Tesla P100D – how it does 0-96 km/h in 2.28 seconds

Recently, a Tesla Model S P100D managed to set a 0-60 mph (0-96 km/h) acceleration time in just 2.28 seconds, which is by far a lot quicker than the 2.5 seconds claimed by the manufacturer.

That makes the Model S P100D the second quickest recorded 0-60 mph time of a road-legal production car ever recorded by an independent source, placing it ahead of the LaFerrari, Bugatti Veyron Super Sport and McLaren P1. Only the Porsche 918 Spyder is quicker at 2.2 seconds, a time set by Car and Driver.

To get a better understanding of just how the Tesla is capable of such a feat, Engineering Explained is on hand to provide you with a better understanding. There’s plenty of math and principles that Jason Fenske will explain here, so pay attention.

Additionally, he’ll even answer the question of: will the Tesla Roadster be even quicker if it had the same electric powertrain as the Model S P100D. If you want to know the science behind the performance of the electrifying sedan, do watch the video.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:57 am

Whilst the whole world is now talking about below 7 seconds, and now 2.28 seconds, our Protons still struggle to do 0 to 60 in 12 seconds.

Where is our Hybrid and EV? Whole world now doing hybrid and EV. Malaysia, we are left behind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • macai bodoh on Feb 16, 2017 at 2:11 pm

proto preve CFE and suprima S does 0 to 60 in under 10 second ..
      not all proton car need to have this kind of performance ..

• Wow you are so pandai comparing hybrid, ev with fuel cars

• komarad on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:04 pm

ok then….will it be cheaper than Ferrari??

• Ok, you can perform 0 to 100 in 1 sec, but no difference in kl ,same like your kancil when in jam.

• Yanti on Feb 16, 2017 at 2:18 pm

Memang tepat keputusan Kerajaan memberi lampu hijau untuk membenarkan pengimportan tanpa cukai 100 unit Tesla atas inisiatif GreenTech.
    Promosi berterusan penggunaannya untuk mengurangkan pencemaran karbon dan mewujudkan persekitaran yang lebih mampan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Mikey on Feb 16, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Ya ya ya. It can go fast & do it without breaking a sweat. The problem I can see is it is still beyond most M’sian.

I will support our P1 or P2 even if it takes 12.28 sec. Can P1/P2 make a small EV car 4 the Rakyat just like VW make their car for their country(Germany) & make a small sum as token.