Mazda MX-5 RF in Malaysia – 2.0L, auto and manual

Surprise, surprise! The all-new Mazda MX-5 RF has landed on Malaysian shores, with this particular unit being spotted at Mazda Malaysia’s Glenmarie showroom. The arrival of the retractable fastback has been heralded for some time, with Mazda Malaysia confirming its arrival since July last year.

The RF defers from its soft-top sibling most noticeably by its folding metal hardtop, which can be tucked away or put up in a few seconds, by simply interacting with a toggle just below the air-con controls. This eliminates any need for manual labour, and will work at speeds of up to 10 km/h.

To accommodate the new roof design, the RF gets new rear pillars, a stowable mid-section for said roof as well as a more upright rear window to provide a more fastback look. The rest of the car remains unchanged from the soft-top, including the boot space of 130 litres, if that’s relevant.

The car seen here, unlike the one that was revealed in New York, isn’t finished in the carmaker’s new Machine Grey premium body colour, but instead gets the brand’s familiar Soul Red paintjob. Not that it matters as it is still quite the looker, at least to this writer’s eyes.

Under the hood, the RF gets the same 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder SkyActiv-G petrol engine (158 hp/200 Nm) as the soft-top roadster. The mill in this instance is mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-MT manual transmission, something that driving purists in the country will most definitely welcome. Those who still want the six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic will still be able to order the RF with said transmission, although it will cost more.

The equipment list is similar to the roadster, with adaptive LED headlights, LED daytime running lights, 17-inch wheels, keyless entry and start, automatic air-con, cruise control, MZD Connect infotainment system, seven-inch touchscreen and nine-speaker Bose sound system coming as standard.

We’ve been told by Bermaz personnel that the automatic RF will be tentatively priced at RM250k (manual should be less), with an official launch scheduled to take place in April or May this year. As a comparison, the soft-top retails for RM219,999 in Malaysia. Interested? Well, bookings are now open for the RF with either transmission. You can get best offers for the Mazda MX-5 on CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:25 pm

that lovely manuel gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Guess what on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:27 pm

Top up 20k for brand new Audi TT.
      240HP vs 158HP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Well it werent the same to compare.
        If you hairstylist and sissy, then yes go for TT.
        Why not go for 2008 M10 if you want HP.
        Ridiculous comparison right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:17 pm

lol whut fwd soulless car TT, don insult the mazda la pls

• Johnson Amigo on Feb 17, 2017 at 9:57 am

absolutely underpowered for the money here!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • JB_KIA on Feb 18, 2017 at 11:30 am

UK price is 50% lesser…

• absolutely sensational….
    how many kids i need to traffic to afford dis thing….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • Mikey on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Its a sedan, NO. Its a coupe, NO. Its not ANY Coupe, its a MX-5. That is why U have cough out RM230k to own the BEST MX-5. It comes with a retractable fastback(RF) folding metal hardtop.

Petrol heads will love this bcos it comes with 6-speed manual. Sadly, I can only see & cannot own one bcos it is out of my reach.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Madness. Since when Malaysians have to pay Audi prices for a Mazda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 15
    • Facts on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:58 pm

Mazda is a premium brand dude..deal with it..they always have been a notch higher than the other japanese brands …. they lowered their prices to chase volume the last 10 years but that high volume target base usually sticks to t,H, N and VW because that’s what their daddy and granpa had and it hurt the Mazda brand …….so now they are moving back to where they really belong..entry level premium..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 42
      • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Feb 16, 2017 at 5:40 pm

I think you or Mazda shok sendiri. I’ve been to many markets, it is about the same as Honda, Toyota, Volkswagen or Nissan. Just because it sells small number of units or consider itself niche, it doesn’t mean it is premium just because they can’t compete with the rest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 59
      • Godcar on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Mazda is premium brand…. Hahahahhaaha

Hahahahahahaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
      • Bring The Pain on Feb 16, 2017 at 9:48 pm

Do you even know what you are yapping about??

MX-5’s have ALWAYS been affordable and sold in the same price bracket as their Mazda 3’s (C-segment). That’s why it is one of the best selling sports car in the world despite being a relatively new model.

This is simply Bermaz trying to do some weird segmentation on the MX-5 in Malaysia..

• LaLaland on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:51 pm

Both sides have a point. Mazda is a premium brand. Their cars are better engineered than the ones you names and are better built. But they price. that they are asking here is a bit too high to justify but that’s due to the exchange rate. But he is right, they are not chasing volume anymore and willing to take a hit on numbers to align their brand towards a higher segment. The market will decide. Our market is insignificant anyway. Those that buy this cars buy it because they want it, not because of a massive discount or because of spare parts price and RV. You can butthurt but deep down u know mazda is one step higher than the other japs. Even subaru is aligning for this segment.

• Bring The Pain on Feb 18, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Nothing to do with exchange rates and I am definitely not butthurt.

Like I said, this is sold at same price as Mazda 3 everywhere else in the world. So, you will need to absolutely LOVE this car to buy it in Malaysia.

Mazda is a slightly more premium Japanese brand. That does not make them premium, like what he said.

• A convertible function in Msia usually adds RM50K or more.
          But yes, don’t see why it should be 230-250K range.
          Ridiculous.

• Ah Kow on Feb 16, 2017 at 4:54 pm

Brand new Audi TT priced at RM287k. With 230HP/370NM

Mazda oh Mazda……158HP/200NM? Nahhhhhhhhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • You don't know what you're talking about on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Higher hp and torque doesn’t equal higher fun.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:19 pm

audi is just an expensive vw

• andrw on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:48 pm

cars in malaysia is so expensive! even to be compared with singapore! mazda is getting so ambitious with their price. not even a premium brand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • u sure singapore cars r cheaper? or u wanna give me that dollar to dollar crap again? my fren just got a new audi tt in singapore. basic model rm600k++ for an audi tt dude. how much is it in malaysia for a brand new audi tt ? 300k ?

• Bashers conveniently “mudah lupa” about COE, VAT, & ERP (they comes in 3 letters doesnt it? Lol!)

• andrw on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:19 pm

a 2.0l mazda 3 is about SGD 110-120k with COE in SG. and tell me, how much does ours cost in MY ? not to mention singaporean earn more than malaysian.

• noname on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:08 pm

andrw is arguing about the sales margin Bermaz is getting.
        Why are you dragging in the final price with COE+ARF+Sales Tax which all goes to the govt into the picture? FYI, OMV of base AudiTT is only SDG50k.

Dollar to dollar ain’t crap. A senior engineer earning RM10k here could earn the same SDG10k over there. Hence the affordability over there is obviously higher.

• Thats becoz of Bermaz. If they wanna greedy and pipu still buy so why complain?

• sakit kepala ka est250k on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:50 pm

bermaz lu you sendiri syok la
    better pay for new bmw 118i m sport/330e sport for that price is just my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Moving Forward on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:56 pm

Wondering which one is more fun to drive? MX5 or 86?

• Sure or not on Feb 16, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Fairlady z. Wrx. Both mx5 n 86 underpower.

• Mikey on Feb 16, 2017 at 5:26 pm

I suggest U buy both if U have the doe. That way, U get 2 enjoy the driving & I will be looking forward 2 your feedback after one yr.

If U decide 2 sell one, I may be able 2 buy a second hand by then. The Best part is, U get to keep the Best car while I don’t mind getting the second Best. Win win ma Yes or not. Cheers …

• Both have their own characteristics. The boxer engine 86 should be smoother to rev and better handling as you can mount the engine lower to achieve lower center of gravity.

• Henry on Feb 16, 2017 at 9:08 pm

It is a tough decision but I will probably buy the T86.

• MX-5.

• Godzilla GTR > all

• lao yee on Feb 16, 2017 at 4:33 pm

Looks like from the 80s.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Wow top dollar for what foreigners call an entry level sportscar.

• Jay Law on Feb 16, 2017 at 5:19 pm

a VERY black interior

• If i add 20k more then i can purchase the Audi TT. I think that looks much better and probably drives better as well. Thats my personal opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • appearance wise, previous model (soft top) looks better, this RF looks ugly with its fat ass !!

• Mr. H on Feb 16, 2017 at 6:48 pm

One of my dream car…mazda with its kodo design thingy really making it one of the most desirable brand…but this mx5 look abit like catfish or is it just me…don’t get me wrong – it’s a sexy catfish…

• Mazda really don’t understand what a MX-5 is all about.

Good job bringing in the manual, but what I want is the soft manual top. What miata is about is simple driving pleasure. With that, a manual ND miata with soft manual roof is the essence of what British sports car motoring is all about. Its not meant to be a luxury cruiser, so don’t try to be one.

My money is still ready for a manual ND with manual soft top. Ok with 2.0 but would prefer the 1.5liter Skyactiv model. Mazda Malaysia CEO used to say that he doesn’t understand why would anybody want a manual MX-5 in one of the old Paultan.org article. He is obviously lost. The NC was brought in with Power Retractable Hard Top. You see my point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Mazda on Feb 17, 2017 at 8:07 am

I bet you still won’t buy one if Bermas bring in a soft top…or you can’t afford to get one and only finding excuses or flaw of the car!

Hardtop is much more suited for Malaysia weather!

• Are you NATO? on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:38 pm

So, I assume you have already bought a soft-top unit, since it’s been here in Malaysia for a few years. Not yet? Then you’re just bashing for bashing’s sake.

• Regardless, i am waiting for the manual with soft top. Still do.

I don’t have to show you how much money i have.

• Bernard on Feb 16, 2017 at 7:10 pm

If less than 50k, maybe? After all this is regarded as a cheap affordable roadster in the west….most are able to buy. Here to buy it, need to sell kidneys!

• takNakP1 on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:24 pm

cheap & affordable in the west.
      boleh land become “cheap” & luxury

• 179K for manual and 199K for auto might be more reasonable price point, no need to hit 200K mark la Bermaz.

AudiTT fans don’t compare as this is convertible.

Hopefully can afford a used one 5 years later.

• omg…it looks like a k-car now…proportionately is wrong…prefer the roadster look somehow

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:00 am

absolutely wrong pricing. Seeing MX-5 on the road is harder than seeing Aventardor. Good luck Bermaz

• W204 C63 AMG on Feb 17, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Living in the wrong neighborhood. Come to bangsar, you will spot my wife driving one in soul red LOL.

• It is really nice car. Not Mazda fault, they make nice car. Blame others for the high price. Whoever or whatever.

• Tohoi kedai tofu on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:16 pm

To those who compared this mx5 to other higher hp cars, u need to understand that it takes a skill to drive this car.. not a flashy bling for you to parade it infront of ur hommies. Its a fun car to drive. FR FTW!!!

• Sub_zero on Feb 18, 2017 at 1:48 am

Finally Mazda got some balls bringing the miata with manual include here

Also got balls to price it that high, probably cbu unit?

Pretty much gonna test drive one soon

• Guys, did anyone try to test drive? They’re asking for a rm2k ‘booking fee’ before they let you try the soft top. RF version not available for test as not launched yet. Wtf Mazda?

• pemalu on Feb 19, 2017 at 3:14 pm

buy a mazda its actually a ford,buy a ford its actually is a mazda