KTM to impose RM100 surcharge on those caught riding Intercity, ETS services without a valid ticket

Starting from March 1, Keretapi Tanah Melayu (KTM) says that passengers utilising an Electric Train Service (ETS) or Intercity train service will face a surcharge of RM100 if they are found to be riding without a valid ticket, Bernama reports.

The rail operator says that imposing the surcharge – which will be enforced under Seksyen 117(9) and 117(10) of the Land Public Transport Act 2010 – is an effort to educate the public, especially passengers, to ensure they had a valid ticket before coming on board the train.

Valid tickets are important to determine the comfort and safety of passengers, because passengers with a valid ticket have insurance coverage, KTM said through a statement.

Passengers who wish to use Intercity and ETS services can buy tickets at KTM counters or through online services provided via the internet through www.ktmb.com.my using the KTMB MobTicket or through agents appointed by the rail operator.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Less cars, more public transport. Trains r my waifu.

• Bailout KTM, KLIA Ekspres, Rapid.

• Find me anywhere in the world where public transport is cheap as dirt but still make healthy profits…

• Public transport on Feb 02, 2017 at 1:59 am

Is it possible to get a turn-round specialist like is being done for MAS?

• But MAS is not public transport. It can cut out vital but unprofitable routes which public tranports cant do.

• Mikey on Feb 01, 2017 at 10:39 am

U mean the public can enter any Intercity, ETS services without a valid ticket ! That is definitely a bad system. If it is true, U are putting the safety of your paying customers at risk.

• Those who dun pay r putting their own safety at risk…

• Mikey on Feb 01, 2017 at 4:21 pm

If U are the manager, who do U protect first ?? Your customers or the intruder ?!

• hanssen on Feb 01, 2017 at 10:43 am

macamana boleh naik…masuk tren dan keluar stesen. panjat pagar ye

• Fire Car of Jug Koon Land on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Bought kommuter ride fare but boarding ETS tren instead?

• KTM maju on Feb 01, 2017 at 11:11 am

1st impose on getting your train on time, 2nd Impose some customer service to your riders… Currently one of the worst service providers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • This and that are two different things. If you don’t pay, you don’t get to demand them to provide customer service. Sure, they need to improve their services, but those who don’t pay are not doing us customers and them any favor either.

• Hanko on Feb 01, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Ni dah kira lari tajuk. Different issues bro.

• As a frequent ETS customer, I must say their service are not bad. Trains are mostly on time.

• After Felda & Mara, KTM boss shud be next to go…

• Just cut the craps:
    “Valid tickets are important to determine the comfort and safety of passengers, because passengers with a valid ticket have insurance coverage, KTM said through a statement”.
    It is as simple as You Ride, You Pay lah.
    By the way, what does the insurance covers actually. Do they really compensate you? Or is it only for death cases? :)

• Bernard on Feb 01, 2017 at 10:17 pm

How to catch? Do you have the manpower, technology, know how etc?

• Ride the ETS first, then you will know.

• kalimuthu on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:52 pm

yes they will catch you if you don’t have valid ticket and throw you out of the running train, just kidding LOL