailand. Expect other changes to include reshaped headlights (LED daytime running lights standard, LED headlights optional), new bumpers and a lightly revised cabin.

On the Thailand-spec City, the kit list remains largely unchanged with keyless operation, a Display Audio infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen, a multi-angle reverse camera and steering wheel audio control buttons. The City also retains up to six airbags, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), Hill Start Assist (HSA) and Emergency Stop Signal (ESS).

Under the bonnet, the new City should retain its 1.5 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder petrol engine produces 118 hp at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm, sent to the front wheels via a CVT. As with the current City, the new one will most likely continue to be a locally-assembled model as well.

GALLERY: Honda City facelift (Thailand-spec)

GALLERY: Current Honda City (Malaysia-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Meh, no VSC as standard = no buy. Toyota vios for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
    • Its thanks to city & preve that u even have VSC at all in vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Lee Ahmad on Jan 21, 2017 at 7:59 am

VSC in Toyota language and VSA in Honda language. Same thing.
      Vios has TRC but City has no “TRA”.
      City has 6 airbags while vios only 2.

• Das Auto on Jan 20, 2017 at 11:15 am

VW VENTO > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • azrai on Jan 20, 2017 at 11:19 am

So the old stocks cleared already or they are changing the bumpers and rims in Pegoh?

• The Vios is dead..havent seen any otr since theFL tat looks exactly the same 99%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • RIP again Toyota Vios…………….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:21 pm

They are on a roll… Facelift sting thats selling like hot cakes to keep the product fresh in the market, most do facelifts only after sales is down….

• Gaviny on Jan 20, 2017 at 1:39 pm

Car makers scrambling to keep sales afloat , keep launching and launching. It is going to be buyer market

• take my money already if price reasonably

i hope the new LED DRL is standard across the range. pls dont remove it honda malaysia ^^

• 12yrsold on Jan 20, 2017 at 3:57 pm

Just by reading the comments section you can tell if the car is “likable” by our commentators here.

Fortunately for Big T, the customers who buy Vios/Toyota do not read PT.org else T would have close shop long ago.

Big H(city) has done well particularly in M’sia probably due its network of 3S & it’s marketing team.

The question is can anyone really say the City is better than the Vios is truly debatable.

My personal opinion is City have the edge in transmission before CVT bcos it have 5-speed auto while the Vios have only a 4-speeder. Tell that to a Vios user & he will say no problem bcos his 4-speeder shift so smooth that he can’t tell which gear he is in.

In conclusion, to each his own, buy what you need & NOT what you want. It is you who is driving/enjoying the ride not someone else.

• Kunta Katak on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Super ECT 4 speed or rubber band CVT 7 gears(wow) in Toyotas. Naturally aspirated engine. I guess people who drive toyotas think their cars are the best. They never realised that there is a TSI Vento which offers so much better performance than a tin kosong vios. Toyota passenger cars are not selling that well nowadays. Honda has overtaken Toyota. My choice goes for a city if I have To choose a Japanese, but first choice remains the Vento.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • B. Unggul on Jan 22, 2017 at 10:44 am

Errr 12yrsold, even the current Vios use CVT lah…

• 12yrsold on Jan 21, 2017 at 10:53 am

Bro Kunta, have a glass of cool ice tea. You are trying too hard to please your fans here. Why so much anger in your comments/reply. Don’t la take things personally. It is NOT good for your heart bro.

If anyone like to buy a certain car/brand/model, let him be la. It is his/her own $$$ ma. He did not steal/borrow that $$$ from U ma. Can or Not ?!

• Bini4Best on Jan 22, 2017 at 11:22 am

Are malaysian such boring ppl??? Just a facelift and ppl are oredy excited???

Guess that Malaysian are content with facelift model forever…..

• Ben Yap on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:19 am

just get the civic 1.5 turbo… kaw tim…