Motorcycle taxis are a step backward for Malaysia, proper public transport more important – minister

Allowing motorcycles to be used as public transport (taxis) like in other southeast Asian countries is a step backward for Malaysia. This comes from deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi in a report by The Malay Mail recently.

The minister stated that two-wheeled public transport like those found in Thailand and Indonesia would hinder Malaysia’s plans to be modern. “We don’t want to go backwards like Jakarta or Bangkok. We want to be an advanced country like in Singapore and London with proper public transport,” he said.

“We don’t want to be a substandard city like in Jakarta, Indonesia that relies on motorcycles as a mode of public transport. We don’t want Kuala Lumpur to go backwards, we want to be on par with Singapore and London,” he added.

Commenting on Dego Ride, a local company that offers motorcycle taxis in the Klang Valley region, Ab Aziz stated that motorcycles are too dangerous to be used as public transport. “We have never allowed for motorcycles to be a taxi service. This is because of safety reasons, there are a lot of factors that can be dangerous,” he said.

Ab Aziz also said the Road Transport Department will act against Dego if the company continues to offer its services, adding that motorcycles are only meant to be used as private vehicles and cannot operate as taxis. Recently, transport minister Liow Tiong Lai announced that the motorcycle taxi service will not be legalised in Malaysia.

As an alternative, the deputy transport minister suggested a change of direction for Dego by providing a mini-taxi service instead, with cars that have an engine capacity below 1,500 cc. “There is no room for motorcycles but we have already allowed low-powered cars to operate as taxis. Instead of a motorcycle taxi service you can embark on a mini taxi service. A small car is okay but motorcycles are dangerous,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• kapchai on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:05 am

Might as well ban motorcycles in Malaysia since they are considered “backwards”. Then we will be on par with Singapore and London

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 20
    • fukifuki on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:13 am

Ban motorcycles? Are you kidding me? Since when Singapore or London doesnt have motorcycles? With your comment, I bet you never been to these countries before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
    • I guess you never been to Singapore. Their motorbike cheaper than Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Singapore motorcycle is cheaper than Malaysia?

In very luxury segment maybe. But i guess you dont know Singapore has Vehicle Ownership Certificate for motorcycle as well. This Certificate easily cost SGD3k, about RM9k. Most normal motocycle in Malaysia cost around RM5k?

For luxury motorcycle the value of COE for motorcycle is less significant

• Ah Kow on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:46 pm

Netherlands banning petrol cars in 2025.
      Thats what I would call a “GOOD GOMEN”
      Care for their rakyat as well as the environment.

Not like us,
      Got profit,then no ban
      No money, then ban.
      regardless of the benefit of the rakyat and environment….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Comment on being backward doesn’t make sense at all. Is just a mode of another transport. However having it as share ride is definitely a no no thing in Malaysia with the statistics of accidents involving motorcyclist is still in high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • lilytan on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:24 am

Dego is the perfect alternative for the budget conscious. Citing safety as the reason to ban is a bit absurd since we still have trishaw and bikes on the public road. Perhaps they would just wanna protect their oober investment. Too bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
  • Ah Kow on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:35 am

Ministers brain also “a step backwards” for Malaysia (actually many many steps backwards).
    Malaysia could have been a much more beautiful place to live in….really~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • Dego is only gud in short term. PM is correct that we must focus on proper public transportation (MRTs, LRTs, BRTs, monorails, buses). Private vehicle hires (Dego, Grabuber, etc) only slightly reduces cost and carbon footprint to move mass public, in long run still pollutes environment (esp Dego motors).

Acquiescence to Grabuber is a business decision. Eventually Gov will make it unviable when his masterplan for public transport is completed.

Remember, electric trains pollutes less than cars or bikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Correct john. Hope race track development in Sungai Petani to complete early.

• Well, we can hope it completes on time. But that is not PM purview, it wud be the state oversee. I have hope the current MB is better than previous MB tourist.

• Silthice on Feb 16, 2017 at 1:26 pm

I hope those proper public transportation made it throughout the nation especially Sabah, Sarawak & rural area. Don’t just focus on Klang Valley.

• Sooner or later it will come but need to get ROI in cities 1st. Alredi revamp is happening in KV, Png, JB, Kuantan. It will take time to expand to kampung. Pls be patient.

• Mikey on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:52 am

Just bcos U are the transport minister does NOT give U the right to say – “Motorcycle taxis are a step backward for Malaysia”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Bernard on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:03 am

Isn’t Jakarta and Bangkok more modern than KL? Will we ever be like Singapore or London? That isn’t possible…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Hate idiot on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:13 pm

Idiot. Looks like you never been to Bangkok and Jakarta. Somemore can comment like that… chitt

• Hi minister, services like this appear because we don’t have proper public transport to begin with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • komarad on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:17 am

max just 3 km what…

• Hot dog on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:24 am

I saw a lot goreng pisang , burger stall side the road ! … You said you want to be like London and Singapore , are you meaning tat ban them oso ??? Pls lah …use your brain !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • I see Jakarta and Bangkok are more like a big city. If don’t have a good city planning, good roads,good public transport, we just looks like standstill. London and Singapore ride more bicycles. Considered that ‘backwards’? No harm to give another more option to public.

• I’m not with Dego, nor I’m with the government. If the government states like that, then might as well we ban trishaw. I totally understand if it is in regards of safety, but going backwards is just utterly stupid. Might as well they should be disgrace on the RM, its going backwards right.

• Andrekua on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:35 am

Japan probably had more bicycle than car… what’s your opinion on that, dear beloved cgpa3.5 minister?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • But they have less motor than bikes. What say u Mr CGPA 3.85?

• Andrekua on Feb 17, 2017 at 8:19 pm

That’s just an example that cheap transportation is not going backward. Why don’t you goggled the amount of scooters sold in Taiwan? Public transportation is good, provided you managed to pull it off. When you fail like our minister, just shut up and stop discriminating. After all, not everyone is getting 5 figures salary while being a failure in their job.

• applegreen on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:39 am

Kalau wargakota naik Dego siapa nak naik LRT MRT? Menteri sangat suka tengok rakyat berhimpit dalam LRT macam sardin

• I don’t intend to insult anyone, but in reality, when you’re at waiting at the traffic light, how many motorbikes can you count running the red light?

When you drive on highway with dedicated motorcycle lane, how many times do you see motorcycle on lanes dedicated for cars?

When you’re driving down or up a ramp, how many times do you see motorcycle driving against traffic because the rider wants to take shortcut?

I have so many more questions, but the answer to all my questions are the same : too many!!

So, is motorcycle safe as a public transport? You all decide lah.

Cost saving, yes for the rider. But when accidents happen, it’s the taxpayers money being spent. Ambulance need to be dispatched. Police need to be dispatched. So, who’s losing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • lilytan on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:55 pm

Accidents and ride sharing is a totally different thing at all. There are plenty of car and bus accidents as well, so why not ban all of them as public transport? Rather than banning dego, perhaps regulating them is the better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Your argument too simplistic. Ta boleh pakai. Statistically motorcycle involves more in accident. Year after year. This is unbeatable truth. Even if all of them 100% follow the traffic rules, they are still prone to accidental injuries WHETHER it’s caused by them or not.

• Your argument is also half cook lah. How many times do you see cars driving against the law traffic law because of the bad attitude? Too Many lah Brother. Same Same. Sama Sama Hitam Lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Buses and cars offer better protection in the case of accident. Even they beat red light they have much less risky than motorcycle who follow rules

• Ollie on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:37 pm

You’re actually spot on.

The major thing: Regulations encourage motorcycle use because car prices are so high. Nothing wrong with that, bikes are better for environment, can be safe. But all our infrastructure is not built for bikes – at all! Highways, bike lanes are all too dangerous for bikes. But people have to buy bikes because cars are too expensive. So I blame the gommen.

• Leonardo on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:05 pm

For once, I agree with the Minister. Who is vetting the motorcycle ‘driver’? Potentially unsafe especially to women.
    Not to mention the high fatality rates among motorcyclist in Malaysia.
    Definitely a NO GO for this idea, IMO. Uber and Grabcar is safer and affordable too.

• RicoT on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:30 pm

My suggestion to the minister who make this statement, start using ERL and bus to work in Putrajaya, daily for one month. Let your minister car ferry anak2 yatim to cheer them up during this period. Then only we talk bah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Ah Kow on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Well in Malaysia, the safety issue is really a concern. Apart from road safety…..

Isn’t it kind of “haram” if a female uses Dego ride (regardless of the race)? Body contact will be made between passenger and rider.

Robbers can easily rob the Dego rider while sitting behind pointing a knife towards the rider.

This is Malaysia man…. look at all the robbery cases. I don’t think Dego will be a good idea in Malaysia IMHO.

• deego on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:53 pm

Dego? More like Go die

• KenJi on Feb 16, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Okay mr minister. U don`t want KL to be like Jakarta but don`t u realize that KL is going to become 2nd Jakarta? Full of Indon.

• If we want to be an advanced country, when why is that Euro 2 fuel still lingering around. Even Thailand and Philippines have mandatory Euro 4 fuel compliance. Why are we still so backward ?

The bike taxi is useful when the rapidkl trains or KTM ( keretapi terlambat Malaysia) spoil during rush hours to work. If you use a car , sure stuck at traffic jam. It is about convenience and lowering transportation cost for the lower income group.

• Bike taxi are only suitable for short distance last mile connection. Train are for long distance travel.If the train fail, take motorcycle taxi for more than 1 hour trip?

• Hate idiot on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:16 pm

Daily driving a nightmare in Malaysia. I swear I just hate motobike riders. They act like a total idiot zip zap like only they own the roads.

• backwards like Jakarta or Bangkok?
    this statement may be true in the 90s. but I won’t say that today. if not for the crude oil that we have, we will be far behind them by now.

the ministry please don’t give empty statement. if you can’t implement something better than the dego ride, than you should just stop giving the rakyat lips service only. the last I check, the ministry still stuck with elementary issues like fancy plates.