Peugeot 208 GTi facelift now on sale in M’sia – RM144k

After previewing it at its Glenmarie showroom earlier in the week, Nasim has officially introduced the facelifted Peugeot 208 GTi in Malaysia. The pert hot hatch has been given a new look and a little bit of extra grunt, but has seen a slight reduction of kit compared to its rather well-specced predecessor.

First up, the price – RM143,888 on-the-road with insurance, RM4,000 more expensive than before. Included is the new five-year/120,000 km warranty that replaces the previous three-year manufacturer/two-year insurance coverage.

Enthusiasts will want to know what’s changed under the bonnet, so let’s get down to business. The Prince 1.6 litre Turbo High Pressure (THP) four-cylinder engine has been retained, but has been fettled to produce 208 hp (hah!) at 6,000 rpm and 300 Nm at 3,000 rpm, the same figures as on the hardcore 30th Anniversary Edition (now called the 208 GTi by Peugeot Sport).

Those numbers are up eight horsepower and 25 Nm over the outgoing model, but at significantly higher revs. As such, the new car zips from zero to 100 km/h three tenths of a second faster at 6.5 seconds, although the top speed remains at 230 km/h. A six-speed manual gearbox remains the sole transmission option.

The upgrades have also made the engine Euro 6 compliant, and with the addition of automatic engine stop/start, more economical. Combined fuel consumption has dropped from 5.9 litres per 100 km to 5.4 litres per 100 km, while carbon dioxide emissions now sit at just 125 grams per kilometre.

Differentiating the new from old is a revised front fascia featuring a new integrated grille – the U-shaped red trim at the bottom of the grille on the outgoing model has been replaced by a simple red stripe. There are also new LED tail lights with triple “lion claw” light guides, while the GTi-specific headlights (with C-shaped LED indicators) and 17-inch “Carbone” two-tone alloy wheels remain unchanged.

Inside, the rather tacky gradated red decorative trim has been replaced by piano black items, with the door handles gaining the same red stripe as on the 30th Anniversary Edition. In terms of kit, the facelifted model loses out on the panoramic glass roof, Park Assist and front parking sensors.

Otherwise, standard equipment is the same as before and includes Club Nappa leather/Caro Weave fabric combination bucket seats, automatic headlights and wipers, dual-zone automatic climate control, a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system, Bluetooth connectivity and six speakers. Safety-wise, the 208 GTi gets six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control and ISOFIX rear child seat anchors.

Want to know how the Peugeot 208 GTi drives? Read our comparison test of the pre-facelift model against the Ford Fiesta ST and Renault Clio RS 200 here. You can also browse full specifications and equipment of the 208 GTi and get the best offers on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• 4k more only?! If cant even afford this, then u cannot afford for the car itself.

• Carot gates on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:08 pm

‘If you are born poor its not your mistake, But if you die poor its your mistake.’

• komarad on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:33 am

good car to own for driving outside klang valley… also good in klang valley if you have the leg for traffic jam…

• passion on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:37 am

nice. but standby car is a must.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • For its price, this car is really quick.

• Mikey on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:06 am

Plus over the older car is :-
    1) new 5-yr/120k km warranty that replaces the previous 3-yr manufacturer/2-yr insurance coverage.
    2) 8 hp & 25 Nm over the outgoing model
    3) Faster from 0 to 100 km/h by 3 tenths of a second
    4) Euro 6 compliant with the addition of automatic engine stop/start.
    5) Better fuel consumption of 5.4 litres per 100 km instead of 5.9 litres.
    6) new LED tail lights with triple “lion claw” light guides

But the facelifted model loses out on the panoramic glass roof, Park Assist & front parking sensors. In short, the older model still have some extras that the facelift do Not have.

For this kind of price, where can U find a pocket rocker that gives U a smiling face everytime U come out from this handsome HB. The best part is 5 yr/120,000 km warranty

• your comment sounds like a radio ad…lol

• Mikey on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Ha ha ha. The last time U say I’m a Toyota salesman but T is doing badly now so much so I’m trying my best 2 work for 2 company 2 Cari Makan ma.

U know la, our economy is not doing well & I must work harder ma. Unlike U, only promote P1, can make enough $$$ or not !!

• C.P MOHAN on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:08 am

Do not know about others but car prices are becoming expensive probably due to the depreciating currency and also probably why marques are moving operations NORTH.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:01 pm

questionable reliability, lower specs, higher price and ckd….fiesta st cbu better value and better drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • ckdkd on Feb 17, 2017 at 1:16 pm

it may not be true for all makes, but I’ve been to the BMW and Suzuki (back then) plants in Malaysia and it’s no surprise why you get shody quality (I recall the earlier CKD BMWs had rattling noise in the interior)…you have yourself a bunch of ‘technicians’ who looked like the mat rempit lot assembling your car so it could be self explanatory therein.

• FiestaSTowner on Feb 17, 2017 at 1:28 pm

the power difference on paper compared to the ST is negligible in the real world (because of actual power delivery, power loss, whp, etc.). The Fiesta ST has a 199PS and 290Nm output so it’s not far off (hence very close 0-100 times)…

BUT, in terms of a true spirit of a hot hatch with solid feedback around bendy corners and a thrilling engine, I gotta say the Fiesta ST wins hands down (hence I bought that instead). BUT ALSO, although the 208GTi is not as fizzy to drive as the ST, I have to say it’s a better all-rounder (better comfort levels and i guess more interior toys if that’s your thing)

Looks are subjective, but I thought the 208 looked a little too short and pudgy and had a frog-ish stance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • intermilan on Feb 17, 2017 at 8:05 pm

Malaysia ST got 182PS n 240Nm only.. 60Nm deficit will be noticable. Power clearly down and yet still more expensive. The look is dated already. Its not a sale success as there are so few around. Ford aftersales is worse too.

• Kunta Katak on Feb 17, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Remember, airbus was made in France. Don’t underestimate.

• Henry on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:25 pm

It may be made in France but not by France. The parts are made by a consortium of European countries.

• civic turbo is wayy more better than this junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • nabill (Member) on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:37 pm

This probably wins it on price/power ratio….nothing comes close….I don’t mind da spec…jus with it was a 4door like da regular 208 for added practicality…..bt 300nm of torque brings lots of smiles!

• Bernard on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:48 pm

In the UK, this car is 24, 000 pounds. Is the car price in Bolehland justified? You tell me….

• Heng Lee on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:16 pm

In London / UK the insurance for that car is 1237 pounds per year. Is the price for insurance in UK justified? You tell me….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • 1237 is not too far from the malaysia cost. it would cost over RM4k to insure this in malaysia if no NCB.

• Sick&Tired on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:10 pm

Nasim has the worst warranty requirements ever! My friend who has a 508 was late in servicing his car for about 1 month as he was overseas. He hardly used the car (mileage about 32k). Now Nasim said his car doesn’t have any warranty left, even though the mileage is so low. Be warned!

• Aikon on Feb 20, 2017 at 10:03 am

That’s not NASIM’s policy. It is Peugeot’s policy and the French are very strict about the service policy. Service on time whether mileage low or not or lose warranty. Simple as that. It is already known that the servicing is either 6 months or 10,000km WHICHEVER COMES FIRST. Do note WHICHEVER COMES FIRST.

Otherwise, best stick to brands which don’t enforce their terms and conditions.

• Kenny Fang on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:22 pm

RM144K for a problem car? Why!??

• GTi-R on Feb 18, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Talk cock… why dont you list down 208 gti problems.

• Henry on Feb 18, 2017 at 6:05 pm

The Peugeot forums are deserted, populated only by owners complaining about the cars’ lousy quality.

For would be owners I suggest you check out the prices of a few of the parts like bumpers, grille, headlamp and taillights. Also the air-conditioning condenser.

• Concerned Consumer on Feb 18, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Lots of butt-hurt, PHD comments..

• If you think that any Peugeot, Citroen/DS or Renault are worthy cars to buy, then you may have to accept the fact that you’ve always make bad decisions in life. fact.