Japan ready to make bid for KL-Singapore HSR project

Japan is set to make a bid to develop the KL-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR) link, and says it is ready to propose the country’s best high-speed rail technology, with financing and service to be part of the bidding process, The Sun reports.

The country, which is competing with China, South Korea and several European countries for the project, will be pitching its Shinkansen (bullet train). According to Japanese ambassador to Malaysia, Dr Makio Miyakawa, Japan is happy to offer Malaysia and Singapore the technology and service of the Shinkansen HSR network.

He added that Japan is willing to offer the best human resources development for Malaysia and Singapore. “We are happy to train the experts as well as conduct technology transfer of the same system used in Shinkansen to both Malaysia and Singapore. We are ready to offer the best data, proposal and option,” he told reporters at the launch of a Shinkansen exhibition in KL.

He said that the system was proven in terms of operational and safety aspects. “There are several merits and advantages that we can derive from Shinkansen, as there have been no fatal incidence throughout its 50 years of operation. The services provided by Shinkansen is reliable and efficient as the average delay time for it is merely one minute each year,” he explained.

Last December, Malaysia and Singapore signed a legally-binding bilateral agreement to facilitate the HSR project. Construction of the high-speed rail link is set to begin in 2018, with completion in 2025. It is scheduled to start operations in 2026.

The 350 km-long double-track route (335 km of which is in Malaysia, and 15 km in Singapore) will have eight stops in total – Singapore, Iskandar Puteri, Batu Pahat, Muar, Ayer Keroh, Seremban, Putrajaya and Kuala Lumpur. A bridge over the Straits of Johor – with a height clearance of 25 metres – will link the line between both countries.

Trains on the service are expected to run 10 car-long trains, with the capacity for up to 100 passengers per car. The trains are projected to run at average speeds of 300 km/h and bring down the rail travel time between KL and Singapore to 90 minutes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Shinkansen needs to be drastically cheaper to compete. Maybe can downspec previous gen trainset just to suit tropical weather (no snowplow, no in heating, simpler control systems, reduced hi-stressed materials for lower spec requirement, localised interior fittings, etc).

Or they can propose land development at some stations.

ToT is not a USP since all binders r expected to ensure local repairs/maintenance can be done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • Kim Jong Kardashian on Feb 17, 2017 at 3:58 pm

No need to compete la Abang Abe.You’re already losing the race without competion.Your Shinkansen is superb expensive.The terminal in Bandar Malaysia is 60% own by China and the money borrowed from China.What the heck a Japan train and track be build by Japan? You don’t help MO1 funding money but now begging for jobs provided by China.Go America and suck up Trump.No HSR in America don’t you know Abang Abe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 28
      • Just like Toyota cars, jepunis products most high quality & reliable guaranteed. So no problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Kunta Kinte on Feb 18, 2017 at 3:08 pm

Better for Malaysia to take Jap quality. Higher in price but safer and less accidents.

Even our RM55 billion ERL also, we are giving to China. The company CCCC is blacklisted and banned by World Bank for fraud and low quality as well as accident prone in all World Bank projects globally

Don’t you care for Malaysian lives? In the long run, Jap quality will have lesser accidents.

• Why is Trump sapoter manage to get a comment here?
        Anyways China trains have been more aggressive than Jepunis, even manage to beat them for a few rail projeks in Trumpland. Sushi overlords just dunno how to do business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Kelab Penyokong Kunta 2 on Feb 18, 2017 at 8:41 am

Then they should consult UMW in Malaysia, cause UMW are the pros when it comes to “downspec-ing” Japanese products.

• Mikey on Feb 17, 2017 at 3:16 pm

If Japanese want 2 make a bid, go ahead, the more the merrier. It will give our Gov a chance 2 say – Hey, we have at least 3 tenderer for the HSR project. Make sure it is transparent 4 all 2 see/view if U got nothing 2 hide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Nobody’s stopping SG from releasing details… if they choose to do so.

• Mikey on Feb 18, 2017 at 12:25 pm

john, U speak with fork tongue. U bash Volvo when in essence its own by China & now U are speaking good about the HSR project which is essentially bankrolled by the same Chinese.
        I know U are PM supporter but supporting blindly only show U are indeed BLIND.

• Sori, I dun selling “black ops” I onli selling Biza with special package. And I never said anything gud about CN just I welcomes ALL investment in ALL forms.

U can remove ur tinfoil helmet now.

• SG only doing their very short track on their land

• It will be SG pipu using this. For sure they dun wanna cheapen & endanger their citizens (or do they?)

• Reputation of Japan’s Shinkansen is second to none in terms of quality, safety and punctuality. And I would really love to see an E6 or N600 derivatives running across Melaka. But I don’t see a snowball chance in Hell we would refuse China’s offer for their HSR. Our diplomatic relationship with China closer than ever and not to mention most of our newer rolling stocks are Chinese.

There were rumores that the Singaporean were siding towards the Shinkansen but honestly even they are watched closely by Big Brother Mao on top.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • SG & CN relationship not so gud like MY. So SG might wanna kari favour points by oso agree to get CN trains. Of cuz, as usual, all blame goes to MY. Its a habit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Great reputation but expensive train fares even in Japan guys. Hopefully it will be cheaper here as our car taxes, highest in the world, insane petrol prices will burden millions of Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • I see that you never went to other countries. Although we have high car taxes, but it is counter balanced by the price of petrol. For example, New Zealand(i went there), they have low car tax, but super expensive petrol, like RM4-5(The price changes everyday) for Ron 91. Malaysia have ron 95 for the cheapest option and for them, they can even go and make a fountain out of ron 97 comparing their petrol price to us. So please have a more open mind and see how other countries are.

• demi kesejahteraan rakyat sejagat

• Jonn Dol on Feb 17, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Ultimately in this case, the most significant factor will be the price and you know which side has this advantage. Unless Japan is willing to absorb some chunks of the costs..

• It would make sense to expand the line to KLIA.

KLIA is a nice airport, but not being fully utilized…

• Maynard James Keenan on Feb 20, 2017 at 11:21 am

Why so excited about this? No matter where the technology is from, people won’t ride it as the fares will be more than Malindo’s tickets.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 21, 2017 at 8:49 pm

syok sendiri. everyone knows the deal is china’s.