GALLERY: 2017 Volkswagen Golf Mk7 facelift – GTI, GTD, Golf Variant and 1.5 TSI play it up for the camera

Volkswagen has released more images of its Golf Mk7 facelift, which was unveiled last November. The new photo set showcases six model versions from the refreshed Typ 5G’s 2017 lineup, with the lion’s share of photos being that of the new GTI in both three- and five-door styles.

Also to be seen are the Golf GTD and the Golf 2.0 TDI 150 PS as well as two estate body-style versions, the Variant in its 2.0 TDI and GTD forms. Rounding off the list is the Golf 1.5 TSI, a new addition to the range.

The latter is equipped with the automaker’s new 150 PS 1.5 litre EA211 TSI evo turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine, with standard-fit Active Cylinder Technology (ACT) variable displacement.

New bits brought along by the refresh include LED daytime running lights as well as full-LED headlights. Full-LED tail lights also find their way on, and is standard fitment across the entire model range

Inside, the reworked Golf gets minor trim and upholstery revisions, but plenty of upgrades in terms of tech. For starters, all available infotainment system options now feature larger screens than before, with screen sizes starting at 6.5 inches for the base unit right up to 9.2 inches found in the range-topping Discover Pro system.

Also available as an option is the 12.3-inch Active Info Display virtual instrument cluster as seen on the B8 Passat. Also trickling down from the Passat is new safety kit, with pedestrian detection being added into the City Emergency Braking function in the car’s Front Assist system.

GALLERY: 2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI, 3-dr and 5-dr versions

GALLERY: 2017 Volkswagen Golf 1.5 TSI 150 PS

GALLERY: 2017 Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI 150 PS

GALLERY: 2017 Volkswagen Golf Variant 2.0 TDI 150 PS

GALLERY: 2017 Volkswagen Golf GTD

GALLERY: 2017 Volkswagen Golf GTD Variant

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 06, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Looks nice on camera but trust me, you won’t look nice waiting in the hot sun for a tow truck. If you are a lady, your make up will be messed up waiting for the tow truck driver.

Worse still, the tow truck driver will ask you to sit beside him when he tows your car. You will enjoy the small fan blade kipas that can oscillate left and right that he fixes on his dashboard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 53
    • Golfer on Feb 06, 2017 at 7:01 pm

Poor guy who can’t afford good things in life will find excuses to make themself feel better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 22
      • kuntak on Feb 07, 2017 at 2:39 am

He is paid commenter lor

• lanmek on Feb 07, 2017 at 9:32 am

That statement only applicable to people who talk bad about luxury cars. But for VW, hhhmmm… anyone who can afford a toyota or a honda can afford a VW too.

• john is otak batu on Feb 07, 2017 at 11:26 am

Haah???!!!! VW is good things!… Oh pls lay off that crack pot for god sake!

• Henry on Feb 07, 2017 at 11:45 am

You can’t say that. Good things to him may mean Bentley or Aston Martin but not a VW. You see, different people have different tastes.

• samtowtruck on Feb 07, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Come come come I have good package for towing truck service, 24 x 7, veli cheap

• Some days praise to sky high, other days bash to ground. No consistency, macam lalang or sotong.

• Retro School on Feb 06, 2017 at 8:10 pm

If only your vivid imagination can be put to better use instead of rumour mongering

• Strowmann on Feb 06, 2017 at 8:58 pm

This Kunta fella must be a poor guy who cannot afford a VW, only venom spews from his mouth. Too much negative aura surrounding him. Go build your own car or bolt on a TRD body kit on your vios and imagine it has an instant boost.

• Deenbecker on Feb 07, 2017 at 12:02 am

Klu sebut jer pasal vw, mesti komen pasal dsg. Smpai mati ke mcmni. Samade ini agenda utk hancurkan vw atau mmg kes benar. As a golf gti avid fan, aku jadi paranoid

• Geek01 on Feb 07, 2017 at 12:10 am

In case you are still harping about DSG gearbox issues, if you dig deep enough, you’d have found out that there is nothing inherently wrong about them. VW know, and have explained, exactly what was causing failures in the 40k-80k km range in their DQ200 auto-box, and instituted a global recall.

Apparently some well-meaning person at VW specified “higher spec” synthetic auto box fluid as factory-fill for hot and humid countries. Unfortunately, and this reveals a certain lack of diligence at VW (maybe they were too busy, err, “tweaking” fuel consumption figures), this higher spec fluid had some sulphur content/additive that was causing issues with the auto box’s control mechanism over time/distance resulting in sudden and total failures in that mileage range.

Result? Mass, embarrassing tow truck incidents, followed by “no spare part” for weeks/months as a lot of exactly the same set of components needed replacement in every failed transmission.

Upside of it all, and there is an upside, savvy consumers could have picked up a new VW for a song last year. And just to be doubly-sure the auto-box in your new-yet-bargain vehicle would serve you well for many, many years, you would have flushed the auto-box fluid when you got it. Just in case it somehow slipped through the net and escaped the VW dealership with the “bad” synthetic fluid in it.

Here’s an excerpt about the incident, widely available at many automotive websites, and often headlined “Largest VW recall ever”.

“In the gearbox fault, a Volkswagen spokesman at the car giant’s headquarters in Wolfsburg, Northern Germany said: ‘It has been discovered that, with vehicles with a 7-speed dual-clutch gearbox (DQ200), electric malfunctions could occur in the gearbox power supply if synthetic gearbox oil is used.

‘This applies in particular if the vehicle is subject to a hot and humid climate, coupled with a high proportion of stop and go driving.’

He added: ‘Studies have established that using mineral oil will rectify this problem.

‘To continue to ensure customer satisfaction among DSG [dual-clutch gearboxes], Volkswagen has decided to launch global voluntary campaign and to request all customers with a 7-speed dual-clutch gearbox (DQ200) filled with synthetic oil to visit a workshop for an oil exchange.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • ya i am poor guy not rich

but seriously? the car looks just same over the years…
    don’t see alot of golf on road these days…unlike those days is the ‘in’ thing to be driving a vw golf ^^

• Call people a poor guy without knowing him really display your character!! And by the way VW is not for rich people.

• Henry on Feb 07, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Translation: Volkswagen = People’s Car = macam Proton dan Perodua di Malaysia saja.

• Liquid on Feb 07, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Kunta Kinte disguised as ‘john’ ..Kunta, get a life than spreading rumours. If you have hard facts to back your claims, then show it. Not mere hear say. VW is the largest car maker in the world.

• kuntak on Feb 08, 2017 at 1:16 pm

golfer disguised as ‘Liquid’. get the hard fact.. VW is for average and poor people. Rich people buy Audi! As a largest car maker won’t make them a luxury car.

• passion on Feb 07, 2017 at 10:08 am

those with the 7 speed dsg go through this alot. the 6 speeder very rare. its a love hate relationship with a VW.

• Liquid on Feb 07, 2017 at 8:29 pm

I have a 7 speed, I never went through it. Who are you representing? Imaginary people?

• Coming to Malaysia anytime soon? Should i get the mk7 or wait for mk7 facelift? Gti