Selangor police launch Op Selamat for CNY, warns errant motorists they are set to face maximum fines

Selangor police launch <em>Op Selamat</em> for CNY, warns errant motorists they are set to face maximum fines

With the launch of the Op Selamat 10/2017 road safety campaign for the Chinese New Year, Selangor state police has informed motorists to observe traffic rules this festive season or face hefty fines if they are caught, The Sun reports.

The operation, which began on January 21 and runs until February 5, is looking to reduce the number of road accidents from Op Selamat 9/2016, in which there were 5,247 cases, an increase of 248 from 2015.

State deputy police chief DCP Datuk Mohamad Fuad Abdul Latiff said authorities plan to go hard on those who violate traffic laws, including imposing maximum fines. He said selfish road users and those with a bad attitude were some of the major causes for the increase in road accidents during last year’s operation.

“On the amount of traffic summonses during Chinese New Year celebrations last year, 37,723 were recorded, while 34,847 summonses were issued in 2015. When traffic summonses are reduced, the accident rate should reduce as well, but here we have a reverse scenario, and I hope road users especially in Selangor take note of this matter,” Mohd Fuad said.

He added that fatalities in traffic accidents within the state were also on the rise, with 42 recorded in 2016 compared to 32 in 2015.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Jan 23, 2017 at 10:46 am

Hello JPJ, Police traffic, Spad, ministry of transportation… So many of y’all. Please raise the saman to RM1,000 or RM5,000 and make them pay on the spot, or go to balai. Please put cameras at traffic lights where most people broke the law. And catch those people with funny number plate fonts and superbikes with tiny or no number plates. If saman are so expensive people will not try and break the law. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:33 am

Same old story every festive season. Everybody knows what these road blocks are. It is just to make quick fast cash for the cops to also celebrate.

Small percentage get actual saman, this is done so that PDRM can show work is done.

Anyway, even maximum saman also makes no difference. The moment you go to balai to pay, so many officers will approach you to go to the back room to selesai.

RM50 semua selesai. Everyone has kena this before. Officer himself tell you go to the back room.

Oh yeah, the back room is full of smoke. No idea why the back room, despite closed and aircon, is full of cigarette smoke.

Until PDRM cleans up their own corruption, more festive accidents and deaths will happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Ben Yap on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:38 am

go balai mah go balai lor…. u think Balai got enough space to fit so many offenders ar?

their cars should be compounded and auction off for a song la… this way, i can buy their cars very cheap.

• Please do something regarding motorcyclist as well who has the highest accident rate in the country. Also please fine those who is going slow on the fast line. Its seriously annoying!!

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 23, 2017 at 1:14 pm

You cannot possibly ignore the sense of awe we have for the gov for its commitment to the rakyat’s well being. Thank you gov. Truly we are indebted for life and can’t repay everything the gov has done, even if the rakyat exhausted every single drop of blood in our veins. – Faiz Roslan CEng

• Pay on spot is ridiculous as most authorities would just Makan all of the money. going to court to settle summon would be a better alternative as most ppl would shiver when they stare at the judge. Also crackdown on right lane hoggers too.

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:21 am

Well done for the tougher fines. It’s an unpopular move, but a move that is needed now.

The majority of well educated and rational rakyat knows that the police is not in the business of enriching themselves, but rather a deterrent for accidents due to errant driving. We rakyat will support the police through and through!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

• Meng Shen Lim on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:38 am

I rather the Police also take action on slow drivers hogging the right lane too. No one would have to excessively speed without slow drivers to overtake on the right lane.

• paparadzi (Member) on Jan 23, 2017 at 1:17 pm

I hope the police will issue summons on violations that will compromise safety, not just because of simply breaking some unfair law. For example driving at 120 km/h on a deserted highway with 90 km/h speed limit is breaking the law but it is not unsafe. It is safer to follow the traffic flow speed rather than to slow down unnecessarily. There are traffic lights that are not well designed, where the light in one direction should be green and safe to drive but it is red instead. The authorities should be well versed with the logic instead of simply forcing people to follow the law blindly.

• kralkhan (Member) on Jan 23, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Dear Traffic Police and Jpj,

Please station at least 1 officer who are clearly visible to all motorists at least every 5km along those accident prone stretches of the roads. This will act as a deterrent to all road users from breaking any traffic rules.

Please also put on temporary road signs to inform road users of speed limit, dangerous and bad road condition and also that police surveillance are along the roads.

Tailgaters, speeders and maniac drivers should be fined on the spot with maximum fine.

• Theres AES for that. Dun need station polismen 24/7/365 just for this one purpose.

• Y U Fuk on Jan 23, 2017 at 10:42 pm

Yes, somewhat agree with Enchik Kunta Bin Kinte. What does this operations spring to life during the festive seasons ? If rules were policed 24/7, and heavy penalties imposed, slowly, all the irresponsible drivers will be off the road. You see cars, lorries and buses spewing out heavy smoke……where are the authorities ??? Visit the local Teh Tarik shop. Safety is a multi pronged approach, starts with the safety of the vehicle. Keretas over 3 years should have to undergo an MOT test, if the kereta fails, it stays off the raod till it’s fixed. To get an insurance renewal and road tax, you need a pass certificate of MOT. Then comes the driver. Have they legitimately passed a driving test ? Many may not have. Begin operation re test. Lastly, the ‘policing’ when you know you may be caught on camera or by a cop/JPJ, you may behave, but most people know where the cops hang out. Lastly, driving under the influence of alcohol, wher are the breathalyzer’s ? Drink driving loses lives !!!!

• ah beng on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:01 pm

bcoz of tis roadblocks…i already kena duit kopi rm20 for fancy number plate