RON 95 vs RON 97 fuel test with the Proton Saga – is the more expensive option better than the other?

It has been a challenging start to the year for Malaysians, with fuel prices going up in both January and February. As of now, a litre of RON 95 will cost you RM2.30, while it’s RM2.60 for RON97. Analysts are predicting that this gloomy trend will continue into the year, with further hikes expected to be announced in the coming months.

As with every increase in fuel prices, Malaysians will no doubt come up with creative methods or “wise tips” to ensure they minimise their fuel consumption. A more recent, and popular tip being passed around states that using the more expensive RON 97 petrol will provide better savings, as it is claimed to provide more efficient combustion.

However, is there any truth to such claims? Well, our colleagues (Farid and Durrani) from paultan.org/bm decided to perform a real world test together with other media members from the automotive segment of Buletin Utama, to see if there’s any truth to this theory.

Similar to our previous test (RON 95 vs RON 97), the team used two identical cars – a pair of Proton Saga sedans – to ensure it remains relevant to most Malaysian car owners who may not have the means of owning a more expensive car, and is likely more affected by fuel price hikes. Both Saga cars used here are the Premium CVT variant, powered by a 1.3 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine mated to a CVT.

The day before the test, both cars had their fuel tanks completely drained before being filled with petrol to ensure the cars’ ECU is adjusted automatically to the type of petrol (RON 95 or RON 97) that will be filled tomorrow. The grey car received RON 97, while the black one would represent RON 95.

To ensure maximum parity, the tyre pressure on both cars were adjusted to meet Proton’s specified amount of 220 kPA or 32 psi. Additionally, all cargo spaces in the cars were emptied out to ensure no excess weight tampered with the findings, and the air-conditioning settings were set to be identical as well.

On the day of the test, the team assembled at the Petronas station in Taman Tun Dr Ismail (TTDI), and filled both cars using the ‘three click’ method (wait until the pump nozzle stops automatically, repeat for three times).

After filling up the cars, the team departed at about 10am towards Kuala Lumpur to simulate the usual jam associated with driving in the city centre. The drive within the city covered a distance of about 30 km, where Farid and Durrani swapped cars at the 15 km mark to counteract the difference in driving styles. The position of both cars, whether it is the lead or follower, was also changed so any gains from ‘drafting’ is negated.

After the tour of KL, the team made their way to Hulu Yam via Gombak, followed by Batang Kali and Tanjung Malim, opting not to use the main highway and instead, use the old trunk roads. As before, driver changes took place (after 50 km) and the position of the lead car changed every 20 km.

From Tanjung Malim, the team then made the journey back to Petronas TTDI via the North-South Expressway (NSE), adopting the same driver and lead car swaps as mentioned. By the end of journey, the RON 95 Saga (black car) covered a distance of 171.4 km, while the RON 97 Saga (grey car) notched up 171.8 km, with an average distance 171.6 km between both cars.

Both cars were then refuelled using the same ‘three click’ method from the same pumps as in the morning, before any math can commence. The result, the RON 95 Saga used 11.701 litres, while the RON 97 Saga used 12.240 litres.

Crunching the numbers, the Saga that ran on RON 95 consumed 6.8 litres of fuel per 100 km (or 14.65 km/l), with the total refuelling cost amounting to RM26.91 or 15 sen per km.

Meanwhile, the RON 97 Saga recorded a fuel consumption of 7.1 litres per 100 km (or 14.04 km/l), costing RM31.82 in total or 18 sen per km. The conclusion from this test is using RON 95 is 3 sen per km cheaper compared to RON 97.

What about the other aspects? In terms of performance, the team did not notice any substantial differences while driving both Saga cars, including in terms of acceleration. This is pretty consistent with the English team’s test involving Volkswagen cars previously, which ended in similar fashion – cars with RON 97 used a little bit more fuel compared to RON 95-filled cars.

So, what is the technical explanation behind the results of this test? While most would believe that the fuel with the higher RON number is “cleaner,” and will burn more efficiently to produce a bigger bang, this isn’t the case.

RON or Research Octane Number is associated with the fuel’s resistance to detonating while under high compression, without any form of ignition (spark plug). The higher the RON number, the more compression the fuel can withstand before detonating.

Should the fuel detonate before it is fully compressed and ignited, this will cause pre-ignition followed by engine knocking. The disadvantages of this are engine damage, wastage of fuel, sub-optimum power output and higher maintenance costs.

Among the factors that can cause engine knocking are carbon deposits that accumulate in the engine, taking up space that is usually important for the fuel and air to mix properly. These deposits can raise the compression within the cylinder, which can cause pre-ignitiion and thus, knocking. A more obvious reason is using a low RON number fuel in engines that are designed for higher compression and require higher RON fuel.

For regular passenger cars, most engine have a relatively low compression ratio – in the case of the Saga, the 1.3 litre VVT engine has a ratio of 10.1:1. The usage of RON 95 will not result in any engine knocking, even if you used RON 97. It is always recommended to follow the factory-suggested fuel type for your engine, which should provide optimum levels of performance.

Consider this, if you’re working in an office and barely take part in any sporting activities, should you suddenly decide to eat like Usain Bolt, will the sudden change of diet immediately turn you into an Olympic sprinter? Not likely. Unlike a human being that can be trained to be one, you can’t force your car to continuously do sprints and one day hope it accelerates like a sports car, even with RON 100 but that’s a story for another day.

What type of engines have high compression? Normally, high-performance ones that are naturally-aspirated like the K20A DOHC i-VTEC from the Honda Civic Type R (FD2), which has a compression ratio of 11.7:1. Mazda’s SkyActiv-G engines are an example of high compression engines found in non-high-performance cars (14.0:1 in the Mazda 2), although they have been tuned to accept RON 95 and above fuel.

Another example are NA engines that have been modified by skimming the cylinder heads, which in turn provides a higher compression ratio – a common practice among car and motorcycle tuning garages. On the other hand, turbo- or supercharged engines have lower compression ratios (9.6:1 in the Volkswagen Golf GTI) as a higher compression ratio and boost from forced induction can shorten the life of the engine.

Most modern engines are equipped with a fuel injection system that come with sensors that are capable of detecting engine knocking, and can then adjust the engine’s spark ignition timing to “fix” the issue. In the process of doing so, the engine may not operate in the most optimum manner, which can result in power and efficiency losses.

Aside from this technical explanation, Mohamad Hafiz Abd Aziz, product technician at Petronas explained that there are plenty of factors that affect a car’s fuel consumption.

“To determine that fuel consumption of a vehicle, there are other factors that affect it aside from the type of petrol used. For example, the car’s engine management system, amount of weight carried, tyre pressure, traffic conditions and others. Generally, if we’re focusing on cost savings, I believe RON 95 has an advantage.

“The results obtained from the test of both Proton Saga 1.3L cars, with the difference of 3 sen per km between the unit using RON 95 and RON 97 is deemed as a normal reading and expected from both types of petrol,” he explained.

“On the assumption that using RON 97 will provide better driving performance and a further range, there is some truth to it. In terms of performance, certainly. However, looking at it from a cost standpoint based on the amount of ringgit spend per km, RON 95 would provide better savings to users, especially when the price difference is 30 sen per litre currently,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 13, 2017 at 11:52 am

Difference of 0.3L/100km or 4.2%. That’s less than a can of Coke. What is the margin of error? Is the 4.2% within this margin of error? Would be more significant if test was done over a longer period & distance. But I get your message. “Premium fuel does not give significant fuel saving”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 27
    • Why la so particular? Do it yourself then present as case studies. Trying to look like an expert.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 116
      • Bodoh on Feb 13, 2017 at 3:47 pm

He wasn’t trying to be an expert, all he did was recommended Paultan to use a longer period and distance to get more significant results. What’s wrong with that? And also, Do it yourself? There’s a reason why people read Paultan articles, for tests like these being one of them. Don’t make yourself look ridiculous.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 8
        • Look who’s talking! Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 79
          • Kunta Kinte on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Don’t talk abt Ron 95 or 97, our Ron 95 still Euro 2M and still very poisonous and toxic for the rakyat.

When are we getting clean Euro 5 Ron 95?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
        • oh bapak lu jawa on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Harga petrol dijangka akan naik lagi, ayuh beralih kepada pengangkutan awam.

Kita dapat menjimatkan perbelanjaan, mengurangkan kesesakan lalu lintas, penggunaan petrol, dan risiko kemalangan jalan raya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 30
          • Gibran Ilram on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:31 am

You are absolutely right. Dont see why you get so many thumbs down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Not Toyota Fan on Feb 13, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Any Science tertiary educated graduate would be able to do simple data analysis and have simple understanding of standard deviation, sample size and probability error. Science Masters & PhD graduates are indeed masters of the above if their thesis involves actual research over the period of their course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
        • Impressive. Maybe can start with confidence intervals and P value before we arrived at null hypothesis. To simplify things, after time consuming data collection and long list of parametric tests, the null hypothesis is wrong so we conclude that there’s no difference between ron 95 vs 97 as proven in the article above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
      • Nancy on Feb 13, 2017 at 8:12 pm

No need to be an expert la.. guys. It is common sense. Malaysian average are all fat comparing to our neighboring country. Wanna save fuel? Go & reduce ” lemak berlebihan” in your body. Don’t hate me because I am beautiful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
        • wyanne alexandar radiant on Mar 12, 2017 at 11:19 am

Beauty is not on d outside but also hold what inside same goes as fuel… if fuel $ keep rising (blame on our policy maker 4 downfall our own myr)while tech trying 2save fuel we back @ 2sq 1.beauty outside ugly inside.

• Same L0rr on Feb 13, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Oh My! cannot beat Daihatsu DVVT engine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Ex VGM staff on Feb 13, 2017 at 11:54 am

If the weather is relatively warm and you are running high performance engines (turbocharged or free revving VTEC) then you will appreciate the higher Ron petrol to prevent self ignite and knocking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Lembu Jinni on Feb 13, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Yes. Not forgetting to factor in the weather and ambient temperature which will affect the end results. Especially when your are stuck in jams during hot and humid day in downtown areas…

• Heng Lee on Feb 13, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Of cause you’ll need more petrol in jams during hot and humid day in downtown areas, as there are no jams in cold uphill areas.

• More expensive option?? Surely the current Gomen. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • eeeriz on Feb 13, 2017 at 11:57 am

Somehow i agreed with the test conducted. For travelling within the city, there are not much difference using ron95/97, in fact i noticed by using ron95, it is the better option, i guess. However for long highway usage, ron97 registered better consumption than ron95. I didn’t do any official testing but from Kerteh to KL, there are more than half fuel in my petrol tank, whilst using ron95, slightly over the last quarter of the tank. I’m driving the 1st generation CX-9 btw, and it does drink fuel too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Mikey on Feb 13, 2017 at 12:12 pm

For someone who drive a 3.7 liter V-6, am sure fuel consumption does not affect/concern U.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • I may not agree with you 100%..

Those of us who drive big cc cars would still be interested if something that makes scientific sense can offer lower fuel consumption. We just start from a higher benchmark.

I drive a 2GR-FE 3.5l V6 equiped SUV. She is a drinker for sure, but i do know this when i signed on the dotted line years back, and i have another 1000cc car as a daily driver to work.

• For a large displacement engine, I doubt the fuel efficiency for RON 95 vs RON 97 will be much. Higher octane numbers are more suited for high compression engines, which accrues better thermodynamic efficiency by virtue of more work done per volume of compression. So, what’s the benefit of RON 97 then? Well, in Western countries, higher octane numbers are added with much more additives to clean up deposits in the ICE. Petronas RON 97 also added a new anti-friction recipe, which explains the 30 cents difference. Which begs the question, is it worth it?

• sohhai on Feb 13, 2017 at 11:59 am

Should repeat the test with the grey car receiving RON 95, while the black one with RON 95. That will negate the car to car variation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Also to ensure both car tire pressure are consistent.

• agree. its p1 car summore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Agree. You never know maybe the black color consumes more petrol since it is darker. Lighter colored car might consume less petrol. Add TRD sticker and it will be faster than the m series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • oh mak lu cina on Feb 13, 2017 at 4:04 pm

A black car will always drink more fuel, due to the AC needing to work harder to cool the passenger compartment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • passion on Feb 13, 2017 at 12:00 pm

that settles it then. 95 is the way to go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Mikey on Feb 13, 2017 at 12:03 pm

So, the moral of the story is – Use Ron 95 to save your pocket. Thanks for running an article on fuel saving on a boring Monday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Zoom Zoom on Feb 13, 2017 at 12:11 pm

Yes not really diff in fuel consumption especially city drive. I pump 97 bcos the engine is much smoother, quieter & better power delivery to my civic turbo after several times testing with 95 vs 97.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
  • Proton Geli on Feb 13, 2017 at 12:32 pm

Want to save fuel? Get the Bezza instead. 20km per liter!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 431 Thumb down 47
    • voiddance on Feb 13, 2017 at 1:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 440
      • Proton Geli on Feb 13, 2017 at 2:34 pm

Hey plate bowl, I don’t reason to your reply or logic to your illogical personal attack dumb reply. I am giving an honest consumer advice related to the topic. Oh here’s another thing, Tesla sucks as it doesn’t have a long driving range. Grow up

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 248 Thumb down 21
        • voiddance on Feb 13, 2017 at 4:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 196
          • Gibran Ilram on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:42 am

I personally think Proton Geli’s message is stupid,silly and demeaning. With so many LIKES, Malaysians must indeed be stupid to support comments out of context and endorse downtrodding other brands.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 270
      • car owner on Feb 13, 2017 at 3:37 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 152
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 322
      • voiddance on Feb 13, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 222
    • P2 salesman has waaayyy too much time on their hands…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 111
    • wyanne alexandar radiant on Mar 12, 2017 at 12:05 pm

Buy manual alza and demak kapcai,6 people carrier way saving than a beeza.

• Daair on Feb 13, 2017 at 12:36 pm

My principle workshop service advisor suggested me to pump RON97 occasionally. Why? I had them changed the O2 sensor last month due to MIL alert. He said that the cleaner burning of RON97 could help reduce the accumulated dirt on the sensor probe. Is this true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • thefact on Feb 13, 2017 at 1:23 pm

the fact is, your engine is probably tune to Euro 4 or higher..so the Euro 4M in Malaysia is also Ron 97.

What helps for your car is the Euro 4m standard, not the RON 97. cause Ron 95 u can get all the way to Euro 6 as well in international markets.

• Yup….Euro 2 aka RON 95 has 500 ppm of sulfur versus Euro 4M aka RON 97 with 50 ppm.

• Daair on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:39 pm

So what is the conclusion. Will that helps extend the life span of the O2 sensor?
      My car manual suggested RON92 and above. Optimum is RON95, when using RON92, engine will adjust by itself and will compromise the performance.

• O2 sensor. Interesting topic. Without knowing what car you drive ( whether its a recon model or local model ) and your mileage, its hard to make a good recommendation. Is your car consuming engine oil?

Assuming its like most cars i know, O2 sensors can last >100000km, although some manufacturers do recommend them to be changed out at 100000km.

Assuming it can last 100000k, and using low sulphur fuel can extend its life by another 100000k ( a gross assumption but we need to start somewhere ) , you need to figure out the cost of o2 sensor vs additional cost of Ron97 over that period of time.

I just changed out the O2 sensor of my car myself at RM650 last year. Car milleage was 120000km. Do the math for your car. I know for my car, its cheaper to change the O2 sensor than run RON97 over 100000km.

Peace out man.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 13, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Just curious, read before that an engine that usually runs RON95 will need time to adjust if you suddenly change to RON97, especially since some old 95 is still in the tank. So maybe the 97 usage has not yet been maximised? Does anybody know if this is true? Having said that, the tanks were completely emptied, so no chance of a bit of 95 mixed with the 97.

• Lembu Jinni on Feb 13, 2017 at 12:56 pm

How about resetting the ecu?

• Yes, I’m not implying anything but how fast can an ECU adapt to the switch?
      Say both Sagas ran on Ron95 before this test was carried out. the grey Saga should have at least ran on Ron97 for a period of time to ensure it’s ECU has been optimized for the said fuel. Doing so would have totally generated a more solid conclusion, PT.
      I drive a 1.3 Saga on the same route everyday and i find that it is the second fill that would generate a conclusive result.

• Ex VGM staff on Feb 13, 2017 at 1:57 pm

How fast? The ECU will know when it senses too much knocking. It will start to adjust timing, normally retard and advance as required.

• kzm (Member) on Feb 13, 2017 at 2:41 pm

does it matter? both car still new anyway.

• Heng Lee on Feb 13, 2017 at 3:49 pm

‘but how fast can an ECU adapt to the switch?’

The cycle time of a ECU is 20µs max.

• System Error Message on Dec 29, 2017 at 10:24 pm

Read, the fuel system was bled of existing fuel before fuel was added. Cars dont need time to adjust as the ECU sees the difference in real time. For instance, lack of air flow will cause the engine to restrict fuel input to avoid a rich/lean fuel mixture and maintain that same compression ration of fuel to air.

• Saudi Aramco on Feb 13, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Please do a real world fuel test comparison ie. petronas vs shell vs petron vs bhp vs caltex. Which fuel gives us more cost saving or performance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • Wait a minute, wasnt this comparison done by PT before?

• Using turbocharged VW cars. Some ppl claimed the test was misleading etc. Bla3

• But tebo or non tebo, results shud be no diff from above. Otherwise pipu will demand test for MPVs, SUV, trucks, kapcais, scooters, speedboats, tongkangs, etc…

• UMW TOYOTA on Feb 13, 2017 at 1:13 pm

im using ron100 for my prius 1.8..although not so many different in performance and fuel saving..but i only pump 1times full ron100 in 1month..compare to others if 4times pump ron100 per month..sure pokkai already..just like kappchai..ron95 full and ron97 full..just add on rm1~2 only..why not go premium fuel..go ron95 and let someone earn more only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • city lah on Feb 13, 2017 at 1:31 pm

I personal try 2 Honda City with my wife and mine , 2010 ivtec 5speed and 2014 ivtec CVT (exiting model) , use RON97 you can feel pick up good and engine sound smooth , diffence is consumption about for cost extra about 5% +/- .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • The results are proven to be similar for many types of cars. There is no point continue testing

• Ollie on Feb 13, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Agreed. Not sure why so many people are so keen to try to dispute the results. Must be the people who tell everyone who cares to listen that they use RON97 because they can afford it, better economy, cleaner, faster.. blah blah like the guy in the video.. hahahaha

• Jeffrey on Feb 13, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Would be more interesting if compare with Ron100 from Petron. That claims to be Euro4M compliance petrol. Then we can show government it is time to change for leaner fuel.

• thefact on Feb 13, 2017 at 2:05 pm

if your car is tuned to Euro 4 and above, the Euro 4M 97 will help. cause the Euro 4M standard fuel is cleaner and more efficient for the cars tuned to Euro 4 and above.

this 95 vs 97 is almost negligible because the Euro standards is different in both.

• The sulfur content in Euro 2 (RON 95) is about 500 ppm while Euro 4 M (RON 97) is about 50 ppm. Besides being a cleaner fuel for the environment, it also means less problems to your ICE in the long run.

• Bro… 1.3 litre engine on the test again…
    We seen testdrive video in uk they test the petrol consumption on 3 different car… Low end, mid end and sports engine… The low end engine (1.2litre) are better in lower RON. But mid end engine shows both are almost same (high octane will give better petrol efficient) and sports car engine will consume more low octane petrol and produce lower engine output.
    Last time there is a girl talk about how stupid for malaysian to use ron97… When she get backfired, she use her 1.3 litre myvi for the test… She bragged about the ron95 efficient… But she dont know that there are more engine type and size… Next time dont do only one car… Do it on 1.8 and 2.4litre cars too… The difference are there… Try vpower max too…

• Ben Yap on Feb 13, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Hybrid is the best la…

• cendol (Member) on Feb 13, 2017 at 2:57 pm

Our cars are designed to run even on RON91.

Government should provide that option.

• shaunD on Feb 13, 2017 at 3:31 pm

can somebody enlighten me on what is ‘three click’ method (wait until the pump nozzle stops automatically, repeat for three times)?

i know it’s explained there. but more explanations. the merit of it, and how to do it (i scared to do until more than a click, or it’ll tumpah la, no?)

• Sub_zero on Feb 13, 2017 at 6:08 pm

3 click means after fuel in your tank settle (no longer being in pumped state)

For example

When you fill your water into small cup you will stop until the water settle itself then you fill until reach the tip or the cup is full

So imagine this but 3 time

• pakai Ron 97 kat kereta macam saga memang ah takde beza. Cuba pakai Ron 97 kat keta yg pakai enjin moden macam Merc C Class atau BMW F30, paling korok pun Mazda 3 la baru ada hasil. Pakai Ron 97 kat Saga, sapa la gila nak pakai Ron 97 kat saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Michael J. Bong on Feb 13, 2017 at 6:30 pm

there’s no controlled subject in this test. if both cars ran the same 95 fuel using the same routes and test method, will they return identical fuel consumption readings? better still, if PT crews introduce a 3rd and 4th saga as controlled subjects, will it return the identical consumption? I’m just guessing. good effort by the way. keep it up.

• IdidntWinSoIstillUseOldSaga on Feb 13, 2017 at 6:30 pm

Maybe the “myth” only apply to older cars? Like my 1985 carb Saga, the car feels smoother and slightly better response when using 97 but then again, all depends on the driver

• azmio on Feb 13, 2017 at 6:45 pm

If the charge ignites before the spark ignites, it wont cause pre ignition. Pre ignition is normally caused by hot spots inside the combustion chamber.

Engine knock happens when the end gas inside combustion chamber is ignited before the flame ignited by the spark plug reaches the end gas, this causes high amount of heat the can be destructive to the combustion chamber.

The best way to get the benefit of RON 97 is to use it on engines in which the manual recommends the use of RON 97. If the owner manual recommends the use of RON 95, using RON 97 can cause incomplete burning that can be detrimental to the fuel consumption.

However, there is some exception to this rule and we can try it ourselves; when the ambient and road temperature is really high, using RON 97 for RON 95 engines can be advantageous in terms of engine performance and fuel consumption.

• ccy7218 on Feb 13, 2017 at 8:13 pm

You gotta fill up ron 97 for a few times to clean the engine b4 conduct the test… If fill up one time as per test of course you can’t get the correct results! Just my 2 cent! Tq…

• landan on Feb 13, 2017 at 9:56 pm

Good job paultan. Although test have been done b4 using vw cars. People still belived otherwise. Hopefully people now understand the thruth after this test result. Apreciate if you could do similar test between euro 5 diesel and euro 2 diesel. I been using euro 5 diesel since it was introduced and hope you could prove whether I have made the right choice.

• Jack it up on Feb 14, 2017 at 1:58 am

Need to swap cars/petrol type and do the test again to get a proper result. This will eliminate the cars inherent characteristics.

• Ollie on Feb 14, 2017 at 5:52 pm

The test is fair la come on…….

Proven you all are wasting your money on RON 97

Don’t be shy la, just admit if wrong.. don’t seek illogical explanation or say the test is wrong – its perfectly as per real driving conditions and done over a long distance reducing risk of false reading. enough is enough

• SaveTheEarth on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:13 pm

Try it out with some advance engine. At least I think should test out Honda City, Toyota Camry, BMW E60, BMW F10, Audi and Merz E250 to tell the different. Proton Engine old technology how of course use RON95, since the engine not efficient how to tell with higher RON. An article should good enough to tell the different.

• Levin on Feb 16, 2017 at 1:04 pm

This myth has been debunked many times before, using premium fuel will never improve fuel consumption, period. And those boyracers/ahbengs with zero knowledge about the recommended fuel for their car especially those with small CC low compression naturally aspirated engines, you should also wake up and stop dreaming that you are gaining power (or going faster) by fueling up with RON97 or RON100. If you had pimped up your car with engine internal mods, or turbo/SC, then that’s fine…otherwise, you’re just wasting your money. Leave the premium fuel for cars that really need them, and this is for you EX5 kapchai bikers too.

• Okan turut berbangga kerana Malaysia mampu mengeluarkan kenderaannya sendiri dan berjaya di peringkat antarabangsa.

“Saya harap Malaysia terus berjaya dan saya meminta supaya kerajaan dan rakyat Turki terus menerus menyokong kenderaan ini,” katanya.

Manakala salah seorang peminat Proton dari Kuala Lumpur, Muhammad Harits Mukhni, 32, turut berharap Proton kembali masuk menerokai ke pasaran luar termasuk Turki dan Mesir kerana terdapat ramai peminat kereta jenama negara itu di sana.

Jelasnya, sebagai rakyat Malaysia dia mahu Proton terus merintis jalan kejayaan seperti mana jenama kereta luar negara seperti Kia dan Hyundai yang kini menjadi salah satu gergasi permotoran dunia.

“Dengan adanya peminat Proton di luar negara, saya percaya ia mampu berjaya di pasaran antarabangsa.

“Sudah 32 tahun Proton bertapak dalam industri permotoran dan saya teringin melihat Proton memegang pasaran besar di luar negara,” katanya.

• Kheng Hong on May 25, 2017 at 10:31 am

wtf, have u tried shell 95 and v power 97? u only tried petronas? with 1 petron car? hw about vios? c200? passat? myvi? if u wan test, pls test all the way! only petronas? how about BHP? caltex? petron? only pump once? pump 3 times and test again.

• KAMSANI B KAMBARI on Oct 25, 2017 at 8:50 am

Comparing the fuel consumption and fuel cost per km is providing good information to car owners. The owners will decide which fuel is suiting them. However, it is necessary to extend the test variables such as in different engine capacity, fuel from different brands, turbo/non turbo, and so on.

How about consumption data versus performance such as power, torque and combustion efficiency?

• System Error Message on Dec 29, 2017 at 10:16 pm

so many comments not getting the point. This is a good article only not mentioning how many times was the loop done. The test is scientific (assuming the loop was done a few times).

The only difference between RON 05 and 07 is the anti knock index. Both have the same concentration of sulphur and other toxins. Using premium fuel does not make your combustion cleaner, it does not contain additives, it does not make your engine last longer. Its the same with diesel, euro diesel may be purer but still contains the same impurities as regular diesel and does not provide any additional benefit.

Heres something to consider, All modern engines are direct injected, the amount of fuel used is determined by how much you press the pedal and not by the engine rev. For instance in the honda city i get 20km per liter of fuel on average on faster roads, above 10km per liter in the city simply due to the way i drive and having to accommodate for the bad driving of others. I also use RON 95. By global standards, the proton saga is highly inefficient.

• Dalbinder on Aug 13, 2018 at 2:39 pm

wait until the pump nozzle stops automatically, repeat for three times

Is it safe to do so? Fuel will not overflow out?

• Kee zain kee yusop on Dec 17, 2019 at 2:35 pm

Im refering to saga flx..
    Whats the mileage like on a full tank for this model.. Anyone pls.. And i was ask to change the gearbox fo every 36 month.. Is this releven???