VW to launch Tiguan, Beetle facelift in Malaysia by Q2

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has announced plans to introduce the new Tiguan and facelifted Beetle by the second quarter of this year. The duo will be joined by limited editions of its core models, which include the CKD Polo, Vento, Jetta and Passat in Malaysia.

Of the upcoming duo, the Tiguan is the more significant. At the launch of the B8 Passat in November 2016, VPCM revealed that the second-generation Tiguan will be introduced here this year, and that the SUV will be CKD locally assembled. Now we know that it’s sooner rather than later in 2017. The car has been spotted roaming in Malaysia with covered badges and Pahang trade plates.

Unveiled at IAA 2015, the new Tiguan is no rehash of the awkward Typ 5N but a complete reboot sitting on VW’s modular MQB platform that also underpins the current Mk7 Golf. It wears a sharp suit and has a larger footprint – 60 mm longer, 30 mm wider and 33 mm lower, with a 77 mm longer wheelbase. Boot space is up as well, by 145 litres to make 615 litres, or 1,655 litres with the rear seats folded. New tech means that despite the size increase, it’s over 50 kg lighter than before.

VW’s usual range of turbocharged TSI and TDI engines are available, and the Euro 6 motors are up to 24% more fuel efficient than the previous batch. 4Motion all-wheel drive with a fifth-generation Haldex coupling is available. Along with the Haldex coupling that acts as a longitudinal lock, the electronic differential locks (EDS) integrated in the ESC act as transverse locks for all four wheels.

There’s a new 4Motion Active Control switch on the centre console. Four selectable profiles are available – two road (Onroad and Snow) and two off-road (Offroad and Offroad Individual). AWD Tiguans have 11 mm higher ground clearance (200 instead of 189 mm), and there’s a special off-road front end with an approach angle of 25.6 instead of 18.3 degrees. The SUV is available in Trendline, Comfortline and Highline equipment lines, plus a sporty new R-Line look.

The Beetle was refreshed in May last year. No big change to the new age Bug’s iconic design, but the bumpers in the Basic and Design lines have been redesigned and are now flatter/sportier. The R-Line equipment line (formerly called Beetle Sport) gets its own new bumpers as well, with an additional vent opening above it.

Other highlights include tinted LED rear lights, 17-inch “Philadelphia” wheels and the 18-inch “Ravenna Adamantium” wheels, which are optional for the Design Line and R-Line.

Inside, brighter instrument panel lighting, a new dial and dashpad styling for the Design Line and R-Line are the improvements. VW has new three new upholstery materials and contemporary style packages for personalisation. Also available is the “Black Style Package” which gives one a black finish on the wheels, mirror caps and roof.

The optional R-Line interior package sports R-Line logos on the sill panel mouldings and on the head restraints, as well as an R-Line sport steering wheel. It can be ordered with “Kyalami” fabric seats or with “Vienna” leather. These lines are available globally, but we’re not sure which ones will come to Malaysia. The R-Line is unlikely, but we’ll see.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan at IAA 2015

GALLERY: 2016 Volkswagen Beetle

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Y U Fuk on Jan 23, 2017 at 10:26 pm

VW=Peoples Car. Originally started out as no nonsense cars, and they still do keep this DNA, but in my opinion, the latest Beetle has lost it’s charm against the car it replaced. They should offer a cabriolet in Malaysia. It will be the first of its kind on the block. Back in the day, VW had a good following in Malaysia when Champion Motors ran the show. The cars were well priced, the technicians were highly trained by Wolfburg, and the spare parts were always available. Hopefully, if more 3s centers open, more VW’s will be sold equating to more models coming off the CKD line, so lower prices. Catch 22 ! One can still spot & hear an old bug around town and kampongs, that’s how well built they were !

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 24, 2017 at 1:40 pm

they were great cars. Not anymore. Even in 2017, every SC in Klang Valley is full of cars with DSG problems. They said DSG already solved but just last week I was in Glenmarie, everyone I asked in the SC has come in because of DSG.

All the best to Tiguan buyers. Your children will eventually marry the tow truck driver’s children cause you all will be so close.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Why u always camping in VW?

• 12yrsold on Jan 24, 2017 at 8:25 pm

Bro haha, to be fair to Kunta, he camp in P1, P2, Toyota & VW. If he has more time, he will be everywhere. Just enjoy reading it la.

• 1joker on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:25 pm

Either he’s lying or he’s a VW staff

• Paul G on Jan 23, 2017 at 10:54 pm

This Tiguan is a game changer. Although im expecting bashers to slam VW, they better test drive this vehicle before saying anything negative about it. I test drove it in Australia, it is simply a fabulous car to drive outdoors and for cruising through the motorways. They have done long-term tests on this car and it came ahead of Ford, Mazda and Honda models over here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
    • john is otak batu on Jan 24, 2017 at 11:42 am

cakap sendiri, syok sendiri! How many ppl in bolehland owned Tiguan compare with other brand & Japanese SUV?!!! The answer is simple= very very very low…Our Sam Lorr & Kun Kinte can tell u= junk

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 24, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Yes I can confirm it is a junk. It is not Volvo who should use the motto Volvo for Life. VW should use it.

Cause once you own a VW, you will never be able to sell it in Malaysia. No used car dealer dare to touch VW anymore. It is a car that will be life with you.

This Tiguan will probably sell for RM150k. 2 years later, sell RM50k also you will be lucky.

• OMG!U test drive it in Australia?
      How come u don’t ask most Aussie don’t want Tiguan?
      Ask majority of them on their opinion on buying this car.
      They will check if u r high on crack!
      VW Australia’s reputation already down into their Aussies’ sewage drain.

• Codogan on Jan 24, 2017 at 12:26 pm

Oh, Come on! What you are doing is already their nightmare for Aussies, great to drive but bad to own
      Those who bought out are already on their own!
      VW is a horror show itself in Australia.
      Bad decision, just a lemon on your own list!
      Bottom line.. U need to lay off the crack pipe!
      Good luck with you anyway.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 24, 2017 at 2:03 pm

In Australia super cheap car. So Australians don’t mind.

Here it is so expensive. And when you pay so much for non stop breakdowns, then it is very painful

• Henry on Jan 24, 2017 at 1:54 pm

OK, you test drove one in Australia but are you buying one in Malaysia? You seem mighty pleased. LoL.

• i get an alfa stelvio instead…sexy car

• passion on Jan 24, 2017 at 9:20 am

this is a case of once bitten twice shy. VW needs to regain the trust of the people here.

• Mikey on Jan 24, 2017 at 9:44 am

What is a Beetle ? It is a 2-door/4 passenger, rear-engine economy car manufactured & marketed by VW since 1938. It was conceived as a cheap, simple car to be mass-produced by Hitler.

Fast-forward 2017. A Beetle is no longer a cheap or mass-produced car compare to the Japs/Korean/Italy. It’s 2-doors does not make it practical anymore hence VW now market it as an Iconic car with character especially in cabriolet form.

Hopefully someone can take over from here to write something good about this iconic car as a fan but not as a basher bcos it deserved its place in car history. Cheers.

• Henry on Jan 24, 2017 at 12:51 pm

There is still such a car but it ain’t no Beetle. It is the Perodua Axia base model @ RM 24.9K.

• No report on transmission used, but I’m willing to bet it’s an allegedly problem free 7 speed dry clutch DSG

• This Tiguan will come with DQ250 which is a 6-speed wet clutch! You would have known that if you bothered to search the web for specifications on the car from other market.

• Henry on Jan 24, 2017 at 12:53 pm

A consumer’s mantra: If in doubt, don’t. There are plenty of other brands.

• Golfer on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:27 am

Can’t wait to test drive the new tiguan. Looks really good and technologically packed. Hoping the price would be within my reach.