Kia Sportage diesel AWD launching in M’sia, Q1 2017

The Malaysian auto market isn’t very hot now, but standing still is not an option. Naza Kia Malaysia (NKM) is certainly not doing so, and the company has a couple of new models on the way, this year.

You’ve read about the new Optima GT (yes, the full fat 242 hp turbocharged variant) coming soon to Malaysia, plus the possibility of the Stinger reaching our shores – now, here’s something slightly less niche and more logical: a diesel variant of the current Sportage QL.

The fourth-generation Sportage was launched in Malaysia mid last year. We have two front-wheel drive variants – the top GT Line and a base KX Line – powered by a 2.0 litre Nu MPI petrol engine with 155 PS and 192 Nm. Joining them soon will be the Sportage CRDi with AWD and in GT Line trim, making it the new range topper in Malaysia. In fact, it’s the highest spec combo available for the Sportage QL even in Europe.

The Sportage CRDi that we will get is powered by a 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine in the highest available state of tune, which is 184 hp and 400 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 2,750 rpm (there’s also a 134 hp/373 Nm version). The oil burner is mated to a six-speed conventional automatic gearbox. Kia’s claimed combined fuel consumption is 6.5 litres per 100 km (15.4 km/l).

How soon? NKM told paultan.org that the Sportage diesel has already obtained necessary approvals from the authorities and will be launched in the first quarter of this year.

Sounds familiar? Late last year, we told you that Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors is lining up a diesel variant of the Tucson SUV for Q1 2017, along with a 1.6 T-GDi turbo petrol. The incoming Tucson CRDi comes with the same R-series turbodiesel as the inbound Sportage CRDi, so there will be plenty of interesting choices for SUV punters. The Mazda CX-5 SkyActiv-D is currently the only diesel option in the segment.

GALLERY: Kia Sportage 2.0 GT Line

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 07, 2017 at 5:17 pm

Good they are launching diesel. We need more diesel cars cause diesel cars give DOUBLE the mileage. If your car gives, say 500km on a full tank, the same diesel car will give 1000KM

We Malaysians now need diesel cause, despite being a oil producing country, our gomen whacks us with one of the highest petrol prices. So, having a diesel car helps a lot.

Oh btw gomen, what are you doing about all the dirty lorries and busses polluting Malaysia? They are still using dirty filthy Euro 2 diesel. High time Euro 2 is banned and force companies to upgrade their vehicles to use Euro 5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 20
    • but they wanted to bring in the top of the line trim.

much more expensive to buy in the first place

• Mikey on Feb 07, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Looks like the Koreans of Hyundai/Kia are confident of their products. With 2 liters of diesel power, this engine churn out respectable H/P & massive torque to justify it’s presence. I have no doubt that this current new diesel engine Kia Sportahe is the way forward. Just bring it here. FAST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Benz Yeo on Feb 07, 2017 at 6:31 pm

Mazda6 2.2D > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • Gaviny on Feb 08, 2017 at 8:42 am

Twin turbo goodness , it can stay in 6 th gear from 60 kmh all the way to 220kmh. Just torque

• Sgt Scoop on Feb 07, 2017 at 7:02 pm

How are Mazda’s diesels selling? Perhaps I’m wrong but I don’t see much demand for diesels in Malaysia.

• Elchino on Feb 07, 2017 at 11:25 pm

Mazda CX-5 diesel needs Euro 5 diesel which is not easily available in many towns. Thus the smaller demand. Tks Wonder whether Sportage and Tuscon can only run in Euro5 diesel?

• Elchino on Feb 08, 2017 at 12:03 am

People don’t buy diesel cars especially those which must run on Euro5 diesel as it is still not widely available through out Malaysia

• new tucson is more beautiful than sportage and when it comes to suv, kimchi is better than sushi

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 07, 2017 at 7:51 pm

I doubt this will be labeled as affordable since this will be the top spec model.

• Brazbuz on Feb 07, 2017 at 8:51 pm

It will be price 155-160k and labelled as GTX line trim

• camtakpro on Feb 07, 2017 at 10:55 pm

As usual, Korean paper-spec are awesome, so are their statements on their cars.

• Kuinosan on Feb 07, 2017 at 9:49 pm

No doubt that the Korean brands such as Hyundai and Kia have made significant improvements in terms of design and engineering. But they should be more careful and selective when choosing their local marketing partner. They are hopeless in promoting and elevating the brand. Sales figures never lie!

• I really nope they include a proper 7 inch screen this time with this model… and cruise control too!

• Maria on Feb 07, 2017 at 9:54 pm

Naza Kia, please bring Niro to Malaysia.It’s quite good looking hybrid croosover…CKD it and sell it cheap

• Elchino on Feb 07, 2017 at 11:21 pm

Yes, if the new 2017 Mazda CX-5 diesel is launched here, the Sportage and Tucson will not stand a chance assuming Mazda is priced correctly?

• Brutua on Feb 08, 2017 at 12:18 am

Will this diesel model be qualified as EEV? If yes, the pricing should be more doable. Malaysians need to change their perceptions on diesel engines especially now we have access to Euro5 diesel.

• Borneo on Feb 08, 2017 at 1:12 pm

Not in Borneo though.. even tho all the high quality crude oil is pumped from Negara Sabah & Sarawak

• sammy on Feb 08, 2017 at 7:50 am

when you keep launching new models without giving much thoughts to the other 2 ‘S’…

launching a new model has much considerations, like the spare parts will need to maintain for a certain amount of years, and the service technicians need to be competently trained.

this is what Naza has always failed to do well and hinder the ownership experience of all the models under its stable.

• thepolygonal on Feb 08, 2017 at 9:06 am

SsangYong has been selling diesel in Malaysia for a very long time. The technology should be matured enough by now for the Koreans.

If you really want a car that is fun and sips fuel, it’s the MX-5 diesel… small and torqueee

• sammy on Feb 08, 2017 at 10:27 am

ssangyong has been using other manufacturers engine and not a good example of whether Korean has a mature diesel technology, although you may well be correct.

but I disagree with you on the MX5 diesel. I prefer a high revving petrol engine in it.

• The present model is a fail product and hardly see any on the road.

What a joke! With the basic spec cost RM 121K without the push start button and side mirror signal.

With the new diesel model and if they price it above RM 120K then another fail product in the making. haha.

• kelvin on Feb 08, 2017 at 9:36 am

Can it run on B10 diesel?

• Diesel should be banned from Malaysian road. Its toxic to the environment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • teh kah kin on Feb 08, 2017 at 4:43 pm

Bought a KIA Sportage and it sways to the left. made several trips to KIA workshop, wrote several letters to NAZA and even to KIA South Korea. Workshop Manager finally infomred me KIA car is like that lah – it sways to the left. No response from NAZA/KIA. Bought Toyota Vios – and the windscreen was faulty. Called Toyota – they sent a Team to my house the next day, took the car away and return 3 days later – all kao tim, no cost plus a BIG APOLOGY. Buy Toyota – this is not an advertisement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Kelvin Kong on Feb 08, 2017 at 8:15 pm

Yesssssssss… DIESEL CRDI …..Sorento n Santa Fe already have it…now Sportage n Tucson…i cant wait .

• I would rather Naza have thought on upgrading the diesel variant of the Sorento, in this land when come to buying diesel, customers usually thought of something big.