Action can be taken against rural traffic offenders: JPJ

Road users who are caught breaking traffic laws on rural roads which are gazetted by the government can have action taken against them by the Road Transport Department (JPJ), according to a Bernama report.

The department’s director-general (management) Datuk Wan Ahmad Uzir Wan Sulaiman said that the perception that the JPJ could not take action on rural roads is wrong.

“For example, a tractor, if it is driven in the padi fields, it is alright, but when it is on the road, then the driver is required to have the Class F licence. You don’t know when an accident is going to happen, that is why we encourage the public to apply for driving licence,” he said

Government-gazetted roads are those which are under the maintenance of the Public Works Department which have road lines and signboards, he said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• JPJcariMakan on Feb 20, 2017 at 12:38 pm

I dare you, I double dare you to do this before the elections.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2017 at 1:01 pm

JPJ like to talk big. But their own officers super korup also, they don’t do anything.

Hello Datuk, 9 out of 10 of your officers that do road block all ask for money lah. Go sort that out first. Then come here and talk about rural offenders.

You know why there are 3 million road users with no licence? That is because the past 20 years, your officers, whenever they catch an offender with no lesen, they mintak duit kopi and let the offender off scot free.

Sort your own house problems datuk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • Ruslan Bahari on Feb 20, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Dear JPJ,

Can you start enforcing issues in the cities before you start diversifying your income source to the rural poor? How many supercars and luxury cars and bikes have plate numbers that even a person with 20/20 vision can read? How many bikes hide their rear plate numbers insider their semi-circle mud flaps?

Is it because they’re rich that you give them concessions?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • kenken on Feb 20, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Always talk this, talk that, but no real action taken. Seem like hire to talk, instead of execution.

• how about enforcement during friday afternoon when most of the riders dont even wear helmet but can roam freely?

• gigi kuning on Feb 20, 2017 at 9:30 pm

JPJ is hot air producer…..

• Ben Yap on Feb 21, 2017 at 10:05 am

All these while JPJ can take action against rural offenders. the law doesn’t discriminate. why only now start to take action?