Naza Kia “confident” it will be able to bring in Stinger

2018 Stinger

At a Chinese New Year luncheon earlier today, Naza Kia Malaysia chief operating officer Datuk Samson Anand George said that he is “confident” that the company will be able to bring in the Kia Stinger soon. His comment lent more weight to the words of company head Nazman S.H.C Yusof last month, who said that the company is interested in bringing in the rear-wheel drive sports sedan in.

“If possible, we would like to bring in the Stinger to the Malaysian market, but it will have to depend on the demand and legibility,” said Nazman during the international media drive of the new Kia Rio in Melbourne. During today’s event, head of product planning Mohamed Shahrul Farhan Abdul Wahab also said that he hoped the principal Kia Motors Corporation (KMC) and Samson would be able to pull it off.

The introduction of the Stinger would follow Naza Kia’s intention to elevate itself into a more premium market space, in line with the wider KMC’s global strategy to increase its brand value. Naza Kia’s plan to bring in the new Optima in range-topping high-performance GT form is part of this strategy as well.

The Stinger is Kia’s entry in the compact executive sedan market, packed with the likes of the BMW 3 and 4 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class and Audi A4. Power comes from either a 200 PS/440 Nm 2.2 litre CRDi turbodiesel, a 255 PS/353 Nm 2.0 litre turbo petrol engine or a 370 PS/510 Nm 3.3 litre twin-turbo petrol V6.

All models come with an eight-speed automatic transmission. As mentioned, the car is rear-wheel drive with an optional mechanical limited-slip differential; there’s also a rear-biased all-wheel drive system on offer, with brake-operated Dynamic Torque Vectoring Control.

The body uses 55% advanced high-strength steel, and the Nürburgring-developed chassis features MacPherson strut suspension at the front and a multi-link setup at the rear, along with a rack-mounted electric power steering system that enhances steering response and reduces unwanted vibration.

So, would you be interested in the Kia Stinger if it comes over here?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Adrian Foong on Feb 07, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Of coz, the car is like a godlike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • karam singh on Feb 08, 2017 at 12:17 am

Kia sport sedan? mehhhh
      they still need more participation on sports/race event
      to develop proper sport car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
      • What are you talking about man… They’re already in numerous sports race/event for YEARSSSS.

• Raja Celup on Feb 08, 2017 at 8:17 am

The rear light stings like Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 07, 2017 at 6:19 pm

Yes naza dont be stingy..bring in the stinger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • You can bring it in but make sure less than 160k otherwise guaranteed not to sell well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
    • Henry on Feb 07, 2017 at 9:21 pm

With the RM in such a poor condition the price will more likely be closer to 200K.

• mikasa on Feb 07, 2017 at 10:53 pm

MITI is the gatekeeper. i dont think they will allow NAZA to sell that cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • ducatiscrambler on Feb 08, 2017 at 8:57 am

RWD CBU unit, you thought they would sell it for less than 160k? RWD cars are different all together. Not only is there a whole another connotation behind a RWD cars, they also have heightened manufacturing cost attached to them akin to full frame sensors in the camera world. They are estimated to cost 30,000 pounds – serious contender. As per car prices in Malaysia, you add a zero behind if you’re comparing it in the Queen’s pound. Also factor in the recent depreciating Malaysian ringgit, and add on a couple more thousand ringgit after adding that zero. I was optimistic about it, then I thought, why should I? Wouldn’t personally fork out so much money for a vehicle anyway because half of that would be taken away to pay for things I probably wouldn’t ever enjoy. Economics 101 : Never ever do protectionist policy and free market is by far, the only solution to a strong and resilient economy in the long run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • safety 1st on Feb 08, 2017 at 11:59 am

applying your logic the 2016 sorento 2.2 diesel would have cost north of rm200k in the same league as land rover disco

• DonkeyKong on Feb 08, 2017 at 12:20 pm

What protectionist policy? Import taxes and sales taxes are protectionist? Looks like you don’t understand what a free market is. No nation in the world will consider a tax-free market as a “free market”. Free market is where demand determines supply, with or without taxes. If, despite the taxes, people are still rich enough to buy expensive cars, that’s still a free market at work.

Honda and Toyota B-segment cars are worth far less than their selling prices and yet they sell very well. With that kind of demand, the distributor has no reason to reduce prices despite minimal taxes applied on their CKD vehicles. There’s no protectionism at work. The demand is there, and therefore the prices remain. Similarly, if this CBU model comes in and is priced within spitting distance of entry-level CKD 3-series pricing, chances are it won’t sell and it has nothing to do with protectionism. Even if it sells far cheaper than a 3-series, the demand will still be low. Just look at the Volvo S60. Many factors are at play to determine the market demand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • Import taxes are a form of protection for local car manufacturers dude.

• duatiscrambler on Feb 08, 2017 at 5:57 pm

@DonkeyKong

The very definition of imposing an unconstitutional amount of taxes on foreign goods is one of the classic examples of protectionist policies. It seeks to protect the domestic, infant industry. In the short run it is a good thing as it provides employment and therefore reducing the negative spillover benefit of unemployment into the society, but in a long run, given the circumstances of P1 not being able to innovate and still sucking tax payers’ money to this day. With the negative implication in mind, you still wanna be a macai about black and white, proven economics theory mate? You can argue about Neo-Classical and Keynesian Theory with me, i would not mind. But trying to argue about Free-Market is equivalent to debating about Evolution theory -> Pointless.

Free Market by definition is an economic system by which there is “unrestricted competition” between private companies with minimal government intervention.. So that would be – all non-P1 and P2 manufacturers being able to sell their cars as intended alongside P1 and P2. A Toyota Camry would be sold for AUD2XXXX fully imported from the Geelong Factory, you would see Holden Commodores and Ford Falcons on our shores, roughly the same price, with YUUUUGE V8 engines. Lads in Borneo like me get to drive around in huge V8 utes or huge Murican trucks F150 murican’ style. That my friends is free market, whereby supply and demand fulfils one another. and of course, if P1 tried harder, they just might be churning out vehicles like the Koreans and Japanese. That’s the very basics of Economics 101 and Evolution 101 – survival of the fittest, the ones that confer the survival advantage stay. I habour no hatred for P1, but from pure economic sense, it just reduces the buying power of the rakyat, really, it’s all about money (finite resources) period.

• duatiscrambler on Feb 08, 2017 at 6:11 pm

@DonkeyKong

As i’ve said, the demand is also there. Economics concerns human behaviour and it is a social science.
          Scenario 1
          Let’s say i have extra cash (RM100,000) – Instead of a Toyota Camry, i have to settle for a Toyota Vios

Scenario 2
          Let’s say i want to buy a mid-size saloon to ferry my family around and i want a Toyota Camry. Instead of paying RM100,000 i have to pay eg. RM150,000.

Assumption here is that, all of these are CKD models. “No protectionism at work” yeah, i mean whatever floats your boat i guess. Google is just a click away, modern economics textbook have been around for decades. Maybe, just maybe you wanna take a trip down the memory lane eh? And bear in mind, Malaysia is a developing country and the GDP per capita is only 11000USD. It takes a couple of years of savings to buy a vehicle on average and in most instances people buy a car lump sum. Compare it to more developed country, on average it takes only a few months of savings to do the same thing. Price of goods in relation to income is another important factor and one of the most underrated factor. In Oz and US, an average dish is around 10AUD and 10USD respectively. As i’ve said many times already, that would be equivalent to us paying RM10 for 1 dish when we go out eating. The same goes to buying a car – instead of using 20000unit currency, we use 100000+ unit currency (and many many more 000s if necessary). I can’t believe i have to reduce and distill “purchasing power” down to this.

• A perfect example of Donkey Kong’s demand and supply. When toyota was snobbish with vios for many generations, they keep high price and continuous underspec it cuz foolish MY pipu still demands it.

Once MY pipu have been enlightened and stop buying vios, now toyota is throwing prices like nobodys business. Yet still can make profit.

So what u see is perfect example of free market at work. Kapish?

• safety 1st on Feb 08, 2017 at 7:05 pm

malaysian are generally brand snob…. look at how many entry level merc/bmw s on the road nowadays…doesnt matter how crappy the 1.5 turbo on the 316i is or how boring and dated the interior and the idrive are….as long as i get to drive the bmw hahaha

• Henry on Feb 08, 2017 at 10:28 pm

… and so many are recons.

• ducatiscrambler on Feb 09, 2017 at 7:46 am

My dad has the C200 Cgi previous gen with the 1.8L engine. The supercharged engine has so much usable torque that it can still outrun pretty most vehicles on Sarawakian roads. The car still rides well, firm but definitely not uncomfortable. That smooth revving inline-4 is more usable than Toyota’s camry hybrid system. The only caveat is that it only has 5 gears and on long distance it’s not that practical.

• I don’t see a lot of 316i or 318i on the road actually. And I reckon that u have never own or test drive a BMW or Benz before. Do not judge a car by it’s spec sheets. Drive it to feel the difference.
            BTW, malaysia’s car price is really sucks, 2nd most expensive in the world after Singapore if I’m not mistaken.

• Sgt Scoop on Feb 07, 2017 at 6:26 pm

The Koreans keep talking about elevating their brands. They are so desperate to ‘beat’ the Japanese. They should play to their strengths and keep providing great value for money. As soon as they price equivalent to the Japs, they can’t sell their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 45
    • You seems to have mistaken great value for money as being cheap. The Koreans are already considered as equal to the Japanese in many developed markets like the US and Europe. Their pricings in those markets reflect this fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Henry on Feb 08, 2017 at 11:45 am

Kia and Hyundai are top sellers Down Under.

• Yup and it’s not all just perception. Kia has already built a reputation for being reliable, pushing into the top ten ranking of most reliable cars in the US in a survey conducted by Consumer Reports last year and breathing down the neck of perennial champion of reliability, Lexus.

• Mr Piggy Paqi on Feb 07, 2017 at 11:30 pm

What ru poop talking about? Korean make are well known to most of the countries,winning many awards more than Japanese make itself.Hyundai Elantra was Car of the Year in USA beating famous Corolla.Just bcoz Malaysian sentiment towards brand image than value for money products,hence effecting their depreciate cost.Kia and Hyundai offered more perks with lower price than expensive empty boxes Toyota and Honda.Malaysian market is too small for these Korean to consider evaluate.They rather go for the masses,bigger and fair playground like USA,Russia and Latin America.Go to their premises there and see yourself the showroom and after sales equally awesome as the Japanese and continentals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • safety 1st on Feb 08, 2017 at 7:08 pm

true that, just look at the new hondas or toyotas.. i dont know who design them but they are just soo boring to look at… unlike the kia which have a european feel to it… inside out.

• Ji sung park on Feb 08, 2017 at 1:01 am

Nah.. japs car is outdated!
      Kia n hyundai will overtake toyota n honda very soon.. in 5 years time
      mark my word…

• Nelliel on Feb 09, 2017 at 11:57 am

I have seen such a comment 3-4 years ago… and yet… T is still the no. 1 maker for years… and why?

Fact is, when it comes to car, Malaysians have to adapt to the pricing… and pricing will also include GST, spare parts, mechanic’s fee etc etc etc. Bear in mind, cars in Malaysia is the 2nd most expensive in the world behind Singapore and yet, we earn a lot less and ‘we’ are about 90% of the whole population of Malaysia…

• Aikon on Feb 08, 2017 at 9:43 am

I beg to differ. If the Japanese stayed back as they were only offering budget cars like in the early years, they would never have been able to take on the Americans and Europeans. Today their cars are able to stand shoulder to shoulder with the western brands. If they stayed offering budget cars, Acura, Infinity and Lexus would have never be created. There would simply be no progress.

So, why should the Koreans remain as they are? Why shouldn’t they progress? Why shouldn’t they offer better value for money than the Japanese and still offering better products?

• car owner on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:02 pm

while I agree on car makers upping their game, I kind of need to say this:

Acura, Infiniti and Lexus were created in the US back then because the sentiment to Japanese cars were very poor. Importing also had very unfavourable taxes so setting up shop in the US was the best move.

• Not only the name, most likely the price will also “sting” you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Kodallu Konte on Feb 07, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Camry 2.5 Hybrid > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 76
  • Yes! Please bring it in Naza. I am a happy K5 owner for 4 years now. This will be the perfect upgrade, if the kit and pricing is right:
    2.0L, RWD, LSD, 18″ wheel, LED Headlamp, Smart Cruise, Premium Audio, quad exhaust, white pearl, under RM200K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • camtakpro on Feb 07, 2017 at 10:50 pm

Premium Audio? Wait until the HU end up China made and low res VGA like in Ioniq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Yea, finger crossed hoping not some China HU.
        My K5 comes with 8 Infinity Speakers including sub and JBL amp which I love it so much. Please kit the Stinger with something similar NKM…

• If priced at camry prices, it can sell. Otherwise….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • applegreen on Feb 08, 2017 at 9:20 am

Kia optima GT could be same price level as camry. However the Stinger most probably beyond rm200k mark

• Konpem nobody will buy then. Topup a bit more can get continentals, what more lexus/infinitis too.

• I think this car probably priced in the 200k mark or it can be more the 200k mark since it was a sports tourer premium sedan. Plus, this car is a RWD car and it has 2.0L turbocharged engine, and a 8-speed automatic transmission in it (for the entry-level variant).

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 07, 2017 at 7:01 pm

Hopefully the bodohs in Naza does not bring this car down and overprice it and charge something like RM200k.

Like the Kia Sorento, such a cheap car in overseas, but here, they charge a bomb. Don’t know how a Sorento costing only US$20k can come to Malaysia and charge nearly RM180k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
    • Dei. the 2.0 petrol is already around GBP30k. Convert here + tax is already over RM200k

• wendy on Feb 08, 2017 at 9:39 am

aiyoo.. like this also got meh? not only sorento la bro..all car is cheaper in US..duhhh…

• OH HECK YEAH! 255 PS/353 Nm or 370 PS/510 Nm? And carry 4 passengers at the same time?? AWESOME.

Depends on the pricing too of course.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 07, 2017 at 7:54 pm

Sure they can bring it in but their after sales service is not even on par with Honda what more competing with BMW or Mercedes. Naza KIA, you have a loooooong way to go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Arief on Feb 08, 2017 at 1:57 am

Im a k3 owner, and so far after 3 years, the after sales is at the best i can say… Once i have complained about a minor issue, just the auto side mirror sometimes a bit lag, not syncronize movement with the other side, guess what, the Naza Kia Setapak took the complain seriously and replace me a new side mirror.. Yes, straight out of box in front of me.. And any complain i have made so far, (mostly just to ask why this happened, and all of them are minor things) they entertained well and they fixed it as soon as possible..
      I dont know why once after using Kia, already fall in love with this brand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Moving Forward on Feb 08, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Second your thoughts from a proud Kia Picanto stick shift owner.

• hyundaikia on Feb 08, 2017 at 10:29 am

At least the Koreans are ahead of the upcoming copycat Chinese vehicles

• Darren CY on Feb 07, 2017 at 8:09 pm

Looking forward it appear at Msia…..

• Carbon on Feb 07, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Yes, I’m interested!

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 07, 2017 at 8:33 pm

Enough. I need to build my own car, no car satisfies me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Nice looking car except for that nose grill design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • The only logical pricing for this is somewhere around RM200k – 230k for the 2.0 Petrol. Thats around RM100k ish cheaper than it’s only competitor, the C300, since the 330i M Sport is no longer sold.

As for the V6, I don’t think it’ll be a seller here. I’m sure anyone would get that especially with the increasing fuel prices

• Dinesh Subramaniam on Feb 07, 2017 at 8:50 pm

Yes i would but they need to get the pricing right. If it is around the 3 series or a4 price people are still going to for the premium brands. The passat b8 is an example. i think they got a pricing wrong.

• Kuinosan on Feb 07, 2017 at 9:59 pm

Walked into a Kia showroom the other day to shop for a new car. Looked more like an abandoned warehouse with no sales advisor. Finally found someone to inquire about their Kia vehicles and asked why the dead like atmosphere? The sales person answered, ” I’m actually sent here from another branch to help man the showroom. All the existing sales execs here have resigned!!!” I walked straight out the showroom in fear that if I were to buy their cars, one day their service centers might close shop too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Aikon on Feb 08, 2017 at 10:59 am

Rationalisation of showrooms is very normal, not only for car companies but other businesses as well. Underperforming dealers who are terminated is also very normal. Don’t base your assumption on just one closed showroom. There are others that can probably serve the same location better.

• lalaland on Feb 08, 2017 at 11:44 pm

Kuinosan is jepunis car SA with empty showroom, that’s why have time to badmouth other brands

• Bernard on Feb 07, 2017 at 10:00 pm

They call it Stinger, looks sporty and powerful but automatic? Useless! At least provide paddle shifters lah!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • applegreen on Feb 08, 2017 at 11:37 am

of course this car has paddle shifters. Dont look to this car with one eye bro

• DonkeyKong on Feb 08, 2017 at 12:22 pm

If 99% of the market prefers auto transmission, why should a distributor take a risk and bring in manual models for a demographic that always claims to be manual purists but will never buy an expensive high-performance manual transmission car from this particular brand?

Businesses’ primary objective is to meet market needs and make a profit out of it, not to listen to some unprofitable fringe and spend unnecessary money and effort for no appreciable returns.

• Taufik on Feb 08, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Are you blind? Take a look at the steering wheel.

• Landed from space on Feb 07, 2017 at 10:52 pm

I am saving up for MK7 GTI facelift. If stinger makes it in time then i will which from vw to kia and save 50k+. Again….price must be right dude….and naza brush up on after sales service….

• Kia Fan on Feb 07, 2017 at 11:15 pm

Yes please

• Elchino on Feb 07, 2017 at 11:17 pm

If pricing is right, I m interested

• potato on Feb 08, 2017 at 12:07 am

No new car in Malaysia with over 200hp is under rm200k.

• Hayenadeblue on Feb 08, 2017 at 8:19 am

Hi Paultan.org. In this article u used PS. The other Kia article (Optima GT), u used hp. Aiseyman, standard kan lah.

• probably they pricing this at close to RM198k

• passion on Feb 08, 2017 at 9:33 am

YUM YUM.

• This look like fake or cheap China electronic product wrapped in beautiful cover.
    But underneath, its all rubbish materials.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 08, 2017 at 11:40 am

Looks great. But will have to wait for reviews to know how it goes. Of course pricing will not be cheap. The cheapest premium RWD sedan now is the 318i and it costs slightly over RM200k despite being locally assembled (and is EEV certified). It would be a stretch to expect the Stinger to be locally assembled here. The Hyundai Genesis was sold here (not sure if it’s still available here) for RM389k as a CBU, though it is a class higher (competes with the 5 Series and E Class). Must remember also that despite the Stinger is competing with the 3 Series, it is quite large in size – in between the F30 and new G30 5 Series. I wouldn’t be surprised if a CBU Stinger comes here at RM289k.

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 08, 2017 at 12:33 pm

Anyone remember Hyundai Coupe? How well did it do? Nobody wants to buy a second hand. Sorry to say Naza, this awesome car will not do well here in Boleh-Land. Those that can afford will rather buy a Mazda MX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Aikon on Feb 08, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Huh? That’s a completely different segment of car. Where is the relation? Do explain the logic pls…if you can

• I’ll consider the Stinger. A 3-4 year old one will full service records from Naza Malaysia that was a weekend car in 2020/21…. Now I wait…

• Faiz Roslan on Feb 08, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Meanwhile, Proton rebadge the old accord generation as their new Perdana.

• chinoy on Feb 10, 2017 at 3:09 am

kia.. u will never feel successful driving one no matter how fast or equipped it is then the likes of bmw or a mercs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7