Petronas Coffee Break returns – free coffee, snacks; complimentary 20-point inspection for Proton vehicles

Another year, another Petronas Coffee Break – the national petroleum company’s road safety initiative returns for the 18th year this Chinese New Year, encouraging drivers travelling back to their hometowns to take a break at Petronas stations nationwide.

For 2017, the company will be distributing 600,000 cups of freshly-brewed hot coffee and snacks for free at 121 stations along highways, trunk roads and high-traffic areas. These refreshments will be given out on January 28 to 29 and January 30 to 31 from 2pm onwards, while stocks last.

“We are anticipating high traffic along the highways during the Chinese New Year holiday. We invite motorists to take a break and recharge at our stations and at the same time, refuel with our winning formula, Petronas Primax 95 and Primax 97, before continuing their journey,” said Petronas Dagangan managing director and CEO Mohd Ibrahimnuddin Mohd Yunus.

Aside from the coffee and snacks, the company will also display seven road safety tips at those stations. Conducted in collaboration with the Road Safety Department (JKJR), the campaign is aimed at reminding and educating road users on ways to stay safe this upcoming holiday. Other services include complimentary health checks and a 20-point safety inspection for Proton cars conducted by Proton at selected locations.

Lastly, Petronas will continue its long-standing sponsorship of St John Ambulance of Malaysia (SJAM). Fifty emergency response vehicles will be supplied with RM20,000 worth of fuel to provide assistance to motorists travelling on major highways, the 23rd year the company is doing so.

“Road safety is a natural concern for us at Petronas. These safety tips will serve as a good reminder to enhance safety and [provide a] more mindful driving [behaviour] that can prevent accidents and save lives,” said Ibrahimnuddin. “Ultimately we wish for every person to arrive at their destination safe and well.”

For more information on the Petronas Coffee Break and participating stations, visit the official website.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mikey on Jan 23, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Free coffee is a very Good break for people travelling long hours. IMO, Toll operators should be giving these goodies bcos they are the one profiting from toll collection.

In fact, Toll operators should be doing this coffee snacks as their Corporate Social Responsibility(CSR) every year during Hari Raya to Chinese New year. Anyone agree ??!!

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Jan 23, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Last I heard Petronas sponsors Mercedes, not Proton!

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Jan 23, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Why double standard to only Proton drivers? Petronas is only for Protons is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Its P1 servis teams that stationed at Pet doing the checking. Pet dun do servicing, they just sell oil. Why u no ask why honda doing airbag replacement at Pet and not other stations?

• Kereta Merah on Jan 24, 2017 at 7:55 pm

People like u who are commenting without even understand the situation make me feels really sick. Orang macam ni pun ada.

• Well done and thank you Petronas. Brilliant idea making coffee free to get drivers take a break. Little things like this can save lives.

• 12yrsold on Jan 24, 2017 at 8:29 am

Thank Q Petronas for the free Coffee/Snacks. As for the inspection, it is your prerogative but I personally think U should have extended 2 all. Thanks anyway.

• tarakbaca on Jan 24, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Inpection is done by p1 service teams, you tarak baca?

• 12yrsold on Jan 24, 2017 at 8:32 pm

Tak payah baca sebab saya tahu P1 & Petronas itu adek beradek. Sila baca jawapan yg dah di beri oleh saya di atas. Kalau john tanya, suruh hang tukar cermin mata sebelum jawab ya !!